Blending brains and brawn
12 May 2009
Heyneke Meyer believes a hybrid of tactical precision and mental strength will determine the victor when the Sharks meet the Bulls at King’s Park on Saturday.
Meyer coached the Bulls to the Super 14 championship in 2007 before narrowly missing selection for the Springboks coaching role in 2008. He then coached Premiership club Leicester Tigers before returning to South Africa to be with ailing family members. He is currently the CEO of Sports Max, a company that looks at the holistic development of elite athletes.
Meyer said he expected the game to be relatively conservative in nature and that it would be characterised by an emphasis on forward play and tactical kicking. He noted the Sharks’ prowess from broken field and stressed that the Bulls must starve their supply in this regard, or risk exposing themselves to dangerous counter-attacks.
‘I watched the Bulls play the Cheetahs [last Saturday] and knew that if they opened it up the Cheetahs would feed off their mistakes. That’s exactly what happened. They can’t afford to make the same errors against a very good side like the Sharks,’ Meyer told keo.co.za.
‘What they’ve done so far has made them successful. I’ve heard criticism of their percentage approach but they’re top of the log with a chance of hosting a semi-final. They must have been doing something right.
‘The Sharks are an accomplished unit who are very difficult to beat in Durban. In the 2007 final they pinned us in our half through the boots of Percy Montgomery, Ruan Pienaar and Frans Steyn. The Bulls can’t allow them to dictate the field position like that because once they get on a roll they’re very hard to stop.’
Meyer said the return from suspension of Rory Kockott would add a skilled tactical kicker to their arsenal and added that the Bulls’ capacity to match them in this facet of play would hinge heavily on the availability of Fourie du Preez. The incumbent Springbok No 9 injured his calf muscle a fortnight ago and is uncertain of being fit for the match.
‘Not taking anything away from Heini Adams and Francois Hougaard, who are good scrumhalves in their own right, it’ll be a massive boast if Fourie was available, especially considering the [tactical] pattern the game is likely to follow,’ Meyer said.
‘He is the best tactical kicking scrumhalf in world rugby, and if you review the Bulls’ season you’ll note that many of their tries have come from box kicks Fourie has put up. He can put the ball on a dime and weights it so perfectly that he gives his wingers enough time to contest the ball. This puts a massive amount of pressure on the opposition. He’ll be a key player if he is fit.’
Meyer did, however, explain that given how closely the teams are matched, technical and tactical superiority would not be the sole determinant of the winners. He said the ability to manage the pressure of the occasion and focus on the task at hand without being influenced by outside distractions – like qualification permutations – will be central to the success of either side.
In recent years the Bulls have often scrapped for a semi-final spot in the final stages of the tournament, the most notable of which came against the Reds in 2007, when they achieved the goal of having to beat the Queenslanders by a 72-point margin.
‘I won’t say it gives the Bulls an edge to have been in high pressure situations over the last couple of seasons, but they will know how to prepare and also have the benefit of knowing that they have beaten the Sharks at King’s Park in a high pressure match [the final in 2007],’ Meyer said.
‘But ultimately what happened before is fairly inconsequential. The Sharks will be determined to beat their great rivals irrespective of whether they are knocked out of the tournament by kick-off or not. You have to remember there is plenty of pride at stake, but more than that, the players will be wanting to make an impression on the Springbok selectors. That’s a huge motivating factor in itself.’
Meyer continued, saying it was imperative that the coaches of both sides have a clear idea of how they want to play and that they communicate that effectively to the players.
‘You have to control the controllables,’ he said. ‘Neither team can afford to wait until Saturday afternoon to decide how they should approach the match because of whatever scenarios the preceding games would have throw up.
‘They coaches should have a clear idea of how they want to play and that should have been drilled into the players from the Monday morning practice already. Players need clear messages so that they can prepare adequately. It’s crucial that both coaches detail exactly how they intend to play from the outset.
‘The Bulls must set themselves to win first and foremost, then focus on getting the bonus point,’ he added.
‘The Sharks will know what’s required by the time the match begins and they’ll probably need five points to book a place in the semis if other results go their way.
‘It’s set up to be one of the best South African derbies in years.’

