Meyer predicts Australasian plunder
17 Mar 2009
Heyneke Meyer believes the diluted strength of Australasian teams as a result of a European exodus will favour the Bulls on tour.
The Former Bulls championship-winning coach oversaw the best tour by a South African side in the history of Super Rugby in 2007 when his charges won three of five in Australasia en route to the title.
The current Bulls side will face the same opponents in the Hurricanes, Highlanders, Crusaders, Waratahs and Brumbies – as tough a tour as you could ask for considering there are three of 2008′s semi-finalists in that group, including the defending champion Crusaders.
However, Meyer believes the loss of key players from those franchises to lucrative European deals and the relative stability of the Bulls’ squad (there are just six changes to the 25-man touring squad of 2007) means his former side have an opportunity to better their touring record and possibly even return with a clean sweep.
‘My personal feeling is that the standard of those sides is not what it was in 2007 as a result of the number of really good players who’ve left for Europe,’ Meyer told keo.co.za.
‘There’s no reason why they can’t win at least four of the five, and they have a real chance of winning all five. The Crusaders are a different side without Dan Carter and [former coach] Robbie Deans, and if Richie McCaw doesn’t recover for the match they’re weakened further. They should beat the Highlanders and the Waratahs, Brumbies and Hurricanes have shown that they’re beatable at home as well.
‘Anything less than three wins with a couple of bonus points must be seen as a failure and anything above that means they’ll be in a very strong position to finish top of the log because they’ve traditionally performed very well when they’ve returned from the tour.’
However, Meyer tempered his optimism with a word of caution relating to their opening tour fixture against the Hurricanes in Wellington on Friday.
‘It’s crucial that they start well because a defeat in the opening match of a tour will knock the confidence level of the side, and a win will have exactly the opposite effect,’ Meyer said.
‘We started the last tour with a win and that did wonders for the belief within the side. I can’t stress how important winning that first match is. The Sharks pulled off a big win in their opener against the Chiefs and that gave them the confidence they needed to get a win against the Blues in Auckland. The Bulls have to do the same.’
Barring injuries to Dewald Potgieter and Bryan Habana, the Bulls are likely to be able to name a full strength squad for their match against the Hurricanes. Habana’s form has waned since he enjoyed a superb season in 2007, but Meyer believes he remains a crucial member of their squad and is confident he’ll return to form in the near future.
‘Bryan will be the first to tell you that he’s well short of his best, but you don’t go from being a world-class player to a bad one in a short space of time,’ he said.
‘His shortcomings need to be addressed and I know Bryan and the Bulls’ coaching team are working hard to do that. But there are enough game breakers in the side to ensure that the Bulls don’t suffer because one player is off form.’

96 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
17 Mar 2009, 10:54 am
#48 Nils: Think the Canes will be their toughest game. Thats my take anyway. If they win that one those Bull players will be full of confidence.
Tahs and Brumbies will be tough but Tahs just never looked good to me against the Reds or Brumbies. Brumbies also have to travel back from Bloemfontein to OZ. Bulls are there already waiting for them. Still think Brumbies will be a tough game.
17 Mar 2009, 10:59 am
Come on Bulls !
This Friday’s game is HUGE, make it count !
Be patient, make the right choices….
Hookers – practise your line-out throws
Fly halves – practise your kicking and kicking for posts
Full backs – concentrate on the up-and-unders and line kicking…
…and all of you, we need absolute resolute dedication in defence, we need to keep dicipline….
…we need to tear these pretenders a new a-hole !
17 Mar 2009, 11:02 am
#52 grootblousmile: Looking forward to the Bulls and Canes game.
Go Bulls win this one and the confidence will be high.
17 Mar 2009, 11:04 am
#52 grootblousmile: and so on!
17 Mar 2009, 11:15 am
#52 grootblousmile: ease up there or you may start to sound a little like skoppie with all that pretender talk. but C for serious the bulls need to win this plus a few points here and there while away and they will be looking good for a play off postion
17 Mar 2009, 11:19 am
#52 grootblousmile:
‘halves’?
17 Mar 2009, 11:22 am
Meyer forgets that the teams they beat on tour in 2007 were even worse off than the teams now with 22 All Blacks out… They lost to the Crudaders without McCaw and Carter.. and Leon McDonald.. so lets just wait and see… how it pans out… I hope they do win there…
‘My personal feeling is that the standard of those sides is not what it was in 2007 as a result of the number of really good players who’ve left for Europe,’ Meyer told keo.co.za.
Mr Meyer you have a short memory. Of the NZ teams the bulls played in 2007 they had their top players out due to their RWC conditioning.
I would say the NZ teams are stronger than 2007.
dont agree there all the aussie sides are all looking lekker
the brumbies and tahs are r danger at home
the bulls will be lucky to win anything
same for the stormers
17 Mar 2009, 11:23 am
i’ll believe it when i see it. I have no doubt that if the Bulls played with heart they have the potential to plunder, but they become little bulletjies as soon as they step off the plane and away from the melktert.
