Leinster surge into final

Leinster secured a place in the European Cup final with a 25-6 victory over Munster.

In the all Irish play-off it was Leinster who proved to be the better side despite defending for long periods of the game en route to downing the defending champions.

Leinster flyhalf Felipe Contepomi opened the scoring with a drop goal but the lead was short lived, Ronan O’Gara levelling the scores with a penalty.

Jonathan Sexton replaced the injured Contepomi early in the first have and contributed immediately, sinking a penalty.

Leinster extended their lead when Isa Nacewa broke from the lineout and dished out to Gordon D’Arcy who dived over the line to score.

Munster reduced the deficit via another O’Gara penalty, but Leinster strengthened their position through a Luke Fitzgerald converted try.

Munster launched a counter offensive but found themselves blunted by a resolute Leinster. The result was sealed when O’Driscoll intercepted the ball and sprinted 40m to score.