791 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 16 » Show All
12 May 2009, 12:41 pm
However, somebody like Schalk Burger is 1.93m (six foot four inches).
i mean the other day i had to be subjected to everyone’s favourite bible stories…and how many times have we had to tolerate the geriatric flirting chatroom sessions.
these have f’ckall to do with rugby.
#292 tight head: Yeah, I hear you… but what about Jaco Engels as a future hooker?
Would it suit him, you think?
12 May 2009, 12:42 pm
Anyway, let me take my supposedly disruptive left-wing influence off this site.
Cheers all.
12 May 2009, 12:42 pm
#294 gunther: LOL…I agree…cj or bj if i was in PDV SHOES
12 May 2009, 12:45 pm
#295 Snoek: save the spark for the currie cup…no need to destroy sa last hope boet! LOL
12 May 2009, 12:46 pm
#302 grant10:
There’s no love in war mate.
geriatric flirting
#297 WP Till I Die: that explains why he poor on the floor…
12 May 2009, 12:48 pm
#296 grant10:
yeah its not so much of activism so much as letting ppl have their say. SA is a country full of issues, that is what happens after 300 years of racial oppression. And let me tell you its not only the political left that need their heads examined as some of the amateur physcholigsts on here would have one believe. There is a reason they all respond, it tugs at something that they’re not even aware of.
I think everyone has their own disposition, some ppl are genuinely easy going and do not want to get involved, which is fair enough. But there are others who see real injustice in what is discussed and want to set the record straight.
simple really, treat ppl with respect and they aint gonna fight with you.
Otherwise the website must purely be about rugby in that case all the vomit-inducing frivolities, bible stories, or yarpie kampvuur recipe-swapping must come to an end too. Tolerance.
12 May 2009, 12:48 pm
#298 cab: cmon you jealous bugger,,,,be a sport!!
12 May 2009, 12:49 pm
#298 cab: It never ends. We have had almost a full page of rugby related posts and here we go again…..
12 May 2009, 12:50 pm
#303 Snoek: i hear you…bulls wont be looking for a freebie…they know you predators looking to pee on there parade…
12 May 2009, 12:51 pm
#306 cab: Rugby please or go see a shrink!
12 May 2009, 12:51 pm
#292 tight head:
you’ve lost me
please explain again?
12 May 2009, 12:53 pm
#286 cab:
Cab
This is a very balanced view; thank you for taking the time to write those thoughts.
Lilith/hater should actually not blog on keo. I think she is not mature enough to handle the diversity of a blog of this nature.
We know that SA is filled with people who have serious racial issues. They deny it, but it is fact. Lilith is the fire that exposes that filth, but it is a fire that does not belong here. This is a rugby site.
She is drawn to this site exactly because of the presence of white Afrikaner males. She wants to fight with them and no better place to do it here.
But if we are brave then we need to say that rugby is what most Afrikaners love, not like, but love. It’s in their blood, like soccer for many others worldwide. It is then not surprising that Afrik will want to blog here.
In a sick way she wants to “metaphorically abused” hence the constant references to it. Go and track it. She keeps going back to it.
As a person of colour or “cullert” I take extraordinary steps to confront people who are part of this group to progress in their thinking. For this I have been called many things, but that is ok.
The day when people confront their “own” will be the day when we move forward.
The challenge to all of us to to evolve beyond our ethnicity and become people of PRINCIPLE. You take a view based on a principle not because indian/white/cullert/black guy said it.
So first the principle then the LOYALTY.
I feel sorry for lilith, cause she has a legitimate concern but is unable to engage people about the matter. She must be a very anxious person as even the most innocent of comments get twisted once she interprets them.
12 May 2009, 12:54 pm
John O’Neill and John Mitchell, decided to save some money in the current economic crises by sharing a lift to the annual *** Anzac Day Ball. Excited by the prospect of seeing their old friends from New Zealand and renewing old relationships both men were in a particularly jovial mood as they sped through the outback. On a deserted stretch of road about 100 miles from Alice Springs they came across a sign that read – Bruce O’Banion Taxidermist.
Not being the brightest individuals both were instantly confused. “Tell me John what’s a Taxidermist?” asked O’Neill.
