Bishops end Gimmie’s hot streak

Paarl Gym’s 41-match winning streak came to an abrupt halt when they lost 5-0 to Bishops at the WP Schools Day at Newlands on Tuesday. Paarl Boys’, Paul Roos and Wynberg Boys’ also won their matches.

Bishops were more physical than their counterparts and dominated the collisions. Their No 8, Nazaam Carr, was the destroyer-in-chief, disrupting ‘Gimmies’ at the breakdown and winning several turnovers for his side.

Meanwhile, Paarl Gym were woeful and lacked composure at crucial stages. They also failed to look after possession which cost them in the end.

A heavy Gym pack was shifted from one side of Newlands to the other by an intelligent Bishops backline. Flyhalf Sam Lane controlled the pace of the game and the Bishops’ backs broke through the Gym defence on numerous occasions.

Bishops looked sharp and moved the ball well into space, while Paarl Gym were uncharacteristically beaten up front and seemed shellshocked when confronted by such physical opponents.

Coaches Nico Momsen and Philip Taylor have a lot of hard work ahead if they are to get Paarl Gym back to their winning ways, but yesterday’s win will have given Bishops plenty of confidence ahead of their match against St Andrew’s College.

In other games on Tuesday, Wynberg outmuscled a determined Bellville High 20-5. A scrappy first half was followed by a more refined performance by Wynberg. ‘It wasn’t a bad effort and we took a lot of positives out of this game,’ Wynberg coach Gus Leslie told keo.co.za.

Paarl Boys then beat a dogged SACS outfit 15-5 after the teams went into the break at 5-5. Paarl pivot Gavin Haupfleich impressed with his silky skills and kept the ‘Boishaai’ pack on the front foot.

In the main curtain-raiser, Paul Roos beat Rondebosch 10-0. They dominated the set phases and the contact areas, allowing their big pack to get over the gain line. The match was dominated by the referee, who never allowed things to flow.

Results
Wynberg Boys’ 20 Belville High 5
Paul Roos 10 Rondebosch Boys’ 0
Paarl Boys’ 15 SACS 5
Bishops 5 Paarl Gym 0
• No conversions or penalties were allowed to be taken

31 Comments

• 1.benigma: Reply to this comment

Bishops are kings! Paarl Gym’s two year unbeaten run is over!

• 2.Gambit25: Reply to this comment

Wow.. Big surprise. I like that Nazeem Carr. Saw him play last year, think he made Craven Week.

Seems WP has 2 promising flyhalves for Craven Week this year…
    Lane and Haupfleich. I’ll be keeping an eye on them..

• 3.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

My, my, my – cannot believe this. Paarl Gym still a top quality side, but cannot believe they lost to Bishops.

Now can Rugby 365 please officially announce what we all already know which is that Grey Bloem is the no 1 schools side in SA.

• 4.Balikibaba: Reply to this comment

3. Wezwp :
    January 25th, 2009 at 9:39 am
    Where’s rondebosch, bishops , sacs, wynberg?

4. kaballas :
    February 10th, 2009 at 5:10 pm
    wrong site wezwp…this is only for rugby schools.

Hehehehehe……Kaballas, amazing how words said in the past can come back and bite you! If Bishops aren’t a rugby school, and they’ve just beaten Gim……..what does that make Gim?

Cheetha Champs, no doubt Grey Bloem are the best rugb school in SA, but you should also not be surprised that Bishops beat Gim. Last year they beat Boland 85 – 0 and they more often than not beat Paarl Boys and Paul Roos. Gim has been their bogey side the last few years, but when I was at Bishops, we only lost to Gymonce in the 5 years that I was there when we had a fairly weak 1st XV (in fact, we also lost to Grey Bloem that year)

Also, remember, that Bishops is a school that has produced the most rugby internationals in South Africa (I include players who have represented countries other than SA) and have produced the 2nd most Springboks after Paul Roos. So, you shouldn’t be too surprised by that result. Bishops can beat anyone on their day….and I include Grey Bloem. 3 yars ago they only just lost to Bloem at the Grey PE festival after having a try disallowed. You remember? Fact is, Bishops are and always will be a force in SA schoolboy rugby even though they may have one or 2 weak years, but this is because they are not a government school that can go to Junior Craven week and recruit a hole team from there on bursaries. Only government schools can afford to do that. Just ask Gym where they get all their players from. :)

• 5.Gambit25: Reply to this comment

I agree, Bishops can beat any team on their day…

But Grey College is consistantly the best school in the country.

