Another scalp to the Cheetahs

The Cheetahs will do South Africa a huge favour in dealing with the Chiefs. The Bones, on the comeback, have been rolled.

Going into Saturday at 4 from 4, the Bones showed accuracy. The assumption was a Sharks win and a painful Tahs victory. Glory to the Bulls for dealing with the mighty midget who captains the Tahs. Fantastic win for the Bully Boys. Imagine if they actually played clever footie every weekend? They’d have the seven Super rugby titles.

So four from six it was and no worries this side. Two South African wins I hadn’t factored.

This week there’ll also be two South African wins, but the Bones don’t fancy the Bulls without Bakkies and Victor and the Stormers and Lions will find the corner they are looking for is a dead end on tour. Love your team, but don’t be foolish about your support of a victory.

The Cheetahs will win because the Chiefs don’t travel well and even if they did, who travels well to Kimberley.

The Sharks will also be clinical in undoing the Crusaders, who will drop this one but still leave the Republic with two wins from three.

Round nine

BLUES vs HIGHLANDERS, AUCKLAND, FRIDAY 09:35
Blues 1-10

BRUMBIES vs BULLS, CANBERRA, FRIDAY 11:40
Brumbies 10-plus

HURRICANES vs STORMERS, WELLINGTON, SATURDAY 07:30
Canes 1-10

REDS vs LIONS, BRISBANE, SATURDAY 09:35
Reds 10-plus

WARATAHS vs FORCE, SYDNEY, SATURDAY 11:40
Tahs 1-10

CHEETAHS vs CHIEFS, KIMBERLEY, SATURDAY 15:00
Cheetahs 1-10

SHARKS vs CRUSADERS, DURBAN, SATURDAY 17:05
Sharks 10-plus

Bones’s 2009
Week 1: 5/7
Week 2: 7/7
Week 3: 2/7
Week 4: 5/6
Week 5: 3/6
Week 6: 3/6
Week 7: 4/6
Week 8: 3/6
Week 9: 4/6
Total: 36/57

84 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

By the way, this is the first week in a LONG time that Gavin Rich has opted to ditch the Stormers and vote for a Canes win. Maybe its the good luck we need.

C’mon boytjies!!!!!

• 52.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#50 Disa:

hahahahahahahahahahahaha. Die “P” woord met die “oes” klank.

• 53.Corndog: Reply to this comment

#48 Greenpoint-Gunner: You are an eternal optimist, I reckon we have a go at it next year and try and win the CC this year.

Regarding the number teams still in with a chance, I think it’s due to the slowish starts by the NZ teams, these teams had many inexerienced youngsters that have now gained confidence. Unfortunately for the Aus and SA teams they could not capitalise on this, hence the bottle neck.

• 54.Disa: Reply to this comment

#49 Tacitus: Het jy dit in die koerant gelees of online? Wil dit gou gaan uitcheck

• 55.Disa: Reply to this comment

#48 Greenpoint-Gunner: #53 Corndog: The Stormers havnt been playing good rugby but jislaaik we have been bloody unlucky.

But how do they say, how more you practice how luckier you get

• 56.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

This could be a good weekend for SA teams…. But then again it could also be a bad one…..

• 57.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#53 Corndog: NZ teams are always slow to start the super14, and usually come home strong… thats why I believe neither the bulls or the Tahs will make the playoffs, and I also believe the Sharks wont top the log… IMO.

• 58.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#54 Disa:

Online op Rapport se site. So paar weke gelede.

• 59.El Politico: Reply to this comment

Final log positions (if the Sharks beat the Bulls in the final pool game)

1. Sharks
    2. Chiefs
    3. Bulls
    4. Hurricanes

Final log positions (if the Bulls beat the Sharks in the final pool game)

1. Bulls
    2. Chiefs
    3. Hurricanes
    4. Sharks

• 60.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Come on Sharks and Bulls!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh and Cheetahs for that matter… and Stormers!!

• 61.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#53 Corndog:

Agree on the NZ factor. Strange though, last year there were many teams in at the end that could also still make it, but I think it was because the teams in with a shot was playing good rugby. It was a far better year. This year most of the rugby has been bad. Take the Stormers for example. Realistically and looking at history, they were never going to win in Sydney, Canbarra or Christchurch. They played some real K*K rugby, but still managed a bp for 7 or less… what does that tell you.

Then you have the Sharks simply SLIP it against the bottom feeder teams. No, the Reds and Cheetahs was not better (that much) the Sharks, was simply worse.

