‘I want my Bok jersey back’
17 Mar 2009
Jaque Fourie aims to resume his midfield partnership with Jean de Villiers.
Three unrelated injuries allowed Adrian Jacobs to win 11 Test caps in 2008 and take ownership of the Bok No 13 jersey, while a frustrated Fourie watched events unfold on television.
‘Adrian did really well for the Boks last year, which was great for him and the team, but I back myself to get back into the side,’ says Fourie, in the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine.
The midfielder also explains how his time away from the game allowed him to get his life in order and prevented him from suffering a World Cup hangover like many of his team-mates. He reveals why he has turned down several lucrative offers in order to stay with the Lions, why he doesn’t overanalyse his game or like video sessions, and why he’d love to play against Brian O’Driscoll in the British & Irish Lions series.
– In 2006, financial mismanagement culled the Southern Spears rendering a potential rugby hotbed dormant. In 2009, Saru announced the South Eastern Cape would launch their new franchise with a tour fixture against the British & Irish Lions. We probe the key players on lessons learned, future Super Rugby involvement and whether this franchise is financially capable of retaining their young talent.
– While Stefan Terblanche is 33 years old and hasn’t played for South Africa since the 2003 World Cup, his recent performances for the Sharks have put him back into Bok contention.
– Reds flyhalf Quade Cooper aims to become the complete package.
– Blues hooker Keven Mealamu on why he hates playing in Pretoria, the impact of New Zealand’s player drain, reclaiming his All Blacks jersey, and why he wouldn’t blame South Africa for ditching Super Rugby in favour of Europe.
– The NZRU made R20 million by staging a Bledisloe Cup match in Hong Kong last year. While SA Rugby’s plans for a Test on neutral turf have failed to materialise, acting MD Andy Marinos says it’s only a matter of time before the world champions play in a money-spinner of their own.
– Fourie du Preez on his hunger to succeed, why he hates some of the new laws, his Bok battle with Ricky Januarie, playing flyhalf, what would tempt him to leave the Bulls, and his coaching ambitions.
– Duane Vermeulen turned down attractive offers from overseas clubs and another from the Sharks in order to play for Rassie Erasmus’s Stormers. The 22-year-old loose forward explains why he made the move from Bloemfontein to Cape Town, how he has settled in so far, and why he prefers blindside flank.
– Daan Human left the Stormers for Toulouse in 2004 a rough diamond, but years spent in the Top 14 against the most unforgiving of props has refined him to the point where he is arguably one of the finest looseheads in world rugby. We met Human in Toulouse to discuss the lure of the euro, lawless scrums and his Springbok ambitions.
– In 2005, Brian O’Driscoll’s Lions tour was cruelly ended in the opening minutes of the first Test against the All Blacks. In 2009, he hopes to put things right.
– Pieter de Villiers is back in the country of his birth after 14 years in France. The former Tricolores prop talks to SA Rugby magazine about his successful career, life in the Cape, and the prospect of playing again.
– The upper crust of English rugby are being buttered up to join clubs across the Channel. Is this the start of a debilitating period for the English game, driven by a credit crunch that does not appear to be crunching the French?
– COLUMNISTS: Jake White on what makes Pierre Spies so good, Marc Hinton on why the NZ Maori should be supported and not slammed, and Clinton van der Berg on why the Golden Lions should move to Soccer City after the 2010 World Cup.

167 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
17 Mar 2009, 11:18 am
#44 Pietman:
het daai gesprek dalk iets soos die vlg geklink?
gbs: ek het mosh nog altyd geshê mosssshhie moesh … uhm .. watsh daai poshieshie nou weer … uhm … daai ene wat peshie geshhpeel het?
pietman: uhm .. h-h-h- heelagter?
gbs: ja, ek het mosh nog altyd geshê mosssshhie moesh .. uhm … heelagter geshpeel het!
pietman: ek shtem broer, ek shtem!
17 Mar 2009, 11:19 am
Does anybody know when the new mag will be out?
17 Mar 2009, 11:20 am
#48 Simon:
maybe it would be a good idea then if i read the mag whilst sober?
