Ireland crowned in Cardiff

A late Ronan O’Gara drop goal secured a 17-15 victory, the Grand Slam, the Triple Crown and the Six Nations title.

The first half was typically brutal, with both teams relentless in the collision. Unfortunately for the capacity crowd, the skill level never matched the intensity. Ireland dominated territory but it was Wales that went to the break 6-0 up. Ireland had the opportunities, but failed to capitalise.

The crowd was woken from its slumber in the second half, but it was cries of frustration that filled the Millennium Stadium stands. Brian O’Driscoll crossed from close range to snatch the lead, and Tommy Bowe scored the second moments later as Ireland began to dominate.

Stephen Jones kicked his third penalty to narrow the deficit to five points after 50 minutes. Five minutes later, Jones nailed his fourth to take the score to 14-12.

Ireland never pushed home their advantage despite numerous chances. Bumbling in the Welsh 22 was exacerbated by indecision. The Irish should have won this fixture easily, and would have had themselves to blame had they let the game slip.

With time running out, Wales never pushed for the win by 13 points – a feat that would have handed them the title. Gavin Henson shot for goal with 13 minutes remaining, an attempt that fell well short. The British newspapers will hail this as a classic final, but it was as inspiring and exciting as the British seaside. Compared to the southern-hemisphere equivalent, it was desperately wanting.

Wales had a late chance to win the game but Jones’s penalty shot dropped under the crossbar. Ireland deserved to win, and although the hosts will be hurting, they certainly can’t claim the same.

By Jon Cardinelli

300 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

• 251.superBul: Reply to this comment

#236 carol: with your strong pound you must rather join us on Loftus, that is the best place when in blue.

• 252.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#253 superBul: Now you are excluding me…

• 253.grant10: Reply to this comment

#251 superBul: were fat…were round …13rand to the pound!! As sung by the barmy army!!!

• 254.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#246 grant10: Could be fun ;)

#247 superBul: Wat bedoel jy?

• 255.grant10: Reply to this comment

#252 Cuito Carnivale: I am sure the Bulls fans would welcome you with open arms to the Cathedral….on 2 nd thought…LOL

• 256.superBul: Reply to this comment

#252 Cuito Carnivale: No man i have a heart like a Putco bus place for everyone as long as they behave, my rules count though. :lol:

• 257.cane: Reply to this comment

#209 carol:

Send me the US $4000.00 and I’ll be there with bells on.

Nice thought though.

Boks will play Wales in Pool Play in the 2011 WC, here in Wellington, that would save me ooddles of cash.

But I agree carol, we don’t sing like the Taffies. Nobody does.

• 258.superBul: Reply to this comment

#254 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Dink jy 40% verbetering is al wat nodig is? Maar o ja 40 is dalk genoeg as AP ook uit is want hy opsigself is about -15%

• 259.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#257 grant10: I will go in numbers… four or five of us should be ok

• 260.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#258 superBul: **** Bakkies het nou vir hom ‘n skrumpet bestel. Wonder hoekom? hehehe

• 261.grant10: Reply to this comment

#258 superBul: They must give Rose that 10 spot….far better than AP…he could of cost them that game yesterday…not fair on AP either…clearly unfit and so short of sharpness…send him back to the Vodacom Cup for his own good…Super 14 not the place to try and regain fitness.

• 262.grant10: Reply to this comment

#259 Cuito Carnivale: LOL…

• 263.cane: Reply to this comment

#211 Cuito Carnivale:

“Can I come…promise to behave”.

Did you really type that Cuito?

• 264.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#258 superBul: You guys invented aprtheid….rather let me make the rules…we don’t want another fkup now do we ;-)

• 265.grant10: Reply to this comment

#260 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: 6 cards and not 1 for bakkies….can you believe it …LOL

• 266.superBul: Reply to this comment

#260 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Daai ref was op n “roll”

• 267.grant10: Reply to this comment

bakkies and danie rossouw were brilliant friday…in fact they were the difference at the end of the day!

• 268.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#265 grant10: The ref felt sorry for him…..uhm….because of his ears :mrgreen:

• 269.grant10: Reply to this comment

#266 superBul: bloody plonker that oke…disgrace actually..

• 270.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#265 cane: I am trying to catch the dirty inference….No I can’t….lost a bit of my devilishness

• 271.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Earl Rose wil plaay off bench against BLions..

I feaar this stupid selection will happen.

PdV veiwss Rose as a spewcial project much like Chillyboy

• 272.superBul: Reply to this comment

#264 Cuito Carnivale: see were you heading again with my Putco bus, must keep you away from the wheel.

• 273.grant10: Reply to this comment

#268 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: and then he got stomped on and earned a card for the canes as well,,,,good old bakkies….john smit tells the story of facing the haka and feeling a bit intimidated…said he looked to his left and saw Bakkies smiling…he felt safe again…LOL

• 274.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#261 grant10: Rose to play the full 80 minutes. Goodes to make way for Walter Venter. That will give 30% of the 40% improvement needed.