Anyway, I think that at most 5 players from the Stormers will make the Bok squad. That means that we should be able to dominate the early stages of the CC, and AT least go in to the semi’s. Asseblief tog f#k bliksem wee jy.

• 62.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#56 THE MAULER:

This and every other year should have been a good weekend for the Stormers, but then again. In Super rugby paper means nothing!

• 63.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#57 poppa69:

mmmmmmm, good point.

• 64.Corndog: Reply to this comment

#57 poppa69: I think this week will go a long way to indicating the serious semi contenders.

If the Brumbies beat the bulls, saders the sharks then it will be really congested and anyones tournament. If the results go the other way I think thise two teams will struggle to make the semi’s.

• 65.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#62 Greenpoint-Gunner:
    Yip… for years the CATS had a super team on paper… but were smashed like wet paper bags on the field….

• 66.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#57 poppa69:
    Who in your opinion will top the log?

• 67.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#63 Greenpoint-Gunner: big test for Sharks is this weekend, if they can see of a desperate Crusaders then they may just in fact top the log… but I feel with 6 players coming back from injury, coupled with the loss last week it may just upset their cohesion… the Sharks have fed off of everyone elses mistakes all comp, the majority of their points coming from turnover ball…

The cheetahs showed, that if you limit your own mistakes, that you can restrict the sharks scoring, they then become a little aimless…. IMO

• 68.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#65 THE MAULER:

Ja. I was a bit young then to understand what is going on? What the hell was going on? I don’t believe that thing that they could not shake provinsionalism and play as a team. If not, what happened when Laurie took over? That was just freaking weird.

• 69.Corndog: Reply to this comment

#61 Greenpoint-Gunner: The only guys in with a chance of selection are Burger, JdV, Januarie and Jantjes. Can’t see anyone else getting a look in.

The last 2 years in the cc have been inexcusable.

• 70.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#64 Corndog: I agree, its do or die for Crusaders and Brumbies…

#66 THE MAULER: although I dont think they will deserve it, Im sticking my neck out and saying the Canes will top the log, with other results working in their favour…

Dont think the chiefs will, they may not even make it… they never travel well in SA, so their game with the cheetahs may well define their season. A loss, and it will be hell of a struggle, win it, and they may gain the confidence to win more in SA.

• 71.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#67 poppa69:

very very good point.
    For years I hoped that the Crusaders would eventualy topple and fall, just to open the comp up a bit more. Well done to the Sharks for being top of the log. They deserve to be there, just like the Stormers deserve to be 11th (c’mon boytjies!).
    But they haven’t completely dominated and thats what is kinda worrying.

• 72.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#71 Greenpoint-Gunner: yeah, once semis are reached, form accounts for very little… look at the ABs at world cups, prime example…

They have been the most consistent side, and I for one would not begrudge them topping the log, for I think it is deserved, but they have a hard run home, even with all their games at home, and with the bye next week, they lose this week and it could be disastrous.

• 73.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#69 Corndog:

I think because of January’s excellent play and Jantjies’s injuries ect. they may not get picked. On form Luke deserves to get picked before Burger, but that won’t happen. Bekker may get picked with the eye on the next WC.

The last 2 years has been diabolical. Kobus was a bugger up, end of Story, and with most of the S14 squad missing, we were going to struggle. This year there MUST be a change!

• 74.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#59 El Politico:

If the Bulls win today and next week, the Sharks game will give them the opportunity to remain at the top of the log.

If they lose one of today or next week’s games – but get a bonuspoint in the process – then the Sharks game will probably still give them the opportunity to go top of the log.

If the Bulls get 1 point out of today’s game, they will be just two points behind the Sharks after an equivalent number of games. That means the Sharks clash can provide them with the 4 points necessary to comfortably shoot to top spot.

I don’t rate the Chiefs’ chances. They have too many tough games left, and are too inconsistant in any case. Heck, look what the Lions did to them.

From a Bulls point of view, we must just not slip up against both the Brumbies AND the Chiefs.

• 75.Disa: Reply to this comment

#58 Tacitus: Cheers Tac

Hier is die artikel vir die ouens wat dit nie gesien het nie:

Jan”, die grootste rugbyondersteuner in die land, is besig om ’n kultusfiguur te word.

En rugby-fanatici is nou éérs mal oor Jan nadat dié kordate ondersteuner met die boepensie die wind van voor
    gekry het op die rugbyskrywer Mark Keohane se webblad http://www.keo.co.za.

Keohane het kwaai te velde getrek teen Vodacom se jongste advertensieveldtog waarin Jan die nommer 23-speler (die ondersteuner) van enige rugbyspan uitbeeld.

