Back to his best
21 Apr 2009
Pierre Spies believes he can become the world’s premier No 8.
Speaking in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale now, Spies said he would not make excuses for having confidence in his ability.
‘If you look at the guys out there, not much separates them. I’d like to think I have that extra bit that sets me apart. I know it’ll be perceived as arrogance, like: “Listen to this guy talking himself up. He needs to learn his place.” That’s the way we are as humans isn’t it? We’re encouraged to aspire to be the greatest, then shot down when we do. But it’s not arrogance. I know my limitations and strengths and I’d like to believe that I can be the best in the world.’
Spies also speaks out about allegations that he tested positive for steroids before the 2007 World Cup, how religion helped him stave off depression during that period and his battle with Ryan Kankowski for the Bok jersey, while Heyneke Meyer and Jake White give unique insight into what makes Spies the player he is.
– An out of shape, demotivated JP Pietersen failed to score a single try in last year’s Super 14. The Sharks winger speaks candidly about that nightmare period and how he got his mojo back.
– Sireli Naqelevuki on adjusting to life in Cape Town, Fiji’s player drain to New Zealand, why foreigners should be allowed to play for South African sides, being busted for smoking marijuana, and why he desperately wants to play in the 2011 World Cup.
– George Smith on his goals for the season, why he enjoys playing under the hybrid ELVs, whether Australia could field a competitive fifth Super Rugby side and who he’d pick for the Springbok loose trio.
– With Dan Carter still injured, Luke McAlister’s return to New Zealand in May after a successful two-year stint with Sale could be a godsend for the All Blacks.
– Jake White column: ‘The Boks mustn’t underestimate the Lions’.
– Having enjoyed success on tour in 1971 and 1974, does Welsh legend Gareth Edwards believe this year’s Lions will return from South Africa as heroes too?
– Why getting sevens into the Olympics would help rugby become a truly global game.
– CJ van der Linde desperately wants to be in the Bok front row against the British & Irish Lions, but playing overseas could count against him.
– England’s Kiwi centre Riki Flutey lifts the lid on a youth of gambling, drinking and violence and speaks of his horror time in an Argentinean jail.
– When Matt Stevens became addicted to alcohol and cocaine he knew he was gambling with his rugby career. The England prop explains why he did it, how he reacted when he heard he’d failed a drugs test and his desire to fight his way back from a two-year ban.
– While the Varsity Cup provides a party atmosphere, winning matters.
– Clint Eastwood’s big-screen portrayal of the Springboks’ 1995 World Cup win will tell the story of a divided nation united by rugby. SA Rugby magazine finds out more about the movie starring Matt Damon and Morgan Freeman.
– We speak to Ireland forwards coach Gert Smal who added a Six Nations winners’ medal to those he earned in the Tri-Nations and World Cup.
PLUS: Free double-sided poster featuring Keegan Daniel and JP Nel.

130 Comments
21 Apr 2009, 08:59 am
I’d go for Pietersen and Nokwe.
Stats: Who is SA’s best wing?
2009-04-21
SA’s No 1 wing? (Gallo Images)
Cape Town – Blistering speed and a nose for the tryline: all good wings are born with both, and Lions wing Henno Mentz proved it on Saturday when he scored a fine individual hat-trick of tries against the Reds in Brisbane in Week 10 of Super 14 action.
On the weekend we also saw Bok wing Bryan Habana back to his intercepting best, but should we read anything into the fact that he was caught from behind, before proving that he hasn’t lost the ancient art of the perfect handoff?
And in Kimberley, in-form Cheetahs wing Jongi Nokwe sniffed out another try in a losing team effort against the Chiefs, while in Durban, World Cup winner JP Pietersen returned to action following an injury layoff while his wing partner Odwa Ndungane had yet another afternoon to forget.
So, with the Lions tour just around the corner, who are the form South African wings in the Super 14, according to statistics gathered by Verusco, the New Zealand-based company who supply video analysis systems (and the same numbers we use) to most of the South African Super 14 teams?
We took 10 SA wingers who have racked up more than 200 minutes of game time in the tournament and put them head to head in a number of categories. Oh, and we threw in the Stormers’ Fijian Sireli Naqelevuki for good measure, just to prove, or disprove, Cape fans’ fears that he isn’t the player he was a couple of seasons ago.
First of all, the most important statistic: tries scored. A wing who can’t score tries is like a lock who can’t take a lineout ball. In this regard, Mentz and Pietersen top the list with six tries each, although Pietersen has scored his in 591 minutes of action (one try even 98 minutes) compared to Mentz’s 687 minutes (one try every 114 minutes).
Coming in third is Nokwe with four tries in 343 minutes (one every 86 minutes); fourth is Habana (three in 452min, or one every 150 min). Three players – Akona Ndungane, Danwel Demas and Naqelevuki – have scored two tries each, while Bjorn Basson, Odwa Ndungane and Luzuko Vulindlu have scored one each. Wylie Human has gone 229 minute without crossing the line.
Mentz may be the joint top try-scorer amongst the local wings, but he also tops the list when it comes to handling errors: 24 in 687 mins (avg one every 28 mins), followed by Akona Ndungane with 20 in 701 mins (one every 35 mins). Interestingly, Naqelevuki has not made a single a handling error in 533 minutes of game time so far.
Mentz also tops the list for most metres gained with ball in hand (822), most tackles made (45), and most offloads (10). But on the flipside he has conceded the most turnovers (16) and given away the most penalties (three).
Odwa Ndungane, despite having an average season by his standards, has nevertheless conceded no penalties, made the most cleanouts at the breakdown (42), kicked the most metres (747) and carried the ball (67) more times than any of his fellow wingers.
On the downside, he has missed the most tackles (39) and has not made a single tackle break all season, which neatly sums up his year so far.
