Supporting Steyn

Frans Steyn needs to be backed. It’s a plea more than a command, and one shared by the vast majority in the South African rugby fraternity.

sar-coverHe is an exceptional talent and has proven this at Super 14 and Test level, where he shone on the biggest stage of all, the World Cup. The fact that he was 20 years old and playing in a position unfamiliar to him bears testament to what a special talent we’ve produced.

However, 2008 saw him dabble in mediocrity. There were outstanding performances, particularly in the Currie Cup, to remind his critics of his class. But there can be no denying that he regressed from the heights of 2007. Mitigating factors there are aplenty, the primary one being the failure of his coaches to settle on a set position for him.

That problem seems to be alleviated, with Sharks coach John Plumtree confirming that Steyn is set for an extended run at inside centre. Now it’s time to back the boy. That’s the rallying cry from SA Rugby magazine’s panel of experts – Alan Solomons, Murray Mexted, Eddie Jones and John Plumtree.

All believe Steyn to be a rare talent capable of dominating the game in a manner few have if he’s given the right support structures, time to settle and freedom to express himself. In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale Wednesday, they explain what’s gone wrong in the past and plot the way forward for the best young buck to emerge in the past decade.

sar-koster– A schoolboy sensation for Bishops, Nick Koster was always destined for greatness. Expect him to live up to the hype.

– USA Eagles captain Todd Clever turned down a lucrative offer with a European club to play Super 14 rugby for the Lions. The flanker talks about that crucial decision, learning Afrikaans, his new nickname and what it’s like to live in Johannesburg.

Meyer Bosman on playing flyhalf for the Cheetahs, the team’s defensive problems, injury setbacks, and what he loves about Bloemfontein.

– Ex-flanker Derick Kuün believes 2009 will be his breakthrough season at hooker.

sar-big-joe– New Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder on why his understanding of the team’s culture offsets his lack of coaching experience, whether he’ll be speaking to Robbie Deans during the Super 14, what he will do differently from Deans, the massive loss of Dan Carter and the ELVs.

– When the Queensland Reds poached All Blacks flank Daniel Braid from the Auckland-based Blues, it ushered in a new era of Super Rugby.

Joe van Niekerk reveals how his playboy lifestyle affected his rugby career and insists he’s not the same person he was 18 months ago. But is this change we can believe in?

– Injury-prone England flyhalf Jonny Wilkinson has gone from tortured soul to enlightened being with help from mentor Steve Black.

sar-ebersohn– Wales No 8 Andy Powell wouldn’t be playing rugby today if it wasn’t for Springbok selector Ian McIntosh.

– The budding relationship between the Stormers and English club Saracens is bound to reap mutual benefit in years to come.

Robert Ebersohn has no regrets about picking sevens over Super Rugby. The 20-year-old explains why he enjoys working with coach Paul Treu, why the Boks will win the Sevens World Cup in Dubai, and his thoughts on South African Mat Turner playing for the England Sevens side.

To subscribe to SA Rugby magazine click on the subs link on keo.co.za or phone (021) 416-0141

796 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 » Show All

• 501.JimT: Reply to this comment

# crikey mate did you see that shark: I’m not a big fan of the new look either. First of all not logging the original post # with comment makes it very difficult to follow a conversation. Think they should increase the font size for poster & the date/time stamp. Can’t figure out the positioning of the smileys either. Smileys should be used like punctuation. Where are the Quick Links which were convenient. Just my initial impressions.

• 502.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Stormers by 15 if steyn gets injured in the first 10 min..otherwise a it will be another 5 points for every ten minutes he stays on….JP and adi will claw back a few points… but if Steyn does not play at all it will be to tight to call until the final whistle….But Steyn is playing and they won’t sub him….Lucky stormers

• 503.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

# Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Front row, I think Natal may have the edge on most this year. Carstens is good in any company these days and if the Beast continues to improve at his exponential rate the last couple of years, he could be in a class of his own this year. We are spoiled at hooker and well covered at tighthead with Barney and Bismarck there.

