Readjusting to the rules

Eddie Jones doesn’t believe switching from the hybrid to global ELVs will affect the Springboks come the Lions series.

The Boks will play the under the global ELVs for the first time since the year-end tour and Jones believes it should suit the Boks, even though the northern hemisphere teams have been playing under them since September.

The Super 14 has been played using the hybrid ELVs, where free-kicks instead of penalties are issued for most offences, but Jones believes a mental shift is all that is necessary for the Boks to readjust.

‘It will have a marginal effect on them,’ Jones told keo.co.za. ‘The only real issue will be discipline at the breakdowns, now that penalties will come about. In the Super 14 there are no real rucks and players use their hands all the time, so the only real adjustment for the Tests will be listening to the refs. The Super 14 rules encourage ill-discipline, so it will just need a change of mindset, which should be easy for these great players.’

The increase in the number of penalties will result in both teams opting for three points that are on offer, as well as kicking for touch. Jones believes the Bok lineout, which couldn’t be used as much in last year’s Tri-Nations and is viewed as one of the strongest in the game, will be a major worry for the visitors.

Captain Paul O’Connell and Alun-Wyn Jones enjoy lineout time, but the other Lions selections in the pack have placed little emphasis on specialists for this set-piece. 

‘That will definitely suit the Boks,’ Jones believes. ‘That is an area where the Boks could pick five jumpers if the loose-forward trio is Schalk Burger, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies. That is potentially an area where the Boks could have a big advantage as the lineouts will be much more important than they are in the Super 14.’

Collapsing the maul and unlimited numbers in the set-piece look set to be scrapped at an IRB Council meeting on 13 May, and this will be welcomed by both teams. The first law in particular has been met with disapproval in the northern hemisphere, and this Lions series will witness both teams using a favourite tactic of theirs.

‘Both sets of players haven’t had the opportunity to use it in recent times, so the skills in that area could be a little bit down,’ says Jones. ‘England are traditionally one of the better mauling sides around, but there influence could be limited as [Andrew] Sheridan and [Phil] Vickery are the only forwards likely to start. The other three Celtic nations are not outstanding maulers.’

Both sides will enjoy using the drive to draw in defenders and it will be key in creating scoring opportunities for the backs in what should be a tense series.

‘It will be a weapon that both sides will try use and exploit,’ says Jones. ‘You can either drive, play it around the fringes, or play it off the top to runners. It will keep the defence guessing which means they can’t just fan out, which creates space out wide.’ 

By Grant Ball

92 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#46 BlackPanther: Brussouw, Smith, Spies would be our best trio by some way.

But if the game gets more close quarters again, and more line-outs then it will likely be Burger, Smith, Spies. Although I don’t think Spies or Schalk are that good in the lineout, with Juan Smith actually being an exceptional lineout option.

• 52.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#46 BlackPanther: Yip the answer is Burger at 8 with Spies on the bench

• 53.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#50 PissAnt: Close in war of attrition (likely looking at Lions squad) = Burger.

A little width (our strategy) = Brussouw.

• 54.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#52 Bok fan: Schalk does not have the feet or the hands packed down to be a great #8. We have seen this already.

• 55.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#53 SodaJoe:

Then have Brussow on the bench, problem solved.

• 56.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#55 PissAnt: M. Maybe. I know you love Schalk. But this season he has been average and overshadowed by a couple other okes.

How much this has to do with the laws I don’t know.

But in the tight loose he is ferocious. When at his best, frightening.

But he has been a little slow this season within S14 laws, which leaves him ever so peripheral.

• 57.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

McCaw’s general play is not that much different from most top opensiders in world rugby.

What makes him exceptional is how he reads the game and his anticipation.

That is a gift in the game of rugby and cannot be coached.

• 58.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#54 SodaJoe: I know what you saying but I think its something he can easily work on. He has all the attributes of a great no.8 including the ball skills. Maybe too late for the Lions, like I said would have loved Rassie to have played Schalk at 8 with Luke at 6 this super14.

• 59.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#57 PissAnt: Aye. He is also just a bit bigger than the average open-sider.

But his rugby brain is second to none. It is a gift.

• 60.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#56 SodaJoe:

I have too been disappointed in Schalk’s form, but I would be hard pressed to include a rookie against the Lions…

One also has to remember that it is very easy to pick up even the slightest loss of form of a great player because of expectation created around him as his play is magnified – Brussow is a relative unkown player still, so exceptional performances from him is not judged on the same principle as there is very little to judge on other than what you see now.

• 61.Ashley: Reply to this comment

#50 PissAnt:
    exactly
    why would you want to shift schalk to 8 while you have spies, kankowski, jvniekerk (ok, that a long shot), daniesaurus blouballes etc etc etc

#57 PissAnt:
    uhm … agree

• 62.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#59 SodaJoe:

Have you seen the size of Schalk?