How often does Bishops play against Grey College?

• 6.benigma: Reply to this comment

Unfortunately in Bishops’ 149 years of playing Rugby in SA, we’ve only played Grey Bloem three times. Which is odd – since Grey Bloem and Bishops both play arguably the best running rugby in SA.

Tally is 2 – 1 to Grey Bloem.

Last time we played Grey Bloem was with Bishops’ great 2006 side which had Koster, Turner (England Sevens) and Muller (Sa u19). Grey had also a powerful side that year. It was an away, played at Grey High in PE. Bishops was disallowed a try controversially in the final ten minutes. Video footage showing it being a try, but hey that happens. Grey Bloem won 24 – 17 I think. Both teams scored two tries. Very even teams!

Cheetah Champ, don’t for one second think Bishops is an average rugby side! You are correct, Grey are a fantastic rugby and have been very consistent over the past couple of years. Its a pity they don’t play in the WP league which traditionally has 5/6 teams finishing in the Top 10 in the country.

• 7.Balikibaba: Reply to this comment

Hi Gambit and Benigma

Benigma, unfortunately I must tell you that we (Bishops) have played Bloem 3 times and lost all 3. :(

However, in 1989, Bishops had an unbeaten 1st XV and were due to play Bloem. Bloem had played Gym and drawn and then Bishops went on to give Gym a smack. That week Bloem called Bishops and told them they were hapy to play but Bishops were to pay their air fares. Bishops obviously cancelled.

The next year, 1990, Bishops had a fairly weak 1st Xv (this after having been unbeaten 1986, 87,88 and 89)and they were asked to play Bloem at the Boy Louw stadium in Paarl. Well, it wasn’t pretty and I think the score was 22 – 3 or something. But that Bishops side went on to loose 5 or 6 more games, so it really wasn’t a feather in the cap for a very powerful Bloem side that they beat them that year. That was the first game between the 2 schools. Since then they have played twice more and Bloem have won both games although the last game was fairly controversial by all accounts.

I dont think you will find too many who would argue that Bloem are consistantly the best rugby school in SA, but I do agree that I think they would have lost many more games had they played in the tough WP league instead of picking and choosing their opponents each year.

• 8.PlayOn: Reply to this comment

Tough WP league?Please!Only Bishops,Paarl (Boys and Gym) and Paul Roos contend anything.Those are the top 10 trump cards of the Cape.The rest are ‘have beens’ or ‘never were’.

• 9.Balikibaba: Reply to this comment

Playon

Good point…..but show me another league that has that many good teams. And you can probably add Boland landbou on too.

Gauteng: Monument, Kempies. Marais Viljoen maybe?
    Bulls: Affies, Waterkloof, Pretoria Boys
    Freestate:Grey Bloem
    Border: Maybe Selborne very now and again? Dale and Queens are not what they used to be.
    EP: Grey PE, Framesby maybe (but they would get clobbered in the WP league)
    SWD: Outeniqua
    Natal: Glenwood, Michaelhouse every now and again. Sadly Maritzburg College are not even on the horizon anymore but lets hope that change as they are a proud great rugby school.

So, which is a tougher league than WP?

• 10.benigma: Reply to this comment

Completely agree. Why do you think Grey PE and Grey Bloem have half their fixtures outside their province!

• 11.MaroonManiac: Reply to this comment

ya playon please inform me of any league tougher than the WP one??those 5 schools are frequently in the top 10, fighting for the top 5 spots in SA.

• 12.Highlander: Reply to this comment

You blokes have your head up your arse,Wynberg beat Bishops last year. The girls last beat Paarl Gym in 2003.You okes have your head up your arse!

Bishops just buy post matrics that how they compete-nothing else. They cant win with normal players hence the guys are 19 playing school rugga. Frans Steyn was playing for the Boks at 19. Well done Bishops, good win but lose the arrogance.

• 13.charo: Reply to this comment

what’s everone getting excited about.
    schoolboy rugby in wcape is 2nd div material – we all know that

• 14.charo: Reply to this comment

everyone

• 15.Balikibaba: Reply to this comment

Highlander

Spoken like a true plonker. I shouldn’t be respondig to your drivel, but I will.

