Rassie ‘rests’ Ricky
15 Apr 2009
Dewaldt Duvenhage has replaced Ricky Januarie in the Stormers’ starting line-up named to face the Hurricanes.
A series of sub-standard performances has seen the axe fall on the Springbok scrumhalf. To date, Duvenhage has brought more to the Stormers from an attacking perspective and this may be why Rassie Erasmus has given the youngster an extended opportunity.
But when speaking to keo.co.za, Erasmus said a number of this weekend’s selections are down to player rotation.
‘We’ve been wanting to make a few changes since round three or four but because of a few results and the bye that hasn’t been possible. We beat the Lions but then we had a break, so we didn’t want to change much and risk losing momentum.
‘We then played and lost three close games so were reluctant to make changes again. But at this point, we thought it necessary to give a few of the other guys a chance.’
Erasmus said Januarie is a valuable member of the squad but Duvenhage’s strengths will be suited to this particular clash.
‘He’s particularly good with clearing the ball from the ruck and has a good kicking game. He’s played well off the bench and deserves this opportunity.’
Erasmus has made a few changes to the pack with Hilton Lobberts coming into the second row. Tiaan Liebenberg replaces Schalk Brits at hooker while Brian Mujati has been bracketed with Wicus Blaauw at tighthead due to a head injury. If Mujati is cleared of concussion on Friday, he will start.
Brok Harris, who returns from a pre-season leg injury, is named on the bench but will only feature if he passes a late fitness test. Bok lock Andries Bekker joined the squad on Sunday but has not cracked the match 22.
‘Brok’s arriving soon and will hopefully train with us on Thursday. We want to see how he will slot in at the scrums and at the lineout before making any final calls. Brian’s availability will also impact on our use of Brok at the weekend.
‘Having a guy like Tiaan in the mix will help, as scrumming is one of his strengths. With all the injuries we need a player like Tiaan to aid the tighthead,’ said Erasmus.
Stormers – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Wylie Human, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean De Villiers (c), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenhage, 8 Luke Watson, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Adriaan Fondse, 4 Hilton Lobberts, 3 Brian Mujati/ Wicus Blaauw, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 JD Moller.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Brok Harris, 18 AJ Venter, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Willem De Waal, 22 Dylan Des Fountain.
By Jon Cardinelli

625 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
15 Apr 2009, 14:07 pm
Ek is op die oomblik besig om – wel in die algemeen – te dink hoekom dit vir my voorkom asof cullerts ‘n tipe woede en/of bitterheid het wat kort-kort kop uitsteek hier op keo.
Kan dit wees omdat hulle voel dat hulle aan die agterspeen suig in SA, of wat is die probleem?
Is dit ‘n geval van Nats het vir hulle mense gesorg, die ANC vir hulle?
Hoe kan ons hierdie bitterheid aanspreek wat ons as Suid Afrikaners eintlik moet laat skaam kry?
Ek vra dit in alle opregtheid.
Of is dit ‘n geval van dit is net ‘n paar en nou wil ek almal onder dieselfde kam skeer?
15 Apr 2009, 14:07 pm
#92 Snoek:
Have to agree again.
And that is the last time I comment on a Stormers thread until they start pulling their weight (instead of having the journos do it for them)
See you all on other threads
15 Apr 2009, 14:12 pm
Cheers all, on holiday and need to rest.
15 Apr 2009, 14:18 pm
#101 Sheriff:
Don’t think that post is going to be around for long. Way too inflammatory. Expect it to be cut by Rory, or Ig the 2nd or whoever is in charge of the site these days.
15 Apr 2009, 14:23 pm
#101 Sheriff:
you started this one, so let me give my viewpoint.
A number of ppl have all ganged up on an oke on here recently.
we all know who it is.
Apparently there is a story doing the rounds that he was excluded from a golf club.
This is precisely the sort of hiumiliating experience that many people have had to undergo, and much worse, its not a trivial issue, its central to the concept of fairness.
So you want to know why he’s shaking attitudes up, the answer is obvious.
tolerance.
15 Apr 2009, 14:27 pm
#104 Tacitus:
Well it’s a comment that pertains to the harmony of this very blog.
The blog being a random sample of SA
I suppose it could be viewed as that but not intended that way. I thought I’ll put it to the guys.
Nevertheless, do you think that there is a solution?
15 Apr 2009, 14:30 pm
#105 cab:
Who is this oke? Do you mean CC?
But is it fair that that oke comes here to bombard bloggers who want to talk rugby.
Like I said, are we dealing here with a few guys only and therefore unfair of me to link it to one group?
15 Apr 2009, 14:32 pm
Afternoon all, just had a look at the logs and saw an interesting STAT. The Stormers have scored the 3rd least tries in the competition (17) only above the Saders and the Cheetahs (both 16). The have also conceded the second least tries (14) only behind the Saders (13).
