Limp Lions to limp from Newlands
12 Mar 2009
Thank goodness there is always the prospect of playing the Lions to improve one’s mood. And the bones agree.
Having recovered from Week 3′s dismal 2/7 the bones were back in business with 5/6 with the champion Crusaders the only surprise in losing to the Highlanders.
Just how hard is it going to be for the Crusaders without Robbie Deans, Richie McCaw, Dan Carter, Scott Hamilton and a few others. Well it isn’t looking particularly good and if they don’t overcome the Force at home then it is goodbye to a successful challenge. Some would call it early days in the competition but a fourth successive defeat for the Saders will turn this season into one of rebuilding.
Of all the match-ups that has been the toughest one to call, although I think the closest game will be in Canberra when the Tahs travel north from Sydney.
Last weekend’s matches, with the exception of the Sharks and Blues, were diabolical in quality of rugby and I can’t see much changing this weekend, as the players generally lack the quality of those who in previous years made Super rugby the best provincial rugby competition in the world.
The Stormers, desperate and boring in Pretoria, will at least get a home win to ease the pain of the tradtional early season torture because the limp Lions are in town. The sooner the Lions get put out of their misery and replaced by Cheeky’s Eastern Cape Kings of Convenience the better. Another defeat will keep them rooted at the bottom of the table, a position they have owned for much of their Super rugby existence.
The Stormers will win but not because they have improved in any shape or form. This one will be down to who they are playing and not because of how they will play.
Bones
Week one: 5/7
Week two: 7/7
Week three: 2/7
Week four: 5/6
Total: 19/27
Week five
BLUES vs CHEETAHS, ALBANY, FRIDAY 08:35
Blues 10-plus
BRUMBIES vs WARATAHS, CANBERRA, FRIDAY 10:40
Tahs 1-10
CRUSADERS vs FORCE, CHRISTCHURCH, SATURDAY 06:30
Saders 1-10
HIGHLANDERS vs CHIEFS, INVERCARGILL, SATURDAY 08:35
Chiefs 10-plus
REDS vs SHARKS, BRISBANE, SATURDAY 11:05
Sharks 10-plus
STORMERS vs LIONS, CAPE TOWN, SATURDAY 17:00
Stormers 10-plus

420 Comments
12 Mar 2009, 17:15 pm
Sjoe maar jy kan kak praat.
12 Mar 2009, 17:17 pm
Now this week I can agree with you
12 Mar 2009, 17:18 pm
#1 Ed_the_Lion: You’re just saying that because you’re a Lion
12 Mar 2009, 17:21 pm
What odds are you giving Keo?
12 Mar 2009, 17:26 pm
You are starting to irritate the **** out of me with your attitude towards the Lions.
Replace them with the Cape Kings? Eish my brother. No man.
12 Mar 2009, 17:27 pm
In the poll “Can the Lions upset the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday?”
Now of course they CAN. Any of the teams CAN cause an upset but the real question is WILL they?
12 Mar 2009, 17:27 pm
#2 SpringbokSarah: looking at this comment shows to me you normally also think he is talking kak.
#3 SpringbokSarah: And you just saying this because you are a stormer.
The beaty off Rugby and the supporters.
12 Mar 2009, 17:29 pm
The Lions are far more of a team as far as I can see than the Stormers. Stormers still not functioning as unit and nothing suggests they will come Sat. I don’t believe that the Stormers tigh five will struggle as much as people expect and I cite the comparison between the Sharks vs. Stormers and Sharks vs. Lions performances. No evidence there that the Lions will crush them in the tight five but where they will feel it is in the organizational, breakdown and support play that the Lions have.
12 Mar 2009, 17:31 pm
#5 Lion till I die: I’m a Stormer supporter, what do you want me to say? “Go Lions” when they’re playing the Stormers?
12 Mar 2009, 17:33 pm
Finally, some sanity!
12 Mar 2009, 17:34 pm
#6 SpringbokSarah: Grrrrrrrrrrr……..
12 Mar 2009, 17:37 pm
#9 SpringbokSarah:
Wasn’t referring to you. Was referring to the so called journo.
12 Mar 2009, 17:37 pm
Lions by 3 I think. As long as its a great game of rugby.
12 Mar 2009, 17:38 pm
Lions by 8.
#10 Stormerfan: It seems most people have found their sanity, I have yet to come across a blog where the dudes predicted I Lions win.
#11 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Oooo I’m shaking now
The Cape Kings or Whateva, should have to play for the right to partake of the S14 feast of cr@@p rugby, but it will be the Cheetahs they should play.
I predict a little surprise for the “Jeckyl & Hyde” Stormers this weekend.
At least the Lions know their gameplan, even when it fails.
12 Mar 2009, 17:39 pm
By the way the Lions are coming off a break and we all know that the Stormers Springboks only had a 2 week break off after the Autumn internationals. They are going to be feeling weary on Saturday.
12 Mar 2009, 17:39 pm
#12 Lion till I die: oh! My bad…
12 Mar 2009, 17:40 pm
#10 Stormerfan: And this lot don’t matter
12 Mar 2009, 17:42 pm
#15 SpringbokSarah: Im stretching, licking my lips, glancing at the stormers carcass….what is left of it anyway.
12 Mar 2009, 17:43 pm
K9: There’s a small problem with the new name. “Stormers” are not “beasts” like the Sharks, Bulls and Cheetahs.
However King Schalk The Hulk is debatable
12 Mar 2009, 17:44 pm
#20 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Ok now I’m just nauseous
12 Mar 2009, 17:49 pm
#22 SpringbokSarah: Mmmmmm……fear????? See there is a little bit of life still left in that carcass. Think we should move in for the kill this Sat.
12 Mar 2009, 17:50 pm
#21 SpringbokSarah: King Schalk belongs at the Lions.
12 Mar 2009, 17:51 pm
#22 SpringbokSarah: A state any Lion supporter is very familiar with (nausea).
12 Mar 2009, 17:52 pm
#23 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Not fear for the Lions (or you)… I think I have hemophobia
12 Mar 2009, 17:54 pm
#26 SpringbokSarah: *runs off to find the dictionary*
12 Mar 2009, 17:55 pm
#26 SpringbokSarah: Oh okay. We’ll keep it as bloodless as possible
12 Mar 2009, 17:55 pm
#24 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: And Peter belongs with me, but he’s not here now is he?
#25 Stormerfan: why?
12 Mar 2009, 17:57 pm
#27 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: lol
#28 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Go for AJ! And even though he’s not playing try to sniff out Hilton.
Come near Jean and I open fire
12 Mar 2009, 18:00 pm
Will win my ***. Lions by 2
12 Mar 2009, 18:01 pm
Translated in Afrikaans: Jou gat, Leeus met 2
12 Mar 2009, 18:01 pm
#31 Vibes: Lions supporter or Bulls supporter?
12 Mar 2009, 18:02 pm
#29 SpringbokSarah: Self explanatory-they finish the super 14 close to the bottom every year.
12 Mar 2009, 18:03 pm
Now why do you think i’m a Blou Koei supporter?
12 Mar 2009, 18:05 pm
#30 SpringbokSarah: Naaah…AJ’s meat will be too tough and dry….he is a very old shark. Hilton…well……..the yellow cards will upset my stomach.
12 Mar 2009, 18:06 pm
#36 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: What about Ricky? Come on man, work with me here!
#34 Stormerfan: But why would that make them nauseous? It would just make them ****?
12 Mar 2009, 18:08 pm
#35 Vibes: Well you’ve either got to be a Lion or a Bull to think something so absurd
12 Mar 2009, 18:08 pm
The Stormers and the Lions deserve to draw this match.
12 Mar 2009, 18:10 pm
#39 Fandango: Now why would you say that?
12 Mar 2009, 18:14 pm
#40 SpringbokSarah: With the kind of rugby these 2 teams are playing currently none is worhthy of 4 points for this game.
12 Mar 2009, 18:15 pm
#41 Fandango: But the Stormers improved a helluva lot from that disaster with the Blues
12 Mar 2009, 18:19 pm
#42 SpringbokSarah: They still lost against the worst performing Bulls team I’ve seen lately. They should have won that game, it’s not every Saturday that you get a chance against the Bulls where their line outs are such a mess.
12 Mar 2009, 18:22 pm
#43 Fandango: But they played very well, you must admit. There game plan was there but they weren’t when they really had to be
12 Mar 2009, 18:26 pm
Stormers have been playing very well individually and when it comes together it going to be big.
If that happens against the Lions, and I think it is due, it is going to be a 14 point game for the Stormers.
46 will vomit with joy.
12 Mar 2009, 18:27 pm
#42 SpringbokSarah: But they lost last week. How could they have improved?
12 Mar 2009, 18:29 pm
#45 blhoo: Better stand out of his way then
#46 Stormerfan: They may have lost but they didn’t play like **** like they did against the Blues
12 Mar 2009, 18:31 pm
#44 SpringbokSarah: I agree. But both the Stormers and Bulls lift their game for that derby. I just think the Lions might sneak this Saturday’s game – they had the previous weekend off and will be ready. It also seems to me that the Stormers are not performing well at Newlands.
12 Mar 2009, 18:34 pm
#48 Fandango: They haven’t played well at Newlands for years… maybe all the fans scare them
12 Mar 2009, 18:36 pm
#47 SpringbokSarah: Shouldn’t be a problem, most individuals including his team mates seem to avoid him.
Good luck for your team on Saturday.
12 Mar 2009, 18:36 pm
#47 SpringbokSarah: We better get it right this week as we have tough schedule on tour.
12 Mar 2009, 18:38 pm
#50 blhoo: Thanks, I would say same to you, but I don’t think they’re playing. And they don’t need luck, they need to pass
12 Mar 2009, 18:39 pm
#51 Stormerfan: You know they tour well.
12 Mar 2009, 18:40 pm
Keo, I reckon your only aim is to p#@ss the Lion’s supporters off. Why is that? You keep on forget that the Lion’s supporters also support your website. I hope that the Lions will shut you up!!! Lions by 100!!!!
12 Mar 2009, 18:43 pm
If the Stormers don’t win this one they should not even bother touring.