I think your team will start well this year, lets hope they can maintain and not slip like previous years.

• 504.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Ed_the_Lion_in_Boston: Hi Ed. Weather has improved down in the deep south how about up there in the land of the Irish?

• 505.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

# JimT: Have you two US expats seen that your team captain is playing for the Lions this year instead of a lucrative contract to a European club….nice to see!

• 506.JimT: Reply to this comment

My 10 cents worth on Mr Steyn. Does not seem to be a good decision maker & this results in some stupid plays on his part. Clearly has talent & is still very young. Maybe he’s been switched around in too many positions to settle down. I wonder how coachable he is & whether he is a team player. I would pick him at #15 & let him gain S14 & test experience there.

• 507.JimT: Reply to this comment

# carcharodon carcharias: Yeah I noticed that. It will be interesting to see how he makes out & is he up to snuff for SA rugby. Do you have any idea which NH club he turned down?

• 508.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

# JimT: He is a team player, your comment on them switching him too much is relevant. Its been decided though, his future is at centre and they are having an extended run in 10 and 12 jersey (Pienaar and Steyn), could also be the Bok combination in time, but Steyn will probably still be on the bench there for a while, as long as jean de Villiers is around and in the form he is.

• 509.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

OK that time has come, I’ll leave you USA guys to have your lunch or your morning coffee, depending which time zone you’re in, I’m on my way….at last the real rugby is starting!! ;)

• 510.crikey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

# JimT:
    hey matie, so you know who i am hey lol… shhhs then ;-)

support the crusaders i understand, but the stormers or bulls eish, no… Sharks is the team to go, and a soft spot for the poor lions :-)

but as long as the S14 kicks off we can do whatever we like he he… (love that song he he)

• 511.JL1: Reply to this comment

Jislaaik confusing, earlier today the comments ran top down, now it is bottom up, I have to say I prefer the latter

• 512.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# JimT: You have to ask why this underperformer gets a bok contract without delivering one decent performance in an entire season…He represents priviledge and injustice…but that is what SA rugby was all about…and maybe still is.

• 513.JimT: Reply to this comment

# JimT: My mistake. I guess the Quick Links is now available under Latest Stories. New look is uncomfortable for me, maybe it will take time. Please restore the original post# with comment. That’s essential in following conversations. Any particular reason why the Report button was removed?

• 514.JL1: Reply to this comment

# crikey mate did you see that shark: Why change your nic? Witness protection plan?

• 515.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

Hey Jinx i see youre on line, I got both artists, Walter Trout and Joe Bonamassa, I’ve decided when I visit my buddy in Germany, I will drive so i can listen properly, instead of hopping on a plane…and I’ll take the dogs with me, they have their passports now. :)

• 516.carcharodon carcharias: Reply to this comment

# JL1: Howzit JL…I’m just leaving!

• 517.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# JimT: Report button??? You not one of those are you….getting me banned all the time

• 518.Puma: Reply to this comment

# JimT: 501 – Hi Jim I feel the same they should put back the number next to the post you are answering back to. Makes it easier to see what that person has said. I am for now just putting the numeber on. Hope others do aswell. Will make it easier for all of us. Also the our nicks should be enlarged or in bold black otherwise its a bit difficult to find your mates. Also think that the posts should be a little closer no need for them to be so far apart. Have to scroll down too much. Wish they would bring back the one page aswell instead of many pages for so many posts.

# JimT: 506 – Think that Steyn has been moved about so much in so many positions its hard to really be a great player playing all positions. Think he is a natural fullback but cant see PdV selecting him there so he will play inside centre the whole of the S14. Think now that he will play only one position we will see after the S14 a very different player. I think a world class player at insided centre. FS just has too much class not to be a great. Like I said been messed about too much in different positions. Also needs to start and not come in from the bench like he done a lot of the time last year.

