Rassie ‘rests’ Ricky
15 Apr 2009
Dewaldt Duvenhage has replaced Ricky Januarie in the Stormers’ starting line-up named to face the Hurricanes.
A series of sub-standard performances has seen the axe fall on the Springbok scrumhalf. To date, Duvenhage has brought more to the Stormers from an attacking perspective and this may be why Rassie Erasmus has given the youngster an extended opportunity.
But when speaking to keo.co.za, Erasmus said a number of this weekend’s selections are down to player rotation.
‘We’ve been wanting to make a few changes since round three or four but because of a few results and the bye that hasn’t been possible. We beat the Lions but then we had a break, so we didn’t want to change much and risk losing momentum.
‘We then played and lost three close games so were reluctant to make changes again. But at this point, we thought it necessary to give a few of the other guys a chance.’
Erasmus said Januarie is a valuable member of the squad but Duvenhage’s strengths will be suited to this particular clash.
‘He’s particularly good with clearing the ball from the ruck and has a good kicking game. He’s played well off the bench and deserves this opportunity.’
Erasmus has made a few changes to the pack with Hilton Lobberts coming into the second row. Tiaan Liebenberg replaces Schalk Brits at hooker while Brian Mujati has been bracketed with Wicus Blaauw at tighthead due to a head injury. If Mujati is cleared of concussion on Friday, he will start.
Brok Harris, who returns from a pre-season leg injury, is named on the bench but will only feature if he passes a late fitness test. Bok lock Andries Bekker joined the squad on Sunday but has not cracked the match 22.
‘Brok’s arriving soon and will hopefully train with us on Thursday. We want to see how he will slot in at the scrums and at the lineout before making any final calls. Brian’s availability will also impact on our use of Brok at the weekend.
‘Having a guy like Tiaan in the mix will help, as scrumming is one of his strengths. With all the injuries we need a player like Tiaan to aid the tighthead,’ said Erasmus.
Stormers – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Wylie Human, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean De Villiers (c), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenhage, 8 Luke Watson, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Adriaan Fondse, 4 Hilton Lobberts, 3 Brian Mujati/ Wicus Blaauw, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 JD Moller.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Brok Harris, 18 AJ Venter, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Willem De Waal, 22 Dylan Des Fountain.
By Jon Cardinelli

625 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
15 Apr 2009, 15:12 pm
#100 Tacitus:
Dude you need to take a break and get over yourself! Everyone makes inaccurate calls based on past at times.
In fact I remember your predictably one sided view about how the Bulls were going to win the last Currie Cup. Care to re-visit that one?
15 Apr 2009, 15:12 pm
#142 Tacitus:
I see your point and agree with you.
My suspicion is that his campaign is not but an attention-seeking one. I’m always worried when extraordinary measures are taken to get some attention.
In theory our “love tanks” should be filled from a young age so as to ensure that the deviations (and there will be) are minimal.
I get the feeling that this guy wants us to say this: We like you.
15 Apr 2009, 15:13 pm
#142 Tacitus:
That’s him.
Oddball/DaOne/Tulsa/Headbutt/Lukeisbaas/Lukeisking/Khoisanking/The Almighty(over Easter weekend)/Indestructible/Inevitable….
You name all the racist (‘paasjapie animals’ etc) and atheist posts on keo over the past year, and that is Shaun Langenhoven from Dysselsdorp.
Regardless of what cabbie says, this boy is angry….and he is pissing in the wind ….
Ok. Ek is vir eers weg. Die hare gaan nie hulself sny nie. Sterkte met almal se spanne die naweek. As julle ‘n paar koues vang geniet dit, en onthou matigheid voor oë.
#123 Tacitus: funny that tacitus.
surely you are aware of the overwhelming impetus given to Christianity by the Roman emperor’s conversion (possibly due to guilt after throwing so many passively resisting Christians to the lions).
#126 the peanut gallery: they may take my faith, but they will never take my line!
#127 Sheriff: howdy, lol i hear so. glad you liked my use of your line
15 Apr 2009, 15:14 pm
#152 Sheriff:
I like him.
15 Apr 2009, 15:18 pm
#114 Corndog: #119 Sheriff:
Thanks for the reply guys.
I raised the question seriously.
I was not trying to make a statement.
I believe that it is an interesting debate.
However having said that, I think one needs to realize that this is a public forum and there is no way of knowing easily just who you are dealing with here.
Let’s face it, if someone comes on here and displays the tendency of being mentally disturbed they may well be.