12 Mar 2009, 18:45 pm
#54 Loyal Lion: I’m sure he has more important things to do, like run his site, make a profit, make sure the mag is ready on time.
Lions are not exactly the strongest team in the competition
#53 SpringbokSarah: I know, but we are playing Crusaders, Brumbies, Waratahs and Highlanders with the first and the last teams the ones we can beat.
#55 Fandango: Or they should not bother coming back
12 Mar 2009, 18:49 pm
#57 Stormerfan: You forgot the Canes.
But look here: The Saders are doing so badly even the Highlanders beat them (Richie will still be out when we play them), We beat the Brumbies last year at Newlands we should be able to put up a damn good fight, Tahs, we’ve got a bone to pick with them, Highlanders are the Highlanders and I think we’ve beaten the Canes for the past 6 years.. let me just check
12 Mar 2009, 18:50 pm
#56 SpringbokSarah:
neither are the stormers..
12 Mar 2009, 18:50 pm
#59 SpringbokSarah: ok never mind… we’ve only beat the for teh past 2 years
12 Mar 2009, 18:51 pm
#60 gunther: Agreed, but they are stronger than the Lions
12 Mar 2009, 18:52 pm
#61 SpringbokSarah: BUT they can still win
12 Mar 2009, 18:55 pm
Weekend without the Bulls seems pretty dull……
Doesn’t give the Stormers and Lions much to deflect the attention to either!
12 Mar 2009, 18:55 pm
Anyways I’m off. Bye bye
GO STORMERS
12 Mar 2009, 18:59 pm
#63 SpringbokSarah: If all goes according to plan we should come back with 3 wins. I have faith in Rassie to apply the right tactics for each game. I think the use of the 10′s was not only an experiment for the Bulls but he will use the same plan on tour.
12 Mar 2009, 19:07 pm
man this headline is enough to court real disaster.
12 Mar 2009, 19:18 pm
#67 cab: Limp Bone?
12 Mar 2009, 19:23 pm
SuperBru Community Picks
Picks for Stormers 22440 (84.19%)
Picks for Lions 4136 (15.52%)
This could see me leap up the standings like an athletic Lion.
Lions by 4.
I like the Lions team. Front Row is good. Locks Ok, but Franco can jump too.
Goodes is going to be very Goodes.
Awesome.
Luddik better fkn be practicing high balls catching though. That’s all Wimp De Waal can do.
12 Mar 2009, 19:46 pm
Not much to chuckle about or discuss of interest around here now is there. St. Luke has been and gone and conquered Loftus, so what more is there to do besides owning Grobbelaar and Clever and Alberts for 80 mins on Saturday.
Its a fete a compli this one will be just a formality before heading off on the road to discovery. Thereafter should be pretty plain sailing with five wins over the ocean and close it out back home to still clinch a semi spot.
Easy as pie, the jol has just begun, check it out.
12 Mar 2009, 19:48 pm
#70 yliad: Alberts will handle Schalk. Baywatch will handle Luke. And Franco will handle Vermulen.
Easy as a koeksuster.
Lions by 4.
12 Mar 2009, 19:49 pm
earlier the week i got it lions by 5, then de waal chosen and i have it lions by 10…then AP chosen and i feel it may be the stormers again!!!
12 Mar 2009, 19:50 pm
Hellooooooooo,
Where are my rugga buddies ?
I want to discuss some predictions for the weekend…. and SuperBru picks….
Kom, kruip uit…..
12 Mar 2009, 19:51 pm
AP and Willem wikkelspies….jeez , enough to want me to dust off the surfboard and spend the 80 getting dumped!!
12 Mar 2009, 19:53 pm
#73 grootblousmile: GBS….show me yours and i will give mine…a bit piss ed so i cant remember who is playing who…i have lions by 10 and sharks by 11,
12 Mar 2009, 19:54 pm
#71 SodaJoe:
Dream on, the only little glimmer of hope you have is your front row, and unfortunately thats not such a huge advantage as it used to be since they nullified the brawn package deal with ElV’s.
Front row – Lions
Locks – Stormers
Loosies – Stormers
Half backs – Stormers
Centers – Stormers
Full Back – Lions
Wings – evens, perhaps Lions
60/40 split to Stormers, will be equally reflected in the score line at end of play Saturday.
12 Mar 2009, 19:54 pm
blues by 15 and brumbies by 3…and chiefs by 6…the mist clears
12 Mar 2009, 19:55 pm
#72 grant10: Hi,
When I heard that Yo-yo Pretorius was chosen and also that Franco replaced Ernst… it swung the pendulum towards the Stormers….
Stormers by 4….
12 Mar 2009, 19:56 pm
#76 yliad: luke at 8 so baywatch got a yard on schalk…lucky they chose the donkey ap!!
12 Mar 2009, 19:56 pm
#76 yliad:
Front row – Lions
Locks – Stormers
Loosies – Even
Half backs – Even perhaps Lions. Rowdy is kak, and AP Vs Wimpie even.
Centers – Very even, Perhaps Lions. Goodes is wild card, but Jacques is better than Bobo.
Full Back – Even, perhaps Lions.
Wings – evens, perhaps Lions
12 Mar 2009, 19:57 pm
Doesn’t matter who loses, Stormers or Lions – it will be the Bulls fault!!!!!
12 Mar 2009, 19:58 pm
#73 grootblousmile:
les hear it then..
12 Mar 2009, 19:59 pm
#78 grootblousmile: hi my man…just back fronm saying goodbye to my mate who died on a blloody oil rig …bloody cr crunch forced a 47 year old to have to work like a 18 year old and my mans heart caved in…bloody hell man!
12 Mar 2009, 19:59 pm
#77 grant10:
Blues / Cheetahs……. Blues by 10 – 19
Brumbies / Waratahs…….. Tahs by 5 – 14
Crusaders / Force……. Saders by 3 – 8 (Damn they cannot be bad forever)
Highlanders / Chiefs……… Chiefs by 1 – 9
Reds / Sharks…….. Sharks by 18 – 27
Stormers / Lions……… Stormers by 4
12 Mar 2009, 20:00 pm
Bulls can just be grateful they got let off the hook by both of them, game should have gone the other way both times.
Stormers and Lions will have better overseas results than Bulls throughout.
#78 grootblousmile:
Not sure. I like Franco as another significant line-out option.
AP – I dunno ’bout dat one either. But when he clicks he clicks big.
Any way here are my underpants:
Game 28: Blues v Cheetahs: Blues by 12
Game 29: Brumbies v Waratahs: Waratahs by 4
Game 30: Crusaders v Force: Crusaders by 6
Game 31: Highlanders v Chiefs: Chiefs by 6
Game 32: Reds v Sharks: Sharks by 6
Game 33: Stormers v Lions: Lions by 4
rassie you wally…why the bloody kick…kick…kick!
12 Mar 2009, 20:01 pm
#85 yliad: Dunno ’bout dat one either.
12 Mar 2009, 20:01 pm
i don’t know about these lions being ”limp” when last year they managed to scupper the stompies semi-final delusions…look for henno mentz & yankee todd clever to make a nuisance of themselves…
I don’t forsee any flying sparks, but it should be good watching jdv bamboozle doppies, and on the other hand darren, mossie smashing it up on bobo…
12 Mar 2009, 20:02 pm
#83 grant10: Hell man, my condolences….
I am sad for my friend, the Fly Half…. I will drink a toot on the man I did not know….
Salute !
12 Mar 2009, 20:04 pm
#80 SodaJoe:
I’ll give you centers even, but thats as far as you gonna stretch it. The rest is as previously ordained.
FR – Lions
Locks – Stormers
Loosies – Stormers
Half backs – first half evens, second half Stormers
Centers – evens
Wings and FB – evens / Lions
12 Mar 2009, 20:04 pm
ex fiancee of 18 months ago at funeral….snap,crackle,fizz,pop,electricity so intense……..after a little chat,like lets forgive stuff…then a hug…jeez….HHHEEECCCTTTIIICCC!
12 Mar 2009, 20:06 pm
#90 grootblousmile: he was a good man…bloody bulls supporter too…i finally forgave him today!
12 Mar 2009, 20:07 pm
#91 yliad: Should be sufficient for a 5-10 point Stormers advantage
Brumbies gonna take the Waratahs at home and Sharks better beware of a fired up Reds outfit in Brisbane.
#89 Transformation: oppies is not playing. Goodes is in, by all accounts very big and very quick. JdV might have more of a handful.
#93 grant10: He died trying to better his life…….. sign of a BIG man !!
12 Mar 2009, 20:08 pm
#91 yliad: at least we know they got a yoyo donkey flyhalf….grant where u my man….he would have murdered AP….
12 Mar 2009, 20:08 pm
#92 grant10:
sucker for punishment, some more fridges on the showroom floor better buy up quick.
12 Mar 2009, 20:10 pm
#91 yliad: Nah boet. Seriously those loosies are even stevens.
Baywatch will get to the ball quicker than Schalk or Luke. Alberts will keep Schalk quiet in the tighter phases (actually with the abundance of loose forward riches we have in SA, Alberts is flying under the radar and he’s bloody good). Franco gives a nice line-out option. But Vermulen I will give you is excellent. So advantage Leeus.
12 Mar 2009, 20:11 pm
#98 yliad: LOL
12 Mar 2009, 20:12 pm
Centers and half backs confrontation could be quite interesting, Stormers will just have too much savvy round about the loose ball, Goodes and Fourie with Willemse, Mentz and Ludick will all be quite a handful
Grant, JdV, Bobo, Naqalavuki and Koster should be up to the challenge. Can’t say much about De Waal and Percy on the day though, proof will be in the pudding.
12 Mar 2009, 20:13 pm
#97 grant10: Fk AP for once needs to not let me down. Seriously if his poep string pops tomorrow I am going to fly over and pull it right out his arse.
12 Mar 2009, 20:14 pm
#101 yliad: Ag those wings don’t scare me. A retreaded 8′th man and a prop masquerading as a wing.