I don’t think the Stormers defended this well in prior seasons, so some credit has to go to Rassie and the players for the defensive co-ordination. It is such a pity they can’t even buy tries in the tournament this year.
15 Apr 2009, 14:36 pm
#108 Corndog:
There is a positive in this.
At least the Stormers make it easier (not “easy”) to predict the result of their games on superbru.
15 Apr 2009, 14:39 pm
Do the scars of past injustices give people the right to treat others with disrespect?
15 Apr 2009, 14:40 pm
#109 Sheriff: True I have viewed my superbru approach to the stormers on this site before but will share it again. I make my bet on the Monday before they can post all the **** that we read on this site on the Wednesday, that way you are still p’d off at them and emotion does not come into the prediction. At least we know there’s one certainty every week
15 Apr 2009, 14:43 pm
#111 Corndog: two certainties. Don’t forget the Lions. I don’t even have to make the pick on Mondays anymore. They are a certain loss with 10 or more.
#106 Sheriff:
Yes. Internal locus of control.
#110 tight head: Hi TH, don’t want to get into a debate about this but you raise a valid question which should be considered by some on this blog. But on the other side the rest of the people on this blog should consider the following: Does the habits created during the injustices of the past give people the right to carry on treating others with disrespect.
Unfortunately everyone here has an opinion and when there is disagreement, there is always some anger and frustration.
15 Apr 2009, 14:44 pm
#107 Sheriff:
Of course its CC, who are you talking about?
He also comes to talk rugby. Just remember when someone expresses a viewpoint it is likely to rub someone else up the wrong way. Its not just CC there are alot of ppl that have come and gone on this blog – white, colured, black – that all have serious issues with the whole south african rugby establishment and its supporter base.
South africans and their attitudes will not, and have not, changed overnight.
15 Apr 2009, 14:44 pm
there is no justification, none whatsoever, for the racial mudslinging from either side.
finish and klaar like jackie selebi.
on a lighter note, i am so glad the sharks found a way to motivate themselves for the crusaders game
15 Apr 2009, 14:46 pm
#111 Corndog:
There’s an even better strategy. Just make a policy decision to always pick a Stormers loss. So far it’s worked wonders for me this season.
15 Apr 2009, 14:47 pm
Ghandiji said passive resistance would overcome the greatest empire the world had ever known…………
15 Apr 2009, 14:48 pm
#110 tight head:
TH
Your question is in a way a response to my question. It was not intended to cause a stir but it was something that started to concern me, being part of that group.
I was hoping for someone to say, look Sheriff, you’re not looking at this thing holistically. It’s a few guys and it is incorrect to restrict the bitterness to one group.
As much as it is unpleasant at times, keo (the platform of course) does allow us the opportunity to work through various issues. You only need to look at how often people apologise as a means of saying, “Look I was clearly wrong”
15 Apr 2009, 14:48 pm
#115 cab: has CC taken a beating recently?
which golf club blocked him? he lives in england doesnt he?
15 Apr 2009, 14:50 pm
#119 Sheriff: look Sheriff, you’re not looking at this thing holistically. It’s a few guys and it is incorrect to restrict the bitterness to one group.
#119 Sheriff: ek was heeltemal verkeerd toe ek die Leeus gekies het vir ‘n wen teen die Blues. Sjoe, dit was nie so moeilik nie. hehehe.
#118 rangerman:
Ja well somehow I don’t think that would have worked against the Romans, or against Genghis Khan’s Mongols, or against the Nazis.
Passive resistance happened to work in one instance. But that doesn’t mean it is a universal solution.
15 Apr 2009, 14:51 pm
#117 Tacitus: It’s a lot easier if you don’t support him, imagine superbru during the Bulls lean years, you would have to come up with clever solutions to justify it.
#112 Ed_the_Lion: You can throw the cheetahs in there as well, they have had their moment in the sun.
15 Apr 2009, 14:52 pm
#113 Tacitus:
But how do we get them to get this internal locust of control that you’re referring to?
I mean take Shaun Langenhoven for instance. I use his name as he chose to disclose it?
I mean there must be a reasonable man there somewhere within.
However, when he signs on here he just has one objective namely to antagonise bloggers. One has to wonder about that?
I mean why is keo the pref platform to do that sort of thing?
15 Apr 2009, 14:53 pm
#116 rangerman: “finish and klaar like jackie selebi.”
you’ll have to change that line soon. jackie selebi is going to get the jz teflon treatment.
15 Apr 2009, 14:53 pm
#118 rangerman:
Hi there mate
Sharks offered very passive resistance on Sat
15 Apr 2009, 14:55 pm
#122 Ed_the_Lion:
na 9 weke van die S14 en die stormers is dit vir my ook al maklik, na n ruk raak dit n gewoonte.