Naqelevuki, who has Stormers fans divided over his worth to the team, might not be the explosive runner he was in years past, but he nevertheless is getting through some unseen work while making few mistakes. He hasn’t conceded a penalty in nearly nine hours of action, has conceded the least amount of turnovers (five), claimed more opposition kickoffs (14) than any SA wing, while also making the most turnover tackles (19).
But balancing that out is the revealing stat that he also has not made a single tackle break this season. Ditto for Naqelevuki’s wing partner, Wylie Human, although the late replacement on the tour has made five line breaks.
Habana, meanwhile, has made the most tackle breaks (four), whilst the Cheetahs’ Demas has made the most line breaks (12) as well as forced the most turnovers (eight) – who says playing regularly on the sevens circuit doesn’t help you in fifteens?
But of all the SA wings, Nokwe is perhaps the man in the best form – and the stats bear this out: he is confident with ball in hand and streetwise around the park – basically unrecognisable from the raw youngster who many felt, just a few years ago, was a liability because of his lack of defensive skills.
This season Nokwe hasn’t given away a single a penalty, he has conceded the least amount of turnovers (five), and only missed eight tackles. He has also made six line breaks, forced two turnovers, made seven cleanouts at the breakdown and gained 303 metres with ball in hand to show that he has developed into a fine all-round player while maintaining that blistering speed and a nose for the tryline.
If both are fit, Springbok coach Peter de Villiers will probably pick Habana and Pietersen as his starting wings against the Lions, but as the stats show, he shouldn’t ignore Nokwe and Mentz, given their purple patch of form this year leading into the most important series of matches since the World Cup.
21 Apr 2009, 09:01 am
Spies will be the greatest number 8 ever when he retires from rugby one day.. he is still very young and can still play for many many years.. and with a guy like kankowski pushing for a place, it will just bring out the best in him..
Spies has alot still to work on, like defense, but i believe he can be a legend one day!
21 Apr 2009, 09:03 am
The Sharks need Pienaar ASAP. Steyn is butchering their chances at flyhalf.
Sharks holding thumbs on Ruan
2009-04-21
Gavin Rich
The disciplinary hearings that Keegan Daniel and Jannie du Plessis will be attending on Thursday were the last thing the Sharks needed before the start of their final push for a place in the Super 14 playoffs.
Flanker Daniel was cited for a dangerous tackle and tighthead prop Du Plessis for punching following their team’s 13-10 defeat to the Crusaders in Durban last weekend. Initially the hearings were scheduled for Monday, but as the Sharks players and management are having a short breather before coming together again later this week, the hearings were postponed.
With top players coming back from injury enforced layoffs, it would be a blow to the Sharks if either of Du Plessis or Daniel was suspended. Coach John Plumtree admitted after Saturday’s defeat that the injury situation had made life difficult for his men in the past few weeks.
“You cannot underestimate how difficult injuries can make it for a team, and with some of the top players out, we have had to dig deep in some of our recent games. Hopefully now that the guys are heading back to fitness, we will be back to our best form after the break,” said Plumtree. Two of the three stars that were out returned at the weekend, with Jean Deysel playing off the bench and JP Pietersen resuming on the left wing.
However, it is the status of Ruan Pienaar, perhaps even more than the potential suspensions of Du Plessis or Daniel, that should be most occupying the minds of the Sharks coaching staff. Pienaar has been out since the first half of the match against the Reds and was scheduled to return after the bye week. But it is still touch and go whether he will be ready for the Highlanders game in Durban in the first weekend of May.
A return to full fitness for Pienaar will be crucial to their chances of going through their last three games unbeaten, which Plumtree agrees they need to do if they are to advance to the semifinal spot that seemed almost assured for them just two weeks ago.
For while the ball hugging and driving abilities of Deysel were clearly missed when he was absent, it is in the crucial decision-making axis of flyhalf/inside centre that the Sharks have most suffered in the games where they have lost.
Frans Steyn is a highly talented backline player, but though he wants to play flyhalf, he struggles to impose himself there. The Crusaders game was another of those fixtures where Steyn looked clumsy and a second or two too slow with his decision-making. It had an impact on the sharpness of the Sharks attacking, something they could not afford against the magnificent, well organised and efficient Crusaders defensive system.
There is another reason that Pienaar’s return should be welcomed, and it also relates to Steyn. When Pienaar and Steyn play together at 10 and 12, the Sharks don’t just have two play-makers, they also have two highly skilled kickers alongside one another. The most successful teams down the years, and you just have to look at the World Cup-winning teams down the years to see the proof of this, have tended to have two flyhalves in those positions.
The Sharks’ kicking game was poor against the Crusaders and was one of the reasons they lost. With Pienaar there, they have an extra option, and so much of the Sharks’ success this season has been based around the kick and chase approach.
21 Apr 2009, 09:05 am
another cover for one of SA Rugby mag’s favourites…oh well…punt punt goes the hype machine…
21 Apr 2009, 09:06 am
Suck on this skopskiet the simpleton:
Bring back Butch – Smal
2009-04-20
By Stephen Nell – Die Burger
Cape Town – Pick Butch James at flyhalf. That was the advice on Monday from former Springbok assistant coach Gert Smal to the Springbok selectors ahead of the Test series against the British and Irish Lions in June and July.
Smal is now Ireland’s forwards coach, but still does not want to see the Boks lose a series by making the same mistakes as in 1997. That means South Africa should play with a reliable goalkicker.
“You can’t play test rugby without a goalkicker. Butch’s temperament and presence can create space for the South African backs,” said Smal.
“He may not maintain an 80 percent success ratio in his kicking at posts, but he’s reliable enough. His form is good and he has the right temperament. Butch gives the players around him a lot of confidence.”
Ruan Pienaar, who was entrusted with the No 10 jersey on South Africa’s tour in November, has not played since the Sharks’ defeat against the Reds on 14 March.
