Maties make it two in a row

Maties clinched their second Varsity Cup title with a 11-6 win over Pukke in a scrappy final in Stellenbosch.

The defending champions struggled to get going in the first half, but some smart work at the breakdown and solid defence in the second stanza saw Chean Roux’s men hang on to claim their second title in two years.

The game was far from the showpiece the 18 000 strong at the Danie Craven Stadium had hoped for, but in the end the Maties fans were the ones singing after 80 minutes.

In a tight and disjointed first half it was Pukke who got off to a good start and took the lead in only the second minute through a Cecil Dumond penalty. The visitors were playing some good percentage rugby albeit without much penetration.

It was only a matter of time until the hosts found their rhythm and after a good period of sustained pressure, Maties launched an attack from a scrum deep in Pukke’s half. The ball went quickly through the hands before reaching Morné Jooste out on the wing who stumbled before finishing in the corner for the only try of the game.

While Pukke looked good at lineout time, it was at the breakdown where their hard work was undone as the Maties’ forwards dominated the tackle point.

The difference between the two sides was the speed at which Stellenbosch were able to attack, which was down to the efficient work of their loose trio and the crisp distribution of scrumhalf Donald Stevens.

Pukke were still enjoying the bulk of the possession but had little to show for it as Maties’ defence stood strong. With time running out in the half a good kick and chase led to an attacking scrum for Pukke deep in Maties territory.

From the scrum the visitors managed to set up an overlap on the left, but fullback Willem Barnard butchered the chance to give his side the lead and Maties went into the break with a slim advantage.

The game started to open up in the second half, but as the ball was given more air, the error count began to mount on both sides and Pukke finally regained the lead through the boot of Dumond in the 49th minute.

Stellenbosch edged in front again through a cheeky drop goal from flyhalf Johan Sadie. The score seemed to reinvigorate the defending champions and they extended their lead just three minutes later through a Stevens penalty.

Maties’ forwards were beginning to stamp their authority on the game, but in most instances their hard work was undone by some sloppy handling.

With less then 10 minutes left in the game Pukke threw everything they had left at the hosts, but Roux’s men were up to the challenge as they kept the visitors at bay to hold on for the win.

In the curtain-raiser Armentum of Shimlas beat Dromedaris of the University of Johannesburg 30-16 in the Koshuis final.

By Andrew Worling, in Stellenbosch

454 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 251.carol: Reply to this comment

#244 Ed_the_Lion: Thanks Ed, I did not think I had misread GBS, I just think he may have had a $hit day and something sparked him off.
    See you

• 252.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#243 SodaJoe:

I will also register within the next day or so.

Can we also talk music on that site?

• 253.grant10: Reply to this comment

#236 Robzim: always robzim….would nt have it any other way!

• 254.hater: Reply to this comment

#246 spykerbaard: No righteousness here friend. But if one blogger is gonna dish it up, he must be able to take it. It’s called taking it like a man. Pay back is a b1tch.

• 255.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#247 carol: Hey Carol. My friend from Tunbridge Wells is visiting from Thursday on!!!

• 256.grant10: Reply to this comment

#209 SodaJoe: thats rich coming from a nation intent on destabilising the middle east …caused the subprime credit crisis,etc,etc, no soda…the yanks got too much blood on there hands to be sanctimonious…amd my sisters a yank!

• 257.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#247 carol:

That is all I want to know.

Some things just work me up, even approaching old age cannot stop it :)

• 258.hater: Reply to this comment

#244 Ed_the_Lion: And so it begins.

• 259.carol: Reply to this comment

#250 WP Till I Die: Nipple Nose, that is as funny as Robson Greens Extreme Fishing…..
    We really might share the same language but we sure do interpret it differently at times…..
    Sorry WPTID that is hillarious….
    Actually I have been here since May, I have got the hang of it now…. I adore GBS and I like you too…we are all so different.
    You are so well read and always come up with an answer or an apt quote seems strange you are dwelling on this.

