‘I want my Bok jersey back’
17 Mar 2009
Jaque Fourie aims to resume his midfield partnership with Jean de Villiers.
Three unrelated injuries allowed Adrian Jacobs to win 11 Test caps in 2008 and take ownership of the Bok No 13 jersey, while a frustrated Fourie watched events unfold on television.
‘Adrian did really well for the Boks last year, which was great for him and the team, but I back myself to get back into the side,’ says Fourie, in the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine.
The midfielder also explains how his time away from the game allowed him to get his life in order and prevented him from suffering a World Cup hangover like many of his team-mates. He reveals why he has turned down several lucrative offers in order to stay with the Lions, why he doesn’t overanalyse his game or like video sessions, and why he’d love to play against Brian O’Driscoll in the British & Irish Lions series.
– In 2006, financial mismanagement culled the Southern Spears rendering a potential rugby hotbed dormant. In 2009, Saru announced the South Eastern Cape would launch their new franchise with a tour fixture against the British & Irish Lions. We probe the key players on lessons learned, future Super Rugby involvement and whether this franchise is financially capable of retaining their young talent.
– While Stefan Terblanche is 33 years old and hasn’t played for South Africa since the 2003 World Cup, his recent performances for the Sharks have put him back into Bok contention.
– Reds flyhalf Quade Cooper aims to become the complete package.
– Blues hooker Keven Mealamu on why he hates playing in Pretoria, the impact of New Zealand’s player drain, reclaiming his All Blacks jersey, and why he wouldn’t blame South Africa for ditching Super Rugby in favour of Europe.
– The NZRU made R20 million by staging a Bledisloe Cup match in Hong Kong last year. While SA Rugby’s plans for a Test on neutral turf have failed to materialise, acting MD Andy Marinos says it’s only a matter of time before the world champions play in a money-spinner of their own.
– Fourie du Preez on his hunger to succeed, why he hates some of the new laws, his Bok battle with Ricky Januarie, playing flyhalf, what would tempt him to leave the Bulls, and his coaching ambitions.
– Duane Vermeulen turned down attractive offers from overseas clubs and another from the Sharks in order to play for Rassie Erasmus’s Stormers. The 22-year-old loose forward explains why he made the move from Bloemfontein to Cape Town, how he has settled in so far, and why he prefers blindside flank.
– Daan Human left the Stormers for Toulouse in 2004 a rough diamond, but years spent in the Top 14 against the most unforgiving of props has refined him to the point where he is arguably one of the finest looseheads in world rugby. We met Human in Toulouse to discuss the lure of the euro, lawless scrums and his Springbok ambitions.
– In 2005, Brian O’Driscoll’s Lions tour was cruelly ended in the opening minutes of the first Test against the All Blacks. In 2009, he hopes to put things right.
– Pieter de Villiers is back in the country of his birth after 14 years in France. The former Tricolores prop talks to SA Rugby magazine about his successful career, life in the Cape, and the prospect of playing again.
– The upper crust of English rugby are being buttered up to join clubs across the Channel. Is this the start of a debilitating period for the English game, driven by a credit crunch that does not appear to be crunching the French?
– COLUMNISTS: Jake White on what makes Pierre Spies so good, Marc Hinton on why the NZ Maori should be supported and not slammed, and Clinton van der Berg on why the Golden Lions should move to Soccer City after the 2010 World Cup.

167 Comments
17 Mar 2009, 09:06 am
Bok Jersey Dragon!!!
17 Mar 2009, 09:07 am
Fourie is playing in a loosing team which makes it hard for him to impress.
17 Mar 2009, 09:07 am
I want a million rand, we cant always get what we want.
Jacobs playing fantastic rugby – why drop him now?
17 Mar 2009, 09:10 am
#3 Cheetha Champs: Agreed. He also lost a bit of pace cause they caught up with him quickly when he broke the line against the Stormers. AD is a better option at the moment.
17 Mar 2009, 09:15 am
The reality is that Jean de Villiers is the type of player to create for those around him. These two players played in a brand new combonation, and Adi was the top try scorer in a Bok jersey last year.
So the combo of Div and Adi (although still a young one) is working really well.
Jacque is a great bench rider as he is a world class player who covers 15,11,14,13. Lucky us for having him
17 Mar 2009, 09:18 am
#5 Cheetha Champs: And Frans for 10 & 12 with Ruan covering scrumhalf, then we can have 5 forwards on the bench!
17 Mar 2009, 09:19 am
#5 Cheetha Champs:
I forgot about that, that Adi was the top try scorer.
Thx for the reminder.
17 Mar 2009, 09:20 am
#3 Cheetha Champs:
Fourie is not one of those many South African’s that believe they are ‘entitled’ to everything without putting in the hard yards…
#4 Stormerfan:
Err.. yes Chavanga caught him… the quickest player in the Stormer’s…
Adi made 6 tackles this week missed four one leading directly to a try… not to mention a few shockers in decision making… so no need to sugar-coat it too much…
But I agree as of yet nothing to deem Adi losing his place… great to have both of them in the 22…
17 Mar 2009, 09:24 am
Looks like a great issue… cant wait for it to arrive.
17 Mar 2009, 09:26 am
I dont wont let anyone tell me that Adi is a defensive liability. Most players miss tackles in a game. If you have a reputation of a poor defender, it gets picked up on though.
Often you need to look at the circumstances as to why the tackle is missed (inside player didnt communicate, another player to mark outside etc etc)
We are lucky to have two of the best 13′s in the game at the mo. Also two of the best hookers, and two of the best 8th men. Would even say we have two of the best no 4 jumpers (Matfield and Bekker).