• 63.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Seems like we’re just starting to get into the yak skiing season…

• 64.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#56 SodaJoe:

You also have to remember…

The Stormers has one of the best defenses in the S14 and to a very large extent this is due to what happens at the ruck or tackled situation where these loosies do a lot of work.

What the Stormers do with the ball which was disappointing this year is very much because of the backline more than the forwards or loosies.

• 65.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#60 PissAnt: I can settle for Brussouw on the bench against the Lions with loads of gametime but for the 3 nations hmmm. I cant watch another game where Richie and George stop the much better Bok team from winning. Ill have a stroke

• 66.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#61 Ashley: Because Brussouw needs to play and Schalk is a better test player than Spies, Kanko ….

• 67.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#65 Bok fan: And Brussouw proved he can nulify McCaw on the weekend

• 68.Ashley: Reply to this comment

#66 Bok fan:
    even out of position
    and
    in the one they specialise in?

hmmmm, doubt it, bru!

• 69.gunther: Reply to this comment

#60 PissAnt:
    I agree Burger is tired that’s all and there is nothing worse than a tired burger …. ask McDonalds …. give him a rest and he will do the business

href=”#comment-1258213″>63 WP Till I Die:
    Are you piste again?

• 70.gunther: Reply to this comment

6 brussouw
    7 burger
    8 spies

• 71.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#37 Provvas:

That is unfarkenbelievable !

Look, I dont buy in to (or appreciate) all the provincial nonsense. What I DO suspect – and its natural, because most fans here do it too – is that whether or not refs favour ‘their’ teams (ie you saying about Jonker ‘loves the Bulls’), what they will inherently favour is their countrymen. Therefore a Safa reffing a SA team IN SA, to me, is just ridiculous. It just makes ‘home decisions’ look biased and therefore immediately calls in to question the ref, the judicial system of citings, and the integrity of the result.

The Waratahs got off to a flyer this season. Nice. Their 1st 4 games were reffed by Aussie refs, 3 of which were NSW-registered refs, and 2 of those were played IN Sydney !

Puma and I agreed prior to the season kicking in that this whole ‘merit system’ for referees (ie allowing non-neutral refs to control home teams) would NEVER work. It doesnt !

I have subsequently highlighted the ridiculous situation which allowed the Sharks to steal the match vs the Hurricanes via an illegal try. All 4 match officials that day were Safas. The Canes Capt complained long and hard with assistant and the ref (Jonker) to no avail.

The fact that noone on this blog either wrote an article about the incident, nor anyone here even interested in reviewing it, just proves everything I have been saying – that as long as its not happening to my/our team, then its OK. This philosophy of convenience allows the application of ‘their refs are cheats’ and ‘ours make honest mistakes’.

Plain wrong. OK, noone wants Matt Goddard reffing their match but atleast only his ability can be questioned in a neutral match. Id still rather have a useless ref than a biased one – anyone disagree with that ?

• 72.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#55 PissAnt:

Burger would cover all 3 loose-fwd positions whereas Brussow would only cover 1.

Watson would also cover more positions than Brussow. But, surely, he wont be anywhere near the squad.

Smith cant be dropped, he’s a superb lineout option. As should Spies be with his size. Therefore cant believe any of the comments here about Brussows selection ‘weakening the lineout’. Crickey, youd have 4 of the tallest jumpers in World rugby in Victor, Bakkies, Spies and Smith !

#52 Bok fan:

Isnt dropping Spies for Burger at no8 akin to shifting Smit from his specialist position of hooker to TH-prop just to accomodation Bismarck ?

• 73.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#72 BlackPanther:

It would take a lot for me to suggest dropping Schalk.

Same as with suggesting dropping Smith and Mossie.

• 74.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#57 PissAnt:

Youve just restored my faith.

Im sick of reading about ‘McCaw the cheat’.

The guy is a genius, not so much because of his hands, speed or size or other attributes. Its just his incredible anticipation, his brain has Usain Bolts high-twitch fibres.

• 75.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#74 BlackPanther:

Oh no he is still a cheat, just a damn good one.

• 76.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Anycase I am out – cheers.

• 77.charo: Reply to this comment

#74 BlackPanther:

“his brain has Usain Bolts high-twitch fibres.”

a bit over the top?

• 78.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#60 PissAnt:

Loose-fwd is also 1 of the best positions to play your way in during the course of a tour like the Lions. Thats why PdV will not need to stray too far, if at all, from the current selection. What is the need for risking debutants like Brussow or Kockott or Heinke ? If it all goes well in the 1st Test then that experience factor will be attributed as the reason. However, if it doesnt go well and the 1st or 2nd Test is dropped, he will know that he has someone like Brusssow in the wings that will help change the way they have been playing.

