Rassie: Stormers still in semi hunt

Rassie Erasmus believes the Stormers can still make the play-offs despite a devastating 14-10 loss to the Bulls.

The Stormers have now lost three from four – two of those defeats at home – and have one match remaining before they head to Australasia for a difficult five-match tour. They’ll have to all but win every match to stand a chance of semi-final qualification, but Erasmus believes his charges are capable of achieving the improbable.

“The way we look at it, we have nine matches left and we can win those nine games,” he said. “The teams we’ve lost to are the same teams we lost to last year. If you consider we are only one point below the Crusaders on the log, a team that are always in contention for the semi-finals, then we are still in with a chance.”

The Stormers kicked away a lot of possession in the first half at Loftus, and flyhalf Willem de Waal was subbed shortly after half-time. Erasmus said this was always the plan.

“I’ve come here a lot of times and any team that has come to Loftus to play rugby in the first 15 minutes has lost. You saw what the guys looked like in the last 10 minutes and they’d only played rugby for 30 minutes.”

The good news for the Stormers is that this intensely physical battle has not resulted in any serious injuries. The Stormers will host the Lions next Saturday in what is a vital clash ahead of their overseas tour.

490 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

• 451.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#440 yliad: We will uncover all as we go along…I am good at this stuff

• 452.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#447 yliad: It’s just my opinion that Steyn is playing a lot better than JdV, but you can have yours. It’s ok.

Steyn does have the advantage of playing behind a winning pack and a half back pairing totally in sync. And Adi on his outside.

• 453.yliad: Reply to this comment

#445 Colonel Mustard:

like I said .. lucky you

and tell me again that some are more racist than the other way round and I’ll concur with CC and say you’re a liar

those that have borne the brunt of it have very little racial intolerance whatsoever bred in their psyches, far more loving and forgiving than most, and that is why they’re mostly very beautiful, cause their beauty is not encrusted with prejudice of any kind.

• 454.cab: Reply to this comment

#450 SodaJoe:
    tough one, agree smit has become the spitting image of fitzpatrick, wiley is the word. smit often grabs onto someone for just a bit longer than he should or remonstrates expertly with the ref, does not mind taking the odd klap or two for the team either. problem is bimarck is just massive physicality and energy, can’t be left out.

• 455.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Walla – 2008 Champion. Your stats right now …..

I think you need to be more specific.

• 456.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#444 Colonel Mustard: Took a while to get back….does raise a few questions when simple answers are hard to find…do you have kids

• 457.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#454 cab: Ah Fitz. Greatest rugby captain ever. John’s good, not sure he’s that good.

The difference being that Fitz not only captained his own team and the ref, he captained the opposition team too.

We have to make the decision it’s Bis or John at hooker.

I think we have enough leaders.

We don’t have a scary TH – and that’s more important imo.

• 458.cab: Reply to this comment

#452 SodaJoe:
    put habana on the sharks leftwing and kirschner at 15 and you pretty much got a bok backline.

• 459.cab: Reply to this comment

#457 SodaJoe:
    LOL, damn right, now that was a hero. Fitzy used to make me lag my gat off. Mind you that whole team and era was chockablock full of legends, zinzan brooke, got to be the greatest 8th man of all time, and franck bunce, mr cool.

• 460.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#458 cab: Right now I wouldn’t play Habs in the Boks. You know my feeling about wings being very fast fullbacks – Kirchner would be my 11. If there was any justice Stefan Terblanche at 15 with Kirchner to take his place.

There are some moment when Adi makes it look so easy. And he’s so bloody unselfish.

• 461.cab: Reply to this comment

#460 SodaJoe:
    no chance, habana is a phenomenon, he will come right.
    terreblanche is an old ballie, safe i agree, but kirschnere is more vris. keep the ballies for the pack.

• 462.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#459 cab: Fukn Fitzy. God he drove me nuts. Just crazy. They say that on the field he never stopped talking, literally continually directing his team, the ref and the opposition.

Zinzan – best # 8 ever? Could be. But I loved Mexted, Morne, Mervyn Davies, ….

• 463.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

Looks like I smoked the Mustard chap….Cheers all…need to prepare for a massive week at work…200 contracts to negotiate and finalise before month end..thank my lucky stars for technology and mail merge.

• 464.yliad: Reply to this comment

#450 Cuito Carnivale:

I reckon respect and friendship go a long way to creating a good marriage. I am not a good example of good marriage material, I provide more or less OK but my background is such that it does not comprise the fundamental values of family life that it should, and so in effect my personality is not ideal for a normal respectfully balanced and harmonious family oriented lifestyle.

Its nothing to be proud about, just the way it is.

Not too sure either if anyone can truly change their personality much or their state of prior conditioning to reacting in certain manner to certain stimuli and circumstances, so I reckon in the end we all do more or less the best we can under the prevailing conditioned circumstances,

perfection is a long way off for most of humanity, for some perhaps a little further than others, yet in the greater scheme of it all, mostly everyone is trying as best as they know how.

