Limp Lions to limp from Newlands
12 Mar 2009
Thank goodness there is always the prospect of playing the Lions to improve one’s mood. And the bones agree.
Having recovered from Week 3′s dismal 2/7 the bones were back in business with 5/6 with the champion Crusaders the only surprise in losing to the Highlanders.
Just how hard is it going to be for the Crusaders without Robbie Deans, Richie McCaw, Dan Carter, Scott Hamilton and a few others. Well it isn’t looking particularly good and if they don’t overcome the Force at home then it is goodbye to a successful challenge. Some would call it early days in the competition but a fourth successive defeat for the Saders will turn this season into one of rebuilding.
Of all the match-ups that has been the toughest one to call, although I think the closest game will be in Canberra when the Tahs travel north from Sydney.
Last weekend’s matches, with the exception of the Sharks and Blues, were diabolical in quality of rugby and I can’t see much changing this weekend, as the players generally lack the quality of those who in previous years made Super rugby the best provincial rugby competition in the world.
The Stormers, desperate and boring in Pretoria, will at least get a home win to ease the pain of the tradtional early season torture because the limp Lions are in town. The sooner the Lions get put out of their misery and replaced by Cheeky’s Eastern Cape Kings of Convenience the better. Another defeat will keep them rooted at the bottom of the table, a position they have owned for much of their Super rugby existence.
The Stormers will win but not because they have improved in any shape or form. This one will be down to who they are playing and not because of how they will play.
Bones
Week one: 5/7
Week two: 7/7
Week three: 2/7
Week four: 5/6
Total: 19/27
Week five
BLUES vs CHEETAHS, ALBANY, FRIDAY 08:35
Blues 10-plus
BRUMBIES vs WARATAHS, CANBERRA, FRIDAY 10:40
Tahs 1-10
CRUSADERS vs FORCE, CHRISTCHURCH, SATURDAY 06:30
Saders 1-10
HIGHLANDERS vs CHIEFS, INVERCARGILL, SATURDAY 08:35
Chiefs 10-plus
REDS vs SHARKS, BRISBANE, SATURDAY 11:05
Sharks 10-plus
STORMERS vs LIONS, CAPE TOWN, SATURDAY 17:00
Stormers 10-plus

420 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
12 Mar 2009, 21:02 pm
#143 carol: Helloooooo Mrs Chipping Norton 2006 !!
How was the races today………. farking horses….
12 Mar 2009, 21:03 pm
#145 SodaJoe: ja, i agree……OVERconfidence
12 Mar 2009, 21:03 pm
#150 SodaJoe: that me. go big or go home.
12 Mar 2009, 21:04 pm
#148 rangerman:
yes but does your landy always start….
#149 carol:
some things are better kept private
#98 yliad: yeah boet…easy for you …this one is a Sienna Miller lookalike…seriously my man…HOT…
#147 cab: Cabernet. I am serious. Loffie to be taken seriously has to win this one. Otherwise it’s all hot air.
These are the games he has to start winning – Cheaters, Stormers, Reds, Canes. Then he can aim to beat Brumbies, Bulls, etc.
Coming last or second last is old.
12 Mar 2009, 21:05 pm
#151 grootblousmile: Have just walked in, excellent days racing….Real quality horses, fun and the Guiness Village!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:06 pm
#75 grant10: I can remind you of your predictions!! I must do superbru tonight!
12 Mar 2009, 21:07 pm
#133 Ed_the_Lion: except for bakkies, jaco engels & jp nel…they misbehave like ****!
12 Mar 2009, 21:08 pm
#156 SodaJoe:
moenie worry, all part of the 3-year plan, big tears on monday in the cape.
#154 gunther:
always!…….uhm….so far.
#147 cab:
klaar sag genoeg dankie, dis tyd Rassie bietjie paar ballas begin groei en bietjie vuur warm klappe begin uitdeel
It will be a ‘moving’ maneuvering kind of game, whatever the result.
#148 rangerman: I agree. I would rather have him at 10 than Andre Pulled Poepstring.
But maybe Poepstring is a little more physical, I dunno.
You think Stompies are going to win by 10!! LMFAO!! NO CHANCE.
#157 carol:
there is a village called guinness?
#154 gunther: Rob was very generous to share that with us lol!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:10 pm
ag, why bother with 6 nations on boots?
who gives a sh….?
not me.
12 Mar 2009, 21:10 pm
#149 carol: I don’t want to hear him teasing Grant about James Blunt again. He has no moral high ground.
Although I suspect Grant is watch DH right now too.
12 Mar 2009, 21:11 pm
#165 carol: Did you make a few bob on the races…. or are your donkeys still running ?