17 Mar 2009, 09:31 am
Pieter de Villiers back in Cape Town? quick rassie give hima call.
17 Mar 2009, 09:34 am
#10 Cheetha Champs: thanks ‘gravel’ cheetha champs, last year stirling mortlock went thru jean de villliers like he wasn’t there – i think it was in the tri-nations in aus – you don’t hear about that being trumpeted as a flaw in his game…jaque can want THE bok jersey back but it it certainly not his!
17 Mar 2009, 09:52 am
Forwards coach of the Lions, Leon Boshoff has been suspended. Apparently for verbally abusing the players!
As hulle so kak speel sal ek hulle ook slegsê!
17 Mar 2009, 09:55 am
#11 munkiboi: My thoughts exactly!
17 Mar 2009, 10:00 am
#12 Transformation:
De Villiers is regarded as one of the best defending centres in the world. The fact that you remember one specific game and not any others proves that.
A player gets a reputation because of many mistakes which Adi is known for.
That being said, Adis defence has improves unbelievably and is not the same ‘revolving door’ he once was.
And hes playing better attacking rugby anyway so deserves to be in the Bok side.
He must realise that Jacque is breathing down his neck though. Its this type of competition that SA needs for all players to be at their best when the British Lions get here.
17 Mar 2009, 10:06 am
Great depth at 13 for the saffas this season.
17 Mar 2009, 10:12 am
Adi would be best used as an impact player . He should only come on when the game becomes loose and use those intelligent feet of his. JdV is a bit suspect in defence ,Adi may have his heart in the right place and now has a better tackling technique but is far from rock solid. JdV has the advantage of being big so no one will try run over him. With BOD probably starting for the BL its imperative that JF stars all the matches.
17 Mar 2009, 10:15 am
#15 John Galt: “One specific game” he missed Ludik on Saturday as well. JDV is arguably the best 12 in world rugby at the moment. Even the greats get it wrong from time to time.
The problem on this site is that there are many closet racist who still believe that a good white is always better than a good non-white. They will now quickly accuse me of being racist but I believe we moving towards everyone getting an equal opportunity.
VIVA!!!
17 Mar 2009, 10:20 am
I’m going to buy my first SA Rugby mag in years, just to read Jake White’s column in this edition.
17 Mar 2009, 10:23 am
Jacques Fourie is a damn fine player but he really needs to move to another union if he wants to improve his game and win trophies.
I think a move to the Stormers will do wonders for his career seeing as the Bulls already have geelkart Nel, Jaco and the promising Stefan Watermeyer on their books.
WP can easily move Bobo to the wing in order to accomodate Fourie.
17 Mar 2009, 10:27 am
#20 wpw: Agreed. Another benefit of a move to the Stormers would be playing outside De Villiers – being part of an established partnership would strengthen his claim to a Bok call-up.
17 Mar 2009, 10:28 am
#20 wpw: I think the Lions and Cheetahs should merge again.
17 Mar 2009, 10:32 am
18. Stormerfan
Why the race card again does every thing have to be over race when a white/black player is chalanging for the possition of another player? Cant we just have 2 good players chalanging for position?
sad buddy very sad!!
#20 wpw: De wet barry and marius joubert were once best centre combination in the world and they didn,t have half the the skill ,speed and power that JF and JdV possess . Its a scary thought to think of what these two would be capable of if they spent one super 14 season together
#15 John Galt: one of many john galt! The reason i mention that one is that it was blatant how he capitulatedm yet noone harped on it, adi missed tackles on saturday & that gets used against him in this ”get fourie his bok jersey back campaign”… Ask yourself where is the adi jacobs cover of sa rugby magazine? All we get is the journo’s favourites punted ad nauseum…how many frans steyn covers can you stomach? Did he have as much impact on the boks’ game last year as adi, but no last month we were told to ”back him not bash him” give me a break…
17 Mar 2009, 10:33 am
#22 Stormerfan:
I think the Lions and Cheetahs should be relegated in favour of the Southern Spears (or whatever they will be called) lol
17 Mar 2009, 10:39 am
#20 wpw: And the Bulls have young Dippenaar whom they bought from WP…
So it would be really great for both Fourie and WP if he’d come down to the Cape…
17 Mar 2009, 10:41 am
Does anyone think Jaque Fourie should maybe switch back to fullback… considering the lack of depth we have at the moment??
Cause so far, for me, we only have Stefan Terblanche for the Boks… (Jantjes has been out of sorts and out of mind)
17 Mar 2009, 10:41 am
#27 Gambit25:
Dippenaar???
Is he a center??
Was he the bloke who moved the same time as Francois Hougaard??
17 Mar 2009, 10:42 am
#3 Cheetha Champs:
ja boet, know that feeling.
i want a million rand and an aston martin!
17 Mar 2009, 10:43 am
#28 Gambit25:
Fourie is a world class center and will probably get his place back in the side.
We have Janjtes who will be first choice if fit, Terreblanche, Steyn AND Kirschner.
I think we will be just fine!!!
17 Mar 2009, 10:44 am
#26 wpw: There is too much talent in both those teams for them to be relegated. Heinke, wepener, Baywatch, Alberts, Ludik, Fourie, Rose, Meyer Bosman, Juan Smith, Jongi, etc. just to name few…there are more.
17 Mar 2009, 10:44 am
#30 ashley:
ok, if you throw in a bugatti veyron, you can keep the million rand!
17 Mar 2009, 10:45 am
Looking forward to Wilton Pieterson coming into the 15 position in the future…
17 Mar 2009, 10:46 am
#29 wpw: Yes.. the Bulls played him on the wing a few times
17 Mar 2009, 10:48 am
#28 Gambit25: I like Fourie at fullback as well, he played his first one or two seasons there for the Lions. Could work well.