“John – I have no idea mate,” replied Mitchell, “perhaps we should stop and ask him?”
They were in a hurry to get to the Ball but decided that as their curiosity would kill them otherwise, O’Neill would stop the car while Mitchell dashed in to speak to the proprietor.
As O’Neill kept his pink Mini Clubman idling in the parking area, John Mitchell ran inside where he found Bruce O’Banion enjoying a quiet beer while watching his personal copy of Muriel’s Wedding.
“Tell me mate,” asked Mitchell, “What is a taxidermist?”
“I stuff animals,” replied the taxidermist without diverting his gaze from the old television set.
Mitchell nodded his head in acknowledgement and returned to the car where he and O’Neill sped off towards the party in silence.
“So,” said John O’Neill bursting with curiosity, “What’s a taxidermist?”
Mitchell shrugged, “actually he’s just a regular guy!”
12 May 2009, 12:55 pm
#307 grant10:
dont get me wrong, i dont mind, am just skewing the situation so that ppl who are ganging up against old Lilith, realise that there are other points of discussion that are far from rugby-related.
#308 Bul-a-Bhloo:
well i agree, there should be one thread each day, where if a political argument takes off, it is limited to that thread and not carried elsewhere. I started reading the first hundred or so comments on this thread and it was about Lilith/hater. What has she said that is so offensively heinous?
#310 AB Bullsbok:
you first
12 May 2009, 12:56 pm
#306 cab:
Geriatric flirting????
12 May 2009, 12:57 pm
#313 KingPaul:
12 May 2009, 12:57 pm
#306 cab: tolerance and a bit of sensitivity…and just decent manners…a cocktail for a better world…starts with the individual…no use trying to change the world…just yourself…
12 May 2009, 13:00 pm
#313 Sheriff: Arguably the most racist post I have ever heard on Keo.
CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP!!!!! Tell him what he has won BOB!!!!!
Drum roll please……..
A slap on the back from the Oppressors!!!!!! Hayyyyyy!!!!!!
Congratulations Sheriff.
You have nicely divided the country in the soccer and rugby, based on their skin colour!!!!
1million bonus racist Keo dollars are yours!!!!
12 May 2009, 13:01 pm
Roy I’ve told you this a thousand times… simple IP ban software gets rid of the thousands of aliases the likes of Skopscat and co have… (they’re not smart enough to work out proxies)… until then… Keo will continue to be a sess-pool…
12 May 2009, 13:01 pm
SHERIFF!!!!!! SHERIFF !!!!!SHERIFF!!!!! SHERIFF!!!!!!!
12 May 2009, 13:02 pm
#314 cab: LOL…Its all good…i am guilty as charged…have toned it down…
#315 Dawn:
just an example of how some views might be slightly irritating.
i mean when i log onto ‘Os says Skrum is Kak’, i dont want to read ‘kiss kiss xx little one’, now do I?
#319 money_man:
With Hat(ed) the ringleader…
12 May 2009, 13:05 pm
#321 grant10:
no, am just stirring, you one of life’s very decent individuals, along with robzim and soda. i would mr shibobo too, but he’s a bit more controversial.
12 May 2009, 13:05 pm
#316 Ashley: hehehe, het self lekker gelag toe ek dit lees.
12 May 2009, 13:08 pm
damn…just when we were sorting out our front row problems!!
12 May 2009, 13:09 pm
O my magtag dit gaan n helse game wees die… sal maaar weer die geyser gaan verf terwyl die game aan is… blou die keer.
12 May 2009, 13:10 pm
#324 cab: thank you…i see you in the same light……enjoy skop as well…and lilith will always be my friend too.
12 May 2009, 13:11 pm
#315 cab: You are going to be attacked and you must have known that when you posted that sensible piece of writing.
Tell you why talking rugga is very hard here.
Every day, these rugga bloggers come up with little derogatory words. Now I love my rugga. I watch every single S14 discuss the teams with friends whatever, and when I blogged her the first time I noticed little things like.
We have a quota coach, the official that let Luauaki off the hook is a quota official. Earl Rose is a h0tn0t, Vulindle got the man of the match award in the Sharks game because they felt sorry for him and it was a give the prize to the black kid award. Adi Jacobs was sellected because its PDV quota decision.
