Blending brains and brawn
12 May 2009
Heyneke Meyer believes a hybrid of tactical precision and mental strength will determine the victor when the Sharks meet the Bulls at King’s Park on Saturday.
Meyer coached the Bulls to the Super 14 championship in 2007 before narrowly missing selection for the Springboks coaching role in 2008. He then coached Premiership club Leicester Tigers before returning to South Africa to be with ailing family members. He is currently the CEO of Sports Max, a company that looks at the holistic development of elite athletes.
Meyer said he expected the game to be relatively conservative in nature and that it would be characterised by an emphasis on forward play and tactical kicking. He noted the Sharks’ prowess from broken field and stressed that the Bulls must starve their supply in this regard, or risk exposing themselves to dangerous counter-attacks.
‘I watched the Bulls play the Cheetahs [last Saturday] and knew that if they opened it up the Cheetahs would feed off their mistakes. That’s exactly what happened. They can’t afford to make the same errors against a very good side like the Sharks,’ Meyer told keo.co.za.
‘What they’ve done so far has made them successful. I’ve heard criticism of their percentage approach but they’re top of the log with a chance of hosting a semi-final. They must have been doing something right.
‘The Sharks are an accomplished unit who are very difficult to beat in Durban. In the 2007 final they pinned us in our half through the boots of Percy Montgomery, Ruan Pienaar and Frans Steyn. The Bulls can’t allow them to dictate the field position like that because once they get on a roll they’re very hard to stop.’
Meyer said the return from suspension of Rory Kockott would add a skilled tactical kicker to their arsenal and added that the Bulls’ capacity to match them in this facet of play would hinge heavily on the availability of Fourie du Preez. The incumbent Springbok No 9 injured his calf muscle a fortnight ago and is uncertain of being fit for the match.
‘Not taking anything away from Heini Adams and Francois Hougaard, who are good scrumhalves in their own right, it’ll be a massive boast if Fourie was available, especially considering the [tactical] pattern the game is likely to follow,’ Meyer said.
‘He is the best tactical kicking scrumhalf in world rugby, and if you review the Bulls’ season you’ll note that many of their tries have come from box kicks Fourie has put up. He can put the ball on a dime and weights it so perfectly that he gives his wingers enough time to contest the ball. This puts a massive amount of pressure on the opposition. He’ll be a key player if he is fit.’
Meyer did, however, explain that given how closely the teams are matched, technical and tactical superiority would not be the sole determinant of the winners. He said the ability to manage the pressure of the occasion and focus on the task at hand without being influenced by outside distractions – like qualification permutations – will be central to the success of either side.
In recent years the Bulls have often scrapped for a semi-final spot in the final stages of the tournament, the most notable of which came against the Reds in 2007, when they achieved the goal of having to beat the Queenslanders by a 72-point margin.
‘I won’t say it gives the Bulls an edge to have been in high pressure situations over the last couple of seasons, but they will know how to prepare and also have the benefit of knowing that they have beaten the Sharks at King’s Park in a high pressure match [the final in 2007],’ Meyer said.
‘But ultimately what happened before is fairly inconsequential. The Sharks will be determined to beat their great rivals irrespective of whether they are knocked out of the tournament by kick-off or not. You have to remember there is plenty of pride at stake, but more than that, the players will be wanting to make an impression on the Springbok selectors. That’s a huge motivating factor in itself.’
Meyer continued, saying it was imperative that the coaches of both sides have a clear idea of how they want to play and that they communicate that effectively to the players.
‘You have to control the controllables,’ he said. ‘Neither team can afford to wait until Saturday afternoon to decide how they should approach the match because of whatever scenarios the preceding games would have throw up.
‘They coaches should have a clear idea of how they want to play and that should have been drilled into the players from the Monday morning practice already. Players need clear messages so that they can prepare adequately. It’s crucial that both coaches detail exactly how they intend to play from the outset.
‘The Bulls must set themselves to win first and foremost, then focus on getting the bonus point,’ he added.
