Blending brains and brawn

Heyneke Meyer believes a hybrid of tactical precision and mental strength will determine the victor when the Sharks meet the Bulls at King’s Park on Saturday.

Meyer coached the Bulls to the Super 14 championship in 2007 before narrowly missing selection for the Springboks coaching role in 2008. He then coached Premiership club Leicester Tigers before returning to South Africa to be with ailing family members. He is currently the CEO of Sports Max, a company that looks at the holistic development of elite athletes.

Meyer said he expected the game to be relatively conservative in nature and that it would be characterised by an emphasis on forward play and tactical kicking. He noted the Sharks’ prowess from broken field and stressed that the Bulls must starve their supply in this regard, or risk exposing themselves to dangerous counter-attacks.

‘I watched the Bulls play the Cheetahs [last Saturday] and knew that if they opened it up the Cheetahs would feed off their mistakes. That’s exactly what happened. They can’t afford to make the same errors against a very good side like the Sharks,’ Meyer told keo.co.za.

‘What they’ve done so far has made them successful. I’ve heard criticism of their percentage approach but they’re top of the log with a chance of hosting a semi-final. They must have been doing something right.

‘The Sharks are an accomplished unit who are very difficult to beat in Durban. In the 2007 final they pinned us in our half through the boots of Percy Montgomery, Ruan Pienaar and Frans Steyn. The Bulls can’t allow them to dictate the field position like that because once they get on a roll they’re very hard to stop.’

Meyer said the return from suspension of Rory Kockott would add a skilled tactical kicker to their arsenal and added that the Bulls’ capacity to match them in this facet of play would hinge heavily on the availability of Fourie du Preez. The incumbent Springbok No 9 injured his calf muscle a fortnight ago and is uncertain of being fit for the match.

‘Not taking anything away from Heini Adams and Francois Hougaard, who are good scrumhalves in their own right, it’ll be a massive boast if Fourie was available, especially considering the [tactical] pattern the game is likely to follow,’ Meyer said.

‘He is the best tactical kicking scrumhalf in world rugby, and if you review the Bulls’ season you’ll note that many of their tries have come from box kicks Fourie has put up. He can put the ball on a dime and weights it so perfectly that he gives his wingers enough time to contest the ball. This puts a massive amount of pressure on the opposition. He’ll be a key player if he is fit.’

Meyer did, however, explain that given how closely the teams are matched, technical and tactical superiority would not be the sole determinant of the winners. He said the ability to manage the pressure of the occasion and focus on the task at hand without being influenced by outside distractions – like qualification permutations – will be central to the success of either side.

In recent years the Bulls have often scrapped for a semi-final spot in the final stages of the tournament, the most notable of which came against the Reds in 2007, when they achieved the goal of having to beat the Queenslanders by a 72-point margin.

‘I won’t say it gives the Bulls an edge to have been in high pressure situations over the last couple of seasons, but they will know how to prepare and also have the benefit of knowing that they have beaten the Sharks at King’s Park in a high pressure match [the final in 2007],’ Meyer said.

‘But ultimately what happened before is fairly inconsequential. The Sharks will be determined to beat their great rivals irrespective of whether they are knocked out of the tournament by kick-off or not. You have to remember there is plenty of pride at stake, but more than that, the players will be wanting to make an impression on the Springbok selectors. That’s a huge motivating factor in itself.’

Meyer continued, saying it was imperative that the coaches of both sides have a clear idea of how they want to play and that they communicate that effectively to the players.

‘You have to control the controllables,’ he said. ‘Neither team can afford to wait until Saturday afternoon to decide how they should approach the match because of whatever scenarios the preceding games would have throw up.

‘They coaches should have a clear idea of how they want to play and that should have been drilled into the players from the Monday morning practice already. Players need clear messages so that they can prepare adequately. It’s crucial that both coaches detail exactly how they intend to play from the outset.

‘The Bulls must set themselves to win first and foremost, then focus on getting the bonus point,’ he added.

‘The Sharks will know what’s required by the time the match begins and they’ll probably need five points to book a place in the semis if other results go their way.

‘It’s set up to be one of the best South African derbies in years.’

791 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1516 » Show All

• 451.Wallabie. - 'Keo night owls' Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!: Reply to this comment

#437 Pietman:

I will log on tomorrow and find the code..need to remember your post number.

• 452.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

#443 KingPaul: lyk my so!!

• 453.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#439 Staal:
    Ek ook!
    Gaan NOU gister se beeskerrie warm maak….
    Cheers almal.

• 454.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

#449 Pietman: Totsiens GrootPietMan

• 455.money_man: Reply to this comment

What is a ‘h0tnot’?

And where is Ikeys?

• 456.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#447 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!: Sweet, do that,
    If you forget, just ask, I have it written down now….

• 457.lilith: Reply to this comment

#436 King Shark – Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Glad you have a glimmer of what I’m talking about.