17 Mar 2009, 10:48 am
#23 BLUERUGGA: No problem with two players challenging for the jersey but read the posts before you call me a racist. Also read post 25…I think he nails it on the head.
17 Mar 2009, 10:53 am
o, en so bietjie vd onderwerp af
ek sien in vanoggend se “Burger” ñ foto met die opskrif “bergbokke” by
op die foto (herkenbaar) is die vlg spelers matfield, fdupreez, bakkies, jsmit en spies.
so julle beter onthou
…
as julle ons kapenaars in die toekoms weer bergbokke noem
.. sluit julle eie spelers by daai beledeging in!
17 Mar 2009, 10:57 am
#38 ashley:
Dis die eerste ding wat my opgeval het toe ek die foto sien, Matfield lyk regtig soos n bergbok daar op die randjie van die rots….geen WP man in sig nie
17 Mar 2009, 11:01 am
#39 Pietman:
hy lyk vir my maar blerrie ongemaklik daar
…
dink nie hy’t lank daar gestaan na daai foto geneem is nie!
17 Mar 2009, 11:01 am
What do you guys think of the cover? Give me some feedback (good or bad)
17 Mar 2009, 11:04 am
#41 Simon:
Looks great from where I sit Simon…
17 Mar 2009, 11:05 am
#41 Simon: Its ok, the problem is that he is wearing a Lions jersey…
17 Mar 2009, 11:06 am
#36 Corndog:
GBS and I spoke about that possibility the other day.
Mossie played # 15 for Monnas, Lions AND the Springboks.
I agree, an option worth considering.
17 Mar 2009, 11:09 am
#41 Simon:
hoekom is dit so dat amper almal op julle covers arms gevou staan?
julle fotograaf die einde van sy idees bereik?
17 Mar 2009, 11:10 am
#25 Transformation: My thoughts exactly. You will never see AD on the cover. It is part of the way the journos look after their favourites. Write nice articles on Fourie, and Jaque and overemphasize their strenghts and why they should be in the team.
When they talk about Ricky and AD there are usually generalisations (too fat, slow, cant kick, misses tackles) without concrete evidence to back it up. And dont let me start on the poor coach and the ridicule thrown his way.
I long for the day when we can get stats analysed like in the NFL. Stats per player, like number of takcles made, missed, turnovers, meters over the advantage line, etc. Only then will we be able to rate players against each other. Based on cold hard facts. Not journos generalising and writing what their reader base want to hear. Unfortunately those are the articles that make the magazine sell.
17 Mar 2009, 11:10 am
#43 Gambit25: Would that make you not buy the magazine?
17 Mar 2009, 11:11 am
#45 ashley: The last folded-arms cover we had was Monty (August 2008)
17 Mar 2009, 11:13 am
#44 Pietman: Yes it can work if he decides to do this but think he will prefer the 13 jersey. Think Adi is leading the race so Fourie will have to warm the bench in the first couple of tests imo pending any injuries.
17 Mar 2009, 11:18 am
Well Jacques… Go and get it it!! Your team are busy throwning that away for you… Yes AD had a bad game on sat… the Whole Sharks team did… But 1 game a season doesnt make…. Still a brilliant player!!
17 Mar 2009, 11:18 am
#44 Pietman:
het daai gesprek dalk iets soos die vlg geklink?
gbs: ek het mosh nog altyd geshê mosssshhie moesh … uhm .. watsh daai poshieshie nou weer … uhm … daai ene wat peshie geshhpeel het?
pietman: uhm .. h-h-h- heelagter?
gbs: ja, ek het mosh nog altyd geshê mosssshhie moesh .. uhm … heelagter geshpeel het!
pietman: ek shtem broer, ek shtem!
17 Mar 2009, 11:19 am
Does anybody know when the new mag will be out?
17 Mar 2009, 11:20 am
#48 Simon:
maybe it would be a good idea then if i read the mag whilst sober?
17 Mar 2009, 11:20 am
#52 quintin.doyle: Tomorrow.
17 Mar 2009, 11:21 am
#51 ashley:
Nee jong, nog darem nie sleeptong gepraat nie, was vroeg in die oggend….hehehe!
17 Mar 2009, 11:22 am
#55 Pietman:
17 Mar 2009, 11:23 am
Don’t forget Frans can play fullback, the position JW thinks he should play.
With Ruan, Frans and Fourie All the backline positions are covered.
17 Mar 2009, 11:23 am
Thanks Simon.
17 Mar 2009, 11:34 am
And I want you to want the Bok jersey back.
17 Mar 2009, 11:38 am
#57 canafunk: Hi, If Jake thought that he is best suited for this position, why did he not choose him in this position for SA and Barbarians? He could have saved him the embarrassment while playing him at No. 10 during the Barbas/Aussie game. Frans Steyn is totally OVERRATED. One further point, the no. 13 jersey does not belong to ANYONE.
17 Mar 2009, 11:53 am
you have to love the journos here, lol, now we have to hear jf would love to play against bod, i’m sure if you asked jdv he would say the same thing or even jorrie muller would love a crack @ him…such high quality journalism…
17 Mar 2009, 11:57 am
JAcobs based on his performances over the past year and a half has been hands down better than Fourie. Fourie just doesn’t know what to do when he gets past a player
17 Mar 2009, 12:06 pm
Big Fourie fan, him and JdV need to start with Adi on the bench to score the tries when the opposition legs are tired
17 Mar 2009, 12:09 pm
#62 Pirlet BEL: Come on bru? He always get the pass away, look at Saturdays game!