Keohane beskryf Jan as ’n “kloon van die 1970’s se wit Springbok-rugbyondersteuner”.

Hy skryf hóé Jan lyk en wie hy op die paviljoene verteenwoordig dra by tot die opvatting dat Suid-Afrikaanse rugby steeds die sport is wat oorwegend ondersteun word deur “oorgewig brandewyn-en-coke-boepense”.

“Rugby is vandag meer kosmopolities as ooit tevore.

“Dis jammer dat die advertensie net die verlede oproep terwyl daar soveel meer hedendaags is wat oorgedra kan word, veral met die Britse en Ierse Leeus wat in Junie hier kom speel,” skryf Keohane.

Sy blog het skaars verskyn, of lesers en rugbyondersteuners het dit begin peper met hul eie blogname soos “Maljan”, “Vaaljan”, “Bloubuljan”, “Merlotjan” en “Superjan”.

Een ondersteuner van Jan skryf: “Jan is Chuck Norris se baas”. ’n Ander weer: “Ag, dis lekker om ’n Jan te wees.”

Mnr. Romeo Kumalo, kommersiële direkteur van die Vodacom-groep, sê met die veldtog wou Vodacom vanjaar sy betrokkenheid by Suid-Afrikaanse rugby uitbeeld deur die rugbyondersteuner die middelpunt te maak.

Vodacom moes in die verlede ook kritiek verduur met ander advertensies soos die “Leeuloop-” en die “Kalahari-rugby-advertensie”.

“Daar sal altyd ’n deel van ons samelewing wees wat jy nie kan tevrede stel nie. ‘Jan’ is net die voertuig vir die wisselwerking tussen mense en die spanne wat ons borg,” sê Kumalo.

“Ons wil niemand aanstoot gee nie. Advertensies kan nie net politiek korrek wees nie.

“Rugby is net ’n sport. Laat die rugbyondersteuner toe om homself en die sport ten volle te geniet.”

Kumalo sê die rugbyspelers en Springbokke wat saam met Jan in die advertensies verskyn, is in hul noppies oor die konsep.

“Hulle wil basies aan die ondersteuners hierdeur sê: ‘Dankie dat julle ons ondersteun’.”

Mnr. Grant Jacobsen van die advertensie-agentskap Draft FCB wat die veldtog ontwerp het, sê die besluit op “Jan” het eintlik heel eenvoudig gekom.

“Ons het ’n naam nodig gehad wat kan rym met die musiek, en dit is ‘Jan’ – ’n ‘Jan vir elke span’.”

En die aspirant-akteur wat Jan speel, Malcolm Ferreira, is uitgeknip vir die rol. “Ons het ’n ou gekry met vreeslik baie energie en persoonlikheid, en ’n gesig waarvan mense hou. En ‘Jan’ eet, slaap en drink rugby. Hy is die grootste ondersteuner en verteenwoordig die passie en energie wat alle ondersteuners vir die sport het.”

)?Vodacom se player23-veldtog wil vanjaar se rugbyseisoen “die jaar van die ondersteuner maak”, sê Kumalo.

Buiten die gewone bemarkingstrategie met advertensies is ’n webtuiste geskep waarin rugby-
    ondersteuners hulle behoorlik kan verlustig.

• 76.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#68 Greenpoint-Gunner:
    It is perplexing that when he was there they made the semis 2 years in a row… and when he left they went rock bottom….

• 77.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#76 THE MAULER:

yip, same team same everything, just one man and there you go. what does that tell you?

• 78.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#70 poppa69:
    I think it will either be the Bulls or the Sharks….. Agree on the Chiefs… even if they beat the Cheetahs they still have the Bulls and Stormers to play… very difficult…

• 79.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#74 Tacitus: sorry Tac, but I think they will lose both of those games…

• 80.El Politico: Reply to this comment

#57 poppa69: Poppa, has anyone told you that your posts are generally very tendentious? Haha, you are very partisan. Nothing wrong with that.

• 81.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#77 Greenpoint-Gunner:
    Good coach can take a team places….

• 82.El Politico: Reply to this comment

#78 THE MAULER: The Stormers game won’t be too hard for the Chiefs.

This may just be the Chiefs’ year…

• 83.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#80 El Politico: biased, moi ???? never, Ive always seen perfectly out of this one eye :lol:

• 84.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#82 El Politico: still have my reservations about the chiefs, but I am impressed with their loosies (Latimer and Messam), but you just never know what type of Lauaki you are going to get, and that spells danger to me (for the chiefs)… one mistake may be all it takes to kill a sides season now.. and hes the “go to” guy

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.