12 Mar 2009, 20:17 pm
#97 grant10:
Rassies doing a Jake, defense wins games c’ck n bull **** deluxe chicken sh’t style retreat up the backside strategy.
He’ll catch a wake up by half time. lets hope there’ll be enough time to still turn the sinking ship around by then.
12 Mar 2009, 20:17 pm
I sympathise with the aggrieved Lions supporters on this site – Keo really does not fancy your team…
His attention on your team at least provides the Bulls supporters with a reprieve.
Not all of us Bulls supporters are like Markies Keo…
12 Mar 2009, 20:18 pm
#95 SodaJoe: okey dokey, don’t know goodes but hey, i rarely watch the lions…
12 Mar 2009, 20:18 pm
#103 SodaJoe:
Koster caught Spies from behind and he’s big and fast, he’ll leave Willemse for dead, unfortunately Mentz will leave the Fiji for dead too.
12 Mar 2009, 20:19 pm
#104 yliad: You might get within 4 points but not closer.
#105 MapleBull: Ag Keos’ bone is limp.
12 Mar 2009, 20:19 pm
#83 grant10:
louw?
12 Mar 2009, 20:21 pm
#107 yliad: Skops you could leave the Fiji for dead.
#106 Transformation: I’d never heard of him, but Lion Till I Die said he was big and quick, the opposite to Doppies’ Big & Thick. So who knows.
But if we lose this one, Loffie can rebuild fkn Griquas Ladies XV.
12 Mar 2009, 20:22 pm
Swing Low Sweet Chariot, coming for to take me home.
12 Mar 2009, 20:25 pm
Will be a tough derby….
Stormers kicking game and line-out steals on the Lions throw makes the Stormers shade this one, as far as I’m concerned…
Wielie Waalie will kick the Lions back into their corners… then at Lions line-outs close to their line, Stormers will contest it and win a few….. creating opportunities….
12 Mar 2009, 20:26 pm
Pity that both these coaches need this one so bad their entire reputation hangs on this one game, first one to blink is going down, and if I weren’t a Stormers fan I’d say Loffie deserves more than Rassie for this one to go right, Rassie likes to gamble, Loffie tries to do the right thing most times.
Still Rassie might just get lucky 5th time around, Loffie on the udder hand might need to dig himself out of a mighty big hole after Saturday, cause he’s going on the road after that.
12 Mar 2009, 20:27 pm
#110 SodaJoe:
Hey Joe,
At least I know for sure that I am going to catch up one point on you at Superbru during the last match of this round.
12 Mar 2009, 20:28 pm
#112 grootblousmile:
On this issue I agree fully with you.
12 Mar 2009, 20:32 pm
Willem is not as one dimensional as people think he is. During 2007 the Cheetahs scored 70 tries in the curry cup with the Bulls and Sharks joint second on 54 each. Willem was the flyhalf for the Cheetahs – it is all about knowing when and from what positions to be expansive.
12 Mar 2009, 20:33 pm
OK, it is time for Desperate Housewifes.
12 Mar 2009, 20:33 pm
Lions will want to keep possession more… and only kick out when absolutely forced, from inside their 22…. because of their line-out weakness…
Lions should run Wielie Waalie’s uppies back, almost without fail…. farkkk unless Yo-yo catches the uppie…. he’ll kick a few directly into touch !
This year the Lions have “Finishers”…. so beware….
12 Mar 2009, 20:35 pm
#117 Robzim: Farrkkkk, do you watch that **** ??
Ma se make-up…. gelukkig was ek noggie sooo desperaat nie !
12 Mar 2009, 20:39 pm
Lions are a good side this year, just weak at fly half and a little undercooked at lock, but they can give good as they get, just a pity they don’t believe it themselves just yet otherwise like Stormers they both would have pumped Bulls and Sharks back up their overblown spouts.
Anyway some say its good for SA rugby that the two high flying super duper teams got off to a flying start, now they just got to show they can keep it that way.
12 Mar 2009, 20:41 pm
desperate housewives …. now there is a new description for the stormes if ever I have heard one..
12 Mar 2009, 20:43 pm
SodaJoe, well done, you keeping the Lions on the front foot here. Dissapointed in GBS for going against the Lions.
12 Mar 2009, 20:45 pm
#122 Ed_the_Lion: Ed, Edd & Eddie…. check post #118….
I’m being objective…. njannies!!
12 Mar 2009, 20:47 pm
#123 grootblousmile: Hey broerrrrrr.
I have read all the posts. You are being very objective but what will you do on superbrrruuu
stormers will win this one i think, by 10 points.
i am ambivalent about this result.
#123 grootblousmile: Prrrractising the RRRR for St. Patrrricks day..
12 Mar 2009, 20:48 pm
#112 grootblousmile: That does worry me. I admit it. Fk.
12 Mar 2009, 20:48 pm
#121 gunther:
wheres my mate sondeboks coolerbox?
12 Mar 2009, 20:49 pm
#124 Ed_the_Lion: On Bru I will pick against Yo-yo Pretorius…. and I’ll favour home advantage….
But it’s a difficult pick to make….
#125 rangerman: by 10 points??
ambivalent: uncertainty or fluctuation, esp. when caused by inability to make a choice or by a simultaneous desire to say or do two opposite or conflicting things.
good lions side, pity ernst still out and larry is a bit too rotund for the ELVs.
12 Mar 2009, 20:50 pm
#114 Robzim: You Stompies are all the same beating your chests and blah blah blah before the game.
You will be bleating your chests afterwards.
Ag I am getting nervous for this one.
We need to win, or start again with a new coach. New team.
But GBS has the tactics down, Stompies can win this way. Fk.
12 Mar 2009, 20:50 pm
#129 grootblousmile: thanks for the honesty. you blue bulls have a very honest and well behaved streak in you.
12 Mar 2009, 20:51 pm
#121 gunther: LOL
12 Mar 2009, 20:53 pm
#130 Ed_the_Lion: ja, ambivalence caused by me not wanting to see my skoonfamily suffer another weekend (i secretly enjoy the lions style too).
also, i really dont think the lions are a bad side, actually i agree with yliad (please, please, say nothing), they just dont believe in themselves.
but home advantage will count imo.
#125 rangerman: Ranger put your SB prediction in you cagey animal.
#133 Ed_the_Lion: Me well behaved….. hehehehe…. haahahaha…
Bwahhahaha….
Amper stik ek aan my billies en drank….
12 Mar 2009, 20:55 pm
#135 rangerman: I won’t say anything. Skoppie is 100% correct, they need to believe in themselves. I posted that on lionspride.co.za. If they go to newlands believing in themselves, then there is going to be a moer off a pakslae on the horizon.
12 Mar 2009, 20:55 pm
Stormers loosies will handle Lions, except big Willem A. will be a monster to stop if he gets up a head of steam.
Lions backline outside of flyhalf is quite lethal now, including slow coach Willemse and steam train Mentz.
Barry B. Goode could be the surprise package of the showdown.
12 Mar 2009, 20:56 pm
#135 rangerman: Ranger – I think it’s closer than 10 either way.
Front Row – Lions
Locks – Stompies
Loosies – even
Centers – even
wings – Lions
Flyhalf – even
Scrummie – Lions
Fullback – Even.
De-Waal & Line-outs worry me.
If I was Stompies – if AP comes off we will see a very good Lions backline.
12 Mar 2009, 20:56 pm
#137 grootblousmile:
12 Mar 2009, 20:57 pm
#128 rangerman:
I am sitting on it … keeping it warm and drowning my sorrows over the cricket… very hot here in cape town coolerbox essential equipment…..
12 Mar 2009, 20:57 pm
#137 grootblousmile: You well behaved !!!! Hi Titanium….
12 Mar 2009, 20:58 pm
#136 SodaJoe: lmao! i just put my pick in soda. but nou ja, i am still in to minds about the lions vs stormers game.
ambivalent.
#138 Ed_the_Lion: ja, i think i will watch this game.
12 Mar 2009, 20:58 pm
#138 Ed_the_Lion: Ed – I don’t see a confidence issue in the Lions. I really don’t.
I see a big confidence issue in Stompies so far this season. And the pressure will be huge after we hold on and sneak ahead in first 30 minutes.
12 Mar 2009, 20:59 pm
#145 SodaJoe: hold on and sneak ahead. We gonna have to keep it together. Not always easy defending 30 points after 30 minutes.
12 Mar 2009, 21:01 pm
maak hulle sag loffie.
#140 SodaJoe: nah, Rose is the real deal when he is on form.
AP who? (jolling!).
#142 gunther: LMAO!
i have a twin door 74l fridge/freezer in the back of my landy. the beer is always cold!
Robzim watches Desperate Housewifes !!!
Amazing!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:02 pm
#146 Ed_the_Lion: see you’re in for +16. I like it.
12 Mar 2009, 21:02 pm
#143 carol: Helloooooo Mrs Chipping Norton 2006 !!
How was the races today………. farking horses….
12 Mar 2009, 21:03 pm
#145 SodaJoe: ja, i agree……OVERconfidence
12 Mar 2009, 21:03 pm
#150 SodaJoe: that me. go big or go home.
12 Mar 2009, 21:04 pm
#148 rangerman:
yes but does your landy always start….
#149 carol:
some things are better kept private
#98 yliad: yeah boet…easy for you …this one is a Sienna Miller lookalike…seriously my man…HOT…
#147 cab: Cabernet. I am serious. Loffie to be taken seriously has to win this one. Otherwise it’s all hot air.
These are the games he has to start winning – Cheaters, Stormers, Reds, Canes. Then he can aim to beat Brumbies, Bulls, etc.
Coming last or second last is old.
12 Mar 2009, 21:05 pm
#151 grootblousmile: Have just walked in, excellent days racing….Real quality horses, fun and the Guiness Village!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:06 pm
#75 grant10: I can remind you of your predictions!! I must do superbru tonight!
12 Mar 2009, 21:07 pm
#133 Ed_the_Lion: except for bakkies, jaco engels & jp nel…they misbehave like ****!
12 Mar 2009, 21:08 pm
#156 SodaJoe:
moenie worry, all part of the 3-year plan, big tears on monday in the cape.