He has been sidelined with a knee injury. He only kicked for posts against the Stormers and Lions.
Scrumhalf Rory Kockott took over from him in those games and has subsequently handled the goalkicking.
“The Lions will definitely test Ruan’s defence. They won’t do that with Butch,” said Smal.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers recently told Sport24 that he would like to see the Sharks show more confidence in Pienaar as goalkicker.
Smal believes Kockott could be a “dark horse” for South Africa because of his kicking boot.
“Fourie du Preez and Ricky Januarie are, however, established,” said Smal.
21 Apr 2009, 09:19 am
And with that (by posting proper rugby news on this thread) my work here is done. Adios.
21 Apr 2009, 09:21 am
#1 El Politico:
I’d also go for Nokwe and Pieterson.
21 Apr 2009, 09:26 am
#2 ray-bulls_fan: Mmmmmm………
21 Apr 2009, 09:27 am
Habana the back to his intercept best…only difference is he now runs like prop.
21 Apr 2009, 09:28 am
I thought he could become a phenomenon, but am not so sure.
He has all the physical attributes, but not sure of mental.
Time will tell, but he needs to start believing in himself and busting through tackles, running harder and tackling harder, in short upping his grit and workrate and making a handful of himself in the tight, only when he does this consistently even when his pack are going backward can he be considered among the best.
Nokwe needs to be drafted into the Bok side, the oke literally carries himself like a cheetah. Habana has lost his pace. The guys are right to do resistance training, but the speedsters need to be given better programs, Habana’s worse off for the muscle he’s put on. He still is a great player, but not the player of old, needs to get back to a leaner shape where he was plenty strong enough before.
21 Apr 2009, 09:31 am
At least Butch and Cj should be welcomed back into the Bok fold…if it were up to me i would have B J Botha back as well…why take any chances…the lessons of 1997 must not be forgotted…Edrich Lubbe missing kick after kick….9 tries to 3 and we still lost.
Spies lacks the one thing that makes players great…. Anticipation, reading the game.
Spies is the best 8 in the country…
21 Apr 2009, 09:32 am
I don’t see how dropping Habana for a while can be a mistake. Everyone would love him to regain his 07 form, but that has just not happened.
Surely if you have two other wingers on fire, you should be milking them?
I do not think a Lions test series is the place to go and see if he can regain his form.
21 Apr 2009, 09:35 am
Matt Damon plays Francois Pienaar…just plain ridiculous.
how’s that midget going to carry off a 6ft4 110kg Bok flanker?
21 Apr 2009, 09:35 am
#14 Dumb Supporter: He lost the one important thing that all wingers should have….speed. Something to do with all the padding?
21 Apr 2009, 09:36 am
#11 grant10: was that 9 tries to 3 over three tests or two?
21 Apr 2009, 09:36 am
The bigger looseforward question is, who should be dropper to make way for Brussouw. The Cheetahs flanker has been the most valueable loosie around IMO.
But I’m sure snorre wil go with Smith, Burger and Spies.
21 Apr 2009, 09:43 am
#16 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: I don’t know the reason for him loosing his blistering pace. He had a few minor shoulder injuries but nothing that you would expect would influence his speed.
There has been some articles saying he has lost focus and spends more time in photo sessions that gym sessions. Others say the visual consultant (Sherel ?) needs to work on him again.
Nothing seems like the reason for loosing speed. But it is very concerning that SA Rugby and the Bulls have allowed a phenomena like Habana to basically fade away.
We can only hope that some effort is going into resurrecting him to his former glory.
21 Apr 2009, 09:44 am
This bloke has no idea on how to tackle properly, until he does, he will be a liability gainst big packs of forwards, ala Bob Skinstad when SA lost to England on route to a record for consecutive wins.
Maybe apoint Butch James to mentor him in that department.
He remains a supersub in my books. Deysel for eightman…? Can work.
21 Apr 2009, 09:46 am
#9 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts:
I reckon Gcobani Bobo could reel Habana now
21 Apr 2009, 09:54 am
Spies is the best No 8 in South Africa. No doubt about it.
21 Apr 2009, 09:55 am
#19 Dumb Supporter: Habana began to lose form when he got an upper body injury in the 2008 S14
21 Apr 2009, 09:57 am
Daardie is nie ‘n foto van Spies nie, dit lyk meer soos Stevan Segal voor hy iemand …. !
21 Apr 2009, 09:58 am
#12 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: and whewre do u come up with that conclusion??
21 Apr 2009, 10:17 am
Isn’t this an old SA Rugby issue? Or was it Sports Illustrated?
Anyway, Spies is playing well at the moment. Best no.8 in the S14 this year.
However, the excitment he generated initially was because he has the potential to be the Johah Lomu of no.8′s. I still think he can be that. But he’s not close to that yet. Good to see that he sets lofty goals for himself.
21 Apr 2009, 10:17 am
Spies kannie tackle nie
21 Apr 2009, 10:18 am
I must say ever since AB de Villiers made the same clame, hes been in awesome form. Hopefully the same happens for Spies.
I still feel Kanko has more to offer though and my first choice no.8 would actually be Schalk with Brussouw playing no.6
21 Apr 2009, 10:23 am
#23 Big Hit: They say Habana got quicker (and Bigger) after every off season since playing for the Lions. I think in 2007/8 he hit a plateau and started to get injured as he tried to push through it. In my non medical opinion he needs to get injury free and settle for the pace he had in 2006
21 Apr 2009, 10:25 am
#26 Tacitus: Yip looks a lot like the Sports illustrated cover recently
21 Apr 2009, 10:26 am
CAB – A young Dolph Lundgren would have been an ideal actor for Francios Pienaar, tall and built like brick latrine!! Are you sure Matt Damon is Pienaar?