17 Mar 2009, 12:09 pm
#60 John1976:
There is truth in your post John (though things in SA rugby are never black and white (figuratively speaking).
Young Frans is no where near the best 10.
He is not the best 12.
He is most definately not among the best 13′s.
And even the pensioner Terblanche would rate more highly as 15.
However he is playing well, and is yet to reach his potential, he can cover several positions more than adequately.
He would be a worthy bench player for the Boks. In time he will be more than that.
17 Mar 2009, 12:33 pm
#46 moedeloos: Totally agree with you and Transformation.
If I never have to read another article hyping Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Frans Steyn or Pierre Spies I would be a happy man. They are the perennial favourites of the journalists.
Last year Adi was Peter de Villier’s most surprising and controversial inclusion in the Bok squad and yet he ended up scoring more tries that anyone else. He just narrowly missed out to JdV on being both player of the year and player’s player of the year. Where are the articles about him? Where are the magazine covers?
January was the hero of Dunedin. FdP fell flat against NZ (as always against the AB’s) in Cape Town and seemingly can’t stop moaning about the ELV’s. Yet who do we get yet another article about? FdP … *yawn*
17 Mar 2009, 12:47 pm
#65 cane: he is certainly no richard kahui or james o’connor alrite, but you know what, i don’t care, steyn is going to feature in the bok set up for the forseeable future whether he plays **** or not whether he is the best @ no particular position…
17 Mar 2009, 12:48 pm
#47 Simon: No no… I would buy the mag
17 Mar 2009, 12:51 pm
#66 siener:
well said!
17 Mar 2009, 12:52 pm
#66 siener: Adi Jacobs was featured in the October 2008 issue.
17 Mar 2009, 13:13 pm
#66 siener: I can’t agree more. I see that Jake White is going to sing Pierre Spies’ praises in the new edition of the SA Rugby. JW is always trying to create hype around his favourite players.
17 Mar 2009, 13:22 pm
#65 cane: Your post just illustrates that Frans Steyn still needs lots of development. He should therefore be allowed to play CC for this season and to concentrate on one position. This will certainly give us insight as to whether he is the real deal.
17 Mar 2009, 13:26 pm
#72 John1976: He should not be considered for SA, for now at least,since he has lots of deficiencies and could cost them dearly if they persist in selecting him.
17 Mar 2009, 13:28 pm
I still say that SA Rugby needs some pretty girls on the cover… Think about it, even woman magazines use sexy women on their covers.. why, coz it sells!
17 Mar 2009, 13:33 pm
Adi Jacobs is the best 13 in SA by a country mile at present.
His only blemish so far in a YR and a half was missing tackles vs Fourie in the Lions/Sharks game.But then he created the match winning score breaking down the touchline to feed JP to score.
He didnt play well vs Reds but the ENTIRE sharks team was ABYSMAL.
Against the blues he was MOTM,master class performance in attack and defense
Vs the Chiefs he defended manfully along with the rest of the Sharks team
Fourie hasnt had a single superstar performance.GRANTED the Lions are not an adequate platform to do so..(he has done it in years past though)
Only Richard Kahui at present is playing on par or better rugby than ADI at 13.with Mortlock and Laulala closely behind in the S14
17 Mar 2009, 13:42 pm
#70 Simon: Was he on the front cover of the Magazine ?
17 Mar 2009, 13:44 pm
#75 mshiniwami:
To put it into perspective, if both Adi and Jaque made them available for contracts for foreign teams, all the French and British teams will jump at Jaque and not Adi!
17 Mar 2009, 13:47 pm
#76 Charlie: No, Beast was.
17 Mar 2009, 13:52 pm
#77 groenie: that is a huge assumption you’re making. Are you an agent to know this ‘fact’?
17 Mar 2009, 13:55 pm
#75 mshiniwami: Adie is in the top must have players in the Bok squad at this time IMO.
17 Mar 2009, 14:06 pm
If you watched the reds vs sharks game, before the kickoff they had an interview with the coach of the reds and asked him if they spotted any weakness in the sharks team? He answer was yes we can attack tear mid field.
Where did all the tries come from, what was the result, Sharks got hammered by a team the bulls played around with!
17 Mar 2009, 14:09 pm
Mossie vs Adi….
it’s no-brainer…imo
17 Mar 2009, 14:15 pm
#78 Simon:
Eina!
17 Mar 2009, 14:16 pm
SA’s best 45 Players
1.Beast/Guthro/Heinke
2.Smit/Bismak/Rallapelle
3.Jannie/Carstens/Mujati
4.Bakkies/Fondse/Muller
5.Matfield/Bekker/Rossouw
6.Burger/Brussow/Daniel
7.Smith/Deysel/Vermeulen
8.Spies/Kankowski/Watson
9.DuPreez/Januarie/Kockott
10.Pienaar/M.Steyn/Butch
11.Habana/Nokwe/A.Ndungane
12.DeVilliers/Steyn/Olivier
13.Jacobs/Fourie/Bobo
14.JP/O.Ndungane/Chavanga
15.Jantjes/Terblanche/Kirchner
All bar one(Butch) are based in SA
Healthy situation indeed
Lots of competition
17 Mar 2009, 14:17 pm
#82 Staal: In myne ook, Adi op die oomblik strate voor. Dit is soortgelyk aan die Spies Kanko debat. Dit is goed dat ons soveel spelers het wat wereldklas is.