#154 gunther:
always!…….uhm….so far.
#147 cab:
klaar sag genoeg dankie, dis tyd Rassie bietjie paar ballas begin groei en bietjie vuur warm klappe begin uitdeel
It will be a ‘moving’ maneuvering kind of game, whatever the result.
#148 rangerman: I agree. I would rather have him at 10 than Andre Pulled Poepstring.
But maybe Poepstring is a little more physical, I dunno.
You think Stompies are going to win by 10!! LMFAO!! NO CHANCE.
#157 carol:
there is a village called guinness?
#154 gunther: Rob was very generous to share that with us lol!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:10 pm
ag, why bother with 6 nations on boots?
who gives a sh….?
not me.
12 Mar 2009, 21:10 pm
#149 carol: I don’t want to hear him teasing Grant about James Blunt again. He has no moral high ground.
Although I suspect Grant is watch DH right now too.
12 Mar 2009, 21:11 pm
#165 carol: Did you make a few bob on the races…. or are your donkeys still running ?
#164 gunther: At the Cheltenham Festival there is a huge area called the Guiness Village. Hospitality suites, massive Guiness bar, Irish band lost of very “jolly” Irish men having a laugh!
It has to be done!
#161 rangerman:
when I was at school in the uk the famers used to have bumper stickers saying
“I’d rather push a landy than drive *** ****!”
say no more
12 Mar 2009, 21:12 pm
#162 yliad:
if the stormers go into the break behind, rassie will be handing out klappe, don’t like losing that one.
loffie moet net bietjie maak-hulle-sag-vorentoe rugby speel.
if the lions do overcome their bad newlands form, not only will rassie be in hot water but poor old de waal is going to cop it big time.
#163 SodaJoe: i would not mind being wrong soda, not at all.
but ja, we gotta wait and see eh?
#155 grant10:
So why you chuck her up, too hot to handle or what? better you get your mittens on and start treating her with kid gloves or else keep buying fridges.
#166 rangerman: Some of us have no choice!!
We need something to get excited about!
Grant where are you?
12 Mar 2009, 21:14 pm
#165 carol:
generous is not the word..
12 Mar 2009, 21:14 pm
#170 gunther: you were at school in the uk?
with a name like gunther?
glad you survived
12 Mar 2009, 21:15 pm
#167 SodaJoe: Hahaha I just had to bring that up the other night (The James Blunt incident).
It was a Night Owl classic moment!! That and the speedos!
#166 rangerman: Although I am #1 on Six nations SuperBru.
But I agree – the only game worth watching will be the Grand Finale Wales Vs Ireland, which will be a cracker, especially with Lions positions at stake.
#168 grootblousmile: My betting is way out. The tips we were given not only were they the favourites but they did not win either!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:17 pm
#175 carol: Watching DH in his Mark Spitz board shorts which he had cut short like Daniel Craig James Bond cozzie.
#174 carol: ja, sorry carol.
but our season has kicked off and just like finally getting sugar when all you have had is sweetener, there is no looking back.
#180 carol: Kind off telling you to bet on the Stormers. How can people do that to you.
12 Mar 2009, 21:18 pm
#171 cab:
pity there has to be a loser here, but I reckon Loffie is more gewoond on losing then Rassie is, if Rassie loses this one I doubt he’ll get up from there. Its almost imperative Stormers win else its doomsday on Monday, and a little the same for Loffie too. Make or break for both these two here.
12 Mar 2009, 21:18 pm
#180 carol: My dad always said “Gambling on the horses is a game for Kings and Cnuts…. and I’m neither one !”
12 Mar 2009, 21:19 pm
#179 SodaJoe: ja, wales vs ireland now thats a game i will watch.
#183 Ed_the_Lion: Carol, seriously I am going to catch you with my Lions this weekend, and then all you will see is my muscular behind.
#176 gunther: Rob has eclectic taste in many things!
12 Mar 2009, 21:20 pm
#179 SodaJoe: Congratulations on that Soda, better than me on that then!
#184 yliad: another monday doomsday in the cape?
nice and safe here in the last outpost.
#177 rangerman:
gunther is my nom de plume… the reality is far more mundane anyway there lots of wierdos at school .. the sultan of brunei’s sun taught me to eat bacon with marmalade..go figure..
12 Mar 2009, 21:21 pm
#181 SodaJoe: Get me a web cam…..NOW!!!
#184 yliad: I think Loffie will go at the end of the season if he loses, and Rassie will have one last chance to buy a front row and stop making dof positional picks.
Naka must go now, yesterday. Cheaters are embarrassing SA rugby.
#185 grootblousmile: You are so too.
#184 yliad:
yeah it is a pity, i support the lions but grandpappy played for wp so soft spot there, seem to support the two worst teams in the comp. yip also thinks its pretty much make or break for these two. stormers seem to have the better side but the lions have the capacity to turn them, no doubt.
12 Mar 2009, 21:22 pm
#187 SodaJoe: And my am…. behind.
#191 gunther: nom de plume nogal?
quality education is hard to come by.
which sultans son taught you to steal coolerboxes?
There have been two classic 6N games this year so far, the Ireland-France game, and the France-Wales game were both out the top drawer and worth the look in, flat out committed encounters, and even the England-Wales game not too shabby either. Could do a whole lot worse like watching Cheetahs vs Reds or Waratahs vs Reds for example.
#182 rangerman: Even watching the Bulls v Stormers on Justin TV I could see how good the Super 14 teams were…and you guys said it was not a good match…It was so fast and furious compared to our matches!
12 Mar 2009, 21:23 pm
#191 gunther:
he is
going to
miss out
on all those
virgins
12 Mar 2009, 21:23 pm
#189 carol: I got France win, and I am calling England this weekend.
It’s easy with 3 games. S14 is HARD. Especially when you bet on Cheaters and Crusaders. ********. If Crusaders lose this weekend, I am going to send Loffie to coach them.
12 Mar 2009, 21:24 pm
#173 yliad: complex skop….crazy heat wont go away…business…lust and love all convoluted and mixed with egos ….all dissolves face to face when time stands still and the heartbeat like a flyhalf getting a lobbed pass with Gert Smal bearing dowmn on you….yeah…i can see another fridge loss…
#185 grootblousmile: We met some guys who were there with some ex professional footballers, one of them won £11,000 yesterday! Of course we don’t know how much he may have lost as well! they keep that quiet!
#195 cab: Nope. Cheaters. Then Reds.
12 Mar 2009, 21:25 pm
#175 carol: drinking to numb some pain…where you Princess??
12 Mar 2009, 21:25 pm
#197 rangerman:
I am self taught in the art of cooler box theft… it is a humble skill but mine own….
12 Mar 2009, 21:26 pm
#198 yliad: tahs vs reds was a good match.
quade cooper is quality.
#199 carol: thats probably the biggest derby in our rugby carol. ill tempered affair i thought.
#187 SodaJoe: You reckon you will catch me do you, you should see the hints I have from Grant and GBS !! We will see….
You may have to look at my backside for a bit longer!!
#202 grant10: Open the fridge you still own, and haven’t given away, and have a BIG LONG DRINK of something strong.
Now calm down.
Stompies are going to lose. I know.
Don’t worry the “Blonde” still digs you.
Did you get rid of the Beemer?
#181 SodaJoe:
good james bond that oke, that one he did with that french actress was damn good i thought. old robzim, desperate housewives and cliff richard, am actually not sure if he’s joking or not.
12 Mar 2009, 21:27 pm
#205 grant10: Hi gorgeous, the Guiness effect is wearing off me now….was your day very traumatic? I wondered how it went!
12 Mar 2009, 21:27 pm
#206 gunther: More valuable just to dief the stuff out of the cooler. Less conspicuous as it were.
12 Mar 2009, 21:28 pm
#208 carol: Well in truth I would tell you that’s a better view.
12 Mar 2009, 21:30 pm
#201 SodaJoe: no, you didnt back the crusaders did you?
mccaw is out and they are hondkuk already!
#206 gunther:
#210 cab: I’ve really grown increasingly concerned with multi-polar Zimbo. This behaviour would make any man blush, even a Cotswolds farmer.
Whatever happened to those report buttons you loved so much. Maybe I will just send Roy an email and get him banned.
Ok OK OK OKAY! I’m just teasing.
#212 SodaJoe:
yes but where is the fun in that? as my yorkshire ancestors used to say you may as well be hung for a sheep as or a lamb..
12 Mar 2009, 21:31 pm
#201 SodaJoe: Of course I must do my 6 Nations selections too. At least that does not take as long!
#213 SodaJoe: I doubt that!
#190 rangerman:
safe as houses, from what? from falling off your humpty dumpty walls of expectation,
I’d actually rather know I’m still a little fallible with a little growing yet to do than think I’ve arrived all of a sudden. Else where’s the challenge if it all goes so provisionally to plan even when it is all flunky fluxed flukety fluke that gets one there.
#205 grant10: Talk to us…..looks like today did not go well!
12 Mar 2009, 21:32 pm
#208 carol:
no harm there you belter…
12 Mar 2009, 21:32 pm
#214 rangerman: I did. It was an interesting one to call. But Force don’t impress me, they blow very hot then freezing cold, and ‘Saders at home.
I felt that I needed a call to help me catch Ms Cheltenham.
Agree, could have gone other way.
12 Mar 2009, 21:33 pm
#209 SodaJoe: done a deal…tues the 2006 523 i gone foe a 320 i new one…saves me r3000.00 a month…strange but true…devils arithmetic skop….Sienna looking the business….18 months….time stood still….what can i say….lovethe moments…reminds me i am alive…went with a mate after the funeral to a quiet pub….ex phones mate an hour later to ask where we are…cute but so scared of the complications…damn fridges cost mate!
#215 SodaJoe:
ja those report buttons were a load of horseshit, but nouja lets not go there.
#216 gunther: As a lifelong Leeds United fan, I might have to change my ways and steal a whole fridge.
Or,
I could just ask Grant for one. He gives them away.
12 Mar 2009, 21:34 pm
#217 carol: Not even close. I promise.