• 260.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#255 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Is dit waar dat Willemse volgende week vir die Stormers gaan uitdraf? lol

• 261.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#253 grant10:

That is cool Grant, same on this side.

• 262.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Goodbye, all – possibly forever.

Who knows what the future holds.

• 263.carol: Reply to this comment

#259 carol: No offence Dawn btw!! :-)

• 264.hater: Reply to this comment

#251 carol: Okay. Carol. If I offended you with comments, just know I had a bad day that day.

So now everything is perfect and no -one on keo must ever throw the misquote in my face again.

• 265.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#260 KingPaul: Ja rassie sal enige iemand behalwe ‘n voorry.

• 266.carol: Reply to this comment

#262 WP Till I Die: Don’t be a drama queen…..see you soon!

• 267.grant10: Reply to this comment

#262 WP Till I Die: Hey my man…you a good lad…have a cool evening..

• 268.carol: Reply to this comment

#249 SodaJoe: Soda me old duck don’t leave us will you xx

• 269.Supa Die BlouJan: Reply to this comment

#244 Ed_the_Lion: #245 carol:

Agree with Ed. Some people here are trying to highlight one or two posts of GBS. Let them translate the WHOLE thread and then you’ll understand WHY he reacted that way.

IMO the whole thing was planne by Dawn and WPTID because the moment they came on they started to stir. I just ignored most of it.

Alf,

Daar was klomp godslaterlike dinge gese, moenie dat hulle jou probeer wysmaak dat Pietman oorreageer het nie.

Carol

Ex player will be coming to the UK in June I think. We spoke the other day, maybe you, me, 4man, ex player and Willievz can watch the first British lions test vs the Boks together.

Anyway, just wanted to inform you about everything. Not here to blog.

• 270.carol: Reply to this comment

#255 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Is this “Disgusted of Tunbridge Wells” actually an English joke you may not get?
    Male or female visitor?

• 271.grant10: Reply to this comment

#264 hater: no one has …and i always felt you were bloody brave when you were hunted by a pack …respect you in many ways…i know we havent met or chatted…you direct and intimidate me a bit to be honest…but hi !!

• 272.Roy: Reply to this comment

I am shocked at how some of the muppets behave when given freedom on a public blog.
    So we are back to banning people now – GBS, Dawn, Sheriff and Pietman. Any other names for the list? We will reinstate the report comment button. This is a ‘speak your mind about rugby’ blog…. if the topic moves to politics or attacking other bloggers we will close the thread and clean up.

• 273.grant10: Reply to this comment

#269 Supa Die BlouJan: hi supa…bulls will be stronger this week…habana,matfield,jp nel and werner kruger must start

• 274.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#270 carol: Hehe…didnt get that one. No its a “he”. Him and his wife.

• 275.carol: Reply to this comment

#257 Robzim: :-) p.s you are not old..
    p.p.s. Grant and I have decided not to take the mountain biking option with you!! :-) After your last “incident”!!

• 276.carol: Reply to this comment

#269 Supa Die BlouJan: Thanks supa, but besides you guys I have no other translators.
    I just have to go with my instincts…

• 277.grant10: Reply to this comment

#272 Roy: not me please…i will be lost without the night owls…my girlfriend busy with the elections…ban me at your leisure post 22 april…

• 278.Supa Die BlouJan: Reply to this comment

#272 Roy:

Roy, i think it is fair to ban ppl being wrong, but how can you ban Sherrif and not chch for his comments about religion? Or WPTID? Read the whole thread properly, WPTID are just as quilty.

Please bring the report button back. I wanted to report half the comments there, especially chch’s comments.

• 279.carol: Reply to this comment

#264 hater: You obviously have lots of bad days!!
    My thoughts are with you :-)

• 280.hater: Reply to this comment

God I love Keo. G’night all. Oh and Hi back at ya Grant10.

• 281.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#272 Roy: Yes please. Bring back the button.