About Poppa. You forget. Poppa said I am as bad as the others. He was never my supporter. He just said so. You cannot lose what you never had in the first place.

• 458.Staal: Reply to this comment

#449 Pietman: eish, dit klink lekker!

• 459.cab: Reply to this comment

#427 cane:
    i’d vote for you to moderate and would be happily kicked off or pulled into line.
    you could be the backup to the legend that was Ig – like the bok coaching position it is a huge honour but also the poisoned chalice.
    You would of course have to set your AB bias aside too.

• 460.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#442 lilith: I have matured past the child like mechanisations that want to choose sides…

reconciliation comes with understanding and forgiveness, it does NOT come when one or both sides continue to flame the fire.. and be honest, you, as with them, have done nothing to bridge the gap in understanding or forgiveness…

and that is all I have to say on the matter, I hope my maori ancestors dont see me “sitting on the fence”, but as a logical, mature individual who does not entertain madness, no matter from where it comes…

• 461.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#445 Ed_the_Lion: Ja, osn wag net vir ‘n uitruil ooreenkoms tussen SWD en die WP. Op die oomblik wil hulle nog nie daaraan byt dat ons vir Bonzai veruil vir Sireli, Des Fontain, en Ricky nie. Miskien gaan ons maar tog vir Brits ook moet ingooi en vir AJ vra om nog ‘n jaar te speel…

• 462.cab: Reply to this comment

#456 poppa69:
    very wise words, we can make all the kiwis moderators.

• 463.cab: Reply to this comment

only problem is they’d ban us all after the RWC final in 2011.

• 464.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#316 Dawn:what gbs & carol do here in the evenings…

#313 Sheriff:sheriff shut up! Didn’t you here roy instruct lilith to stick to rugby? Both yourself & cab, do you think you are special? Out of everything that has transpired from friday evening until now roy feels that the person that must keep it rugby is lilith, go figure. people speak about picking sides & being tolerant & first changing yourself, all these nice things, yet every single day we have comments from people expressing their views on luke watson & his alleged comments, not one of them practice the ”nice” virtues extolled here today, not even once do i remember this guy we have here as a moderator (sic) telling them to stick to rugby, not one! Try reasoning or explaining that the words are ”alleged” then you will cop the most vicious verbal abuse and the same people, lol, will be the first one to cry for roy to ”moderate” (read ban the infidel who dares challenge our view)

There are no sides to be picked sheriff, only right & wrong…the day i logged on & registered on this site, i didn’t have a klomp that i was rolling with, it was me, myself & i, i certainly wont sit on the fence when i see injustice just to please
    Pietman or Gbs…

• 465.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#459 cab: lol only if we lost Cab :wink:

• 466.Staal: Reply to this comment

Burp!

• 467.cane: Reply to this comment

#453 lilith:

While Poppa may not have been a supporter Lilly, he is not an enemy either.

He is a RUGBY MAN. Period.

This is a Rugby site after all. And many of us foreigners do not understand the intricacies of SA life.

• 468.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ek’s nie meer honger nie!

• 469.Severus101: Reply to this comment

#434 poppa69: Pops, don’t bother explaining, lilith won’t allow logic in her thought process.

#433 lilith: It also doesn’t help having a large crowd of bloggers think that the Keo site is their personal domain and do exchange right wing rhetoric (quota talk) without censure but you are just a mirror image of these bloggers.

• 470.cab: Reply to this comment

#460 Transformation:
    nope i think i am cab and have an opinion just like yours.

• 471.lilith: Reply to this comment

#457 poppa69: Fair enough Poppa. I would prepared to talk and bridge, the day I am not perpetually refered to in the equivalent of the N-word, and when my private parts are not up for discussion.

Then, a reasonable discussion has possibilities.

• 472.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#460 Transformation: Yawn!!!

• 473.cane: Reply to this comment

#458 cab:

We don’t understand Afrikaans…….so we would be as useless as tits on a Bully Boy.

• 474.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Is this still carrying on?

#465 Severus101:

I think you’ve hit the nail right on the head.

• 475.lilith: Reply to this comment

#466 Severus101: Why are you only sanctioning me. And have you considered that if I stay quiet, as you would like, they would think what they are saying is fine and allowed.

I don;t see you stopping them, or Roy?