15 Apr 2009, 14:56 pm
#121 rangerman:
I honestly believe that is a gross-oversimplication of things and just because they are the minority it does not make them wrong, we should know that only too well.
15 Apr 2009, 14:57 pm
Hellooo boys!
Standing behind the bar right now, guarding the till, cold one in my hand, live couldn’t be better!#119 Sheriff:
Golf club at Langebaan has no disco, ask me. It is a posh place.
The ‘disco’ used to be at old an farm barn as you enter town, above the golf course, frequented by laaities and teeny bobbers on 50cc mopeds mostly. And a few of the local farm boys.
Don’t know if it even exists anymore.
I went there with my cousin from Namibia once, in 1993 whilst holidaying at Club Mykonos, to pick up his son and friends.
So, if Langkop got thrown out of there, it was probaly by some youngster….
#120 rangerman:
some things are worse than taking a beating.
#115 cab:
But why is that bloke so angry?
And why reveal the full name?
15 Apr 2009, 14:58 pm
#120 rangerman: Oranje Country Club, maybe?
15 Apr 2009, 14:58 pm
#121 rangerman:
You just had to …
15 Apr 2009, 14:59 pm
#128 Corndog: ek wens mens kon vooruit auto pick op SBru, dan was my picks vir die Leeus, Cheetahs en Stormers al lankal klaar vir die res van die S14.
15 Apr 2009, 15:00 pm
#122 Ed_the_Lion:
Hahahaha
Lekker terapie!
15 Apr 2009, 15:01 pm
#132 Sheriff:
who said he’s so angry, perhaps he’s having fun, seems the okes that are angry are the one’s that want to ban him.
15 Apr 2009, 15:01 pm
#136 Sheriff: Dit voel asof ‘n moerse gewig van my skouers af is. BWahaahaha.
15 Apr 2009, 15:02 pm
#135 Ed_the_Lion:
Jis jong!
Kan man waag op daai span van jou?
Sonder Mossie?
15 Apr 2009, 15:02 pm
#137 cab: having fun, die ou sit in ‘n hoekie en bewe terwyl hy op Keo is en kyk elke derde sekond oor sy gevoude arms om te kyk of iemand hom nie aanval nie.
15 Apr 2009, 15:03 pm
#139 Pietman: Nee Pietman.
15 Apr 2009, 15:04 pm
#125 Sheriff:
I assume this Langenhoven chap is old CC?
Anyway, I have a few thoughts of my own on this issue.
1. Keo is an ideal platform for this kind of interaction because you can vent a lot of the frustrations you have in real life, but cannot usually express.
2. You get to interact with people from different backgrounds to yourself to a greater extent than in real life, so you can probe them a bit to see how they feel about many issues that are very important to you. In real life, you’d never bother discussion such heavy matters – like transformation in sport, politics and philosophy on life with such people. Instead, you’ll just smile, talk about some general, inconsequential stuff, get your business done, and get back to your comfort zone.
On here, you can remain in your comfort zone while still letting them have an earful of your opinion on whatever you feel like talking about.
15 Apr 2009, 15:05 pm
#137 cab:
Go to his website.
And read yourself.
The oke has lost it.
Narcossism (sp ?) is the only word to describe him.
He is fighting a ‘struggle’ that nobody knows about.
Go read.
#130 Pietman:
Surely that is an isolated incident and we did not get a chance to the other parties’ perspective.
So why then does Langkop embark om this hijad here on keo?
I would think that it is a matter to be taken up with the management of that establishment. Surely we cannot answer for them?
#140 Ed_the_Lion:
kom aan, bang vir n paar janne? kom vertel crabs ander grap.
15 Apr 2009, 15:07 pm
#145 cab: het ek enigsins gesê dit is janne vir wie hy bang is?
15 Apr 2009, 15:08 pm
#137 cab:
But to be constantly provoking just about everybody has to be indicative of anger?
I’ve read his post and certainly not a healthy picture over there.
15 Apr 2009, 15:09 pm
#142 Tacitus: I agree with all of those but add 1 more to your list. There is almost no accountability for your statements (except being banned for a while)unless you are personally known to other bloggers.
15 Apr 2009, 15:09 pm
#143 Pietman:
maybe the oke is creating an identity to rile ppl, to get them talking about him, seems to be working.
maybe he is narcisstic and trying to prove things, not unusual consider the way certain groups have been treated.
maybe he is fighting a struggle, which is still continuing, a struggle for the freeing of the last bastion of white SA.
I dunno, who knows.
Somme scroll on past if he’s a nut.
Seems to me tho CC has become like the badguy in some sort of rofstooi match, what would the okes do if he were banned?
15 Apr 2009, 15:11 pm
anyway lets get off this, we’ve been arguing like a bunch of ou tannies for the last few months.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All