• 282.grant10: Reply to this comment

#280 hater: LOL…hi and bye…

• 283.Supa Die BlouJan: Reply to this comment

#273 grant10:

Howzit Grant, hope you are well. Didnt really come to blog, just felt that some ppl were balming everything on GBS when they are just as quilty.

I quess I’ll blog till the next fight start, as I am sick and tired of politics and religion posts and I tend to get dragged into it when I should just log off.

But rugby is fine,
    The Bulls, I dont know mate, they dissapointed me, cant see us winning without a decent fetcher. We miss Stegmann. We got killed at the breakdown.

• 284.grant10: Reply to this comment

#281 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: damn…more technology to understand again…what is the button??

• 285.Roy: Reply to this comment

#278 Supa Die BlouJan: what name is chch commenting under now?

• 286.carol: Reply to this comment

#272 Roy: Hi Roy, how are the preparations for the “S.A Rugby Magazines” Lions Tour cocktail party coming along?
    I am expecting an invite? :-)
    Where are you holding it?
    Can I bring my favourite bloggers too??

• 287.Supa Die BlouJan: Reply to this comment

#276 carol:

Yes, go with that. GBS is a really good oke and I am sure you know that.

So are you here in the UK when the lions tour SA?

• 288.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#284 grant10: hehehe…the report button.

• 289.grant10: Reply to this comment

#283 Supa Die BlouJan: yes…been a crazy kinda day…my view is clear so will leave it at that…i would play spies 8…d rossouw 7 and dewald potgieter at 6…keep it tight …make the 1 st time tackles and go in with the right attitude…sadly lacked the will to fight sat…will be better this week …

• 290.carol: Reply to this comment

#277 grant10: So do you skype?

• 291.K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Reply to this comment

#283 Supa Die BlouJan: Supa, u should be more worried about ur frontrow who got detroyed by a 20 year old hehehe

• 292.Supa Die BlouJan: Reply to this comment

#285 Roy:

Think it was either under CHCH or Christchurch. Check the thread again, it was in the beginnig. He made lots of sarcastic comments about the players praising God after the game like Kockett, Bakkies etc. He then made a comment by God being pissed at them etc.
    Thanks

• 293.hater: Reply to this comment

#279 carol: You too. Fair enough. And thank you, you just made my point. There is no forgiveness on Keo, so stop telling WPTID nonsense.

#278 Supa Die BlouJan: Is this you filing papers for leave to Appeal?

#272 Roy: Thanks Roy. Clearly there is need for moderation. Please advise what the exact Rules are. Red cards, yellow cards etc.

• 294.Roy: Reply to this comment

I want to bring on two new moderators from the blog – any ideas on who could be good candidates?

• 295.grant10: Reply to this comment

#290 carol: havent got a clue…the blonde does to turkey, eng , sweden…i am so technically challenged//e mail and keo about my limit!LOL

• 296.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#283 Supa Die BlouJan:

All you must ask yourself is whether you agree with the threats that GBS made in his posts 104 and whether you think that is the type of thing that should be tolerated anywhere in the world today?

It is only yes or no? Can you answer it?

• 297.Supa Die BlouJan: Reply to this comment

#289 grant10:

Dont agree Grant, those might be the best available players, but we need a fetcher. Potgieter is and excellent player and he will be a Bok one day I hope, but I see him as an 8 or a 7. Also, I feel it is unfair that he must for fill that role now as he hasnt played there since st 8 I think.
    Jacques Burger must start as he is a fetcher and next in line, but there is a big gap between Stegmann and Burger.

• 298.carol: Reply to this comment

#287 Supa Die BlouJan: Thank you, I know he is a good bloke that is why I had to fight his corner when he was not here.

The really good news is I will be in SA with the Lions, and will be meeting up with lots my lovely Keo friends.

• 299.grant10: Reply to this comment

#294 Roy: not me…got a credit crunch to overcome and need to improve my *** life…

• 300.Supa Die BlouJan: Reply to this comment

#294 Roy:

PissAnt?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.