#150 cab: True that there have been some definite us and them debates happening on here. It has been even more tense after the great banning incident of 09.
#149 cab:
It would seem, to me anyway, that you share some of his extreme views?
15 Apr 2009, 15:19 pm
#149 cab:
Yeah.
Too many maybes there.
Who cares about that in the new SA anymore?
If he was so concerned about his country, why didn’t he stay with the ANC and in SA, and pay his dues?
You must be pretty kuk if the ANC rejects you ….and then the party goes and accept the likes of Malema…
(He says the ANC rejected him and his proposals to Manual and Ramos).
15 Apr 2009, 15:20 pm
#158 Corndog:
lol, what was the great banning incident? there were many.
#159 Sheriff:
I do share many of his views, does not make them extreme, only different from yours.
15 Apr 2009, 15:21 pm
#156 cab:
Why wouldn’t you cab?
15 Apr 2009, 15:22 pm
#153 Pietman: hey, hold on. I’m an atheist. don’t associate me with that plonker.
#131 cab: damn straight. theft of thought and soul, spirit and hope.
there are no physical measures for these.
i also quite like CC. but i dont enjoy when he takes it too far.
unfortunately that is quite often.
#157 tight head: True especially the Bulls supporters
But agree with you on the interesting debates, as emotianally draining as they can be it is what keeps us coming back.
15 Apr 2009, 15:23 pm
#155 rangerman:
Yeah the eagle eye of the ranger.
Words are powerful. For instance if I used 2 random words “vocalist” and “background” it will have different meanings to different people
#160 Pietman:
perhaps he likes england, perhaps he likes being treated as a human being without the lipservice paid to it in SA.
Why are you in south korea? i mean it sound kim-suk-poo up north might obliterate u okes down south.
who knows the answers to these things.
#155 rangerman: that’s what joost said to the hooker
15 Apr 2009, 15:24 pm
ok what are his extreme views, lets try go thru this logically then?
15 Apr 2009, 15:25 pm
#157 tight head:
Allow me to add the word “consistently” to your sentence starting with “Let’s face it”
Stormers are consistently poor but Sharks once in a while. Big difference as I’m sure you will agree.
15 Apr 2009, 15:26 pm
#167 cab:
Easy.
I am here on business.
Never said anything bad about my country, ever, I pay taxes there still.
He doesn’t, he is in exile.
Why are you in France, by the way, for the same reasons as Shaun?
You still pay tax in SA?
15 Apr 2009, 15:27 pm
#161 cab:
No wonder you are coming out so strongly in his defence!
But is he balanced tho?
15 Apr 2009, 15:27 pm
look
at what
he says
“I am a bit depressed in that I have been banned from a blog that has given me a great platform and opportunity to unleash my venomous pen against the racist idiots who populate these sites with their racist drivel. I remain an activist while these idiots exists.”
is he talking
about
this place
and
what he says
is
he will
carry on
until
everybody else
shuts up
now who
is the idiot
15 Apr 2009, 15:28 pm
#166 Sheriff: luther vandross?
#168 the peanut gallery: i thought he said “bring me my line”?
15 Apr 2009, 15:29 pm
#173 Porra Jan:
Tx Porra.
Cab, your comments on that pse?
15 Apr 2009, 15:30 pm
where is CC’s webpage?
how does one find it?
15 Apr 2009, 15:30 pm
#171 Pietman:
erm, you’ve never had a problem with the ANC??
come now piet, at least play with a straight bat.
taxes, as far as i’m aware work on income received in a country, so i presume you have businesses and/or land in both countries if you are paying both, which is what everyone does.
15 Apr 2009, 15:31 pm
#170 Sheriff:
Fair enough Sheriff.
Eish!! Stormers even taking a battering in this debate!!
15 Apr 2009, 15:32 pm
#172 Sheriff:
No wonder you are saying that!
I dont believe he’s balanced, but he does provide balance, since there’s a massive amount of conservative attitudes on this blog and that still remain in SA rugby, whether you see it or not. CC is not the first and wont be the last with issues here.
15 Apr 2009, 15:32 pm
#169 cab:
No we will not do it.
Most of his views are insignificant to me. One thing that he craves and has succeeded partially is that we are talking about him.
You dont understand/appreciate just how precious that is to him. He needs it you see…
15 Apr 2009, 15:34 pm
Jon,
When are u guys gonna upload a proper Super 14 log like
Superbru has…u know a complete one, one that shows points diffrences & Bonus points…
15 Apr 2009, 15:35 pm
#176 rangerman: google shaun langenhoven.
i see he believes that the americans staged the moon landing.
