Rassie ‘rests’ Ricky
15 Apr 2009
Dewaldt Duvenhage has replaced Ricky Januarie in the Stormers’ starting line-up named to face the Hurricanes.
A series of sub-standard performances has seen the axe fall on the Springbok scrumhalf. To date, Duvenhage has brought more to the Stormers from an attacking perspective and this may be why Rassie Erasmus has given the youngster an extended opportunity.
But when speaking to keo.co.za, Erasmus said a number of this weekend’s selections are down to player rotation.
‘We’ve been wanting to make a few changes since round three or four but because of a few results and the bye that hasn’t been possible. We beat the Lions but then we had a break, so we didn’t want to change much and risk losing momentum.
‘We then played and lost three close games so were reluctant to make changes again. But at this point, we thought it necessary to give a few of the other guys a chance.’
Erasmus said Januarie is a valuable member of the squad but Duvenhage’s strengths will be suited to this particular clash.
‘He’s particularly good with clearing the ball from the ruck and has a good kicking game. He’s played well off the bench and deserves this opportunity.’
Erasmus has made a few changes to the pack with Hilton Lobberts coming into the second row. Tiaan Liebenberg replaces Schalk Brits at hooker while Brian Mujati has been bracketed with Wicus Blaauw at tighthead due to a head injury. If Mujati is cleared of concussion on Friday, he will start.
Brok Harris, who returns from a pre-season leg injury, is named on the bench but will only feature if he passes a late fitness test. Bok lock Andries Bekker joined the squad on Sunday but has not cracked the match 22.
‘Brok’s arriving soon and will hopefully train with us on Thursday. We want to see how he will slot in at the scrums and at the lineout before making any final calls. Brian’s availability will also impact on our use of Brok at the weekend.
‘Having a guy like Tiaan in the mix will help, as scrumming is one of his strengths. With all the injuries we need a player like Tiaan to aid the tighthead,’ said Erasmus.
Stormers – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Wylie Human, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean De Villiers (c), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenhage, 8 Luke Watson, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Adriaan Fondse, 4 Hilton Lobberts, 3 Brian Mujati/ Wicus Blaauw, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 JD Moller.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Brok Harris, 18 AJ Venter, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Willem De Waal, 22 Dylan Des Fountain.
By Jon Cardinelli

625 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
15 Apr 2009, 10:03 am
jelly-baby dragon
15 Apr 2009, 10:06 am
Right he will power up the tight five, Canes must be shitting themselves!
15 Apr 2009, 10:07 am
Spur people: people with a ________ for ______
15 Apr 2009, 10:11 am
#3 Sheriff: taste for **** food (except the burgers)
15 Apr 2009, 10:17 am
See there is nothing wrong with being a background vocalist.
Luther Vandross I think, if memory serves me well, was BV for people like Roberta Flack.
But it cannot and should not stay there. One has to spread your wings.
Luther did it? Can this blogger do it?
[Time will tell]
15 Apr 2009, 10:36 am
Much better Rassie – except for harris. Too late though…
15 Apr 2009, 10:37 am
This will be my first game at Westpac. I get to see Brok ‘that fatf..k plumber’ Harris live! I hope there are no Japanese trawlers in the habour this weekend.
15 Apr 2009, 10:37 am
why stop with ricky & brits rassie? Schalk & Naqelevuki have also been pitiful this season, drop the axe in a fair way…
15 Apr 2009, 10:41 am
Garth – do the **** pay well for your services?
15 Apr 2009, 10:45 am
#9 Slappes: More than the 5-bop you get.
15 Apr 2009, 10:54 am
#8 Transformation: It’s a start at least. We’re not too blessed with loosie cover on tour are we? Who’d come in for Schalk? Not Lobberts surely!? Agree that Sireli should be given the boot. Hell I’d be more effective on the wing than he’s been
15 Apr 2009, 10:56 am
Bestseller on kalahari dot net: Breaking dawn
15 Apr 2009, 10:57 am
Garth – are you an expat?