1. Before accusing Bishops of having a team full of post matrics, maybe you should do your homework first and just see how many there have been in the last 5 years. I would imagine in those 5 years you would be able to count between 5 to 10. Lets assume there were as much as 10 (which I highly doubt.) That would make it 80 odd players which is hardly that many. Many of these boys are actually young for their standard so are actually the same age as your Wynberg boys.
    2. Just where do they “buy” their post matrics from? I may be be wrong, but I think Chetty is pobably the only post matric that came to Bishops from outside. That was 2 or 3 years ago. And I cetainly know Bishops never gave him a bursary or bought him as you put it. Most of the guys were at Bishops fro Std 6. The problem with people of your ilk is that they make unsubstantiated emotional claims with ABSOLUTELY NO back up or NO proof. But you run around shouting your mouth off because you have the preverbial Wynberg chip ob both shoulders, never mind the one.
    3. Even though you are wrong about the post matric age thing, even if it were true, what would be the difference between that and Paarl Gim, Boys High, Paul Roos etc, keeping their boys back a year in Grade 10 for eg? Same thing. Point is the league is UNDER 19 and NOT under 18!

Many years ago the Paarl schools objected to the Bishops Post Matrics. Basil Bey, the then coach said he had no problem not playing his postmatrics, but then he would want the league to be under 18. The Paarl schools refused.Round about that time, the Bishops u16a coach was watching his team play Paarl Boys. He was standing next to the PBH coach and commented how good they looked. The Paarl coach turned to him and said that they were also very lucky because the team was so young. The Bishops coach then asked him what he meant as they were either u16 or they weren’t. The Paarl coach then responded by saying what he meant was that most of the boys were still in Std 7 (Grade 9). Makes one think, doesn’t it?

So,mate, here’s a nice challenge for you seeing as though you are such an authority on the way Bishops BUY their post matrics etc. How about doing some research and once you have done it post on his site the following:

1. In the last 10 years, how many post matrics have Bishops had per team.
    2. How many of these boys only came to Bishops in post matric from other schools.
    3. How many of these guys did Bishops buy or offer scholarships to.

Once you can PROVE the above, then by all means run around and shout that mouth of your’s off, but until then, rather shut up as there is nothing worse than an idiot runing around making usubstantiated claims. Just ask our ex minister of Health.

• 16.Highlander: Reply to this comment

Balikibaba- just like the 2nd part of your name sounds a ‘Baba”. geez boet, just because your a spoilt rich kid doesnt mean you should act like one. Bishops have been playing post matrics minimun 3-5 per year. Secondly,how do you know if a kid is on a scholarship or not. Let me tell you that any norwmal govt. school kids parents cant afford R100 000 a year so how does that kid go to a private school, someone has to pay? As for you little rant about the Paarl Schools, i agree with you 100%. They manipulate the rules to suit themselves, we are talking Souff of the border here.Get off your perch acknowledge taht Bishops have post matrics and thats that. You had a flanker who played last year who was 19, so your theory of an u/18 league is futile.Just remember that boys grow massively between the ages of 17 and 19. Johnny Wilkinson played for England aged 18-makes you think?

Now stop writing and behaving like a schoolboy and do the following:
    1) Grow up
    2) DONT BE SO SENSITIVE
    3) Acknowledge that your old alma mater need 19 year olds to beat other schoolboy sides when those kids should be playing Club rugby

• 17.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

#4 Balikibaba: Interesting points you make. Must admit, my knowledge of Bishops stretches to their big annual derby with Rondebosch.

As a proper Grey supporter i have to point out that the only reason Bishops have more Boks is cause most of them are PRE WW1. Grey has produced more Boks than any other school post WW1, post WW2, and post isolation.

Granted Grey dont have tough local competitiion, but think about it this way – they play massive fixtures all year round. They play Glenwood, Grey PE, Paarl Boys, Paul Roos, Affies, Pretoria Boys, DHS, etc EVERY year, not to mention Sentraal and JF (two pretty strong Bloem schools). They play these games in front of 15,000 people, and every single team aim to topple them. Yet they keep winning (unbeaten since August 2006).

Over and above that they play Schools weeks – where they play teams like Monument, Oakdale and Boland Landbou on occassions.

• 18.charo: Reply to this comment

#17 Cheetha Champs:

mate, you forgot the big one.

MARITZBURG COLLEGE

• 19.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

#18 charo: Grey and Maritzburg have parted ways. They are not playing each other any more, as Grey keep thumping them. Think they put 80 past them for 2 games in a row.

A bit sad for MC

• 20.benigma: Reply to this comment

Hi Baliki, please ignore Highlander. Clearly a moron. Bishops never has had more than
    2 post matrics playing for their team ever! Post matrics are usually Bishops boys playing from std 6 and normally finish school a year young – 17 years.