I think Sat will be very close. A win by 7 from either sides. I am going for my team Sharks. Hope they can do it. Going to be a cracker of a game.

• 519.JimT: Reply to this comment

# crikey mate did you see that shark: Yep, i still remember your previous profession. You still do that?
    Such a fervent Sharks supporter you must be from Natal?
    I’ve joined SuperBru this year so paying more attention to SA team’s form. But jeez the opinions offered here, gets very confusing on who to pick. Not helped by Bulls playing their B maybe C teams in the friendlies. You in on SuperBru?

• 520.Grape White: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn was equated to Christiano Ronaldo by a [insert suitable inebriation reference here] “reporter” a few days ago. btw I’m no C Ronaldo fan but since the ridiculous comparison precedent has been set, I will add that the two have one thing in common. After all EFFSteyn, in a nutshell, is just a player whose kicks have a bigger punch than the average goal kicker. It’s when he samples the other attributes any decent professional rugby player should possess (like passing, tackling, carrying the ball, basic decision making etc) that his mediocrity blinds all and sundry – except his die hard fans of course… :-D

• 521.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale: Right, I’ve asked others as what the rationale is over who gets Bok contract & who doesn’t. How many Boks contracts are available in a year anyway? No answers yet. Maybe no one knows except SARU.

• 522.Puma: Reply to this comment

# JimT: 513 – Maybe they don’t want anyone to report anymore…….lol. Just joking not sure why. Think it should improve as we all voice opinions about the new site.

• 523.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale: Not me my friend. Never have reported anyone & never will. I believe in self censorship or self discipline. It’s all in one’s character IMO.

• 524.Puma: Reply to this comment

# carcharodon carcharias: Think I know who you are now..4man? The dogs give you away.

• 525.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# Grape White: Spot on mate….but even if you prove your point again on Saturday like in the baabaas game…he will still be a hero to many who need a tall blonde blue eyed hero…the Aryans. Now we must not discount the possibility that he could have a good( Not brilliant) game which will guarantee him MOM. The judges of this award have another agenda…as could be seen thoughout the season.

• 526.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# JimT: They don’t know either…I think that PDV probably said…its your money and you can do whatever you like with it…but I will choose the team on the day…Andy Marinos probably insisted that that is the way its always been done

• 527.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Puma: 518- Hi Puma. seems we agree on refinements to new look KEO. Will wait now for the Night Owls to weigh in, could be decisive :-)

I agree that Steyn has the physical talent but I’m not sure yet about a matching mental capacity. I do think it’s a handicap when you are messed about with playing on/off the bench & in different positions. I’m still not convinced he’s a quick enough thinker at #12. I would still vote for #15. But I guess that’s a problem with the Sharks because they have an established & experienced full back who is in form.

• 528.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Puma: 522 The Keo Mafia will not be happy, he, he :-)

• 529.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale:

I’m tall, blond and blue-eyed…but no hero.

Don’t see a conspiracy in everything :-)

• 530.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# JimT: Cool, you are not part of the mafia then….BTW the real battle will be between the Cubans and the Boeremafia…on this site…Its gonna be fun.. I have been exercising all winter…my keyboard is gonna burn

• 531.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# WP Till I Die: Watch your nuts mate…a tiny slip on the barbwire

• 532.Puma: Reply to this comment

# JimT: 527 – I think Steyn would be our best fullback ever. Just think he wont get a chance in that position with the Boks. Also the inside centre at the Sharks is available and Stefan is playing great at 15 but he wont be playing there for long think he is 34 this year. Steyn only 22. So who knows. Now once he plays 12 have to just keep him there for now.

I think when the Night Owls come on they will agree with us that the new look Keo especially the number next to the nick you are answering. It has to be put back. This morning we were reading our posts from top to bottom. Not good see they have changed that. Just think the green is too close to the black and if they keep the green need to make our nicks larger or in bold black. Also the posts don’t have to be so far apart. Feels like we are doing so much scrolling down now. Need to make that gap closer.