1981 Bok tour of NZ. Test series locked at 1-1, Boks having comfortably taken the 2nd Test at Athletic Park. The last midweek match, the Boks were played OFF THE PARK by the NZ Maoris (despite pitch being a quagmire, and ref awarding Boks an undeserving draw via a missed-DG) and Frank Shelford, at openside flanker, was easily MoM. He was already long in the tooth being selected late in his 20′s, but he offered something different and was selected for the 3rd and deciding Test at EP. He was monumental that day too and the rest is history.

Who knows, Brussow may not be selected for the 1st Test but he could play a big part in the Series yet.

Personally I think Burgers form has been off so far this season. And yet he seems to lift gears in Green’n'Gold. But I think he knows he is playing for his spot. Which is exactly the way it should be, every match.

• 79.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#77 charo:

clearly any attempt at humour is lost on some.

• 80.charo: Reply to this comment

#79 BlackPanther:

not on me though – thank goodness

• 81.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

What’s with all the Brussouw worship all of a sudden?

• 82.grant10: Reply to this comment

adi jacogs may require shoulder surgery that will sidelinr him for 3 months….our Boks going down like flys !

• 83.grant10: Reply to this comment

spelling poor..

• 84.carol: Reply to this comment

#83 grant10: Spelling terrible, as bad as mine but Tackler is not here giving marks out of 10 yet!!
    Don’t worry about your Boks, they are still a stronger force than our Lions by a country mile!

• 85.grant10: Reply to this comment

#84 carol: hi princess…bonus….ta for mail…well done chelsea…they in the box seat now! Hope my Man U up to it tomorrow nite…exhausted…so off to bed for me….well done with the running …awesome stuff young lady! Outta here now…xx

• 86.carol: Reply to this comment

#85 grant10:Cheers and Night, catch you tomorrow xx

• 87.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

with SH refs reffing 2 of the games I think the boks will be at an advantage. The NZ and Aus refs are not strict on the attacking team players going off their feet at the ruck to protect the ball (recall the NH tours last year where NH refs were nailing the SH teams) and it is common place in S14 to see players diving over the man on the ground.

• 88.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#51 SodaJoe: If brussouw is used this could be a major fault. He is used to teh S14 approach with free kick, and may end up giving away lots of penalties. On the other hand, because penalties are used, the refs dont give them away that easily, so Brussouw may have an advantage, having had to be careful to not give away easy free kicks. He is just going to have to learn to adapt to the ref.

On the other hand, the Aussie Scott Dickinson will be the ref, and may be used to blowing his whistle a lot. He may give away penalties with the ease with which he gave away free kicks in the past.

On the other hand, this might just play into our hands as the NH players might not be expecting the flurry of penalties against them (since refs are more leneient in the NH as the penalty is harsher). We need to have a good accurate goal kicker for this.

• 89.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

#12 BlackPanther:

I think Aus are the only country fully supportive of the ELVs. Whilst the NZRU may support the ELVs (they do whatever O’Neil tells them to) kiwi hacks and supporters (those that think for themselves) are not fully and blindly supportive of the ELVs and recognise that the rucks/mauls are diabolical.

you say SA is unsupportive of the ELVs – but you’d probably find that there is about 80% agreement on which ELVs are good and which are bad.

5m at Scrum = good
    cant kick after carry back into 22 = good
    dropping mauls = probably the only one where there is difference of opinion. i still think that a well executed maul can exist under ELVs so actuially like the rule as it evens the contest a bit
    numbers at lineout = dont think anyones too worried about this one
    free kciks and refereeing of breakdown = disastrous free for all at the whim of the ref on the day.

• 90.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#89 munkiboi: Free kicks should be structured so that the team taking teh kick gets the resultant lineout from it. In this way, the territory penalt is harsh to dicourage cheating, but the game wont be won points wise on free kicks.

• 91.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

#90 SjamBok: An half ar$ed penalty then. You get a penalty that isn’t a penalty because you cant convert it into 3 points! How does this discourage cheating? Neither short or long arm will discourage it.

Further to the cheating charter…

Teams will always push the boundaries to give away a penalty in the event of a possibly try. Giving away a possible 3 point penalty to most teams is far more agreeable than a possible 5 + 2., especially when a team has a **** kicker. One can argue a yellow card when within the 22 as a determent but we all know they aren’t issued often enough.

I don’t care what ELVes they keep or punt, the sooner we are all on the same page the better.

• 92.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

determent = deterrent

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.