They only have West Macintosh in the side this year at he’s a year young! Matriculated at Bishops at 17. Thats it. No over 18′s! So you are smoking drugs. It sounds like your just bitter than in the past 20 years, Wynberg has only beaten Bishops twice! Out of 40 attempts! Shame…

• 21.keo: Reply to this comment

Sam Lane is the son of former Wallabies and Springbok backs coach Tim Lane, who now coaches Georgia.

• 22.SodaJoe AKA Quinn The Eskimo: Reply to this comment

#21 keo: Boet this place always needed psychologists.

But the psychopaths were running the institution.

Seems back to “noramality”. Hopefully not normal, but at least civil.

Tim Lane needs to export a few Georgia props to Aus by the way.

And I think that your gippoguts will get worse if you go to Durban again. Suzie Patel will get you.

• 23.Balikibaba: Reply to this comment

Hush, Highlander….you are speaking drivel once again.

I asked you to bring me PROOF and all you brought me again was conspiracy theories. So, I ask you again (seeing as you are so passionate about bashing Bishops)to do he following in der for me to eat my humble pie. This time I will b more specific so that you understand EXACTLY what I require.

1. Please LIST the names of ALL post matrics in the Bishops 1st XV by year every year since 2000. If you cant list me 27 (the minimum of 3 per year according to you) then don’t bother with the next few requests as already you will have proved how much shite you speak. But if you CAN list 27 at least then I would like the following.
    2. How many of these came from other schools in Post Matric.
    3. How many (and I want proof)were bought as you put it.
    4. How many of these turned 19 in their Post matric year and how many acually only turned 18 and were in fact a year young for their standard – thereby maing them the same age as your very average Wynberg sides.

I happen to know that the last boy on a sports bursary at Bishops was Herschel Gibbs way back in 87 to 92, so where all these other guys on bursary are and who they are, only you know. In the last 2 or so years I do know that Bshops to have a rugby fund for talented boysbut those boys are ven bursaries in Std 6 (grade 8). This is NO different from ANY other private school.

So, with tears in my eyes, I plead with you to bring me this proof so I can be made to eat my words.Come on, it cant be difficult to do this. Just imagine how awesome it will when you are at a braai and conversation turns to Bishops and post matrics, that you can actually SHOW people how true everything you are telling them is. Critics, after all, are just that more effective when backing up statements with HARD SOLID facts.

Lastly, as food for thought, can you please tell me how many Post matrics are in the Bishops u14a, u15a,and u16a sides (that regularly and almost always beat your pathetic age group sides) as according to you, Bishops NEED post matrics to beat sides.

• 24.Balikibaba: Reply to this comment

Hi Cheetah Champs

I think we are on the same page here. Grey have produced the most Boks post WW1 and isolation. However to ignore the facts that the Boks existed pre WW1 would not be fair to the men who wore that jersey with the same pride and passion pre WW1. Bisops have produced MANY Boks and other country internationals post WW2 as well.

Having said that, I do acknowledge that Grey are the big powerhouse in SA schoolboy rugby.Please do not take this the wrong way, butit is much easier to produce results when you send souts to junior Craven week and basically buy a whole under 14a side. Bishops don’t have this luxury as it is a private school and providing bursaries to 20 boys would simply never be feasable. So, the fact that Bishops are able to beat the top schools and compete with them is even more impressive as they maybe only have 1 or 2 guys in the u14a side who did play Craven Week. There is a massive coaching philosphy which makes these teams very cometitive by under 16 and winning by the time they are 1st team. I remember loosing 38 – 0 to Paarl boys in u14a, loosing 22 -21 in u15a, and then going on to beat them in u16a and 1st team.

Anyhow, just some more info for yon Bishops rugby that make s Old Boys proud.

1. Bishops brought ruby to South Africa nder head master, Cannon Ogilvie.
    2. The Springbok jersey isis actually the Bishops Od Boys jersey. Way back in the days, theBoks played in the club jersey of hoever their captains club was. One partiular year, the captain as a Bishops Old boy called Barry Heatlie. They played in the Bishops Old Boys jersey against the British Isles (I think) and beat them for the first time. Thereafter, it was decided to keep the bishops jersey for the SA side. The gold collars came laterand the emblem, as we all know, came even after that.