Anyway onto the wings. I was shocked to see how easily Habana was hunted down when he scored his intercept try. But he does do the other things well, tackling, clearing out etc. Maybe Habs should go and spend sometime training with Usain Bolt. Habana is famous enuff, he could take sometime out and do speed training with the pros.
Onto flyhalves. I am worried about putting too much trust in Butch, as i have never seen him have a successful Tri-Nations for the Boks, or an international series in SA. He seems better suited for the NH with his 100kg frame. In 2006 it was the return of Pretoors which helped the Boks to win the last 2 games of that Tri-Nations. I was hoping for a return to form for Pretoors, as he is a good Bok campainger in the SH with his ability to kick off both feet.
21 Apr 2009, 10:27 am
Spies must first learn how to tackle and improve his ball handling skills before he can be considered SA’s best No.8. He is talking about that extra bit that sets him apart from his peers; I hope that he was not referring to poor tackling technique and terrible ball handling skills.
21 Apr 2009, 10:27 am
#29 Bok fan:
The truth is that Habana was NEVER as fast as everyone claimed. In fact, his best acknowledged 100m is something like 11 seconds. Granted, this was at school, but I think his anticipation and acceleration has lead to far more tries than his sheer pace.
Now that his pace has slipped slightly it is just more noticable.
He is still a valuable player however, and certainly quicker than the Ndungane twins and other average pace S14 wings.
21 Apr 2009, 10:32 am
#2 ray-bulls_fan:
#8 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: I think that Spies will have to up his tackle count, improve his handling skills and then stop hiding away when things get toughbefore he can be classed as great.
21 Apr 2009, 10:35 am
#33 Tacitus:
That Ndungane down at the Sharks is probably as quick as Brian, but my money would be on Nokwe to beat them both in a foot race on grass with ball in hand.
Between Mentz, Chavanga and those three there is probably less than a .5 second difference from tryline to tryline.
Chavanga from a standing start is the quickest of them all, I reckon!
And then there is Andries Bekker,of course, hehehehe!
21 Apr 2009, 10:37 am
A poster of JP Nel? No if ever the was a reason to rush out and buy a copy…
21 Apr 2009, 10:40 am
After viewing Hab’s intercept try a few times now I cannot help but wonder if he’s not playing with an injury of some sort.
21 Apr 2009, 10:43 am
#33 Tacitus: Agreed. I think the marketers have been missing out for years on having an annual sprinting event for provincial rugby players. Everyone wants to know who the quickest rugby players are. Would be great to watch. Could even have a prop race as a curtain raiser
21 Apr 2009, 10:43 am
Seeing as the Lions squad is beng announced later today, when will the Bok squad be announced?
21 Apr 2009, 10:44 am
Spies has been great this season. He will destroy the Lions. Lets just hope we do not have too many injuries. Joan Devilliers and Jaque Fourie need to be firing too.
Lions anounced at 13:30 today UK time chaps. 14:30 for SA chaps.
When do the Boks anounce their squad??
21 Apr 2009, 10:46 am
#35 Pietman: Chavanga would get injured before he reached the finish line.
#9 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: You are so right. I was shocked. However he is probably a still trying to regain his fitness. Give him 2 more matches and he will pull away. He started running at half pace to begin with then he started accelerating too late. He will be back..
#40 Tbozknows:

joan de villiers??
come-on, i know the stormers didnt do well, but that wasnt called for!
21 Apr 2009, 10:47 am
Terblanche did run around Habana like he was not there in the currie cup final as well!
21 Apr 2009, 10:48 am
#41 Loosehead:
Hehehehe! true…but I would like some sponsor to arrange a sprint between those speedsters of ours.
Should be fun.
21 Apr 2009, 10:49 am
Hi there everyone. Off the topic but can anyone tell me what happened with the citations of Keegan Daniels and Jannie Du Plessis?
21 Apr 2009, 10:49 am
Ouboet is n yster!
Finnish en klaar!
21 Apr 2009, 10:50 am
#17 Big Hit: 3 tests
21 Apr 2009, 10:51 am
He should watch some old tapes of Zinzan Brooke in action, he might learn a few things.
21 Apr 2009, 10:54 am
#46 lilith: Hearing postponed till Thursday 12:00 noon.
21 Apr 2009, 10:54 am
#46 lilith: only being heard on thutsday….supporting Arsenal tonight
21 Apr 2009, 10:56 am
Even more suprising than Habana getting caught was Kokwe getting caught by Kankowski 2 weeks ago. Fair enough, he didn’t tackle him, but to even get a hand on him from behind must take some pace
21 Apr 2009, 11:02 am
Zinny could teach him how to slot 40m drop goals at Loftus.
#43 Ashley: Stormer are a difficult side to watch.. Only Duane Vermuelan has impressed me in that team. The usual suspects will come good when called upon (i.e Burger an Devilliers).
#52 Richie: Nokwe?
21 Apr 2009, 11:03 am
#52 Richie: Kanko did well to come close.. He is a pacey 8th man but Nokwe should be leaving day light between himself and forwards. Kanko is quick.
21 Apr 2009, 11:04 am
Fastest rugby players in SA: In descending order, Tacitus version:
1. Gerhard vd Heever – Former SA U/18 110m Hurdles record holder and current Bulls wing.
2. Tonderai Chavanga – rumoured to be uber-fast, when in one piece.
3. Jongi Nokwe – Clearly uber fast, and usually in one piece.
4. Stephan Dippenaar – Apparently the 2nd quickest guy at the Bulls, after vd Heever.
5. Brian Habana – (At his quickest, not currently.)
6. Marius Delport – A former 10.6 100m athlete at school level.
According to the Bulls website a Bulls 4x100m relay team would consist of:
Gerhard vd Heever, Stephan Dippenaar, Brian Habana and Marius Delport/Pierre Spies.