#164 gunther: At the Cheltenham Festival there is a huge area called the Guiness Village. Hospitality suites, massive Guiness bar, Irish band lost of very “jolly” Irish men having a laugh!
It has to be done!
#161 rangerman:
when I was at school in the uk the famers used to have bumper stickers saying
“I’d rather push a landy than drive *** ****!”
say no more
12 Mar 2009, 21:12 pm
#162 yliad:
if the stormers go into the break behind, rassie will be handing out klappe, don’t like losing that one.
loffie moet net bietjie maak-hulle-sag-vorentoe rugby speel.
if the lions do overcome their bad newlands form, not only will rassie be in hot water but poor old de waal is going to cop it big time.
#163 SodaJoe: i would not mind being wrong soda, not at all.
but ja, we gotta wait and see eh?
#155 grant10:
So why you chuck her up, too hot to handle or what? better you get your mittens on and start treating her with kid gloves or else keep buying fridges.
#166 rangerman: Some of us have no choice!!
We need something to get excited about!
Grant where are you?
12 Mar 2009, 21:14 pm
#165 carol:
generous is not the word..
12 Mar 2009, 21:14 pm
#170 gunther: you were at school in the uk?
with a name like gunther?
glad you survived
12 Mar 2009, 21:15 pm
#167 SodaJoe: Hahaha I just had to bring that up the other night (The James Blunt incident).
It was a Night Owl classic moment!! That and the speedos!
#166 rangerman: Although I am #1 on Six nations SuperBru.
But I agree – the only game worth watching will be the Grand Finale Wales Vs Ireland, which will be a cracker, especially with Lions positions at stake.
#168 grootblousmile: My betting is way out. The tips we were given not only were they the favourites but they did not win either!!
12 Mar 2009, 21:17 pm
#175 carol: Watching DH in his Mark Spitz board shorts which he had cut short like Daniel Craig James Bond cozzie.
#174 carol: ja, sorry carol.
but our season has kicked off and just like finally getting sugar when all you have had is sweetener, there is no looking back.
#180 carol: Kind off telling you to bet on the Stormers. How can people do that to you.
12 Mar 2009, 21:18 pm
#171 cab:
pity there has to be a loser here, but I reckon Loffie is more gewoond on losing then Rassie is, if Rassie loses this one I doubt he’ll get up from there. Its almost imperative Stormers win else its doomsday on Monday, and a little the same for Loffie too. Make or break for both these two here.
12 Mar 2009, 21:18 pm
#180 carol: My dad always said “Gambling on the horses is a game for Kings and Cnuts…. and I’m neither one !”
12 Mar 2009, 21:19 pm
#179 SodaJoe: ja, wales vs ireland now thats a game i will watch.
#183 Ed_the_Lion: Carol, seriously I am going to catch you with my Lions this weekend, and then all you will see is my muscular behind.
#176 gunther: Rob has eclectic taste in many things!
12 Mar 2009, 21:20 pm
#179 SodaJoe: Congratulations on that Soda, better than me on that then!
#184 yliad: another monday doomsday in the cape?
nice and safe here in the last outpost.
#177 rangerman:
gunther is my nom de plume… the reality is far more mundane anyway there lots of wierdos at school .. the sultan of brunei’s sun taught me to eat bacon with marmalade..go figure..
12 Mar 2009, 21:21 pm
#181 SodaJoe: Get me a web cam…..NOW!!!
#184 yliad: I think Loffie will go at the end of the season if he loses, and Rassie will have one last chance to buy a front row and stop making dof positional picks.
Naka must go now, yesterday. Cheaters are embarrassing SA rugby.
#185 grootblousmile: You are so too.
#184 yliad:
yeah it is a pity, i support the lions but grandpappy played for wp so soft spot there, seem to support the two worst teams in the comp. yip also thinks its pretty much make or break for these two. stormers seem to have the better side but the lions have the capacity to turn them, no doubt.
12 Mar 2009, 21:22 pm
#187 SodaJoe: And my am…. behind.
#191 gunther: nom de plume nogal?
quality education is hard to come by.
which sultans son taught you to steal coolerboxes?
There have been two classic 6N games this year so far, the Ireland-France game, and the France-Wales game were both out the top drawer and worth the look in, flat out committed encounters, and even the England-Wales game not too shabby either. Could do a whole lot worse like watching Cheetahs vs Reds or Waratahs vs Reds for example.
#182 rangerman: Even watching the Bulls v Stormers on Justin TV I could see how good the Super 14 teams were…and you guys said it was not a good match…It was so fast and furious compared to our matches!
12 Mar 2009, 21:23 pm
#191 gunther:
he is
going to
miss out
on all those
virgins
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All