Rassie ‘rests’ Ricky
15 Apr 2009
Dewaldt Duvenhage has replaced Ricky Januarie in the Stormers’ starting line-up named to face the Hurricanes.
A series of sub-standard performances has seen the axe fall on the Springbok scrumhalf. To date, Duvenhage has brought more to the Stormers from an attacking perspective and this may be why Rassie Erasmus has given the youngster an extended opportunity.
But when speaking to keo.co.za, Erasmus said a number of this weekend’s selections are down to player rotation.
‘We’ve been wanting to make a few changes since round three or four but because of a few results and the bye that hasn’t been possible. We beat the Lions but then we had a break, so we didn’t want to change much and risk losing momentum.
‘We then played and lost three close games so were reluctant to make changes again. But at this point, we thought it necessary to give a few of the other guys a chance.’
Erasmus said Januarie is a valuable member of the squad but Duvenhage’s strengths will be suited to this particular clash.
‘He’s particularly good with clearing the ball from the ruck and has a good kicking game. He’s played well off the bench and deserves this opportunity.’
Erasmus has made a few changes to the pack with Hilton Lobberts coming into the second row. Tiaan Liebenberg replaces Schalk Brits at hooker while Brian Mujati has been bracketed with Wicus Blaauw at tighthead due to a head injury. If Mujati is cleared of concussion on Friday, he will start.
Brok Harris, who returns from a pre-season leg injury, is named on the bench but will only feature if he passes a late fitness test. Bok lock Andries Bekker joined the squad on Sunday but has not cracked the match 22.
‘Brok’s arriving soon and will hopefully train with us on Thursday. We want to see how he will slot in at the scrums and at the lineout before making any final calls. Brian’s availability will also impact on our use of Brok at the weekend.
‘Having a guy like Tiaan in the mix will help, as scrumming is one of his strengths. With all the injuries we need a player like Tiaan to aid the tighthead,’ said Erasmus.
Stormers – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Wylie Human, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean De Villiers (c), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenhage, 8 Luke Watson, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Adriaan Fondse, 4 Hilton Lobberts, 3 Brian Mujati/ Wicus Blaauw, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 JD Moller.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Brok Harris, 18 AJ Venter, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Willem De Waal, 22 Dylan Des Fountain.
By Jon Cardinelli

625 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All
15 Apr 2009, 21:53 pm
#541 grootblousmile: Are you multitasking? *** That was a short answer!!
15 Apr 2009, 21:53 pm
#545 grant10: I think Butch should enjoy his retirement.
15 Apr 2009, 21:54 pm
#548 grant10: Ah so it’s cooking AND farting then.
15 Apr 2009, 21:55 pm
#543 SodaJoe: season starts far too early….okes need a rest ….fortunately matfield,ruan,jpp,now bakkies.j smit, and a host of others have been or are having lengthy breaks….J smith another ezample…this may assist boks…
15 Apr 2009, 21:55 pm
#543 SodaJoe: Rolling maul is also an art form when properly executed so we need to remove the ELV which allows collapsing. This facet of the game suits our forwards with good upper body strength. Also affects the line-out as an attacking platform – another SA strength.
15 Apr 2009, 21:57 pm
#546 carol: or smack me for asking him to retire gracefully…thay wife of his a real looker…
15 Apr 2009, 21:58 pm
#548 grant10: Modest, I will remember that!!
Always remember your line “Collecting a Take Away from a Night Club”!! I was quite shocked !! Lol
15 Apr 2009, 21:58 pm
#550 carol: Sorry, just packing up here…. going to go hurt a mattress just now…
15 Apr 2009, 21:59 pm
#549 SodaJoe: Oh Soda, it must be the beans!!
15 Apr 2009, 21:59 pm
#554 filthy Luca: Cool Hand Luka. I hate the rolling maul with a passion. More than I hate aerial ping pong. Absolutely dreadful.
But I think the collapsing the maul rule will go back to where we were.
The most important ELV’s for me are: No pass back to 22, 5m offside, quick line out.
I would make a try 7 points.
15 Apr 2009, 22:00 pm
#551 SodaJoe: ruan hasnt played that much at 10? I have the latest sharks magazine…he reckons he still sees himself as a 9 who can play 10 a bit…butch good to have around in case…
#552 SodaJoe: Perhaps I should not have brought this subject up!!
Canadians are really sensitive about farting, did you know that?
#558 carol: A man should never lose his air of mystery in my opinion.