15 Apr 2009, 10:59 am
Sherrif – you and Dawn at it again?
15 Apr 2009, 11:03 am
#11 jonnymain: Cant see how Schalk, can be picket ahead of Luke and Duane for the Bok side?
15 Apr 2009, 11:07 am
#13 Slappes: Newly so.
15 Apr 2009, 11:08 am
#15 BESTER: or brussow for that matter…
#15 BESTER:
I agree, but then at the same time I was discussing this same issue with friends and we concluded that it would take massive cojones not to pick Schalk Burger for the Bok team. Seriously, put yourself in PDV’s shoes and tell me how easily you would drop Schalk for either Luke or Brussouw at 6. It will take a really sub-par performance from him for the Boks to get the drop. If I was Bok coach I’d still pick him, and I really think he has played like sh*t this season.
That aside, well done Rassie! I’ve been waiting to see “The Timebomb” Hilton Lobberts in action for ages. I am a big fan of this guy’s aggresive and physical approach and he will add some much needed grunt to the tight-five. As for Ricky being dropped I can only say, “Its about damn time!!”
Ricky will always be our hero of the house of pain but he really is not playing well at all this year. So its about time someone else got a chance. Burger not playing well either.
Think its a bit late for Stormers though.
15 Apr 2009, 11:10 am
Drop the whole team…
15 Apr 2009, 11:12 am
Why havent I recieved an email regarding me being the weekly winner on the predictions game??? Keo? Anyone? It was 2 weeks ago????
15 Apr 2009, 11:13 am
Now just restore the ‘correct’ loose-forward trio… the only one that has one a game this season…
Burger, Louw, Vermeulen with Watson off the bench… balanced and devastating…
Pity Monty is injured too… Goose-step needs a big ‘wake-up’ call too… albeit it won’t help…
15 Apr 2009, 11:16 am
#4 the peanut gallery:
Try the Enchiladas…. But with chips and Onion Rings
15 Apr 2009, 11:17 am
Ricki Januarie is the Michelin Man
15 Apr 2009, 11:19 am
Now Lobberts wiil be in the team forever. He just needed this chance
15 Apr 2009, 11:20 am
#23 Kietzphat:
I go for the Spicy Buffalo wings… thats all…
15 Apr 2009, 11:35 am
#17 Transformation: I’d still pick Schalk for the Boks. You’d be crazy to drop someone of his class. So he’s had a poor season for the Stormers, same as every season! Put a green shirt on him and he’s a different player. Perhaps it’s the team mentality, perhaps it’s just him being more motivated to play at test level only Schalk knows.
15 Apr 2009, 12:00 pm
#21 THE MAULER:
You will wait at least 3 Months.
I know, and now that iv’e won again it’s going to be the same old wait all over again.
15 Apr 2009, 12:05 pm
1. Guthro 2. Bismarck 3. CJ
4. Bakkies 5. Rossouw
6. Brussouw 7. Juan 8. Burger
Beast, Smit, Matfield, Spies
15 Apr 2009, 12:06 pm
#27 jonnymain: i guess it is this kind of adulation that has him ”choosing” when to perform, can we say the same of other players of similar class ”don’t worry about your form throughout the year we know you’re a titan & pdv will be crazy to drop you, just faff around for the s14 it’s no big deal”…all players are equal but some are more equal than others…
15 Apr 2009, 12:06 pm
#28 Snoek:
I saw you won last weeks… I came second a few weeks ago and got my prize a week later…. Now its been 2 or 3 weeks after coming first…
Last year I won a bottle of famous grouse whiskey for fathers day and Im still waiting for that…
15 Apr 2009, 12:10 pm
There is no reason why PdV should choose Ricky for the upcoming Lions. I say get Rory a Bok jersey and kicking tee.