12 Mar 2009, 21:34 pm
#211 carol: awesome day…so weird Princess…wounds wide open…
12 Mar 2009, 21:35 pm
#218 yliad: Classic. I have no idea what you were saying. This has always portended great things for my rugby team. Your unintelligible muse is talismanic and for this I am grateful.
Lions by 4.
12 Mar 2009, 21:36 pm
BOYS QUICK, FOR HEAVENS SAKE MAKE GRANT SEE SENSE…
Grant I am shouting, do not do anything STUPID!!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:36 pm
#222 grant10: Think with the big head bud.
12 Mar 2009, 21:37 pm
#224 SodaJoe:
I dread to think about what you might have to endure to secure a fridge from grant..nowadays you can buy a fne one for very little money its all about risk vs reward..
#223 cab: Yup you and Skops, hot buttons are easy.
Now about the Grens Oorlog …
#218 yliad: i admit, it was a little nasty of me to lead you on like that
i must admit, the blatant reference to “the lsat outpost” might be a little to much, seems not hehe….
#221 SodaJoe: ja, catch up superbru is much like catch up rugby…it leads to all sorts of risks.
#195 cab:
seems we share quite a bit in common in spite of all the differences at back of the ranch, Stormers and Lions my two teams too being brought up in Springs and Joey’s and living in C.T. since ’78
12 Mar 2009, 21:38 pm
#230 gunther: You may be right, he might make me take the Turk as well.
I will just upgrade to stealing coolers rather than mere borrels.
12 Mar 2009, 21:39 pm
I’m so lethargic tonight…….. so lazy, I would rather pee in the bush outside my office than walk 3 m further to the toilet…
Think I must make it an early’ish night… tomorrow’s a difficult day…. farkkk… I have to watch 2 Super 14 games in the morning…..
Hehehe
12 Mar 2009, 21:39 pm
#224 SodaJoe: you a speedo wearing male yank….no chance mate …you dont qualify for a fridge!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:40 pm
#233 yliad: TRAITOR!! Two faced *******.
James Phillips is turning in his grave.
The Corporal Punishment reunion tour has been abandoned.
Well, we don’t need you then.
Lions by 4.
12 Mar 2009, 21:41 pm
#226 grant10: Fly Half… ask her for the fridge back… if she gives it…. then go for it !!
Hehehehe
#234 SodaJoe:
yes the turk guaranteed to leave a bad taste in your mouth…
#236 grant10: Well then you’re stuck with the Turk.
#220 gunther: I owe you a fiver for that, thanks!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:42 pm
#228 carol: shook her hand…the earth quaked…Richter scales reached new heights….breathlessness took on whole new proportions….everything went into slow motion….very, very, weird!
#235 grootblousmile: Did you have a late night?
#238 grootblousmile: Naughty. Go to sleep before you get Miss Clifton Boardshorts into a lot of trouble.
12 Mar 2009, 21:43 pm
#230 gunther: LOL
#242 grant10: That’s what happens when all the blood flows downstairs.
#242 grant10:
sounds like you still got unfinished business brewing there, hope your blondes got a big forgiving heart buried in her bosom.
12 Mar 2009, 21:44 pm
#243 carol: Mmmmm… worked till 1:30am….
#231 SodaJoe:
ja, lets not go there either, actually the oke that almost certainly knows the most about the ‘grens’ is the most chilled out oke on here, 4man or caracca cordooda nowadays.
#233 yliad:
springs, yoh, very close, me boksburg and benoni, folks from cape town and eastern cape. cape town is by far the prettiest of our cities, but a bit too many trendies, prefer the joburg vibe.
#241 carol:
baby for you it is on the house…must be all that riding you do..
#242 grant10: Oh no, some really bad signs there!!! You must sleep on this and think with a clear head!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:45 pm
i sense an epistle coming on….
uh oh.
12 Mar 2009, 21:46 pm
#238 grootblousmile: LOL….and my Alfa Spyder and U2 collection and surround sound system she gave me for Xmas and kept! LOL…still wears my watch!!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:47 pm
#248 grootblousmile: I am so impressed with your stamina!! Imagine being in your office all that time, I call that dedication!
#252 rangerman: Dread, double dread…. scroll on past !
#249 cab: It’s well known that Jo’Burg boys (not you half-brickies in Springs, Brakpan, Benoni, Boksburg, Kempton Park)are the handomest, most intelligent, most athletic men on earth.
We are famous for going to Cape Town and raping the cows and stealing their women.
Those educated in the Eastern Cape leave the cows alone, and take 2 girls home.
#240 SodaJoe: LOL
12 Mar 2009, 21:48 pm
#247 yliad: Wise words, Grant listen to Skop…
12 Mar 2009, 21:49 pm
#244 SodaJoe: LOL…yaaaa boet!
#253 grant10: Hehehe…. on 2nd thoughts…. maybe she wants a Beemer this time round….. eishhhhhhh
Trek af, plak toe…. gooi die sleutel in die hond se bak vol vleis !
#250 gunther: I don’t know how you can tell from that teeny tiny picture!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:50 pm
Keo,
You need some direction my man.
Canberra (where the Tahs travel to) is SOUTH-WEST from Sydney (like Cape Town from Johannesburg). NORTH is like PRETORIA from JOHANNESBURG!
And there is a very good chance that the Lions may just make the misrable Stormers supporters even more misrable this weekend. Fortunately, they can easily drink there misery away (again).
#256 SodaJoe:
hehe if u say so mr joe, how is minneapolis these days? warmed up a bit?
#255 grootblousmile: ja, shoudnt therow stones at the beehive.
cant take the buzzing.
anyways, i am off. low battery.
may your weekends be as pleasant as that of a sharks supporter
#253 grant10: Have you had an envelope from England yet?
12 Mar 2009, 21:51 pm
My super14 game of the weekend prediction: stormers 30 lions 15
12 Mar 2009, 21:51 pm
#247 yliad: she will cut my b all s off….yeah, unfinished business for sure…no karma there….after 18 months the wounds not healing….crazy stuff,,,,,
12 Mar 2009, 21:52 pm
#262 Hier kom groot k..: Oops, slip of the fingers: they can drink THEIR misery away over THERE!
12 Mar 2009, 21:52 pm
#253 grant10: She will have your business next time…avoid her she is a “Taker”!! I know the type!!
How could she take your U2 collection, the cow!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:53 pm
#256 SodaJoe: #233 yliad:
later u two.
#264 rangerman: See you Rangerman….nice to have your company in the evening.
#266 Wezwp: No WEZWP, Lions 28 Stormers 25!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:54 pm
#263 cab: OK I was gentle on the hot buttons, asking me about the weather at the moment is unfortunately not a “hot”button. But a FKN FREEEZZINNNG COLD button.
Yesterday coldest temp measured on that day since 1906. -20C. Just bullsh1t. No better today.
I might even have to start raping cows.
Or at least ask Wakanathan or Cane for some sheep tips.
Loffie my man….lose this game I dare you!!!!
Hallo almal
Lions gaan die Stormpies vat die naweek ,nou wel nie ver nie,maar wel !!!
#267 grant10: Use some “bloufitterjoel” in your coffee before the time when you next plan to see the Ex again…. and kap the blonde beforehand….. it’ll be like going shopping when you’ve just eaten….. you’ll buy much less !
12 Mar 2009, 21:55 pm
i’m just glad mackensie was dropped fRom the proteas line up. I think people like prince and gibbs deserve another chance. Are here perhaps any rondebosch residents on here tonight?
12 Mar 2009, 21:56 pm
#276 grootblousmile: Ha ha, man met experience ek sien…
#265 carol: Not even an e mail from my other blonde from over the ocean…never mind an envelope! Will check Monday….now that Zoe sends me cool e mails ….as for the Princess….well i am chopped liver!
#266 Wezwp: Doesn’t count unless it’s on SuperBru. Now it’s just a vain hope against hope.
#270 cab: Later bud.
#276 grootblousmile: I think I get the gist of that, it is a bit basic but makes absolute sense!
12 Mar 2009, 21:57 pm
#276 grootblousmile: Now that is funny.
12 Mar 2009, 21:57 pm
#279 grant10: What do you mean? You have lost me…
12 Mar 2009, 21:58 pm
Any one know where the oasis will be performing in cape town?
12 Mar 2009, 21:59 pm
#269 carol: listen to U2…ONE ….sort of our song and perhaps thought i would be back….i dont know any more Princess…the booze making me a bit flaky here…will regret this **** in the am!
12 Mar 2009, 22:00 pm
#284 Wezwp: In a bar, Liam will get in a huff and lamp Noel one and the gig will be cancelled!!
#276 grootblousmile: you a crazy man my man!!LOL
#282 SodaJoe: I’m a very practical man…. hahaha
12 Mar 2009, 22:01 pm
I just think that Liam is one cool dude thats not afraid to speak his mind.
12 Mar 2009, 22:03 pm
#237 SodaJoe: Left Springs at age 14, plenty water under the bridge since then, Stormers not a bad substitute for patriotic fervor seeing I been here longer than I was there.
Whats patriotism about anyway when its a whole bunch of mercenaries propping up the last bastion outpost of colonial supremacy, you should by that token be supporting EP and Cheeky’s new franchise if you use that paradigm as the rule.
#270 cab:
so long, hope the tinkling going’s good or at least OK
12 Mar 2009, 22:03 pm
#283 carol: so much booze io am lost too…forgive me princess…but hell she leaves me dazed and confused….
12 Mar 2009, 22:04 pm
Are here any oasis fans on keo tonight?
12 Mar 2009, 22:05 pm
nightowls listen to me…avoid the ones that stop traffic….
12 Mar 2009, 22:07 pm
#293 grant10: You have got mail!
#292 Wezwp: luv them boet!How you wez my man!!
#290 yliad: Cheeky’s not in it for the rugby Skoppie, his agenda is political. The EP rugby community deserves a bit of a break – won’t get it from Watson & Co.
12 Mar 2009, 22:08 pm
#294 carol: about bloody time!
12 Mar 2009, 22:08 pm
What a peaceful tonight in the southern surburbs. just thinking how hectic it’s going to be over here during the world cup. Do you perhaps watch any footie carol. liverpool was great.Like they say: ‘In rafa we trust!’.