#552 SodaJoe: in my speedo…
15 Apr 2009, 22:01 pm
#555 grant10: Tasmin would be right up your “blonde” street!! Is she tall too?
15 Apr 2009, 22:02 pm
#554 filthy Luca: screw the elvs mate….an aussie ploy to weaken us…
15 Apr 2009, 22:02 pm
#557 grootblousmile: Thought it was worth a try !!
You go and hurt your matress really well Afrikaans broer, I am planning to go to bed with Wilbur before too long!!
15 Apr 2009, 22:03 pm
#556 carol: i had a wild side…and was a fairly succesful fast food operator back in the day! LOL
15 Apr 2009, 22:03 pm
#560 grant10: ****** Ruan Pienaar is using Piet Snor’s publicist it seems.
Well Ruan shut up and be the best 10 in the world.
FDP, Vermaak, Rocket are all better scrummies.
Ruan is going to be our 10 in and past 2011.
15 Apr 2009, 22:04 pm
#568 SodaJoe:
Your comment is awaiting moderation.
April 15th, 2009 at 10:03 pm
#560 grant10: Ruan Pienaar is using Piet Snor’s publicist it seems.
Well Ruan shut up and be the best 10 in the world.
FDP, Vermaak, Rocket are all better scrummies.
Ruan is going to be our 10 in and past 2011.
#557 grootblousmile: Cheers naagenoot.
#562 SodaJoe: Mystery revealed if you go about the kitchen in nothing but speedos!!
#563 grant10: What a thought!!
#559 SodaJoe: Good idea – I like the 7 points try but come on you have to appreciate the coordination and skill that goes with controlling the rolling maul. Maybe I’m biased as an ex forward but it brings a complexity to the game that I really enjoy.
15 Apr 2009, 22:05 pm
#569 GrootRooiSmile: naamgenoot
#563 grant10: Post of the day.
It’s good to smile boet. Nice one. Hard to top. Impossible to top.
#569 GrootRooiSmile: ***
15 Apr 2009, 22:06 pm
#574 carol: Bugger, the wrong one!! Opps…
15 Apr 2009, 22:06 pm
#575 carol: Its OK. Don’t stop. hehehehe.
15 Apr 2009, 22:07 pm
#572 GrootRooiSmile: Hey !
#565 grant10: If we are so poor at it why do we have 2 of the Top 3?
#564 carol: not short …seriously beautiful woman…clifton littered with models,etc,,,she is really breathtaking…Percy a very lucky man…blonde luvs percy…i will arrange some pics …sure to bump into him again..
#567 grant10: Take aways every night, tasty but not good for the figure or the soul!! Lol..
#571 carol: Cooking Beans.
#577 grootblousmile: Hey!
15 Apr 2009, 22:08 pm
#578 grootblousmile: Don’t get jealous.
15 Apr 2009, 22:09 pm
#568 SodaJoe: hope he is practicing his goal kicking…my heart cant take another 1997!!!
#576 GrootRooiSmile: Oy !! Get back to a propper Nic! Thats just not playing fair!
#583 SodaJoe: Tell him Sodajoe. Makes him nasty.
15 Apr 2009, 22:10 pm
#571 filthy Luca: i love the rolling maul..
15 Apr 2009, 22:10 pm
#585 grant10: Me neither. I agree. But let’s see hwo he does when he comes back, which is when?
15 Apr 2009, 22:11 pm
#576 GrootRooiSmile: GrootRooiBlaf !
Gaan jy maar aan namens ons met die diere hier…. ek groet !
#575 carol:
#579 grant10:
Cheers Soutie, cheers Pommie…
Remember….. die lewe is ‘n lied !
#589 grootblousmile: Enige tyd ou Arra. hehehehehe. nou wee jy.
#587 GrootRooiSmile: I think he may have good reason ….
15 Apr 2009, 22:12 pm
#578 SodaJoe: good point…check my superbru standing…i dont really know what the hell i am talking about mate!!
15 Apr 2009, 22:12 pm
#581 SodaJoe: Actually cooking beans is not a skill, that is just reheating, as is doing a pizza!!
Big cop out if bloke says “I’ll cook” and produces pizza!!
15 Apr 2009, 22:13 pm
#580 carol: right on all accounts…
15 Apr 2009, 22:13 pm
#586 GrootRooiSmile: Not a nasty bone in his body!
15 Apr 2009, 22:14 pm
#588 SodaJoe: after the sharks bye
#589 grootblousmile: Sing hom uit volle bors ***
#589 grootblousmile: cheers GBS…
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All