17 Mar 2009, 14:20 pm
simon, next month can you have meisekind ”backing himself” to get back into bok reckoning & expressing how he’d also love fronting against the british & irish lions…and before anyone says he is ****, i offer the ”shield” that has a WC medal, he has won the super 14, has won the currie cup more than once! Oh **** this sounding a bit better than frans steyn’s claim to fame. I dare you simon!
17 Mar 2009, 14:20 pm
#84 mshiniwami:
Good!
We can take on the British Lions with that outfit, for sure…
17 Mar 2009, 14:21 pm
simon, next month can you have meisekind ”backing himself” to get back into bok reckoning & expressing how he’d also love fronting against the british & irish lions…and before anyone says he is ****, i offer the ”shield” that has a WC medal, he has won the super 14, has won the currie cup more than once! Oh **** this sounding a bit better than frans steyn’s claim to fame. I dare you simon!
Plus he also has the hair!
17 Mar 2009, 14:23 pm
#77 groenie:
?????
Who gives a $#it?
French clubs etc jumped to sin the hasbeen that is Marius Joubert..They even signed Phillip Burger to a lucrative contract..Sheesh they even signed Gerhard Vosloo to the largest contract for a loose fwd in French rugby history…That oke could start at the Lions
So I would “jump” to using that as a YARDSTICK for perceived QUALITY
17 Mar 2009, 14:23 pm
#88 Transformation: get of it now, you sound like that ******** skopskiet with his constant nagging.
we get it, you dont rate frans steyn.
congratulations.
17 Mar 2009, 14:25 pm
#89 mshiniwami: i think adi and jaque could both sign lucrative contracts if they so chose.
but they are loyal to their unions. shock horror for the modern age.
17 Mar 2009, 14:25 pm
#81 groenie: Just watch the highlights on Supersport website, can’t see Adi being to blame for the 3 tries the Reds scored, 1st Steven Sykes missed a crucial tackle, 2nd Ryan Konkowski missed this tackle and also got into Adi’s way while marking his man, 3rd Johan Muller missed tackle on inside runner…
17 Mar 2009, 14:31 pm
#78 Simon: What’s the problem, get the man on the front cover he surely deserves it
17 Mar 2009, 14:36 pm
If the Cheetahs and Lions were re0unified again, then Jaque Fourie and Meyer Bosman would be the center combo. I reckon that would be an interesting combo. Before Julies left, he and JF had a fairly strong combo going. I guess JF likes to be near his home of CarltonVille, that could be his strength, small town boy mentality!!!
17 Mar 2009, 14:38 pm
Bit of a dead period on Keo, Bulls havnt played a game this weekend so pretty quiet from GBS and Superbul etc, Lions are ****, Stormers won but only 2/5, Sharks lost, Cheetahs eish.
Maybe because im Province but I cant wait for the Lions tour, who is PdV going to play and are we as good as the end of last year or the beginning o last year?
I think PdV has learned his lesson and he has got such great players to choose from.
Bring it on
John Smith
Bismark
Beast
Matfield
Burger
Juan
Spies
FdP
Butch
JdV
J Fourie
Habana (he will come right in the next couple of games)
JPP
S Terblanche
Subs
Jannie
Bekker
Vermeulen
Kockett
Steyn
Pienaar
Jantjes
17 Mar 2009, 14:41 pm
#92 Charlie:
Yes that can be correct but the fact of the matter is Adi is a great attacking player but a weak defensive player, this does not mean he cant tackle he can, but he doesn’t defend intelligently.
Against the BL we will need Jaque to Keep that midfield protected!
17 Mar 2009, 14:42 pm
#95 Disa: Naby aan reg maar ek dink Pienaar Adi en Jantjes sal begin. Kanko, Januarie en Fourie op die bench met nog n stut. Rede daarvoor is dat ek nie dink hy te veel vernaderinge sal maak aan die groep wat laasjaar gespeel het nie. Die spelers is gewoond aan PdV se styl en hy ken hulle ook nou al.
17 Mar 2009, 14:45 pm
#97 Corndog: Ja jy is seker reg, nie die tyd om te begin eksperimenteer nie en daar het die jaar nog nie regtige supersterre vorindag gekom nie
17 Mar 2009, 14:46 pm
#92 Charlie: I just did the same and reach the same conclusion as you.
Just to take my point to the next level, go read the article on Supersport on the Reds vs Sharks match. Here is an extract on defence:
“But their big Achilles heel was the first line defence, a problem that was evident in previous weeks, and it has to be said that while Adrian Jacobs’s contribution to the Sharks attacking game this season have been massive, he has also been exposed on defence, something that the Springbok selectors should take note of ahead of the series against the British and Irish Lions. ”
So why is the journo singling out Adi when not one of the tries was directly his fault. What about signling out Steyn for compltely missing the tackling resulting in the first try AFTER Adi tackled Barnes.
These are the types of reporting that makes the fans believes the Jaque hype. And these type of snide remarks occur very regurlarly about Snor and Ricky and Jantjes. You would be blind if you did not notice it.
The 3rd force……. make up your own mind.
17 Mar 2009, 14:46 pm
#96 groenie: Not sure if you can still say that after the 3N performances of last year, his channel was not the problem. The gaps opened up between Butch and JdV. I am a JdV fan but his defence has been more suspect than Adi’s since the 3N last year.
17 Mar 2009, 14:48 pm
#96 groenie: You sound two-minded
17 Mar 2009, 14:49 pm
#96 groenie: The JDV/ADI midfield showed no cracks during the tests last year. Why is it a concern all of a sudden? Give me examples of how Nonu, Mortlock, etal waltzed through our midfield last year.