I don’t know about the other provinces in SA. What we know for sure after last Saturday is that Nokwe is significantly faster than Ryan Kankowski – even when encumbered by a rugby ball under his arm.
21 Apr 2009, 11:05 am
#51 grant10: I am hoping my Liverpool boys pull through to top of the table.
Liverpool has no Gerrard
Arsenal has no Adebayor
We have to wait and see.
21 Apr 2009, 11:06 am
#31 race of tan:
ja, i think so, the last paragraph of the article talks about damon and morgan freeman, difficult to see how damon could play madiba and freeman to play pienaar.
Yes you make good points on Habana, which is that he has become more than speed, but Habana was always physical, he had natural wirey strength, i just think he needs to adapt his training and recover some of that blitzspeed. Its very hard to defend against sheer pace. i wonder if JP has not in fact overtaken Habana over 50m?
think they have to bring back Butch for his sheer experience in such a huge series. Pienaar injured and its a big call to play Grant there esp when Rassie is not selecting him consistently. Steyn not really impressed at 10.
21 Apr 2009, 11:06 am
#50 Dantalion: Thanks.
21 Apr 2009, 11:09 am
#52 Richie:
Kanko is very fast, but he also had a slight angle on Nokwe.
In a flat out race, would not get close.
Nokwe can also step tremendously well.
He looks like a different player these days, far more confidence.
the starting wing positions are obvious, i.e. Habana and JP, but for my money Nokwe is the next choice with Chavanga injured.
21 Apr 2009, 11:10 am
#57 Tacitus: Chavanga is the quickest winger in SA rugby. He runs times like 10:4 for the 100m. Even at high school he was running similar times. As for Habana, at his best I hear he runs 10:4 t00. He needs time as he has only just come back from an injury.
21 Apr 2009, 11:12 am
Ok sit nou eers jou veiligheidsgordel aan voor jy verder lees:
My 2009 verkiesingsboodskap is soos volg:
As jy terug verlang na die dae van wit dominasie (en wat daarmee gepaard gaan) sal ek jou aanraai om geduld te hê. Jy gaan lank wag.
As jy jou verlekker in swart dominasie (en wat daarmee gepaard gaan) jou dae is getel. Dis net ‘n kwessie van tyd.
O ja, en stem teen poligamie.
21 Apr 2009, 11:13 am
#59 cab: I think you are right about Butch. However Pienaar needs to be a starting 10 coz kicking points are crucial at test level. Butch may cost us the series witgh his missed kicks.
21 Apr 2009, 11:16 am
#56 Tbozknows:

think theres a bit of a difference between the habana and nokwe incidents:
habana intercepted which means the defence is caught on the wrong foot and still need to turn around
…
nokwe’s try came after the ball was turned over, brussouw broke one or two tackles before passing to nokwe … by that time kankowski (who can outrun most wings) were already coming over on the cover defense.
…
nokwe, my friend, is really seriously quick
…
i saw him playing while he was still almost unknown and saw him do stuff to players like what he did to muliaina
…
even when i think back to the first game i saw him play in, … i still have trouble closing my mouth!!
21 Apr 2009, 11:17 am
#61 cab: You are right Chavangha has been a no show at international level. He is pacey but he is poor in contact. JP is essential to SA rugby right now. His defence and work rate. It is like having a flanker on the wing. He is not the fastest but he runs good lines and is good in the contact area. He was my god during the autumn internationals.. He was a consistant performer. Against Wales and England he was important to the tries we scored..
21 Apr 2009, 11:18 am
#57 Tacitus:
hey
…
you forgot about sireli!!
21 Apr 2009, 11:19 am
#65 Ashley:
He played for Boland, didn’t he, when he used to live in Kayaletsha ?
He seems like a nice kid, comes over very modestly during the two interviews I have seen.
I hope he gets a change against the British, I like him.
21 Apr 2009, 11:19 am
#65 Ashley: I think No0kwe is a good finisher. Probably one of the best in SA. If he has one man to beat he will take him with ease. He has a strange sidestep which works every time.
21 Apr 2009, 11:21 am
#61 cab:
agree
….
and to think the stormers didnt want him ….. hehehe …c*nts!!
21 Apr 2009, 11:28 am
#68 Pietman:
yebo …. and he was playing for daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarling, of course!!
man, just thinking about that, and i have to force my mouth to close!!
but yes, he’s quite modest (more shy than anything else, i would bet). a really nice chap!!
#69 Tbozknows:
yeah … he can step of both feet … and that at speed! he’s good, he really is. hope he’ll get the chance to develop even more … i really believe he’s pretty much still the raw product … think he still need a bit of work on eg. defense and under the high ball!
21 Apr 2009, 11:29 am
#58 lilith: is it at Anfield?
21 Apr 2009, 11:30 am
#71 Ashley:
Darling!
I thought he was from the E-Cape?
21 Apr 2009, 11:35 am
Interesting to read that the Stormers winger, Naqelevuki, ONCE tested for smoking da ‘erb. Will, he plays like he hasnt stopped – have the Stormers signed the only slow Fijian winger on the Planet ? I cant figure out why he keeps getting selected. He must be getting his medicine from da coach.
21 Apr 2009, 11:35 am
#73 Pietman:
yes, he is!!
whilst playing for boland, we … uhm … sort of took him “under our wing”
21 Apr 2009, 11:38 am
Aaaahhh the Spies Kanko debate.
Spies for me, no question. (even though I think both should play seven in modern rugby).
Where Spies takes it over Kanko is simple upper body strength.
Both are quick, both have decent hands and both are very decent players, but Spies strength makes it able for you to use him both as a ball carrier getting over the advantage line as well as a strike runner in multi-phase play or from line-outs.
His strength makes him stay on his feet just those couple of extra seconds longer which is crucial when carrying the ball up especially from the back of scrum where you run away a lot of the time from your support.
