Chennai destroy Deccan

The Super Kings proved too strong for the IPL log-leaders smashing them by 78 runs at Buffalo Park.

Shadab Jakati picked up four wickets but it was the collective Chennai effort that overwhelmed the Deccan Chargers. Set an imposing 179 to win, the dangerous opening pair of Adam Gilchrist and Herschelle Gibbs were removed for a duck apiece, and VVS Laxman followed soon after. Albie Morkel was the bowler on two occasions, and not for two missed chances in the deep, the South African would have dismissed Dwayne Smith as well.

With the score at 1-3, Smith defied expectation in launching a relentless counter-attack. He rode his luck when the Chennai fielders put him down, smashing two 4s and five 6s in a 23-ball knock of 49. He was handed another life when Jakati made an amateurish hash of a simple run out, but fortunately for the Super Kings, it didn’t cost them further runs.

Jakati removed Smith’s partner Rohit Sharma before trapping Smith himself lbw. Muttiah Muralitharan weighed in with two scalps of his own as the Deccan run-chase proceeded to disintegrate.

Chennai were able to post such a formidable total thanks to the batting heroics of MS Dhoni and current tournament run-leader Matthew Hayden.

Chennai Super Kings – 178-3 in 20 overs
MS Dhoni 58, Matthew Hayden 43
Deccan Chargers – 100 in 14.4 overs
Dwayne Smith 49, Shadab Jakati 4-22, Muttiah Muralitharan 2-11
Chennai won by 78 runs

For the full scorecard click here.