15 Apr 2009, 15:35 pm
#174 rangerman:
Luther – or so he wishes – is reading this right now.
I’m looking forward to his transformation into a lead singer.
But you have to appreciate the challenge if one considers that for so long he has just been harmonising in the background …
15 Apr 2009, 15:36 pm
#180 Sheriff:
No, what I see is you having brought up a subject on a thread devoted to, and solely concerned with, rugby.
15 Apr 2009, 15:36 pm
#178 tight head:
And rightfully so!
Lots of hype, no delivery. It’s only fair.
15 Apr 2009, 15:38 pm
#177 cab:
Of course I have problems with the ANC!
And yes, I pay taxes in both countries.
You and Shaun don’t.
So, what gives you two the right to even comment on SA?
Aren’t there are enough social issues in France and the UK to keep you boys involved to ensure your tax money is spent wisely over there?
But if an ANC leader in Hermanus is caught with R3.2 million’s worth of fresh perlemoen in his little Ford with Zuma’s election picture on his door, I have a say about that.
And I will.
15 Apr 2009, 15:38 pm
and then
in his
about me
bit
he states
he is a
soccer man
so why
does he
come here
he is
a seriously
struggling
buddy
15 Apr 2009, 15:40 pm
#179 cab:
See the reason he provided his name was to lead us to his blog.
He wants to show us something.
15 Apr 2009, 15:40 pm
struggling
for the attention
he couldn’t get
from his
once beloved
political
party
15 Apr 2009, 15:41 pm
#188 Sheriff:
so lets
go ****
on him
15 Apr 2009, 15:42 pm
#183 Sheriff: i prefer to hum, or at least the people around me prefer it.
i must go. cheers man.
#182 the peanut gallery: cheers, got it.
#184 cab: i truly appreciate the balance you bring here cab. reasoned debate and discussion are often in short supply.
to the rest, i bid you adieu and in the words of CC, aluta continua (its only round 8 people!).
15 Apr 2009, 15:42 pm
#154 Ed_the_Lion:
ja boet
probeer altyd vir matigheid voor oë hou
probleem is
as mens oorkruis begin kyk
issit
nogal moeilik om vi’ matigheid voor oë te hou!
15 Apr 2009, 15:43 pm
#184 cab:
I actually prefer to read keo more than posting comments.
I suspected that it is an issue for the guys at the moment and wanted to know if they share my concerns. Now I know that they do.
15 Apr 2009, 15:43 pm
Sometimes the manner in which people conduct themselves in a public forum, tells you a lot more about them then the views they express.
There should be tolerance for opposing views, however there is no doubt that this man is an attention seeker who has succeeded here in getting just that.
His self obsession seems very strange to me, and as I said earlier he may well be a nutcase, as the reality of blogging does not always allow an honest assessment.
I suppose somebody will now tell me that I may well be a nutcase based on the same logic, however he is strange.
15 Apr 2009, 15:44 pm
#186 Pietman:
How do you know where i pay taxes?
what gives you the right to comment on SA? Are there not enough issues in South Korea?
I also did not vote for the NP and I believe that many of those that did carry those attitudes in a veiled form over into the present day. I do not say they are bad ppl, but there is no way they should have any right to castigate others views as extreme or ban them. What you think happened to nelson Mandela?
I believe it is an absolute necessity for ppl to be allowed to have their say in a country notoriuous for its oppression and conservatism.
15 Apr 2009, 15:45 pm
#177 cab:
The ANC has done nothing for the so-called ‘cullerts’ in the Cape, nothing.
Those people are close to my heart, let me tell you.
The old Nats f’kced them over in 1953, removing them from the voter’s role, and the ANC has been f’kcing them over twice since.
That must go down as one of the biggest disasters in SA politics.
I know all about that.
I don’t need Shaun to tell me of those things.
15 Apr 2009, 15:45 pm
#194 tight head: nutcase.
cheers TH!
15 Apr 2009, 15:46 pm
Finally!
15 Apr 2009, 15:48 pm
#195 cab:
No issues in S-Korea bru.
It is a crime free, racist free society, unlike France.
15 Apr 2009, 15:48 pm
but here’s the thing i dont get —
for such a nut, for such an extremist, for such an *******, etc, etc – why do you keep reading his views.
simpy look at the name and scroll on by.
no, instead he has to be brought up and ganged up on. why?
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All