Thing is Spies can play a more traditional, Danie Rossouw type 8th man role and a modern one like Kanko equally effective.
This gives you options as a coach and the ability to change a game plan without changing players or using subs.
True, Spies does need to work on his defense but defense is all technique coupled with attitude, you can fix that.
Natural ability, I will pick Spies as he simply gives me more options.
21 Apr 2009, 11:41 am
#75 Ashley:
You did a good job there with Jongi!
But I’d rather live in Darling than Bloemfontein.
Only problem is will have to play for Boland then, at muddy ‘Smellington’, hehehehe!
21 Apr 2009, 11:42 am
#76 PissAnt:
agree.
think the spies/ kankowski debate ended a while a go, though
…
how about a spies/joe van niekerk debate?
21 Apr 2009, 11:46 am
#77 Pietman:
naaah, i think he made the correct move
i think he missed a chance a while back when the bulls wanted to sign him
just cant believe that demas was preferred over him in the previous games (when he came back from injury)though!!
21 Apr 2009, 11:53 am
#79 Ashley:
Tell me, who took him on tour to the UK first, Jake or PdeV.
I remember he went, but didn’t get any game time.
Just as well PdeV lives in Paarl, or else we might never have seen this man in national colours.
If the Bulls had signed him he would also have been sidelined, with Habana there.
No, he made the right move, WP or Cheetahs.
Rassie should have grabbed him first instead of the Fijian!
21 Apr 2009, 11:56 am
#66 Tbozknows:
LOL I agree. Nokwe has a very strange side-step. I once played against a chap with a similiar sort of step in High School (its more of a ‘stop-start’ shimmy isn’t it?) and he left me flat on my bum one-on-one as he ghosted in for a try.
21 Apr 2009, 11:57 am
#57 Tacitus: where did u get that from? is it facts or u guessing? cos its pretty interesting… didnt know stefan dippenaar was THAT quick?
21 Apr 2009, 12:01 pm
Isnt it great that we can actually all argue about who should be in certain positions as there are so many candidates for positions in the bok team.. I think South African rugby is very healthy at the moment, we have alot of depth.. except for flyhalf.. but when have we ever had depth at flyhalf? infact when have we ever had a world class fly-half apart from Henry Honibal?
21 Apr 2009, 12:08 pm
#80 Pietman:
jake did … think back in 2004?
he didnt play a single game
he was also not considered good enough for the 2nd team that toured nz and aus in 2007
21 Apr 2009, 12:14 pm
#80 Pietman: made the right move going to the cheetahs? he is playing in a losing team.. ?
21 Apr 2009, 12:19 pm
#83 ray-bulls_fan:
nasty booter?
21 Apr 2009, 12:22 pm
#85 ray-bulls_fan:
No, having left the Boland, he made the right move!
Obviously the Bull would have been a much bigger opportunity, especially with the great academy and ‘development culture’ they have over there.
Perhaps the fact that Habana was there as the number one had made him hesitant to move to Pta…..
21 Apr 2009, 12:22 pm
#85 ray-bulls_fan:
if you can stand out in a losing team, you’re due to be noticed, arent you?
anyway, think the cheetahs were the only team (after the bulls) who were interested in him.
think thats about to change, though!!
21 Apr 2009, 12:24 pm
#84 Ashley:
We might have lost him then, under Jake…..
21 Apr 2009, 12:25 pm
#87 Pietman: oh yeah ofcourse… im surprised WP didnt take him..
#88 Ashley: yip, he is doing well at the cheetahs i must say.. i didnt even know the bulls were interested in him…
21 Apr 2009, 12:26 pm
#88 Ashley:
Always a big decision as well for a Cape Town boytjie to relocate to Snor City!
I remember he said he had a girlfriend in the Cape still…
21 Apr 2009, 12:29 pm
Are there pictures of Matt Damon in this mag.
21 Apr 2009, 12:30 pm
#88 Ashley:
Corne Uys?
21 Apr 2009, 12:31 pm
#91 Pietman: Hello boetie van my…
Ek’s maar leep-oog vandag…. eers vanoggend so 2:15am by die huis gekom van kliente af… so 3:00am gaan slaap… weer op gewees 7:00am…
Ek is behoorlik spoedloos…
21 Apr 2009, 12:32 pm
#90 ray-bulls_fan:
Rassie’s folly, preferring to import the big Fijian.
I doubt if he had ever given Nokwe any thought, sitting right next door to him in Darling….
21 Apr 2009, 12:33 pm
#94 grootblousmile:
Klink woes swaer!
Nee hel, ek weer nie meer so nie, ek is klaar met daai…
21 Apr 2009, 12:37 pm
#96 Pietman: As die PUT in die KALF is…. dan arbei mens maar….
Ek is eers weg na die klient toe gister na 5:00 pm nadat ek by my prokurowers in Groenkloof was…. moes toe nog ‘n hele Netwerk aanmekaarknoop en klooooomp ou data oordra na klompie nuwe rekenaars…
Kom toe laasnag by die huis en het ‘n mailboksie wat verwoed met my raas…. eishhhhhh
21 Apr 2009, 12:40 pm
#90 ray-bulls_fan:
well, then youre about the only one left suprised by the idiots running wp rugby!
and on the bulls, they were surely interested
oh, and i’ve found another interesting bit of news
“The Lions have given Jonghi Nokwe the boot ahead of this year’s (2007) Vodacom Super 14″
i know who’s kicking themselves now!!!
21 Apr 2009, 12:43 pm
Kon hulle nie ‘n beter foto van Pierre op die voorblad gesit het nie?
Waar is Saai-min? Hy vra mos altyd wat ons van die voorblad dink? Of die speler op die voorbald vir ons mooi lyk …
21 Apr 2009, 12:45 pm
#99 Sheriff:
“Of die speler op die voorbald vir ons mooi lyk …”
21 Apr 2009, 12:46 pm
#98 Ashley:
Was he at the Lions as well?