17 Mar 2009, 14:50 pm
#95 Disa:
1.Beast 2.Bismak 3.Smit
4.Bakkies 5.Matfield
6.Burger 7.Smith 8.Spies
9.DuPreez 10.Pienaar
11.Habana
12.Jean 13.Adi
14.JPP
15.Jantjes
16.Guthro
17.Jannie
18.Rossouw
19.Kankowski
20.Januarie
21.Steyn
22.Fourie
17 Mar 2009, 14:54 pm
#103 mshiniwami: Spot on imo. Why change something that worked so well at Twickers. They seem to have settled into a good unit.
17 Mar 2009, 14:54 pm
#99 moedeloos: #100 Corndog: The same journo, Gavin Rich was singing praises to Adi after the Blues match (actually quite surprising), BTW, Jaque Fourie also missed a easy tackle on Sat that lead to a try but nothing heard so far…
17 Mar 2009, 14:58 pm
Jacque you can have a Bok jersey. Its just going to have a 15 on the back if you dont mind!
17 Mar 2009, 15:00 pm
#99 moedeloos:
Please that is such a load of bs!
The tackle on Barnes was due to Adi rushing up and braking the defensive line, that lead to a gap and the try in the end !
17 Mar 2009, 15:06 pm
#103 mshiniwami: I would opt for another pivot (flyhalf) on the bench with the ability to cover at centre as well. This player must have a decent kicking record. I would propose that Grant or Butch fill that spot on the bench. To avoid what happen to the Sharks this weekend.
17 Mar 2009, 15:07 pm
#99 moedeloos:dude, @ 1st i thought ur nic was ‘moedeldoos’…but thank goodness, yeh chap, you’re spot on, i asked the same question earlier on, **** the whole of last yeah we heard of how nonu was going to flattened adi & it never materialised! The new zealanders were singing his praises the whole time but here in our country, he will never cut it…if you were never jake white or eddie jones’ favourite you’re nothing to the journalists in this country!
#90 cheese: lol….mr cheeseman, when you see my nic, just skip the post & don’t read it…otherwise you can’t censor me!
17 Mar 2009, 15:08 pm
#103 mshiniwami: I will go for that one as well
17 Mar 2009, 15:10 pm
#109 Transformation: Hey boet, we all rate him but his defence is a bit sus even you got to admit it otherwise you know fckall about rugby, that said when the game opens up in the second half there is no better than Adi on outside centre.
17 Mar 2009, 15:12 pm
#66 siener: Agreed. Adi is definitely my favourite Bok at the moment. Nobody in SA rugby can create the tries he does. NOBODY
17 Mar 2009, 15:12 pm
#108 John1976:
Problem is Grant isnt even starting at present and is nowhere near the form of last yr.His kicking distance has also always been a problem.He is a better option at 10 than Steyn in terms of keeping structure but Steyn is a better bet at 12/11/14/15
17 Mar 2009, 15:13 pm
#107 groenie: Nou praat jy stront boeta.
Your bias against ADI is so obvious that it is clouding your view on the facts.
Adi shot up and tackled Barnes while he stil had the ball. Hes shot up but did not miss his tackle. The ball was passed to the player on his outside who cut inside and Fransie missed the tackle. Now you cast all the blame on Adi. What was he supposed to do. Leave Barnes alone while he was attacking the Shark line. (uit diepte uit)
Dont make stupid comments to back up your warped view based on bias.
17 Mar 2009, 15:15 pm
#111 Disa: Hes been wasted on the bench for years by the Sharks. Theres nothing wrong with his defence these days. Sure he may have lacked commitment on defence when the sharks were messing him around but since the coaches have backed him, he hasnt let anyone down
17 Mar 2009, 15:22 pm
#113 mshiniwami: The problem is that we need another reliable goal kicker on the bench. We also need someone who can control the game should Pienaar get injured or has an off day. Fourie and Steyn are covering the same positions therefore we can afford to have a flyhalf on the bench. Pienaar goal kicking has also sofar been unreliable to say the least.
17 Mar 2009, 15:23 pm
#115 Bok fan:
Too True
But you didnt him moan moan moan about going overseas etc,stuck to his guns,stuck it out till he got the opportunity to start then the rest is HISTORY
A lot of players can learn from him(ex:Steyn)
17 Mar 2009, 15:24 pm
#111 Disa: thanks disa, i know **** all about rugby…lol…the no.1 cop-out here on keo…come with another one…
17 Mar 2009, 15:26 pm
#116 John1976:
True,but Rather than Grant we can opt to drop a prop from the 22,then bring in Butch.
17 Mar 2009, 15:28 pm
#119 mshiniwami: Agree with you on Butch rather than Grant on the bench. He has the experience at int level and that will be owrth a lot against the Lions.
17 Mar 2009, 15:34 pm
37. Stormerfan
Firstly I did read the post, secondly u must try to read my post …
I never called you a racist but asked why the race issue even had to be mentioned ? If Bobo was chalenging Habana you would prob also use the same argument seeing that Hab is whiter than Bobo… lol
Stop trying to pick a fight with this over used argument we are living in the new South-Africa where race should not be used to divide or as preferance!
Please losen that old worndown chip from your shoulder and put it in the grave that called the old South-Africa.
If a Journo prefers one over the other and can argue the point then let them, or would you rather they send all articles to our dear sports minister so that he can ok them a month in advance?
It is just strangely pathetic how the race card keeps on getting played by the very people who fought for the equality of all!
17 Mar 2009, 15:38 pm
chalenging – challenging
losen – loosen
preferance – preference
worndown – worn down
17 Mar 2009, 15:38 pm
#120 Corndog: guys don’t you think butch will be tired by the time the lions get here, his excuse last year in the tri-nations was fatigue, what has he done to replenish his weary body? Go straight to bath for another season…
17 Mar 2009, 15:40 pm
#123 Transformation: Maybe but he has experience and we need a solid goal kicker.