17 Mar 2009, 11:25 am
bored of the super 14 already all the sa teams do is kick
its kak and i think the news laws are to blame cause if the ball is passed back behind the 22 you cant kick out on the full so now u just have aimless kicking boring very boring
17 Mar 2009, 11:25 am
#58 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!:
And the Tahs and Brumbies were in a rebuilding phase….
17 Mar 2009, 11:31 am
#55 Wukong: Farkkkkkk, I take that as an insult……. I never, ever want to sound like Skoppie…. NEVER !
At least I don’t use multiple adjectives to the point of Vomit Comet nausea !
F’cadilly punkass purile pontificating twatface twat !
Hehehe
Skoppie is on a planet of his own….
17 Mar 2009, 11:33 am
#62 THE MAULER:
I reckon if the bulls had to face the waratahs first up they could beat them. This would set them up for a good tour.
But it is not the waratahs.
17 Mar 2009, 11:36 am
#63 grootblousmile:
How are you my friend…enjoying while the bulls on top?
17 Mar 2009, 11:37 am
#64 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!:
I agree! But they arent and I will first see how they play against the Canes who put 50 past them at Loftus last year before I judge them….
17 Mar 2009, 11:38 am
#63 grootblousmile:
‘F’cadilly punkass watta watta’…where did you learn all those words, hehehehe!
17 Mar 2009, 11:39 am
#64 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!: Walla, hello
All of the discussion on Bulls chances on Tour is mere speculation….. the proof of the pudding lies in the eating…
Remember that NZ have lost 30 (20%) of their 150 Super 14 players of last year… couple to that a few key injuries… and suddenly the NZ sides look vulnerable and look like they can indeed be beaten…
Case in point was the depth of the Blues when they played their game against the Bulls at Loftus…. their depth was abysmal…. and they were thumped..
So, I hope that the Bulls are well prepared and up for this game….. but only time will tell !
17 Mar 2009, 11:43 am
#65 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!: Certain Bulls players enjoy being on top
17 Mar 2009, 11:45 am
#67 Pietman: Jinne jong, daai moegoe string darem die byvoeglike naamwoorde aanmekaar asof dit by sy gat uitborrel…. wel miskien is dit inderdaat so, sallie verbaas wees nie!
Wens ek het sy E-Mail adres gehad dat ek vir hom daai broekkuk-foto van Ex Player se girl kan stuur as hy sy bek weer so wyd rek !
17 Mar 2009, 11:49 am
#69 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts:
Depends what they are on top of??
17 Mar 2009, 11:49 am
#60 cab:
“I’ll believe it when I see it.”
There speaks a man of wisdom not often seen in keoland.
17 Mar 2009, 11:58 am
The S14 should consider promotion / relegation going forward. same sh*t teams at the bottom
17 Mar 2009, 12:16 pm
#34. Tisme :
March 17th, 2009 at 10:19 am
#32 AP: “Whenever Heyneke appears in public he leaves the impression of a know-all. He is overarted as a coach in my opinion” “should he rather give the impression that he knows F-all – ? Please answer this: overated compared to who?
No, he thinks that he is the only person that knows something of the obvious and that makes him better than others. In other words and to comeback to your question: Compared to his own sweeping statements i.e. 4/5 or even 5/5 (6/5?). The results will settle this issue, Tisme.
17 Mar 2009, 13:23 pm
#51 Puma: “Tahs just never looked good to me against the Reds or Brumbies.”
I’d say that was the case of Reds being way stronger than many folks here think than Tahs being weak. Contrary to Keo’s belief Reds are not benchmark for rubble, one should look rather somewhere in the central parts of the Republic.
Anyway, it’s a speculation and things can go either way, this tournament is wide open and anyone (well, probably except that un-mentioned team, lol) can beat anybody on a given day. Looking forward to quality entertaining games and good luck also to those, who you support. Cheers (have to work)!
17 Mar 2009, 13:25 pm
‘Habanas form has waned….’
its hard to believe the repeated criticism of the Worlds Best Winger.
Form = temporary
Class = permanent.
17 Mar 2009, 15:34 pm
Is this the same Meyer who travelled with the Bulls Down Under for three years in a row and came home with not even one single solitary win? And who cracked his big egg only when the ABs kept 2/3 of their men out of the contest to “rest” them for RWC?
17 Mar 2009, 15:45 pm
77. TheTackler at least he cracked it …cant say the same for Mr Muir
17 Mar 2009, 15:50 pm
I think the SA sides are still going to struggle overseas. I hope the Bulls and the Stormers can get at least 2 wins hopefully a couple more but I can’t see it happening, espicially with injuries in key positions to many of the SA sides.
Saying that the Austrailasian sides have not looked to be in the same form as previous years also possibly due to injuries and players abroad so I suppose anything is possible.