• 465.cab: Reply to this comment

#462 SodaJoe:
    mexted married the kiwi ms universe, pretty girl, think he has a spot for the saffas since played a bit over here, but he’s always trying to get one over, especially in the commentary stakes, not sure if kobus sees it as a joke or a challenge…

• 466.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#461 cab: I would be happy with Zane at 15. Conrad is just in terrible form, and has lost all confidence.

Habs – boet – you’re cashing in 2007 paycheck, it’s going to bounce.

• 467.Watermelon King is vrot: Reply to this comment

#463 Cuito Carnivale:

Oh woopdee woo. You are an important chap arn’t you. we not worthly to such a doos as you?? Mate it does not matter what colour you marry or partner, once a racist always a racist…..just look in the mirror.

• 468.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#465 cab: Seriously Cabernet? Mexted vs Kobus Wiese.

No contest. Wiese is dof.

All commentary is biased.

Other than Bill Mclaren.

• 469.cab: Reply to this comment

#464 yliad:
    different strokes for different folks, being with the same tannie for 60 years, impossible.

• 470.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#464 yliad: Cheers skoppie…stay strong. Long Live

• 471.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#467 Watermelon King is vrot: Ag dude c’mon. You swim in the dirty ditchwater you’re going to get all mucky too.

• 472.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#469 cab: Watch me. Couldn’t think of anything better.

Been with my wife for 22 years and knew her for exactly one week before we moved in together.

• 473.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#467 Watermelon King is vrot: Tomorrow mate..cheerio

• 474.cab: Reply to this comment

hehe i think mex enjoys the jousting, kobus maybe too, our lot seem to have vaguely grasped the notion of pulling the preverbial as they often call it.

mclaren was the rolls royce with that beautiful scottish lilt, knowledge and genuine love of the game, the story was that he’d familiarise himself with the foreign players names before the game so that he could pronounce them including our van der beesterfokenrenoster’s.

• 475.cab: Reply to this comment

#472 SodaJoe:
    yessus, well who knows.

• 476.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#474 cab: Charles Fortune & Bill Mclaren – greatest commentators of all time. Learned to describe the situation for radio listeners – made TV commentary beautiful.

And they commentated first and foremost the game, and they truly loved the game more than anything.

• 477.Watermelon King is vrot: Reply to this comment

#465 cab:

Mate Mexted has a warped sexual preference (Well maybe not warped to some) He was involved with a bondage ring via a Madam and a black book. One of the kingpins (who was openly ***)ended up floating in the river near the Huka Falls near Taupo. This whilst he was married to his Miss Universe………so the story goes. There is a rumor about him and Stu Wilson, but only a rumor :)

• 478.cab: Reply to this comment

#477 SodaJoe:
    lol, charles fortune, f’ck me, remember that…’and here we have the lesser spotted plover …’ erm charles a wicket’s just fallen. was he a pommerainian saffa? must have been. mind u the mean machine had henry fotheringham opening the batting. great player.

• 479.Watermelon King is vrot: Reply to this comment

#471 SodaJoe:

Yeah, you right….apologies

• 480.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#478 cab: Rice, McKenzie, Pollack, Fothers, Spook, Cook, Jennings, Alan Kourie, …..

ah those were the days.

Our rugby was good too.

• 481.cab: Reply to this comment

#478 Watermelon King is vrot:
    hey, mr ou Doos is my pal, so am afraid i cannot chat with you…but will say i thought everyone in nz considered mex to be a bit dom? which is kind of why i kinda liked him actually, always says the most stupid things…actually i think he’s alot better than ppl give him credit for, he’s post mtch reviews are good, mind you that melanie dolly knows her stuff too, not bad on the eye either.

• 482.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#479 Watermelon King is vrot: Don’t fall in to the trap. Eccentricity is welcome, contrarian opinion is terrific, but ignore the dof stuff. There is a lot more good than bad.

Change the nick back. You don’t need to stoop low.

• 483.cab: Reply to this comment

#481 SodaJoe:
    those were the days. now we’re hopeless. bring back griz.

later Joe
    better hit the sack.

• 484.Watermelon King is vrot: Reply to this comment

#481 cab:

Fair enough, tainted by association :)

• 485.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#477 Watermelon King is vrot: Seriously Mexted and sexual deviancy – is the hearsay or documented?

#481 cab: The Ou Doos has been in fine form. Although more illuminating about his personal foibles and that was a little sadder than I would have liked. As I say – our Keo institution and institutionalized.

• 486.Watermelon King is vrot: Reply to this comment

#482 SodaJoe:

hehe, thought I’d do a skoppie and change the nick for awhile longer. Tried Clamburger once, cause Hater loves clamburgers.

Now that the cockroaches have gone…….my 5c is that the Stormers are as well. Maybe one win in NZ if they lucky.

• 487.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#483 cab: Bye bud.

I am off too. See you through the window.

• 488.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#486 Watermelon King is vrot: Boet adios. Leave ‘em be.

Stompies have to beat the Lions. That might be harder than they think.

• 489.Watermelon King is vrot: Reply to this comment

#485 SodaJoe:

The police investigation is documented, but the depth of Mexted’s involvement is heresay………from various sources.

• 490.Watermelon King is vrot: Reply to this comment

Yeah, also outaya…….gotta go get rid of the pips.. :)

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.