12 Mar 2009, 22:09 pm
#289 Wezwp: Wes, Liam is a loud mouthed di*khead!!
But I do like a bit of Oasis at times!
12 Mar 2009, 22:09 pm
#293 grant10: Farrkkkk, I always avoid those that stop traffic… with the Cardboard Signs… saying something like “Jobless, 14 hungry kids at home, the sun is beating the **** out of me here. Donation please ! Bless you”
12 Mar 2009, 22:10 pm
#293 grant10: Grant you sound like you’re in a bit of a state. Have a kip and things will seem a lot clearer in the morning.
12 Mar 2009, 22:11 pm
I’m supercool grant buddy just got to be up extra early to be at rondebosch boys high.
#288 grootblousmile: If you are so practical I have some odd jobs you could attend to !!
Fancy a trip to England?
#252 rangerman:
for somebody that classifies himself as a clever **** goody two shoes mommies boy you sure do duck out of here in a hurry, especially after you try your luck, then you duck, shows you don’t have too much gumption where it really counts, should try facing up to your goody two shoes self now and again. n try stand your ground.
12 Mar 2009, 22:12 pm
#303 carol: Hehehe…
12 Mar 2009, 22:12 pm
Yeah grant, how many pints have you been downing?
12 Mar 2009, 22:14 pm
Meneer gbs hoe gaan dit ou man. I bet your smile has become even bigger since you last saw the super140 log.
12 Mar 2009, 22:17 pm
anyone following the recent varsity cup action lately? UCT and the maties are just in a class of their own, just to bad that the winning feeling not rubbing off on the stormers.
12 Mar 2009, 22:17 pm
Ok…. time to go do the SuperBru picks…. then go hurt a mattress !
Cheers !
Grant, moenie mielie gooi nie !
Cheers Karlien, sweetie…
Cheers friends and UBU the dumbest !
12 Mar 2009, 22:18 pm
Hi again everybody
Seems the whiskey keeps me out of circulation…
Go Lions and Brumbies…
12 Mar 2009, 22:19 pm
anyway i’m off people. Have a nice peaceful sleep and dream about the stormers winning the super14
12 Mar 2009, 22:19 pm
#298 Wezwp: man u will moer them sat wez…my boys man u!!
12 Mar 2009, 22:20 pm
#309 grootblousmile: Ouderdom vang ou boeta
Lekker slaap
#290 yliad: Actually I only went to school in the E. Cape. One I started my support of the Lions I was one for life. Like Leeds. Hard work, but testament to my upstanding character, and penchant for being in love with difficult people.
#309 grootblousmile: I’ve just been looking at mine and I am stuck on Brumbies v Warratahs….may toss a coin!
Night my lovely XX
12 Mar 2009, 22:21 pm
#311 Wezwp: See you Wes…Lets hope the Stormers pull it off at the weekend!
12 Mar 2009, 22:22 pm
#291 grant10:
OK maybe coming from me it could be a double edged sword but if you want to worship Goddess Eve then go for it, get burned, get soul tortured to hell and back, it actually is worth it in the end, you get what you pay for through it all, in cash, heartache and kind.
They tell me that love isn’t lust, well thats what they tell me anyway. I reckon maybe there could be a bit of both, a little love intertwined with a little lust to keep the whole shenanigan spinning round.
Ultimately I guess we have to get the hang of what we really want out of it all, love or burning meteors exploding into cosmic dust.
12 Mar 2009, 22:22 pm
#292 Wezwp: Just saw them a few months ago in Minneapolis.
Terrible disappointment.
Liam absolutely can’t sing, and is truculently boring.
They sounded like a poor Oasis covers band trying to audition using Karaoke as their metier.
Noel, will always be one of my all time favorites, and “Don’t Look Back In Anger” is incomparable.
I would pass if I was you.
12 Mar 2009, 22:23 pm
#306 Wezwp: pints…red wine and a bit of white, now you listen to a 46 year old who knows chicken **** about life,business and women…avoid the ones that stop traffic….be safe muy man!
12 Mar 2009, 22:23 pm
#318 SodaJoe: Watch NHL tonight. On my way to Bruins game in 15 mins.
12 Mar 2009, 22:24 pm
#309 grootblousmile: cheers GBS …
12 Mar 2009, 22:24 pm
#296 filthy Luca: Lucre. They cannot do worse the balls up that it is now.
12 Mar 2009, 22:25 pm
#304 yliad: Skop. My friend. Yawn.
12 Mar 2009, 22:26 pm
#314 SodaJoe: i am a specialist in loving the strangest of women….as long as they bonde , super hot and stop traffic….and oh yes …have an affinity for Defy Fridges!
12 Mar 2009, 22:29 pm
#324 grant10: OK and again…you have a reply.
12 Mar 2009, 22:30 pm
#317 yliad: Grant this is not good advice.
Drive looking in the rearview mirror and you will crash.
12 Mar 2009, 22:31 pm
#314 SodaJoe:
Same as here, left Springs in std 6 & went to Parktown JHB till 72, then left for Europe after army, came back ’78 and headed straight for C.T. been here since.
So which am I now, a vaalie or a capey, your guess as good as mine. I like them both Stormers and Lions, so no sweat between them far as I’m concerned, and I agree with cab, I also prefer the Jo’burg ‘vibe’ to C.T., except the quality of life a little better or ‘easier’ down here.
final analysis, no place really is all that perfect, you make of it what you can and same goes for allegiances and love, its what you put in that counts more than what you trying to get out of it.
12 Mar 2009, 22:31 pm
#317 yliad: you know …as i do…that mediocrity and anything fake gets exposed…the heat makes you the greatest force you can be….i never settle skop….rather die young in the flame than freeze in the cold…way i am wired…live for the heat,,,,thats mny stiory…price to pay….?????Big price to pay if you dont embrace the heat…i know you know what i mean!
12 Mar 2009, 22:33 pm
#324 grant10: Please help me here. What’s all this banging on about fridges, am I missing something subtle?
12 Mar 2009, 22:33 pm
#328 grant10: Somethings going on. I am confused.
I can understand Skoppie.
I have no idea what Grant is talking about anymore.
This can only mean one thing. The lions will win by MORE than 4.
Thanks.
I am off.
See you through the window.
12 Mar 2009, 22:34 pm
#326 SodaJoe:
whats so bad about it, where’s the rear view mirror facing?
12 Mar 2009, 22:36 pm
#317 yliad: This could all get very messy…
12 Mar 2009, 22:37 pm
#330 SodaJoe: Soda, you did your best….I will try to make Grant see sense!! Until tomorrow, watch me trounce you again this weekend!! lol
12 Mar 2009, 22:37 pm
#329 filthy Luca: had a few lady friends in my 46 years …lost 9 fridges,,,,,just the way it is,,,but never settled for mediocrity…always kept it real!
12 Mar 2009, 22:38 pm
#334 grant10: You never even offered me a “cool box”….
I am quite miffed!!
12 Mar 2009, 22:39 pm
#328 grant10:
Yip thats the best you can do, don’t settle for compromise in yourself, but then there is also a bit of compromising to be doing sometime when it concerns others, otherwise, there is always the payback, and paybacks sometimes take time to rectify, lifetimes upon lifetimes of them.
Go with the heart Grant, thats the only advice I can honestly give, everything else might take some other kind of undoing later in the end.
12 Mar 2009, 22:39 pm
#333 carol: u got male…i mean mail!
12 Mar 2009, 22:41 pm
#335 carol: LOL….careful what you wish for….we may end up feeling heat over a coffin…weird!!!!
12 Mar 2009, 22:45 pm
#334 grant10: Aaaah it all makes sense now.
12 Mar 2009, 22:46 pm
#338 grant10: It would be very wierd as we have no mutual friends really!!
Look about rugby you have Brubies by 3 and GBS says Tahs by 5 – 14….. I have a decision to make!! I do not want Soda to overtake me this week!
12 Mar 2009, 22:47 pm
#336 yliad: heart is the only way i know skop….when it comes right down to it….its about the blood and heart and stirring of ther soul…all the brains and safety first and best thing to do, etc fades into insignifigance…the best memories are those against all odds….about the heat….on that death bed i will never regret a few fridges on the debit side of the balance sheet. My mate we buried today lived….no regrets…47 going on 19….proud of my boy….****….a few tears now!!
12 Mar 2009, 22:47 pm
#339 filthy Luca: His mate lost 7 fridges!!
Grant won the fridge loosing contest in style!
12 Mar 2009, 22:48 pm
#337 grant10: I know, it arrived ages ago, I even replied!
12 Mar 2009, 22:50 pm
Robzim and Ed come down and talk some sense to Grant….I have to get changed, still wearing my racing outfit!!
12 Mar 2009, 22:52 pm
#334 grant10:
Jeez, 9, that is terrible. I count my blessings, really.
What is your call on the Stormers match? Have you come to terms with Willem at 10?
12 Mar 2009, 22:52 pm
heart is the only way i know skop….when it comes right down to it…..its about the blood and heart and stirring of the soul….all the brains and safety first and best things to do, etc, fades into insignifigance…the best memories are those against all odds….about the heat….on the death bed i will never regret a few fridges on the debit side of the balance sheet.My mate we buried today lived….no regrets….47 he was going on 19…proud of my mate…hell…a few tears now
12 Mar 2009, 22:53 pm
#343 carol:
Racing outfit?? What have I missed here?
12 Mar 2009, 22:54 pm
#340 carol:tough one….go with a draw! LOL
12 Mar 2009, 22:55 pm
#341 carol: Fridges – now that’s a unique measurement of romantic success / failure – heheh. I’m warming to this concept. Sorry….
12 Mar 2009, 22:57 pm
#345 Robzim: Lions by 10….the bubble to burst….as for wikkelspies at 10….i will never come to terms with that…rassie must go back to bloem….skop for coach!!
12 Mar 2009, 22:59 pm
#347 Robzim: Only me in my Cheltenham Racing outfit, tweed mini suit etc, trust me it works!! (Honestly, it is all the rage in the Cotswolds). Was asked to enter the Best Dressed Lady competition too….Declined, would have felt a prat!