‘The Sharks will know what’s required by the time the match begins and they’ll probably need five points to book a place in the semis if other results go their way.
‘It’s set up to be one of the best South African derbies in years.’

791 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 » Show All
12 May 2009, 14:31 pm
#490 Dawn: You shouldn’t be wasting our petrol company’s money. You know how many people work 24-hours, seven days a week so that you can sit on your backside and blog?
Get back to work and try to make a difference…….
12 May 2009, 14:31 pm
#492 Dawn: Ah, dit verduidelik n ding of twee. Ek neem aan dit is innie Kaap?
12 May 2009, 14:34 pm
Nou ja, ek gaan ook eers waai. Vir julle wat raad wil hê, moenie julle steur aan die tampon vender se galbraakery nie.
12 May 2009, 14:35 pm
#499 KingPaul: Cheers KingPaul.
12 May 2009, 14:36 pm
#497 Bul-a-Bhloo:
Oh shut up.
12 May 2009, 14:38 pm
#478 King Shark – Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.:
#496 Dawn: hi there Dawnie!!
12 May 2009, 14:39 pm
#502 rangerman:
Hoesit.
I think it safe to raise my head over the parapet now.
12 May 2009, 14:41 pm
#476 cab:
After two weeks cab, I wouldn’t need a translator.
There would only be me, Carol and Rugby Princess left.
Jinne I’ve known a coupla woes women in my time and even been one of them.
I agree with what she’s trying to say but the way it’s said is OTT.
Cheers almal.
Tyd om my hare korter en blonder te maak. (LOL! Dit klink so nie soos ek nie, haha!)
#504 cane:
Geriatric bloggers?
12 May 2009, 14:43 pm
The game this weekend will undoubtedly be tight. I believe that the Sharks hold the upper hand in the frontrow where the Bulls have a distinct lack of depth off the bench. Both teams have a good lock pairing but the Bulls edge it here based on experience (though Bakkies did look rather rusty). The loose forwards is where I believe the battle will be decided. At long last we have the match up we have been discussing with differing views, namely Kankowski vs. Spies. It will be hard to judge their performances as they do not go head-to-head (Kankowski always seems to find himself on the wing). Deysel will need to be nullified as he is very effective with his storming runs through teh mid-field or around the base of the ruck. As for scavenging the Bulls hold the edge in Stegman and Potgieter
In the backline I believe that the Bulls hold the edge for positions 9-12 while the Ndungane brothers cancel each other out. Habana and JP will provide and interesting tussle and I call it all square in that regard. Fullbacks will give us the opportunity to pitch both possible Bok fullbacks against each other. My money was originally on Stefan (due to his dependability) but after his brain **** last weekend Kirchner takes the honours by a head. My prediction: Bulls win but with no bonus point.
#505 Dawn: Net toe ek wou gaan… Wie is “she” – Lil? en wat is OTT?
Pity my company kept me so busy this AM.
Now all the brawlers have left.
Ok, had enough of this ****.
Go back through all the articles posted, especially anything about the Bulls and you will find Hater/Lilith going out of its way to provoke other bloggers.
On the Bakkies thread of 4 May for instance it gleefully called Pietman and Sherrif child ponographers with it’s very good friends Dawn and Transformation in tow. Even went as far as to say that Sherrif was masturbating Pietman to child pronography. This is just one example. She has countless times made racist and derogatory remarks about Afrikaners, Bulls supporters and white males in general.
Now he/she/it wants to come with it’s holier than thou attiude and shout foul. Just because of the perceived injustice at being verbally raped. As long as the shoe was on the other foot it was fine.
Others will eventually fight back viciously. I have made derogatory remarks and will do so again if provoked in a similar manner.
Lilith
most bloggers here do not:
-promote the rape of babies to cure AIDS
-practise corrective rape on Lesbians to cure them of their ill’s
-Rape 80 year old ladies to show who is boss
Yet in large parts of your community it is encouraged. Rather spend your anger in a positive manner and fight your battles there. It might even raise your self image. No woman I know will use the word ****, let alone in it’s written form. They are real ladies, I therefore believe that you are in fact a man.