• 533.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale:

What barb wire?

Why is everything with you “us against them”?

That same mindset lead to nationalism and fascism.

• 534.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# WP Till I Die: BTW..Israel funded/created Hamas…that is fact. Most of the arms that Hamas acquired are bought from the Israelis…Israel needs Hamas to justify its destabilisation of the its neighbours..Some food for thought

• 535.Puma: Reply to this comment

# JimT: 528 – lol. Not sure why the smiley faces don’t go with the sentence? Not good at the bottom. That too needs to change.

• 536.Puma: Reply to this comment

What are the Keo$ for? Does anyone know?

• 537.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# WP Till I Die: Us and them….The Cubans against the Boeremafia…you can watch from the fence mate…sometimes you got to make stand…that time has come..the final frontier. One final push…

• 538.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale:

How could I have been so stupid to miss that? Israel must buy those weapons from Iran, and then sell them to Hamas – and then at a profit, right? It’s all a big Zionist conspiracy, isn’t it?

Come on, Cuito. Stop trolling.

• 539.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# WP Till I Die: Its all business as usual….Google Ron Paul or search on Youtube…Lots of other sources …The Shock Doctrine, Naomi Klein…Why does Irael not attack Saudi…biggest financiers of terror???

• 540.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale: 530 Sorry about that I lost my connection. No not part of the Mafia but have friends in the Mafia. It pays to know who the hit men are LOL. Let’s face it we all fascinated with the mafiaso :-)

• 541.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Puma: 532 Think Steyns’ bigger problem is getting #15 time/experience under his belt at the Sharks. Have to wait until Stefan hangs up his boots? I know these days test teams seem to have no problem shifting players from other positions into #15 but I don’t agree with that. I’m not convinced at that level players are really interchangeable. Experience in a position is essential. It’s not fair on the player or the team to assume otherwise.

• 542.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# JimT: Mafiaso are bullshitters…The Cubans are the real deal…Our ideas and thinking are by far more superior…We are tenacious and resilient….and we can Salsa

• 543.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Puma: Smileys or other icons are punctuation. Makes a big difference on how you convey a message. Less misunderstandings between bloggers.

• 544.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale: 542 – Ever been to Cuba? That’s one of the places I’d like to visit, along with Argentina & SA, of course. We’re still banned from Cuba unless you’re a reporter :-(

• 545.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# JimT: How about steyn at 7..?? bottom line is that he does not deserve more than others and he has been given all the chances that he did not deserve..

• 546.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# JimT: That will change shortly and then the old Cuba will be lost forever…Good deals to Cuba from the UK…but I have to travel so much to SA..I probably will never get there for the next two years..Haven’t travelled to the USA yet but I got a cousin in Sacramento and a few friends in NY..

• 547.grant10: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale: now thats a crock of **** Fidel…bloody great player…and you know it!

• 548.JimT: Reply to this comment

# Cuito Carnivale: 545 – LOL. Simply put they need to settle Steyn in at one position for S14 & CC. Then see if he is up to par to make the Boks team. Isn’t that what they they with most players? I think those drop goals of his in the test matches have screwed up the coach’s analytical thinking. Time to get back to basics. Droppies are a bonus not the be all & end all. it’s the rest of his game that counts.

• 549.Puma: Reply to this comment

# grant10: 547 – Well said mate. Lets see how Steyn does in one position this year and not being messed about think we will see a really great player end of season. Just hope now that he will be played all season in one position he does not pick up any injury just so he can prove just what a huge talent he is. Why would a overseas team want to pay so much for him if he was not?

• 550.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

# grant10: Howzit G10..He can kick a mile…so can others..but can he create…can he read the game..decision making??? hand skills…?? Much to immature…now match him against JP…come on…JP is ten times better and will probably be a better Flyhalf too…BTW JP excelled at full back..remember until politics put him on the wing..

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.