It does not all happen in Cape Town you know!!
12 Mar 2009, 23:00 pm
When a man reaches 45 years or so he realises that death is approaching and that where he is now is probably where he is going to end. He then also realises that he is not going to become rich or climb that mountain that he always wished he would climb or reaches that dream he always had. That is called the midlife crisis.
For some it can lead to disaster.
12 Mar 2009, 23:02 pm
carol you got mail
12 Mar 2009, 23:04 pm
#349 filthy Luca: Grants motto “Loose a fridge, gain a new blonde” !!
You will get the hang of it!!
It is a loose/win situation!!
12 Mar 2009, 23:05 pm
#352 Robzim: We get them too!! Trust me!!
Hoping to avoid any disaster!!
12 Mar 2009, 23:05 pm
#346 grant10:
Its all about heart in the end, so no regrets about anything, good or bad, don’t make all that much difference.
Emotion – nothing wrong – if you didn’t have any of it, then you could start to worry about yourself.
we’re here to grow, thats about the sum total of the entire escapade, some do, others don’t, or perhaps less so.
It really is just a long story, not all that complicated though we sometimes find it difficult to fathom it all out, only its just long, takes time, nothing happens all that quickly in universal time frames, so we come and go, learning, reaping, sowing, weeping, singing, crying, dancing dying. Its all in the process of growing, becoming, getting to know oneself.
Like I said, it just takes some time, longer than most of us care to acknowledge or realize.
12 Mar 2009, 23:06 pm
#351 carol: you would of walked it princess! Those legs and hips…walk in the park i tell you!
12 Mar 2009, 23:07 pm
#353 grant10: Hahahahah…Have you made the strong coffee yet?
12 Mar 2009, 23:07 pm
#350 grant10: The ELVs are forcing a kicking game so players like de Waal now have a place in a creative team like the Stormers – it’s a scandal. Much rather see old rules with a running flyhalf even if that means a slightly more structured game.
12 Mar 2009, 23:11 pm
OK my superbru ready to be revealed:-
Blues by 16
Tahs by 8
Saders by 9
Cheifs by 6
Sharks by 20
Stormers by 4
Who was that laughing?
12 Mar 2009, 23:14 pm
Guys anybody got rugbyzone to work in england. Thanks in advance cheers C4
12 Mar 2009, 23:14 pm
#360 carol:
that looks like a 6 from 6 formula to me.
12 Mar 2009, 23:15 pm
#358 carol: no…got another glass of red though!
12 Mar 2009, 23:19 pm
#362 yliad: What does that mean?
12 Mar 2009, 23:20 pm
#363 grant10: You have a reply… What time is the Blues v Cheetas match? south Africa time please
12 Mar 2009, 23:22 pm
#350 grant10:
thanks for the vote of confidence, you one in a million, not many here would follow your lead, stick with truth and with heart, can be a seriously rocky road, but worthy of a true soldier.
But careful about hurting too many along the way, they too have brittle shells to defend around their hopes for love.
#359 filthy Luca:
Old rules a little boring in this day and age, the trick is for the coaches to know how much structure and how much fluidity to allow.
Problem with many teams and players is they lose composure and confidence because of the speed they have to think at now, so they revert to safety first kick option, which is paradoxically the very worst thing they could do under these rules and conditions.
If they got some more belief in them and relied on their ability to hold on through phases and look to prize gaps, we’d see a whole lot better rugby than we seeing now, they just still have to evolve their ability and trust in their own and team mates ability a little more.
12 Mar 2009, 23:22 pm
#360 carol:
The only possible mistake could be the Brumbies beating the Tahs (50/50 game). Otherwise it sounds spot on.
I agree with Grant that you would have walked the competition.
(I got to agree with him on something because we differ badly on the Stormers and I do not want to make another enemies here)
12 Mar 2009, 23:24 pm
#364 carol:
looks like a winning formula
so long
enjoy
12 Mar 2009, 23:26 pm
#361 c4: Whats that? Can now get super 14 on Justin TV though, am going to try before work tomorrow if I can get a time!
12 Mar 2009, 23:29 pm
#366 yliad: broken a few brittle shells and sit with a tormented soul….but found a few through modern technology and finding karma….1 by 1 ….3 big ones to go and i will be a free spirit…today was a great step….but may find peace and war with this scenario!
12 Mar 2009, 23:30 pm
#369 carol:
Hey carol it is the spin off from kuduklub, better quality that justintv so I can put it on the tv, but yes justintv works well for computer viewing
#365 carol: 8 30 am kick off princess,,,,hope ive sobered up by then
#367 Robzim: Well with a little help from my friends….
Hey thanks for the vote of confidence, did you see me praise your eclectic taste as you went off to watch Desperate Housewives !! Quite impressed …
12 Mar 2009, 23:33 pm
i am now really tired…what a day…my kinda crazy day….Sienna…what shall be shall be…Princess you special, gifted and bless you …R
12 Mar 2009, 23:34 pm
#366 yliad: I’d love to see that happen but it’s not just us who are kicking, even the Aussies who over the years have been the real innovators in the modern game are kicking the cr@p out of it. I don’t like the stodgy forward oriented game any more than you but the short-arm penalty takes away any sanction for cynical “slowing down” play. That means we are basically in a stale-mate at the breakdown all the time. We have only one creative player who seems to be able to make a good line break under the ELVs and that’s Adi, I take my hat off to him but even he can only really do it on the opposition error. Something is wrong. Sorry i don’t have the answer but these ELVs are taking something away from the game.
12 Mar 2009, 23:35 pm
#374 grant10: robzim…wikkelspies will bring us down sat!! Skop….keep it real and from the heart….sleep time…the turkish blonde awaits!
12 Mar 2009, 23:35 pm
#374 grant10: Sleep well Gorgeous. Drink a pint of water before lights out too….and thats an order!!
12 Mar 2009, 23:36 pm
#371 c4: I will have to make do with that, but it is fun.
12 Mar 2009, 23:39 pm
#373 carol:
I just looked back at the posts and saw your praise. Thanks a lot!!
I don’t know what these guys (Gunter et al) are all about. I honestly enjoy that program (that is the only TV programme I watch with my wife!)- we all have our weaknesses and we do not always have to be macho or “clever” in everything we do.
I am glad you have at last pick the Stormers. I am sure they will reward you with the full point.
12 Mar 2009, 23:41 pm
#377 carol:
What is wrong with Grant? He sounds a bit weird tonight.
12 Mar 2009, 23:42 pm
#376 grant10:
Take it easy man.
12 Mar 2009, 23:48 pm
#379 Robzim: You have lots of females in your household so you will have an understanding of some things other blokes just will not understand!! A good thing by the way….
Grant has been to the funeral of a 47 year old friend and bumped into his ex fiancee (The one he still has the hots for)!! It has thrown him somewhat off balance, so he was having a chat to his night owl chums and sipped the odd glass too!!
12 Mar 2009, 23:50 pm
Night All
Time to do my 6 Nations.
Night Rob (Bet you like the dark haired one in Desperate H.W) !! ***
12 Mar 2009, 23:58 pm
#382 carol:
Thks, I did not read all the posts so I did not know about Grant’s situation with the funeral and meeting the ex. Sounds a bit tough, so I understand a bit better now.
Anyway, I am out – must finish a presentation that involves so much bullsh#t you wont believe – strange what one will do for survival in these difficult times.
See u around.
12 Mar 2009, 23:59 pm
blues 12+
brumbies 1-12
force 1-12
highlanders 1-12
sharks 1-12
stormers 1-12
13 Mar 2009, 00:01 am
#383 carol:
You are right. She is the best by far.
13 Mar 2009, 00:05 am
#385 Tomsta:
Howzit ,
The Force and the Highlanders are brave calls but not totally unrealistic.
On the others I am with you (although Brumbies/Tahs might be 50/50)
13 Mar 2009, 00:15 am
#387 Robzim: howzit Rob
chiefs i think are not altogether there yet. having mils back will help them. still i think highlanders have found some confidence and might finally have stepped through the shocking run of lifeline handouts they been giving other teams over the years. their pack will give nothing away to the chiefs. and with donalds form i think highlanders could scrape another one
crusaders are rubbish at the moment. injuries aside they are really struggling with getting basics and fluidity to their gameplan. force have gits who is on fire, and looking down the rest of the backline they have class alround. mitchell, cross, shepherd, palesaisa*, and a pack with sharpe, pocock amongst others i think force will do the buisness.
tahs have lacked in ability to convert anything into points. brumbies know how to get points. think brumbies will win this one ugly.
only reason im going stormers is its home venue. thats it
13 Mar 2009, 01:47 am
#385 Tomsta: boet if you play SuperBru you are well and truly fkd.
Sorry.
13 Mar 2009, 01:50 am
#388 Tomsta: In it’s moer. You are toast.
been drinking some strange Maori juice filtered through volcanic rock and drunk out of a coconut with strange smoke around you?
13 Mar 2009, 01:57 am
Howzit Koos.
Ok here is how I called it.
Game 28: Blues v Cheetahs: Blues by 12
Game 29: Brumbies v Waratahs: Waratahs by 4
Game 30: Crusaders v Force: Crusaders by 6
Game 31: Highlanders v Chiefs: Chiefs by 6
Game 32: Reds v Sharks: Sharks by 6
Game 33: Stormers v Lions: Lions by 4
13 Mar 2009, 03:05 am
#85 Ubu:
You’re footy tipping is as piss-weak as your rhetoric… and you wonder most scroll over your posts…
13 Mar 2009, 04:51 am
Looi hulle Leeus!
Kan jy jouself die verdrietige Stormers spulletjie voorstel sou die Leeus wen???
13 Mar 2009, 04:54 am
#393 Hier kom groot k..: Ons gaan daardie briesies hard piets die naweek.
13 Mar 2009, 04:58 am
#394 Ed_the_Lion:
Here’s hoping… and after that both Teams can actually start contributing to the rest of RSA’s campaigns but beating some contenders across the Indian Ocean for a change…
13 Mar 2009, 04:58 am
gud night. just over 3 hours to first game. need some sleep. GO CHEETAHS……….