Ap is really struggling.

• 275.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

The numbering has gone plonkers…because they are still moderating two of my posts…I can’t seem to follow the references

• 276.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#273 grant10: Ja good old Bakkies. Real old school lock…

• 277.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#105 Big Hit:
    ?? boo hoo Big Hit

• 278.grant10: Reply to this comment

#274 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Where is doppies le grange?#275 Cuito Carnivale: Yes…need higher grade maths

• 279.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#278 grant10: Been dropped. So it should remain.

• 280.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#276 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Still need to know what Boshoff said to AP ….he seemingly said something to everybody….Come now K9…spill the beans…

• 281.grant10: Reply to this comment

#279 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: i dont know much about walter venter…any good??

• 282.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#280 Cuito Carnivale: He said to him: Andre!!!!! U r worse that Peter Grant!!!!!!

Andre is consulting his lawyer this week.

• 283.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#273 greatest13gerber: Frans Steyn is a special project…so was percy. I see FDP has got his confidence back…broken hand was more of a broken mindset

• 284.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#281 grant10: Yes he is a great talent. Ex Monnas guy. Played for the Lions last year but got injured. Now playing VC.

• 285.grant10: Reply to this comment

#282 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: LOL…Rose a very talented player imo…deserves to get the run on spot!!

• 286.Fern: Reply to this comment

wicket!

• 287.grant10: Reply to this comment

hussey gone….steyn you beauty…146 for 4 …

• 288.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

#284 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: NOw that will make AP kak at rugby and stupid…Lawyers will take on any case especially if the client is stupid and has a deep pocket…I will like to represent the Afriforum someday…

• 289.grant10: Reply to this comment

#284 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: will he play vs canes? If he at 12 and ER at 10…could be another win?? Canes look suspect …not sure if conrad smith will play and nonu looks slow and out of sorts!

• 290.grant10: Reply to this comment

steyns tail up…

• 291.Cuito Carnivale: Reply to this comment

Got to go…need to do some shopping and its mothers day…Still have to make the roast…

• 292.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#289 grant10: Dont know if he will play. Seems Loffie has a problem with him…not sure what. The canes? I have no idea. They can be brilliant and also very poor like they were on Friday.

• 293.grant10: Reply to this comment

#284 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: that erenst joubert is a class loosie…i would play him at 7 with alberts at 8 and baywatch..

• 294.grant10: Reply to this comment

#291 Cuito Carnivale: Cheers CC…have a good day my man!

• 295.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

Also out of here…..quiet hour here at the old age home :lol:

• 296.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#293 grant10: Ernst seems to be coming right again…….pity about the injury he had.

• 297.grant10: Reply to this comment

#295 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: cheers mate…outta here too…

• 298.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

I really enjoyed the game it was how test rugby used to be, bloody hard and exciting.
    I also enjoyed seeing Jacky Kyle one of the 1948 legends in the crowd. He was a surgeon in Chingola, Zambia when I lived there way back in the late seventies, in fact he stitched my younger brother up (what a claim to fame)after the little tyke ran into an open window at the bowls club.

Congrats Ireland.

• 299.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#100 Big Hit: wow BIG HIT … still going on about that spear tackle on BOD huh ????? lmfao get over it mate, build a friggin bridge…. then jump off it you loser…

and finally England have a world class champion team… not since 1966, 2003 have they had any other sproting success…your woman cricketers are a team the whole country can be proud of… least they wear the Red Rose with pride…

shame your woman in the English Union side cant win a thing can they … oh yes, to beat you to the punch, 2ND IS FIRST LOSER — so your much celebrated 2ND in 2007 means abolutely nothing, as does where we finished up… who cares if you didnt win the thing ….

• 300.hawkes: Reply to this comment

Intersting to read Stephen Jones the hater of all things New Zealand has to say about England in the times yesterday. Thi sums up Bighit and the differnece between England and SH rugby fans we want to win all games and every test match is important, hanging on to a second place at a tournamant two years after it happpened and not being able to win an average six nations says it all.

Stephen Jones
    THE verdict? Not proven, not even after two spring revivalist meetings at Twickenham inside six days. The retrial of Martin Johnson and his coaching regime will begin in the autumn when England play a host of Tri-Nations giants. They must beat them (all of them) if we are to validate the late-season surge and the gurgles of delight from the England camp in the past week

Some of the misplaced praise lavished by the England management on the team after what they saw as good defeats seems to suggest that England are a third world rugby nation with no resources. They should be beating teams, regularly. We also hear the “give us time” mantra. Drivel. How long were we supposed to wait? The All Blacks come out and play immediately, new coaches, new team — whatever

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.