17 Mar 2009, 15:42 pm
#118 Transformation: Cmon man, do you honeslty think Adi’s defence is up to scratch? Imagine everyone tackled like him in the team.
Adi is one of the better 13′s in the world on attack and will be best used as a super sub come test rugby time.
Jy wil net alles behalwe wit in die span he, kom in die game jou vernietnai
17 Mar 2009, 15:49 pm
#125 Disa: when bloggers start tackling(pardon the pun) the man and not the ball it is usually a sign that they do not have a rugby argument to justify their opinions. Just my take on your last sentence.
Use it dont use it……
17 Mar 2009, 15:50 pm
#124 Corndog: I believe it paramount that in the match 22 we have at least one decent goal kicker. I am also worried that we don’t have a fecther in the match 22 as proposed in post #103.
17 Mar 2009, 15:54 pm
#126 moedeloos: Same **** from him everytime, why the nick transformation.
Adi is a great centre but Fourie is a better option the first 40-50 minutes when the legs are getting tired. He never miss an oppurtunity and in the second half there is alot more
17 Mar 2009, 15:57 pm
#127 John1976: I am still not convinced about the need for a fetcher in the SA team. At times it seemed to be lacking but when our loose trio fire there is no one close. But there is a case for one on the bench, maybe Brussouw, thing is none of the fetchers have really put forward their names as serious contenders this year.
17 Mar 2009, 15:58 pm
#127 John1976:
The Boks have never held fetchers in high regard,the starting Xv has no true fetcher neither
The only true fetcher in the NH is Martin Williams,and it doesnt look like he will be picked to start for the Lions.The rest if the loosies are much in the SA physical mould using bulk and conter rucking to turn over the ball.
Best fetchers in SA are Watson,Brussow,Botes-None of the above have plenty of test caps
17 Mar 2009, 16:00 pm
Fourie can have a jersey,but he has to go ,just like the rest of us ,to a good sport shop and pay for his replica.Adi is the best and will start against the lions.Fourie is overrated and another one of jake the snake’s love children.Fourie ,just like Steyn, must be crying themselves to sleep at night that their father isn’t part of the bok set-up anymore.The gravy train has come to a halt boys!
17 Mar 2009, 16:00 pm
#130 mshiniwami: Fetchers are for defending teams. The game the PDV’s Boks want to play is attack
17 Mar 2009, 16:05 pm
#131 lukeisbaas: Hehe jy is nogals snaaks, stir die pot stir hom goed ou grote
17 Mar 2009, 16:05 pm
#125 Disa: someone asked here if anyone could catalogue instances where nonu, smith or mortlock barged through adi like he was a saloon door in cowboy movie…i have yet to see any takers…tackling technique can be worked on and improved, jf is not flawless either…
17 Mar 2009, 16:07 pm
#127 John1976: Spot on. Need to tell Schalk he is only a fetcher like he was before the yellow cards and neck injury.
I would seriously consider asking Percy to come back for the Lions to kick for poles. It will take the pressure off Pienaar and Percy wont do any worse than Janjes. He could even be the difference between winning and losing the series
17 Mar 2009, 16:09 pm
#78 Simon: Isn’t it time we have the king on the front cover complete with crown and all,with a sword in his hand and a few current boks like Matfield and Bakkies in their bull jerseys kneeling in front of him.that would make for a great front cover.Just a suggestion.
17 Mar 2009, 16:10 pm
#136 lukeisbaas:
Elvis?
17 Mar 2009, 16:15 pm
#137 Dawn: LOL
19-0. Thats all I have to contribute towards the Bok defensive pattern
Yeah and I want a raise… but it ain’t gonna happen
#137 Dawn: Not today again babes,money is tight in these recession times.
17 Mar 2009, 16:16 pm
#130 mshiniwami: I think that in the Tri Nations it would be essential to have a fetcher in the match 22. NZ and Aus are both employing world class open side flankers (fetchers) in their starting 15 with great success. Australia employs another one on their bench. The battle for the ball at the breakdowns in the Tri-Nations is such an important part of the games. We really have to consider employing a quality open side flanker (fetcher) during the 3N competition.
17 Mar 2009, 16:17 pm
#131 lukeisbaas:
Whatever dude, Fourie is a great center playing ina losing team. If he wasn’t so loyal to his union he’d be playing outside center at any one of the other South African frnachises – including the Sharks
17 Mar 2009, 16:19 pm
#141 lukeisbaas:
Not today what?
I only asked if you meant Elvis.
17 Mar 2009, 16:22 pm
#141 lukeisbaas:
Babes?
Wa ko djy daaraan, om die madam so te noem/
Jy moet ligloop tattie, ek se…
17 Mar 2009, 16:24 pm
If JF really wants to challenge for Adi’s position he should quickly get away from the Toothless Lions rugby union.Saru should seriously try to force that union to disband and to become part of the bulls.
17 Mar 2009, 16:29 pm
#146 lukeisbaas:
Come over to the Lions tread, this is no place to make such statements.
17 Mar 2009, 16:33 pm
Adi is nie sleg nie, maar Fourie is vanselfsprekend die buitesenter langs JDV.
Adi is ‘n goeie reserwe.
17 Mar 2009, 16:35 pm
#147 Pietman: Do we really need two rugby unions in a small province like Gauteng?
17 Mar 2009, 16:42 pm
#143 Richie: good point. It would be very interesting to see if ADI would simply be picked every game above Fourie (if they were both at the Sharks) just because Adi is “better”. I doubt that too. Adi is very good though, he needs to stay in the mix and will.