• 25.Highlander: Reply to this comment

1)Did Bishops 1st xv play with post matrics in 2008? Yes, coaches son, the 7 flank and number 9
    2)Did Bishops offer boys scholarships/Bursaries/School fees call it what you like? Yes, they have just aquired a prop from Paarl Boys-he is now at Bishops
    3)Did i go to Wynberg? No, i was just stating that Wynberg beat your school.
    4)Do i think that you are blinded by Bishops? yes
    5) Can you see these HARD FACTS? hopefully
    6)Will Bishops still go and buy post matrics? YES
    7) Will you ever get your head and silver spoon out your backside? NO

Hush hush there Baba-Grey College will always have the better of you.

• 26.Balikibaba: Reply to this comment

Highlander

In answer:

1. That makes it 2 post matrics not 3 as you said earlier. Scrum half turned 19 in December.
    2.Yes, Bishops(as I stated in an earlier post) now DO offer ONE bursary a year to a talented rugby player through their sponsor, Vital. That is hardly enough to make a HUGE difference to a team. The player you mention from Paarlboys is a young black guy called Mothale in the under16 team. That is ONE player! Now lets have a look at teams like Gym, Grey Bloem, Affies, Glenwood, Monument etc who basically offer rugby scholarships to all 15 players so tha they can form stron under 14 sides. They are able to do this because government schoolfees are so low. So, what exacty is your point? Its like the pot calling the kettle black, except the pot is WAYYYYYYYY blacker.
    3. What school DID you go to then that makes you such an authority on Bishops rugby?
    4. Yes, I am a loyal and passionate Bishops Old Boy. Blinded? No. Happy to back up my statents with facts? Yes.n (unlike you)
    5. Hard facts? You have shown me zero. I am happy to admit Bishops had 2 pm’s in last years team but you said there were at least 3 to 5 each year. I was disputng that, and you just proved me right. This year there is one, Wes McCintosh and he is still 17.In fact most of the pack were under 16 last year.
    6. Mate, again I plead with you to PLEASE name these post matric players who Bishops are allegedely buying????? You seem to be so sure, so SURELY you can name them? I cerainly dont know of any, so please enlighten me.
    7. Spoken like a true panel beater, mate!! Silver spoon? Thats rather a big generalisation don’t you think? Maybe I should use my silver spoon to eat my humble pie from the chip on your shoulder?

• 27.dirt-tracker: Reply to this comment

Who cares about post matrics and scholarships.
    Even the public schools don’t offer many scholarships. So a School like Affies, or Grey College maybe get 4 or 5 pupils (they can be rugby players, hockey players, simmers, whatever) on scholarships. But generally, talented youngsters GO there, since they want to play for the best – AND – its affordable to their folks. On the flip side – Bishops, or Michaelhouse etc. will have a few post-matrics.
    Its much of a muchness.
    As a massive Grey College supporter am very proud of the GCB record. With something like a 93% strike rate since 1966 and something like 19 unbeaten seasons, and one spell of 80 games unbeaten through the 80s and 1 loss out of 110 games through the early 2000s.
    BUT – - am SO happy Bishops beat Paarl Gim. They were very loud about being the best – and claim Grey College won’t play them. Thruth is, GCB approached them numerous times, but they somehow cant seem to fit it in theri schedule, and don’t want to alternate home and away. So the last time they played in 05, a poor Grey team whipped their asses 36 – 3.

Go Bishops – according to the reports, the score flatters Gim

Toughest game of the season for Grey will be in august, on probably wet field against PRG in Stellenbosh. Always VERY tight one up there

• 28.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

#27 dirt-tracker: Always VERY tight one up there – thats what she said :lol:

• 29.dirt-tracker: Reply to this comment

Cheetha Champs – - hahahahahahahahahahaahahaha. Classic!!!! Thats what she said. Great Scott:-)

• 30.Balikibaba: Reply to this comment

Dirt Traker and Cheetah Champs.

FYI

Bishops vs Paul Roos the last 3 years.

2006. Bishops win
    2007. Bishops win
    2008. Paul Roos win

Which takes me back to what I said much earlier to you, Cheetah Champs, dontbe THAT surprised hat Bishops beat Gym.

• 31.benigma: Reply to this comment

Actually Baliki, even better:

2005 – Bishops win (AT PR)
    2006 – Bishops win (AT Bishops)
    2007 – Bishops win (AT PR)
    2008 – Paul Roos win (AT Bishops)

So yes, dont be suprised…we beat them three years in a row, twice in a row on their field.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.