You are an affront to the thousands of women and children being raped in South Africa yearly, by comparing the backlash of what you have been seeking for months to their ordeal.
Some will support you because they do not know better and cannot see through your facade,others will support you because they are of a similar ilk to you.
Now get over your inferiority complex. We have been a democracy for 15 years, but there will always be racists on both sides. It is not just whites who can fall into that category anymore.
How old are you? Have you been part of the struggle against apartheid? I very much doubt it. You come across as a less intelligent and more militant and racist version of Julius Malema. It seems as if crying racism is the only way you have assert/justify yourself.
Do not bother to ask me if I approve the use of this word and that word. I will not answer you on any of this again.
12 May 2009, 14:44 pm
#508 Severus101: Yip, Bulls by 5.
12 May 2009, 14:44 pm
#509 King Shark – Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.:
Over The Top.
12 May 2009, 14:45 pm
#512 Dawn: Ah, cool. Thx.
Ok, regtig cheers almal!
12 May 2009, 14:45 pm
511. Xkreni-WP : Your comment is awaiting moderation.
May 12th, 2009 at 2:43 pm
Ok, I’ve had enough of this.
Go back through all the articles posted, especially anything about the Bulls and you will find Hater/Lilith going out of its way to provoke other bloggers.
On the Bakkies thread of 4 May for instance it gleefully called Pietman and Sherrif child ponographers with it’s very good friends Dawn and Transformation in tow. Even went as far as to say that Sherrif was m@sturbating Pietman to child pronography. This is just one example. She has countless times made racist and derogatory remarks about Afrikaners, Bulls supporters and white males in general.
Now he/she/it wants to come with it’s holier than thou attiude and shout foul. Just because of the perceived injustice at being verbally raped. As long as the shoe was on the other foot it was fine.
Others will eventually fight back viciously. I have made derogatory remarks and will do so again if provoked in a similar manner.
Lilith
most bloggers here do not:
-promote the rape of babies to cure AIDS
-practise corrective rape on Lesbians to cure them of their ill’s
-Rape 80 year old ladies to show who is boss
Yet in large parts of your community it is encouraged. Rather spend your anger in a positive manner and fight your battles there. It might even raise your self image. No woman I know will use the word P@ es, let alone in it’s written form. They are real ladies, I therefore believe that you are in fact a man.
You are an affront to the thousands of women and children being raped in South Africa yearly, by comparing the backlash of what you have been seeking for months to their ordeal.
Some will support you because they do not know better and cannot see through your facade,others will support you because they are of a similar ilk to you.
Now get over your inferiority complex. We have been a democracy for 15 years, but there will always be racists on both sides. It is not just whites who can fall into that category anymore.
How old are you? Have you been part of the struggle against apartheid? I very much doubt it. You come across as a less intelligent and more militant and racist version of Julius Malema. It seems as if crying racism is the only way you have assert/justify yourself.
Do not bother to ask me if I approve the use of this word and that word. I will not answer you on any of this again.
12 May 2009, 14:47 pm
Roy is in conference with HM Keo re new rules.
Lilith will stay right where she is because she (like me in the old days!!!!) generates 1000 posts.
Keo knows which side his bread is buttered on.
12 May 2009, 14:47 pm
#508 Severus101: Thought I would throw in some rugby talk as rugby seems be nowhere on the menu today.
Brumbies to win
Canes to win
Blues to win
Tahs to win
12 May 2009, 14:48 pm
#491 Dawn:
nee dawn jong, los maar daai poppies
die ipl sou niks wees sonder hulle nie
ek meen ons mans sou tog nie ge-complain het as daai indiër outjie vd ipl advertensies (theres a party comning and i’ve got just the moves for you)
vir julle die “gilly” of een van daai goed na elke boundary gedoen het nie!!
12 May 2009, 14:50 pm
#502 rangerman:
I feel like a roadkill burger….