17 Mar 2009, 11:20 am
#52 quintin.doyle: Tomorrow.
17 Mar 2009, 11:21 am
#51 ashley:
Nee jong, nog darem nie sleeptong gepraat nie, was vroeg in die oggend….hehehe!
17 Mar 2009, 11:22 am
#55 Pietman:
17 Mar 2009, 11:23 am
Don’t forget Frans can play fullback, the position JW thinks he should play.
With Ruan, Frans and Fourie All the backline positions are covered.
17 Mar 2009, 11:23 am
Thanks Simon.
17 Mar 2009, 11:34 am
And I want you to want the Bok jersey back.
17 Mar 2009, 11:38 am
#57 canafunk: Hi, If Jake thought that he is best suited for this position, why did he not choose him in this position for SA and Barbarians? He could have saved him the embarrassment while playing him at No. 10 during the Barbas/Aussie game. Frans Steyn is totally OVERRATED. One further point, the no. 13 jersey does not belong to ANYONE.
17 Mar 2009, 11:53 am
you have to love the journos here, lol, now we have to hear jf would love to play against bod, i’m sure if you asked jdv he would say the same thing or even jorrie muller would love a crack @ him…such high quality journalism…
17 Mar 2009, 11:57 am
JAcobs based on his performances over the past year and a half has been hands down better than Fourie. Fourie just doesn’t know what to do when he gets past a player
17 Mar 2009, 12:06 pm
Big Fourie fan, him and JdV need to start with Adi on the bench to score the tries when the opposition legs are tired
17 Mar 2009, 12:09 pm
#62 Pirlet BEL: Come on bru? He always get the pass away, look at Saturdays game!
17 Mar 2009, 12:09 pm
#60 John1976:
There is truth in your post John (though things in SA rugby are never black and white (figuratively speaking).
Young Frans is no where near the best 10.
He is not the best 12.
He is most definately not among the best 13′s.
And even the pensioner Terblanche would rate more highly as 15.
However he is playing well, and is yet to reach his potential, he can cover several positions more than adequately.
He would be a worthy bench player for the Boks. In time he will be more than that.
17 Mar 2009, 12:33 pm
#46 moedeloos: Totally agree with you and Transformation.
If I never have to read another article hyping Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Frans Steyn or Pierre Spies I would be a happy man. They are the perennial favourites of the journalists.
Last year Adi was Peter de Villier’s most surprising and controversial inclusion in the Bok squad and yet he ended up scoring more tries that anyone else. He just narrowly missed out to JdV on being both player of the year and player’s player of the year. Where are the articles about him? Where are the magazine covers?
January was the hero of Dunedin. FdP fell flat against NZ (as always against the AB’s) in Cape Town and seemingly can’t stop moaning about the ELV’s. Yet who do we get yet another article about? FdP … *yawn*
17 Mar 2009, 12:47 pm
#65 cane: he is certainly no richard kahui or james o’connor alrite, but you know what, i don’t care, steyn is going to feature in the bok set up for the forseeable future whether he plays **** or not whether he is the best @ no particular position…
17 Mar 2009, 12:48 pm
#47 Simon: No no… I would buy the mag
17 Mar 2009, 12:51 pm
#66 siener:
well said!
17 Mar 2009, 12:52 pm
#66 siener: Adi Jacobs was featured in the October 2008 issue.
17 Mar 2009, 13:13 pm
#66 siener: I can’t agree more. I see that Jake White is going to sing Pierre Spies’ praises in the new edition of the SA Rugby. JW is always trying to create hype around his favourite players.
17 Mar 2009, 13:22 pm
#65 cane: Your post just illustrates that Frans Steyn still needs lots of development. He should therefore be allowed to play CC for this season and to concentrate on one position. This will certainly give us insight as to whether he is the real deal.
17 Mar 2009, 13:26 pm
#72 John1976: He should not be considered for SA, for now at least,since he has lots of deficiencies and could cost them dearly if they persist in selecting him.
17 Mar 2009, 13:28 pm
I still say that SA Rugby needs some pretty girls on the cover… Think about it, even woman magazines use sexy women on their covers.. why, coz it sells!