13 Mar 2009, 04:59 am
#393 Hier kom groot k..:
Nee wat, ons raak nou al so gewoond aan verloor dit is al glad vir ons lekker….want dan gooi ons varkdoppe, hehehehe!
#394 Ed_the_Lion:
Ja, ek sien jy is wild daar op Superbru…16 punte, sjoe!
Ek het Leeus by 2.
13 Mar 2009, 04:59 am
#395 money_man: Agreed Money_Man. Have a great day/ night. I need to hit the pillows for a few hours.
13 Mar 2009, 05:00 am
#397 Pietman: Pietman, het jy Leeus gekies? Sjoe, ek gaan sommer vir jou ‘n ietsie gooi wanneer jy in Boston kom kuier. Dit gaan close wees. My SBRu is so swak alklaar ek kan maar net droom.
13 Mar 2009, 05:03 am
#395 money_man:
Check yesterday’s IOL news ‘To hell and back’, about the R62, you would proably know all those spots en route, interesting.
Didn’t know for instance that one of the top ten restaurants in SA is located in Oudthoorn, Janine’s or something.
13 Mar 2009, 05:05 am
#399 Ed_the_Lion:
Yip, Leeus gekies.
Hoop net AP het sy skopskoene aan want Willem de Waal gaan julle stukkend skop.
So nie, moet Loffie vir Earl vinnig opsit.
Maar daai Leeu voorries is woes, veral die loosies.
#400 Pietman: Voor ek gaan. Dankie vir e-mail oor oli, baie interresant.
“Limp lions????
Stormers face tighthead crisis
2009-03-12 22:10Email | Print
Stormers prop Brian Mujati (Gallo Images)
Stephen Nell – Die Burger
Cape Town – The Stormers are not just pinning their hopes on Brian Mujati standing his ground against Lions strongman Heinke van der Merwe this weekend, but also on him staying fit for the entire Super14 campaign.
It emerged on Thursday that JC Kritzinger recently tore a knee ligament, leaving the Stormers seriously short of tighthead props.
It was initially said that Kritzinger’s injury was not serious, but the scale of the potential crisis facing the Cape side came to light on Thursday.
“I will be out of action for another five-and-a-half months,” said Kritzinger.
“I injured the knee during a lineout session. We were practising lineout drives and then I fell badly. I tried to continue, but the ligament tore off completely in the build-up to the game against the Sharks.”
The 21-year-old Kritzinger enjoyed a dramatic rise in last year’s Currie Cup campaign and was voted Western Province’s most promising junior player ahead of another rising star such as Nick Koster.
It had been hoped that Kritzinger would already feature in this year’s Super14.
The Stormers have further problems at tighthead prop because it is believed that Brock Harris will only recover from his ankle injury by the time they reach the midway stage of their tour of Australia and New Zealand.
That could mean Mujati tours as the only fit tighthead prop.
However, before then Mujati has to come through unscathed against the Lions.
Former Lions player Bertus Smit has been training with the Stormers for a while.
Should Mujati be injured, the most logical step would be to shift Wicus Blaauw to the tighthead side. The Stormers did this when Mujati had to withdraw from their pre-season friendly against English club Saracens.
JD Moller and Schalk Ferreira are other loosehead prop options, with the latter set to be converted into a hooker.
While the Stormers scrum stood firm in last week’s 10-14 defeat to the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld, there may be major problems with depth at tighthead.
The Stormers scrum will be thoroughly tested against the Lions.
Van der Merwe and hooker Willie Wepener enjoy good reputations as scrummagers.
“The Lions have a very strong scrum and a big tight five. They also have Baywatch (Cobus Grobbelaar) who competes well at the breakdowns,” said Stormers coach Rassie Erasmus.
“That is why they reached the semifinal of the Currie Cup.”
13 Mar 2009, 05:06 am
#402 Ed_the_Lion:
Plesier.
Kan jy glo, he? Al daai olie wat daar le en wag.
13 Mar 2009, 05:07 am
#403 superBul:
Jy ingekom op SB al?
13 Mar 2009, 05:19 am
#405 Pietman: Ja ek het reggekom dankie
13 Mar 2009, 05:26 am
This from the rugbyheavenwebsite in Australia, bloody cheek, reckon the Bulls should put this up their changeroom.
Super 14 power rankings
Stephen Samuelson | March 11, 2009
And then there were six. RugbyHeaven believes that only the top six teams in this week’s rankings can make the four – and that rules out the Crusaders. Last week’s positions in brackets.
1. (1) Sharks – Ladder position: 3 (Last week: 3 – 4 wins, 0 losses)
The men from Durban have just two more matches on the road and then are back in fortress South Africa. Anyone want to argue that they are not the team to beat?
2. (2) NSW Waratahs – Ladder position: 2 (Last week: 2 – 4 wins, 0 losses)
The Tah’s round one win in Wellington set them up nicely for a great start to the season. If they can win away this Friday to the Brumbies, then consider them certainties for the finals.
3. (5) Hurricanes – Ladder position: 4 (Last week: 6 – 3 wins, 1 loss)
Yet to hit their straps but are already in the four. They have the bye in round five and their next three games – all against South African sides – will determine their season.
4. (4) Blues – Ladder position: 5 (Last week: 5 – 2 wins, 2 losses)
Have had one of the tougher draws so far this season but should be in the mix at the pointy end of the season.
5. (9) Chiefs – Ladder position: 8 (Last week: 12 – 1 win, 3 losses)
Scored their first win of the tournament in round four but expect them to continue their rise as they have by far the easiest run into the finals of any team.
6. (7) ACT Brumbies – Ladder position: 7 (Last week: 7 – 2 wins, 1 loss)
Had the bye last week so have risen because other teams have stumbled – or in the case of the Bulls, beaten no team of note. A loss to the Waratahs could prove disastrous.
7. (3) Bulls – Ladder position: 1 (Last week: 1 – 4 wins, 0 losses)
There’s no point continuing this charade. The Bulls will not make the finals so what’s the point ranking them so highly? Will be lucky to win two games in the next six weeks.
8. (11) Highlanders – Ladder position: 12 (Last week: 13 – 1 win, 3 losses)
Bayern Munich in the Champions League kicked five more goals than the Highlander did against the Crusaders. But the men from New Zealand’s far south still won and are positioning themselves as the best of the also-rans.
9. (6) Force – Ladder position: 6 (Last week: 4 – 2 wins, 2 losses)
What the Force giveth, the Force taketh away. After a stellar win against the Brumbies, the Western Force imploded upon John Mitchell’s return home against the Chiefs. Too inconsistent to threaten this season.
10. (8) Crusaders – Ladder position: 9 (Last week: 8 – 1 win, 3 losses)
Please, stop all this talk about 2001. The Crusaders season is all over – no McCaw, no Carter, no Deans, no hope.
11. (10) Reds – Ladder position: 10 (Last week: 9 – 1 win, 3 losses)
They were not unlucky against the Waratahs because their set pieces were absolutely horrible. They are the Tom Cruise of the Super 14 – mavericks – so perhaps the Sharks should look out this weekend.
12. (12) Stormers – Ladder position: 11 (Last week: 10 – 1 win, 3 losses)
Forgettable season from a forgettable team. Next!
13. (13) Lions – Ladder position: 13 (Last week: 11 – 1 win, 2 losses)
The Lions are the poor man’s Waratahs. Rugged, good defence and steady set pieces but without the results. They are coming off the bye last weekend.
14. (14) Cheetahs – Ladder position: 14 (Last week: 14 – 0 wins, 4 losses)
If the Reds are Tom Cruise from Top Gun than the Cheetahs are Anthony Edwards (Goose). They have not won a game outside South Africa in their Super 14 history.
13 Mar 2009, 08:12 am
#407 Manlybok:
“[The Reds] are the Tom Cruise of the Super 14 – mavericks…”
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Don’t think I’d ever want to be compared to Tom Cruise…
13 Mar 2009, 08:34 am
#408 WP Till I Die:
don’t think mavericks will be happy either…
13 Mar 2009, 10:36 am
#379 Robzim:
lol, just thought it more amusing than anything else, you seem to be an avid follower of desperate housewives. i knew a member of the lebonese mafiosa who would not miss Egoli for all the tea in china, so am not sure it reflects on anything, just funny is all.
13 Mar 2009, 12:43 pm
There you have it Keostormers, 1/2, the Bones on 50% for the weekend so far. We will see after the Stormers game.
13 Mar 2009, 12:46 pm
Even the Aussies don’t knock the Lions like Keostormers do, wtf Keo!!!!
13 Mar 2009, 13:03 pm
And how about their sudden loss of memory to go with that… I gues the Keostormers guys considder their losses against the Blues the Sharks and the Bulls (yip, 3 losses out of 4 games)as minor glitches on their road to supirior rugby!
And how can we forget that stellar performance against the awesome reds!?!
I hope the Lions thrash you tomorrow!!!!!!!!!
13 Mar 2009, 13:08 pm
As far as I am concerned 15 limp Lions (Keo said it – not me) playing as a team will beat 15 individual Stormers any day.
13 Mar 2009, 14:21 pm
One wrong already… may it be two with a Lions win
13 Mar 2009, 14:53 pm
Thank goodness there is always the prospect of chatting on decent rugby blogs to improve one’s mood. And the LIONS agree.
UP YOURS!!!
13 Mar 2009, 15:02 pm
Ed dalk was jy verkeerd gewees, ek dink die een in die middel is keo
13 Mar 2009, 15:06 pm
#417 raylion:
hahaha, moerse twee stryd tussen Keo en Puke vir wie in die middel is.
13 Mar 2009, 15:07 pm
rofl
whahahahahahah.
14 Mar 2009, 13:24 pm
i think the lions should go through a total overhall. And should start with branding like the stormers did in 1999. Jo’burg Jets or something. Get in one or two high profile players. reinvent themselves…
A change in brand can change the whole psyche of the team, its supporters etc.
cummon, get rid of the old tranvaal colours…lion kuk…