12 May 2009, 14:52 pm
#518 gunther:
Where do you buy them?
12 May 2009, 14:53 pm
#515 Dawn:
And what about the 2000 people who hit the site today, read the “RUGBY” posts and decided to never come back again?
12 May 2009, 14:54 pm
good afternoon comrades and boeremag kkk losers.
12 May 2009, 14:55 pm
#521 lukeisbaas:
good afternoon
brave man behind your pc
12 May 2009, 14:56 pm
#520 cane:
That’s just my hypothesis.
And the type of person I’m sure Keo is.
You don’t get to be a media moegoe/mogul by being soft.
12 May 2009, 14:56 pm
And just when we thought things couldn’t get any worse!
12 May 2009, 14:57 pm
#519 Dawn:
ranger sells them he calls them “venison” he says its healthier but then again he drinks cane and creme soda….. I have asked him to send me some in Biltong format.. but as of yet I have received no parcels from Durban… maybe our underfed friends at the post office have eaten it..
#521 lukeisbaas:
Hearties broer.
They all gone.
Meetings.
Just us here.
Wait half an hour or so, meantime, warm up your fingers.
#520 cane: Yup…if you want intelligent banter try SMH Rugby heaven.
12 May 2009, 14:58 pm
#525 gunther:
Mmmm.
Always knew there was something dodgy about him.
Cane and cream soda. Bleerggh.
12 May 2009, 14:59 pm
#527 Severus101:
It still begs the question, and I’ve asked it before.
With all this racist vitriol here, how did this blog win an award.
What were the criteria.
12 May 2009, 15:00 pm
#529 Dawn:
it won an award?
when?
and what for?
12 May 2009, 15:02 pm
#523 Dawn:
Goodnight Dawn. Hang in there, and if something needs to be said….say it!
#530 Ashley:
Man, kyk bo links op die page.
There are two gold coloured dogtags.
come off it, rugbyheaven are as thick as planks. some of the kiwis on silverfern are pretty useful, but they have a banning tendency, which makes the site about as interesting as a case of hameroids.
#529 Dawn:
miskien moet Die Son weer so ñ stukkie oor ons skryf?
12 May 2009, 15:06 pm
12 days and those BAND i LIONS ARRIVE!!! OOOhh dorner !!!
12 May 2009, 15:06 pm
#529 Dawn: No idea this blog won an award. The only criteria they could have been used is hits, definitely not content…and yet, here I am…can’t take my own bloody advice!
12 May 2009, 15:07 pm
#518 gunther: #519 Dawn: you will be able to buy them soon at a store near you, no, not spar, another store near you.
well, thats if all things go according to plan. meeting on monday and first we conquer kzn, then……THE WORLD..theworld………..theworld…theworl…….thewor…
#525 gunther:
i dont as a rule drink cane. it “washes out the insides” according to my indian mates though.
you ready to have a sob after the bulls get smashed this weekend?
12 May 2009, 15:07 pm
The “Award”….
And the Best Outlet for Vitriolic Racism and Intolerance goes too………..
(just kidding Roy).
12 May 2009, 15:09 pm
#532 Dawn:
slaat my met ñ nat snoek!!
magtig man! geluk keo!!
of dawnie, dink j ek moet liewer geluk sê aan SAB?
12 May 2009, 15:09 pm
#533 cab: he-he…Mate, they may be as thick as planks but at least the talk is about rugby.
12 May 2009, 15:10 pm
#515 Xkreni-WP: yawn!!!!!
#538 cane:
#528 Dawn: its not treu i tell you, gunther is just giving me (mzwandile)stick but the juries still deciding.
i am a beer and whisky man (sometimes even whiskey).
12 May 2009, 15:12 pm
#543 rangerman:
12 May 2009, 15:13 pm
#540 Severus101: ja
kiwi 1: it was wayne barnes’s fault!
kiwi 2: yes mate.
kiwi 1: we will smash everyone in 2011!
kiwi 1: shall we go over to keo?
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 » Show All