And now Trompie has also left them, for Kimberley, would you believe….
They lost two great players then.
I really hope to see Nokwe against the Lions
21 Apr 2009, 12:46 pm
see the rassie vote is quite even!!
296 for sacking him
296 against
21 Apr 2009, 12:47 pm
#95 Pietman: big big mistake… i remember jake picked him for the springboks and nobody even knew who he was.. now look at him..
#98 Ashley: hehe yeah they must be regretting it big time..
i do actually remember the bulls wanting him last year but apparently he didnt want to come to the bulls..
21 Apr 2009, 12:48 pm
#99 Sheriff: #101 Pietman:
Swak foto, ek het hom glad nie herken nie, eers gedink dis JP Nel!
21 Apr 2009, 12:59 pm
#101 Pietman:
unfortunately
nokwe’s case highlights how many talent can get lost because of idiots whose either coaching, running the different unions, or the k@k structures in place at certain unions.
if i remember correctly the lions didnt want him because of deficiencies and so did the stormers!
21 Apr 2009, 13:01 pm
#104 Pietman:
ek sien darem hulle’t die keer seker gemaak die ou op die voorblad vou nie sy arms nie
…
dit lyk nogal vir my of hulle sy arms moes vashou om te keer dat hy nie gevoude arms staan nie!
21 Apr 2009, 13:02 pm
#104 Pietman:
Ja swakker as swak.
Hy lyk amper asof hy poseer vir ‘n tronkfoto.
Ek’t gedog fotograwe moet ‘n oog hê vir dit wat goed lyk, baie naief van my…
21 Apr 2009, 13:02 pm
anyway guys, time for lunch.
see you later!
21 Apr 2009, 13:03 pm
#105 Ashley:
Jongi is in elk geval beter as Habs.
Habs lyk my is halfblind – kan nie bal vang nie.
21 Apr 2009, 13:04 pm
#108 Ashley:
Pagad chips?
21 Apr 2009, 13:16 pm
#66 Tbozknows:
yip both chav and nokwe not great in contact, but that sheer speed gives oppo backlines a whole lot more to think about cos they have to cover those speed merchants very tightly.
#70 Ashley:
must say tho, nokwe looks a completely different player this year and could be the real deal, whereas before he just looked too uncertain and fragile. he could be used as a real attacking weapon especially if he’s confidence is boulstered even more.
21 Apr 2009, 14:36 pm
#111 cab:
agree. he definately just look that more confident
…
is it perhaps because someone showed confidence in his ability?
anyway, nokwe isnt the first player deemed not good enough in the cape … the list of such players who achieved success elsewhere is long
therefore my reason for describing them (wp coaches, decision makers etc)
as
c*nts!!
21 Apr 2009, 14:49 pm
#111 cab: Nokwe looks to have bulked up a bit since last season. I just wish Plumtree would get his cheque book out and purchase him, lord knows we need another class wing at the Sharks!
I honestly believe we would’ve won on Saturday if we had Nokwe instead of Ndungane. I still can’t get over how Odwa failed to score a try with no-one to beat! Jeez even Demas wouldn’t have screwed up so badly. Why didn’t he just dive for the ball? Useless!
Vulindlu must start in place of Odwa from now on, he’s inexperienced but it just can’t get any worse than Saturday’s performance! I don’t think you can blame the Sharks lose solely on Steyn, Ndungane should also take responsibility as well as Pietersen because he should’ve picked up that ball rather than toeing it down field…eish!
21 Apr 2009, 14:53 pm
First choice 11 and 14 against the Lions should be Habana and JPP with Nokwe and Mentz as cover on the bench.
21 Apr 2009, 17:01 pm
#113 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
sharks squandered alot of chances on sat, pretty dissapointing really, could count alot. seem to lose to the weakest teams in the comp or at least those with the lightest packs. strange.
21 Apr 2009, 17:55 pm
#26 Tacitus:
Jonahs whole career – prior to his Test debut vs France, on the wing – was at no8.
Fantastic coverage of Jonah playing 1st XV rugby, swatting guys off like flies. Literally. He was no8 for NZ Seondary Schoolboys for 2/3yrs.
#33 Tacitus:
Thats really interesting, Makes sense, re his anticipation. Quick but not lightning. But lightning in the top 2 inches.
Similarly I like Dougie Howlett. No sidestep or power like S.Williams or Jonah but seriously serially concentrating, ready to pounce on every opportunity. Similarly, in that way, to Habana.
I still put Habana as the best wing around altho his form this year is surely just building. Surely ?!
21 Apr 2009, 18:18 pm
#115 cab: We really did miss many very good chances. Knocked on a few times right on their line. Many other chances just went begging. Very poor handling errors. If I actually count all the times we should have scored we actually should have put 20 past them and won with a bonus point. Its gone we have to move on now. Maybe wont even make the semi. If we have to travel to NZ then hope we don’t make the semi. Rather just get ready for the Lions tour. Players will be just far too tired. We need a home semi and final. Not sure it will happen now.
This year we should have asked for the S14 to start a week or two early. As we have the Lions tour staring so soon after the S14. Wish S14 ended this year mid May. Would have given players a rest before starting to train for the Lions series. Going to be tough. By the time we play 3N we will be dead on our feet. Far too much rugby being played. One tourney finishes and the next starts. Crazy. Need breaks before each tourney.
21 Apr 2009, 22:06 pm
To Spies
if you want to be a premier 8 and have a complete game you have got to learn to tackle. i am not talking about making a tackle so that the guy doesnt run right through or round you and you get him to ground….i am talking about learning to OWN the tackle. you have got to learn to use your size and strength to dominate in the tackle.
at present you are making tackles the same way someone like brent russell or other smaller guys make hits, by just trying to get your man to the ground. that is not good enough for an 8. every tackle is an opportunity to impact the situation at ruck time.
as Chopper would say, “harden the eff up!”