17 Mar 2009, 13:33 pm
Adi Jacobs is the best 13 in SA by a country mile at present.
His only blemish so far in a YR and a half was missing tackles vs Fourie in the Lions/Sharks game.But then he created the match winning score breaking down the touchline to feed JP to score.
He didnt play well vs Reds but the ENTIRE sharks team was ABYSMAL.
Against the blues he was MOTM,master class performance in attack and defense
Vs the Chiefs he defended manfully along with the rest of the Sharks team
Fourie hasnt had a single superstar performance.GRANTED the Lions are not an adequate platform to do so..(he has done it in years past though)
Only Richard Kahui at present is playing on par or better rugby than ADI at 13.with Mortlock and Laulala closely behind in the S14
17 Mar 2009, 13:42 pm
#70 Simon: Was he on the front cover of the Magazine ?
17 Mar 2009, 13:44 pm
#75 mshiniwami:
To put it into perspective, if both Adi and Jaque made them available for contracts for foreign teams, all the French and British teams will jump at Jaque and not Adi!
17 Mar 2009, 13:47 pm
#76 Charlie: No, Beast was.
17 Mar 2009, 13:52 pm
#77 groenie: that is a huge assumption you’re making. Are you an agent to know this ‘fact’?
17 Mar 2009, 13:55 pm
#75 mshiniwami: Adie is in the top must have players in the Bok squad at this time IMO.
17 Mar 2009, 14:06 pm
If you watched the reds vs sharks game, before the kickoff they had an interview with the coach of the reds and asked him if they spotted any weakness in the sharks team? He answer was yes we can attack tear mid field.
Where did all the tries come from, what was the result, Sharks got hammered by a team the bulls played around with!
17 Mar 2009, 14:09 pm
Mossie vs Adi….
it’s no-brainer…imo
17 Mar 2009, 14:15 pm
#78 Simon:
Eina!
17 Mar 2009, 14:16 pm
SA’s best 45 Players
1.Beast/Guthro/Heinke
2.Smit/Bismak/Rallapelle
3.Jannie/Carstens/Mujati
4.Bakkies/Fondse/Muller
5.Matfield/Bekker/Rossouw
6.Burger/Brussow/Daniel
7.Smith/Deysel/Vermeulen
8.Spies/Kankowski/Watson
9.DuPreez/Januarie/Kockott
10.Pienaar/M.Steyn/Butch
11.Habana/Nokwe/A.Ndungane
12.DeVilliers/Steyn/Olivier
13.Jacobs/Fourie/Bobo
14.JP/O.Ndungane/Chavanga
15.Jantjes/Terblanche/Kirchner
All bar one(Butch) are based in SA
Healthy situation indeed
Lots of competition
17 Mar 2009, 14:17 pm
#82 Staal: In myne ook, Adi op die oomblik strate voor. Dit is soortgelyk aan die Spies Kanko debat. Dit is goed dat ons soveel spelers het wat wereldklas is.
17 Mar 2009, 14:20 pm
simon, next month can you have meisekind ”backing himself” to get back into bok reckoning & expressing how he’d also love fronting against the british & irish lions…and before anyone says he is ****, i offer the ”shield” that has a WC medal, he has won the super 14, has won the currie cup more than once! Oh **** this sounding a bit better than frans steyn’s claim to fame. I dare you simon!
17 Mar 2009, 14:20 pm
#84 mshiniwami:
Good!
We can take on the British Lions with that outfit, for sure…
17 Mar 2009, 14:21 pm
simon, next month can you have meisekind ”backing himself” to get back into bok reckoning & expressing how he’d also love fronting against the british & irish lions…and before anyone says he is ****, i offer the ”shield” that has a WC medal, he has won the super 14, has won the currie cup more than once! Oh **** this sounding a bit better than frans steyn’s claim to fame. I dare you simon!
Plus he also has the hair!
17 Mar 2009, 14:23 pm
#77 groenie:
?????
Who gives a $#it?