I just hope the SHarks bounce back and take this last game before they head back home.
17 Mar 2009, 16:12 pm
#77 TheTackler: the BUlls beat a FULL STRENGTH Crusaders in the semis. Get over it, did someone castrate you while you were watching teh Boks beat the All Blacks. Give credit where it is due, you as$hole
17 Mar 2009, 16:22 pm
#80 savethespringbok: Antwoord die dwaas nie na sy sotheid nie!
17 Mar 2009, 16:28 pm
I just wish Heyneke would not talk the Bulls up like this. Let them first win a few down under and then do the talking. Every non-Bull supporter so far have been going on about how the Bulls don’t belong on top of the logs, how rubble the Reds are, the Blues were easy-beats, blah blah blah etc. Granted, the Bulls could count themselves lucky with the Lions and Stormers wins but a win is a win.
Lets leave the talking for after the game!
17 Mar 2009, 17:29 pm
#57 THE MAULER:
correct me if I am wrong but that is an in correct statement.
the only kiwi side that the Bulls played in 2007 that were minus their All Blacks….was the Chiefs in round 4 or 5, and exactly how many All Blacks did they have out?
All other kiwi sides had the option of fielding all their players. Blues,Crusaders,Hurricanes and Highlanders where full strengh.
17 Mar 2009, 17:33 pm
#77 TheTackler:
those self same 2/3 that actually LOST to the French?
jeez, but THAT is kak.
Don’t ever forget that the Kiwis only ever won the big one when the Boks weren’t there.
Not exactly a memorable world cup was it?
17 Mar 2009, 18:17 pm
now now ladies … at this stage it is still 0 from 5. The Sharks were looking good and already had 2 from 4 and we all saw what happened there.
Bulls go 2 wins on the trot and i’ll start hoping for a clean sweep or even 4 from 5.
17 Mar 2009, 19:10 pm
bulls to win 1 from 5 and they will struggle to get that 1.
17 Mar 2009, 22:32 pm
#51 Puma: Tahs play a similar game to teh Bulls, just worse. The Bulls will strugggle against the Brumbies as the Brumbies style is very different.
Thankfully they have already played the Reds before they clicked into gear.
17 Mar 2009, 23:23 pm
#83 St.Petersburgbok: but be fair, half those players had only just returned, it takes a few games to get to proper playing strength… regardless, we all know they only won in 2007 due to restrictions on the NZ sides (self imposed though they were)…
and as I have stated on other threads previously, NZ sides are traditionally slow starters in the S14, but now that they have a few games under their belts, they are slowly but surely working their way into the season… I fear for the bulls, all this expectation and Meyer building them up for the fall… makes for interesting rugby…
17 Mar 2009, 23:25 pm
#84 St.Petersburgbok: LOST to the french, now I know why you make no sense, lost or unfairly beaten, but how should I expect a blind Saffa to see that, its only when it happens to SA that its a problem huh …
18 Mar 2009, 00:12 am
#84 St.Petersburgbok: Rather feeble attempt to belittle NZ success in 87. Or Aussie success in 91.
0-19.
18 Mar 2009, 15:19 pm
#84 St.Petersburgbok:
And you dont think that the AB not winning any further RWC has got anything to do with the Boks…because most of the time it has not.
The Boks have only beaten the ABs once in a competitive match in the RWC ie going for the title.
18 Mar 2009, 15:20 pm
The ABs not winning another RWC has more to do with Australia than it has to do with the boks.
18 Mar 2009, 23:04 pm
My personal feeling is that the standard of those sides is not what it was in 2007 as a result of the number of really good players who’ve left for Europe.
Hmmmm this sounds like the posts i was hearing on here last year about the ABs before the Tri nations,and we all know what happened there.Personal feeling???Not any more now that he has said this in an interview.
18 Mar 2009, 23:24 pm
#84 St.Petersburgbok:
A RWC win is always memorable and the fact is your country was to blame to missing the first RWC,not NZs,not the travel,not the refs,not the weather, but your own,get over it.
By the way losing to the french is what you guys have done what 4 of the last 6 games against them,is that KAK as well
18 Mar 2009, 23:37 pm
#89 poppa69:
Get rid of your own log dude. You boys are the best at excuses!
19 Mar 2009, 21:58 pm
#95 whatever: really, now whose the idiot ??? how about “the travel” or ” the NZ/Aust reffing Alliance” or 19-0 at home, or 87 years to win in Carisbrook, or the times weve put 50 points past the Bokke ???? yes, even at Loftus, no wonder your quick to jump on us, those with issues and frailties are usually trying to hide something… what happened to the WC champs in the 3Ns ??? you k now, last year was the year you guys were going to clean up, what with such a shite team its no wonder you came last, AGAIN, SA is so good at that… look at the olympics, how many medals did you get there again ?????/ and a little country like NEw Zealand smashes you in both the olyympics and rugby, no wonder you are such a sad case!!!!!!!!!
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All