21 Apr 2009, 23:41 pm
i dnt see y people keep suggesting haban be dropped .i fu ask me its not gonna happen and it should nt !
fisrt of habs is a better all round player ,nokwe scores lucky tries habana scored an intercept under tremendous pressure with an overlap and he still pulled it off with a textbook hand off !
secondly the cheetahs prefer to give the ball out wide to their dangerman nokwe whilst moren steyn rather prefers to kick or give it to the bruiser forwards .
then theres defence HABS has nade 31 tackles compared to nokwes 12 enough said !!
21 Apr 2009, 23:49 pm
#118 Tomsta: I agree.
21 Apr 2009, 23:51 pm
#120 SodaJoe: But I think he’s very close. Compared to last year he’s doing a lot of hard yards, he sucks in a lot of defenders, and he just needs to know that a man of his size scares the fk out of someone on the other side.
It seems more technique to me.
Maybe Buck can give him a lesson or 2.
21 Apr 2009, 23:54 pm
#121 SodaJoe: More important to the Bok cause is 10 & 3.
Ruan needs to own the position for ever. (I hope he is doing a LOT of practice kicking). Butch should stay in retirement.
And Smit is a 2. CJ or BJ at 3. Simple.
Number 8 – and loosies in general we have plenty. Although Piet Snor might just have to get used to Schalk not being an opensider.
21 Apr 2009, 23:58 pm
#52 Richie: Have you ever seen Kanko on a run? There are damn few wingers that can beat him at full speed, much less round him on the outside!! He does take a bit of distance to get up to speed though. He is faster than Spies.
You could see Nokwe surge past him in the first few metres, but not enough in the long run to get past him totally.and let me make this clear: Nokwe is BLOODY fast.
22 Apr 2009, 00:01 am
Why dont the Boks get Habana to play at 13/15 and then we can use Nokwe as a Bok winger? I am MOST ipressed with Nokwe- he has realy matured into agreat winger – he has finishing abilities second to none.
22 Apr 2009, 00:03 am
#123 SjamBok: Shimmie. But I would be happier if he ran straight every now & then. Took the hit and drew in defenders. Like a real 8.
He is blitz vinnig, but he is a known entity now, and they know if they crowd him he crabs sideways.
22 Apr 2009, 00:05 am
#124 SjamBok: Good finisher, but kak defender. Especially vs high ball. Weak tackler too. Maybe in 2 years time.
He does make finishing look effortless though.
22 Apr 2009, 00:07 am
#124 SjamBok: Terblanche, Zane, Ludick. All are excellent 15′s – why would we convert an out of form Habana in to a full back?
22 Apr 2009, 00:08 am
#127 SodaJoe: And Conrad is so out of form, what a pity. But he’s definitely not in top 3 or even 4 fullbacks (Daniller is very good too).
22 Apr 2009, 00:29 am
#127 SodaJoe: Because they dont have Habana’s speed in space.
Expect the rugby rules to change again soon to make it more of a certainty that attacking teams get their ball back from a ruck. This means that teams will prefer to run more and kick less, and will make Habana useful at fullback. the current uncertainty means that teams prefer to kick and chase, which is ruining rugby as a spectacle. I dont like the aerial ping pong -nobody does- too much like Aussie rules football!
Terblanch is good, but getting old. Zane is good and shows promise, but is still not as fast with a bit of space to run in. Good off the bench.
For the current rules, it just makes the most sense to have Steyn at 15, to slot drop goals from the halfway line every time that they kick the ball in field on defence. It is REALLY stupid not to use this option – really easy points that no-one can match! Even if he only slots 1 in 5, this happens many times a game. We need to play the percentages cleverly.
Then, when they start kicking the ball out, we get a good attacking platform in their half. If they kick it out directly after passing back, we get an even better attacking platform.
But for now, 13 is probably best suited for Hanbana with is drop in speed, his reading of the games and intercepts (look what JdV did from 13 with his intercepts). His pace wil also make space on his outside for Nokwe, since opposition will stillneed plenty of manpower to mark him.
22 Apr 2009, 06:21 am
#129 SjamBok: disagree abt habana. the guy doesnt have the game to play 13. he is a winger through and through. sure he can cover the position at provincial and super level but at test he just hasnt got it. the will also need to learn how to pass effectively at pace to be able to play 13 and/or 15. at the moment habana is not good at passing the ball.
sure terblanche has made a good comeback. he provides solidarity and gives guys around him a lot of confidence. i would however stick with jantjies, and i think the coach will stick with him too, and possibly be a similar case of jp’s poor prov and super form and then striking hot for test level. jantjies i feel needs to be given the torch and we just gotta believe in him. dropping him now for a player who will only serve 1 last season in bok colours is hardly a step forward. jantjies will be prime age for 15 come next world cup. his maturity and presence then with the experience over these next few years will be vital. i reckon you put faith back in him.
steyn at most is cover for jdv at 12. possible bench cover at 15/10, but only if injuries occur. the last few weeks of seeing him at 10 for the sharks proves the kid has skill, no doubt about that, but also proves he doesnt have the game right now to play 10. defensive lines like the crusaders only needed one player to push up quickly and the defenders in the inside channels to come up slower to convince steyn there was a gap to exploit by stepping inside. he fell for it over and over again, and he didnt seem capable of identifying this strategy and allowing his outside backs to get fluid ball. if steyn is going to be encouraged to remain an instinctive player the boks will need him to be surrounded by more astute ball players to give steyn the ball when its right (@12) and therefor put him positions to let his instinct run wild without negative effects.
i do like nokwe too. for me its either him or chavanga. both provide electrifying speed and finishing ability, and both at this time still bring defensive frailties. but i cant look past keep our wing combination intact for Lions tour.