You see Roy here and the rest of these people. Think that they are having a rugby conversation when they say things like this.
They make a pool of derogatory statements, and call it rugby. If you object, then you are political and ruining a nice (read racist) rugby conversation.
The Keo moderator cannot see anything wrong when these comments are repeatedly made, and wonders why its hard to blog rugga when you are persistently being insulted and discriminated against.
Their answer ofcourse is to scroll on and don;t read how racist they are being. The final alternative is when they say, like Sheriff there. Rugby belongs to Afrikaner white men, and Soccer belongs to black people and they tell you, a rugga lover, to leave their site alone, where they can abuse you as much as they would like, in peace.
12 May 2009, 13:13 pm
#327 Staal: lol….huge,,,,this is 1 time i am happy to be a stormer….dont know if my heart could handle being a bulls or sharks fan on sat….will relax with good mates and loads of beers….
12 May 2009, 13:14 pm
in my honest opinion the worst thing you can call anyone is:
You Stormer supporter!!!!!!
12 May 2009, 13:15 pm
#330 grant10: Eish…sorry vir 331!
12 May 2009, 13:17 pm
#313 KingPaul:
Speaking of same *** love………..That photo of Jake and Eddie that often appears on the home page here.
Just how close is Jake to grabbing little Eddie and giving him a french kiss.
(not that there is anything wrong with that).
12 May 2009, 13:18 pm
#330 grant10:
No man, it’s fun to be on the edge of your chair.
#329 lilith: i sincerely believe you are an asset to any site…your knowledge of the game is top class….the fact you dont rate my man untd is a huge blemish but hey…none of us perfect!! A lot of us would hate it if you were banned…we also hate the ongoing war mentality….can we seriously not start afresh…..from now on any racism, etc,just ban for a week at least….no questions asked….
#330 grant10: True, even as a ‘neutral’ I’m feeling a bit nervous. Can’t wait though.
#318 lilith:
Lilith, consider this:
Stage 1: Ignorance
Stage 2: Suspicion that something is wrong
Stage 3: Realisation that something is indeed wrong
Stage 4: Anger/ Bitterness
Stage 5: Give expression to the anger
Stage 6: Give expression less frequently
Stage 7: Closure
I think you are trapped in stages 4-5.
I feel NOTHING for any culture but nevertheless respect people. Those who have been here for a while know me like that.
Your (and likeminded others’)gripe with me is that I dont take your side. I will but only if your are entirely correct, otherwise PRINCIPLE dictate that I isolate just the valuable bits and chuck the rest.
Generally what you (or anyone else) think of me is not what drives me.
Roy
You promised to stop this?
12 May 2009, 13:19 pm
See the world has gone mad….
People are calling the Bulls as favorites this saturday?
Madnessssssssss!
#329 lilith: Hey sus, jy was die een wat gister gevra het ons moet ophou om die “H” woord te gebruik, maar jy gaan net aan. So jy is net so sleg en skuldig soos daai Laeveld Leeu??
Rugby behoort aan die mense wie dit speel en wie dit support. Nie aan ‘n spesifieke ras of godsdiens groep nie.
Hoekom is jy so????
#331 Staal: Hehehe, Staal… ek en my seun het hierdie speletjie in die kar, wanneer ons erens heen ry…
As ‘n bestuurder erg akkies aanjaag voor ons, dan skel ons op hom en se “Blerrie Sokkerondersteuner”
As die bestuurder akkies aanjaag en dit is ongehoord erg, dan skel ons op hom en se “Blerrie Stormers supporter”
Hel, nou’s ek seker weer in die akkies hier oor ‘n goedige speletjie….
#331 Staal: LOL
12 May 2009, 13:21 pm
#334 Snoek: AS a stormer i have been on the edge of the chair….with a rope around my neck!!LOL
12 May 2009, 13:21 pm
#333 cane:
12 May 2009, 13:22 pm
#331 Staal: Nee man, dis mos nou nie nodig om my dag so op te neuk nie!!! hehehehe
12 May 2009, 13:23 pm
#341 grootblousmile:
#343 grant10:
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 16 » Show All