‘Griquas’ to battle tourists in opener

Thirteen Griquas players have been selected in the initial 27-man Royal XV squad ahead of their clash with the British & Irish Lions.

Griquas won the Vodacom Cup final last Saturday and so it comes as no surprise that they dominate an invitational side comprising South Africa’s smaller unions. Ten Leopards have been selected while four Pumas have made the cut. Neither the Valke nor the Griffons have a single representative.

Former Lions flanker Wilhelm Koch will lead the team while his Leopards mentor Chaka Willemse is the coach. Naas Olivier is one of seven Super 14 players in the squad, the other notables being Cheetahs’ tighthead Bees Roux, scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius and promising winger Bjorn Basson.

The match will be staged at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Rustenburg on 30 May.

Royal XV (squad):

Russell Jeacocks (Leopards)

Colin Lloyd (Leopards)

Egon Seconds (Griquas)

Bjorn Basson (Griquas)

Deon van Rensburg (Leopards)

Basil de Doncker (Leopards)

Hanno Coetzee (Griquas)

Riaan Viljoen (Griquas)

Naas Olivier (Griquas)

Michael Bondesio (Leopards)

Jacques Coetzee (Pumas)

Sarel Pretorius (Griquas)

Jonathan Makoena (Griquas)

RW Kember (Leopards)

Devon Raubenheimer (Griquas)

Wilhelm Koch (Leopards)

Jaco Bouwer (Pumas)

Ligtoring Landman (Leopards)

Rudi Mathee (Leopards)

Jacques Lombard (Griquas)

Bees Roux (Griquas)

Rayno Barnes (Griquas)

Hannes Franklin (Pumas)

Pellow van der Westhuizen (Leopards)

Albertus Buckle (Griquas)

Dawie Steyn (Pumas)

Stef Roberts (Griquas)