15 Apr 2009, 12:15 pm
#31 THE MAULER:
Won a prize last year November, only received it end march.
Nice CAT watch though.
If i win the CAT again my son will be smilling big time.
15 Apr 2009, 12:15 pm
#31 THE MAULER:
You still haven’t got the Grouse!!!
#29 cab:
Dunno why Rassie persists with his best fetcher at #8.
(He said on Supersport once that he thought # 8 was the best position for a fetcher in the modern game).
Surely he must have Schalla at #7, Luke at #6 and Vermeulen at #8?
But maybe Schalla doesn’t want to give his position up to Luke for other reasons (I suspect).
15 Apr 2009, 12:18 pm
#34 Pietman:
More Pietman
Julle het gister ‘n interesante gesprek gehad oor die taai manne wat in die verlede gespeel het.
Dit was nou ‘n interesante thread daai. Dit is lekker as die manne rugby praat.
15 Apr 2009, 12:19 pm
#32 Ezee-23:
Interesting analysis by Tank Lanning on 24sport today.
He said put Ricky and the Fijian shirtless next to Rory Kockett and Joe Rocococo bare chested, as an example, and you will see why the Stormers play like they do!
Those two boys are just to fat and slow…
15 Apr 2009, 12:20 pm
#34 Pietman:
Nope…. unfortunately…..
15 Apr 2009, 12:21 pm
#35 Snoek:
Ja, OuBallie ken sy storie, hy onthou baie goete wat ek al vergeet het.
Dit was lekker om n slag net rugby te gesels sonder die torre, soos daai Langkop met die baie nicks….
15 Apr 2009, 12:22 pm
#33 Snoek:
Well Im hoping that the prize I win is a CAT watch.. hehe… Looks nice…
#37 THE MAULER:
Nou maar bel die mense en se hulle moet jou goed stuur…hoe werk dit dan?
Januarie’s springbok days are over… time for Kockett to come in under Fourie du Preez. Conrad Jantjies is also not the best fullback in SA. Terblanche should play against the B.Lions, and then after we should put Francois Steyn at fullback till the world cup..
15 Apr 2009, 12:25 pm
#40 Pietman:
Ag.. I have forgotten the whiskey.. I just mention it so they give me my other prizes.. hehe…
#41 ray-bulls_fan:
PdeV will pick January still….
Problem with dropping Jantjies and Januarie is that we wont have enough players of colour in the team…
15 Apr 2009, 12:26 pm
#43 Pietman: do u think he deserves it tho?
15 Apr 2009, 12:26 pm
Ag fokkit Rassie, hou net op k@k praat! Jy kan maar se hy speel k@k en is vet en jy sien nie verder kans om sulke spelers te dra nie! Nou moet net nie daar stop nie – Sireli moet ook gaan, so ook Jantjes, Chavanga, Schalk, en jou light five.
Dis basies dit of jy moet gaan. Maar hou net op K@K praat!
15 Apr 2009, 12:27 pm
#45 ray-bulls_fan:
No.
15 Apr 2009, 12:27 pm
#34 Pietman:
Rassie has some interesting ideas. Remember he did the same at Freestate playing a sort of dual fetcher system with the smaller 8th man who went off to france (cant remember his name but he was damn good).
ABs do a similar thing, So’oialo is a great fetcher and one wonders if he does not affect more turnovers then McCaw these days.
Its an interesting way of playing but think need to have a helluva tight 5 and all genuine tightforwards.
I have the same suspicions with regards Stormers 6,7 and 8. Seems poor old rassie trying to keep things happy but cant get them together.
15 Apr 2009, 12:29 pm
I fully expect the Hurricanes (God bless each and every one of them) to put 37 points on the Storm Boys and concede less than 10 points.
Yip…a good old fashioned rodgering.
15 Apr 2009, 12:30 pm
#49 cane: Well, for what it is worth, my money will be where your mouth is.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All