• 476.rangerman: Reply to this comment

why are we still going round on this roundabout?

for *** sakes, i blog here to chat, have a laugh and yes, sometimes i like a good discussion about things relevant to my situation as a south african living in a society seemingly in permanent transition…or transformation.

i had a long and rather irritating conversation this morning with a croatian who has lived here for many years. he feels that there is no such thing as a south african “nation” but rather a citizenry comprised of many nations eg zulu, xhosa, afrikaans etc etc.

i disagreed and argued that “strength in diversity” characterised us as a people, that i knew no other home, that my indian mates have more in common with me culturally than the scottish ancestors in my family tree.

i still believe that to be true but think that it is maybe not such a general view, in fact it may be a minority view. all i can say is that the black and white needs to be removed from this conversation as it clouds everything with irrational emotions. rather discuss the treatment of fellow human beings. after all, i may be white outside, but no-one, NO-ONE knows anything about my thoughts unless i choose to let them. by the same token i dont profess to know the thoughts of others or the circumstances that determine their way of thinking.

i can only ask, in a mature manner, for someone to explain their thinking and then choose to agree or disagree. this is not a forum for venting my spleen, unless its rugby related of course.

and that fukking croatian knows fokkol about rugby.

• 477.lilith: Reply to this comment

#464 cane: Thanks Cane. LOL! I would actually vote for you as moderator. You would throw me out, but from you, I could take it as not comming from a place of hatred.

• 478.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Seems the same old’s carrying on.

Let me take my supposedly disruptive left-wing influence away from here before I get accused of single-mindedly mastering the current global economic crisis.

• 479.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I have taken a strategic time-out.

Now I’m back.

• 480.cab: Reply to this comment

#469 cane:
    let me be your translation tool, i am on the national afrikaans traslation board and will play with as straight a bat as a 2nd hand car salesman from my hometown benoni.

• 481.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

#457 KingPaul: hehehehe, SWD gaan nie vir dit val nie.

• 482.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

#472 rangerman: LOL @ Croatian!

• 483.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#462 Staal:

Jy bly honger.

• 484.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#457 KingPaul: Nee, ek onttrek vir BonzaiGBS…. flok !

• 485.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#475 Dawn: So what? Do you consider it a special moment in anyone’s life?

• 486.lilith: Reply to this comment

#476 Dawn: Hi Dawn. Welcome.

I’m off. Nothing personal. Just have a meeting. Later everyone.

• 487.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

#480 grootblousmile: Ja nee, as hy nie vir die bulle speel nie, kan jy hom Durban toe stuur. Enige ander plek sal hom net leer van verloorders mentaliteit en niks van trots en veggees nie.

• 488.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#473 lilith:

What’s happening now is nothing new.

It’s been going on since I joined.

You not the first to be accused of peddling your wares in Sea Point, and you won’t be the last.

I too gave them hell.

Then I decided it wasn’t worth my energy.

• 489.Severus101: Reply to this comment

#471 lilith: I’m not sanctioning you or asking you to stay quiet (reread my post)but I get your point, namely that all the posts are directed at you and not at the lilith haters (too many to mention). Also what they say is not alright but what you say isn’t either.

• 490.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

#482 lilith: Bye.

• 491.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#481 Bul-a-Bhloo:

Huh.

• 492.Ashley: Reply to this comment

#475 Dawn:
    i’ve been on lunch … is it the same thing?

#473 lilith:
    and what about poor old me? :grin:

• 493.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

#484 Dawn: Sea Point? Where is that?

• 494.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#481 Bul-a-Bhloo:

Stay out of my way.

I’m not here for your convenience.

• 495.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#488 Ashley:

Yes.

Borrowed the phrase from that bloody irritating IPL.

If I see those dancing dollies one more time I will break my TV.

• 496.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#489 King Shark – Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.:

Hier af in die pad in.

When I first started here I was told to go ***** in Sea Point cos that’s all I was good for.

Ou Lilith is going over old territory here.

• 497.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#483 King Shark – Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Nee, BonzaiGBS issie vannie Vrystaat affie…….. hy speel Bulls…. klaar

Hehehe

Op ‘n ernstige noot… ek sal hom help waar ek kan om sy rugby te bevorder……

So dis BULLS !!

Hahaha

• 498.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

#480 grootblousmile: Ek gaan die naweek maar n Fries wees – steeds swart en wit, maar meer bul as haai… Ek kyk maar na die groter prentjie, al maak dit so seer soos aambeie met diaree!

• 499.Spooner: Reply to this comment

It’s hard to “understand” where someone is coming from if all they seek to do is attack and antagonise. This is not the way of reconciliation and mutual understanding.

It is safe to say that these outbursts on Keo and they way they are dealt with are not a globular SA issue (I have found that most people in SA have a strong desire to move on and share the same country in harmony). This situation stems from Hater’s emotional intelligence being inadequate to resolve and discuss issues in a pleasant and decent and/or appropriate way, without alienating the 99% of bloggers who are undeserving of her generalisations and racial prejudices.

Hater’s vitriol serves no purpose other than to stoke the fire and fuel the flames (something which I sadly suspect is what motivates Hater deep down).

In saying this, some of the comments Hater has reacted to have been outrageously inappropriate and offensive. If Hater is to be disciplined, then there others that are equally deserving of the same treatment.

• 500.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Anyhoo.

Yesterday’s gaaning aans were very entertaining.

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1516 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.