Big guns bolster Sharks

Bismarck du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira, Waylon Murray and Jean Deysel are all included in the Sharks’s 22 for their clash against the Crusaders on Saturday.

In addition, JP Pietersen could possibly start and Steven Sykes has also returned from injury. Murray, who has missed the entire campaign with a knee injury, will start on the wing if Pietersen isn’t deemed fit enough to play.

Pietersen injured his ankle three weeks ago and while it was initially thought to be a minor problem, the Springbok wing continues to feel some discomfort. Murray will play off the wood in place of Luzuko Vulindlu, should Pietersen start.

Deysel has been sidelined since 28 February, and both he and Mtawarira will be quality impact players in the second half.

In the only changes to the tight five who started against the Cheetahs, Sykes reclaims the locking berth from Albert van den Berg while Du Plessis starts at hooker in place of Springbok captain John Smit.

Sharks – 15 Stefan Terblanche, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 JP Pietersen/Waylon Murray, 10 Francois Steyn, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Keegan Daniel, 6 Jacques Botes 5. Johann Muller (c), 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Deon Carstens
Subs: 16 John Smit, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Monty Dumond, 22 Luzuko Vulindlu/Waylon Murray