French clubs etc jumped to sin the hasbeen that is Marius Joubert..They even signed Phillip Burger to a lucrative contract..Sheesh they even signed Gerhard Vosloo to the largest contract for a loose fwd in French rugby history…That oke could start at the Lions
So I would “jump” to using that as a YARDSTICK for perceived QUALITY
17 Mar 2009, 14:23 pm
#88 Transformation: get of it now, you sound like that ******** skopskiet with his constant nagging.
we get it, you dont rate frans steyn.
congratulations.
17 Mar 2009, 14:25 pm
#89 mshiniwami: i think adi and jaque could both sign lucrative contracts if they so chose.
but they are loyal to their unions. shock horror for the modern age.
17 Mar 2009, 14:25 pm
#81 groenie: Just watch the highlights on Supersport website, can’t see Adi being to blame for the 3 tries the Reds scored, 1st Steven Sykes missed a crucial tackle, 2nd Ryan Konkowski missed this tackle and also got into Adi’s way while marking his man, 3rd Johan Muller missed tackle on inside runner…
17 Mar 2009, 14:31 pm
#78 Simon: What’s the problem, get the man on the front cover he surely deserves it
17 Mar 2009, 14:36 pm
If the Cheetahs and Lions were re0unified again, then Jaque Fourie and Meyer Bosman would be the center combo. I reckon that would be an interesting combo. Before Julies left, he and JF had a fairly strong combo going. I guess JF likes to be near his home of CarltonVille, that could be his strength, small town boy mentality!!!
17 Mar 2009, 14:38 pm
Bit of a dead period on Keo, Bulls havnt played a game this weekend so pretty quiet from GBS and Superbul etc, Lions are ****, Stormers won but only 2/5, Sharks lost, Cheetahs eish.
Maybe because im Province but I cant wait for the Lions tour, who is PdV going to play and are we as good as the end of last year or the beginning o last year?
I think PdV has learned his lesson and he has got such great players to choose from.
Bring it on
John Smith
Bismark
Beast
Matfield
Burger
Juan
Spies
FdP
Butch
JdV
J Fourie
Habana (he will come right in the next couple of games)
JPP
S Terblanche
Subs
Jannie
Bekker
Vermeulen
Kockett
Steyn
Pienaar
Jantjes
17 Mar 2009, 14:41 pm
#92 Charlie:
Yes that can be correct but the fact of the matter is Adi is a great attacking player but a weak defensive player, this does not mean he cant tackle he can, but he doesn’t defend intelligently.
Against the BL we will need Jaque to Keep that midfield protected!
17 Mar 2009, 14:42 pm
#95 Disa: Naby aan reg maar ek dink Pienaar Adi en Jantjes sal begin. Kanko, Januarie en Fourie op die bench met nog n stut. Rede daarvoor is dat ek nie dink hy te veel vernaderinge sal maak aan die groep wat laasjaar gespeel het nie. Die spelers is gewoond aan PdV se styl en hy ken hulle ook nou al.
17 Mar 2009, 14:45 pm
#97 Corndog: Ja jy is seker reg, nie die tyd om te begin eksperimenteer nie en daar het die jaar nog nie regtige supersterre vorindag gekom nie
17 Mar 2009, 14:46 pm
#92 Charlie: I just did the same and reach the same conclusion as you.
Just to take my point to the next level, go read the article on Supersport on the Reds vs Sharks match. Here is an extract on defence:
“But their big Achilles heel was the first line defence, a problem that was evident in previous weeks, and it has to be said that while Adrian Jacobs’s contribution to the Sharks attacking game this season have been massive, he has also been exposed on defence, something that the Springbok selectors should take note of ahead of the series against the British and Irish Lions. ”
So why is the journo singling out Adi when not one of the tries was directly his fault. What about signling out Steyn for compltely missing the tackling resulting in the first try AFTER Adi tackled Barnes.
These are the types of reporting that makes the fans believes the Jaque hype. And these type of snide remarks occur very regurlarly about Snor and Ricky and Jantjes. You would be blind if you did not notice it.
The 3rd force……. make up your own mind.
17 Mar 2009, 14:46 pm
#96 groenie: Not sure if you can still say that after the 3N performances of last year, his channel was not the problem. The gaps opened up between Butch and JdV. I am a JdV fan but his defence has been more suspect than Adi’s since the 3N last year.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All