Dickinson gets Lions Test

Bryce Lawrence, Stuart Dickinson and Christophe Berdos will referee the Springboks’ Tests against the Lions.

Kiwi Lawrence will open up the Test series in Durban on 20 June, Frenchman Berdos will officiate the second at Loftus, while Australian Dickinson is in charge of the potential decider at Ellis Park on 4 July.

The Lions did not want merit-based appointments for the Tests and as a result only neutral refs from France and Australasia were available.

For the remaining seven tour matches, merit-based appointments were made with officials from South Africa, Wales, England and Ireland in charge.

Marius Jonker will get the tour underway when the Royal XV take on the Lions in Rustenburg, while Craig Joubert (South Africa), Wayne Barnes (England), Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Mark Lawrence (South Africa) and Nigel Owens (Wales) will also take charge of provincial matches.

Irishman Alain Rolland will referee the match between the Lions and Emerging Springboks at Newlands on 23 June.