17 Mar 2009, 16:45 pm
#148 alf:That’s not going to happen because if you look closely at JF you shall see that his butt is the shape of that chair he has been sitting on for the whole of last year.You don’t want to change something that isn’t broken now do you?
17 Mar 2009, 16:48 pm
I must say I always look forward to the SA rugby mag coming out. I tried guessing who should be on the cover for the last 2 issues and got them both wrong. I thought it was a no-brainer for Pienaar to be on the cover with all the excitement of him playing flyhalf. Wanted to hear how he was feeling about the challenge ahead. was very suprised to see Steyn on the cover and didnt feel he deserved it.
I then thought Adi was going to be on the cover this month with all the exciting tries and performances hes had over the last year and would love to here what he had to say about the year ahead.
O well, guess thats why I dont work for a magazine
17 Mar 2009, 16:49 pm
#128 Disa: so my nic bothers you & @ the same time suggest that i know **** all about rugby? Lmao…you’re a genius disa…
17 Mar 2009, 16:50 pm
#151 lukeisbaas: Luke is Baas, now that does not sound right. that is an insult to him, he hats afrikaners and their language.
17 Mar 2009, 17:29 pm
#136 lukeisbaas:
Yes Schalk did have a great game, and was man of the match against the lions, lucky buggers the stormers franchise to have him on their books!
17 Mar 2009, 18:04 pm
no disrespect o adi jacobs but BOD is a monster and will run ova him .unlike mossie adi deosnt drive players back in the tackle
17 Mar 2009, 18:05 pm
Atleast Bok fans can look forwards to some exceptional performances from our two top outside centres this season, both of whom fighting for that Bok no. 13 jersey. Realistically though, I expect Adi Jacobs to be the first choice 13 during the Britich Lions tour.
Daan Human must come back and play rugby in SA if he wants to play for the Boks again. I remember when he left the Stormers and WP, he was merely a solid, unspectacular prop, but with this growing hype around him, SA fans deserve to see what he’s all about.
17 Mar 2009, 18:21 pm
Has Adi ever made the cover of SA Rugby? That’s like putting Thorpe on the cover of Sports Illustrated instead of Phelps after the Olympics???
17 Mar 2009, 18:41 pm
I have something for THE TACKLER:
the date is 13 May 2007. To put his ala kiwi excuses to rest for saying the Bulls only won because the All Blacks were rested:
And while it is a blow to the visitors to have had the home semifinal hosting rights wrenched from them in such a startling fashion last weekend they will take confidence from the highly experienced core members of their squad. Members such as All Black captain Richie McCaw, 57 times test capped lock Chris Jack, former All Black World Cup captain Reuben Thorne, veteran test backs Aaron Mauger and Leon MacDonald and the most deadly points scorer in international rugby Dan Carter – all of whom have participated in many of their franchise’ eight Super Rugby semifinal appearances.
Three All Blacks return to the Crusader’s staring XV at Loftus this Sunday. Daniel Carter is back from injury, Kevin Senio nudges Andrew Ellis onto the bench and Rico Gear returns on the right wing to force Scott Hamilton from the 22.
At the time of print there was a significant injury cloud hanging over the availability of outstanding Springbok halfback Fourie du Preez. The hugely influential scrum half is being given until match day to recover full fitness but Bulls coach Heyneke Meyer has repeatedly lamented that this is unlikely. His absence would be a substantial boost to the Crusaders.
17 Mar 2009, 22:47 pm
#158 kevin w: Brilliant. I could not have thought of a better example. Pity, these bonehead journos will still be asking themselves what we are on about.
18 Mar 2009, 06:32 am
Jacque Fourie is a monster of the game and is the best centre in the world , AJ has been playing well but if you want the best stick to a JV / JF combination.
18 Mar 2009, 09:03 am
#161 stew: have to disagree with you there. I think Sterling is the best centre in the world. But that is just my opinion and you know what they say about opinions and arseholes.
I think Jaque is a monster of a centre. But Adi’s creativity is just amazing to watch. in my opinion they are different type of players and you may want to alternate them depending on the game plan. but if it is PDV’s expansive gameplan then Adi should start.
18 Mar 2009, 10:06 am
Adi is just to weak on defence. The game against the reds showed that. As a sharks fan i would like JF at the sharks. Best outside centre there is..
18 Mar 2009, 11:05 am
This was my comment yesterday…
#163 stucky: 92. Charlie :
March 17th, 2009 at 2:25 pm
#81 groenie: Just watch the highlights on Supersport website, can’t see Adi being to blame for the 3 tries the Reds scored, 1st Steven Sykes missed a crucial tackle, 2nd Ryan Konkowski missed this tackle and also got into Adi’s way while marking his man, 3rd Johan Muller missed tackle on inside runner…
18 Mar 2009, 11:36 am
May be Jaque Fourie should start a Facebook campaign-”Ican get a million people who want me at 13″.The onus is upon him to prove he is better than Adi and not the other way round.People will always find excuses when they want a player out ,even now I can get 10 excuses not to start Dan Carter for the All Blacks when fully fit of course.Reminds of the Smit – Botha debate.
18 Mar 2009, 15:34 pm
I’m hoping that Peter De Villiers will pick the best center combination in the world for the tour against the British and Irish Lions.There is only two players he should look at and that’s Jean De Villiers and Jaque Fourie.
21 Mar 2009, 19:46 pm
Keo,
Congratulations on what must be the best cover page ever! I mean ever! I love it because it is Mossie standing there with his red Lions jersey.
I must go and buy this mag tomorrow.