Blending brains and brawn

Heyneke Meyer believes a hybrid of tactical precision and mental strength will determine the victor when the Sharks meet the Bulls at King’s Park on Saturday.

Meyer coached the Bulls to the Super 14 championship in 2007 before narrowly missing selection for the Springboks coaching role in 2008. He then coached Premiership club Leicester Tigers before returning to South Africa to be with ailing family members. He is currently the CEO of Sports Max, a company that looks at the holistic development of elite athletes.

Meyer said he expected the game to be relatively conservative in nature and that it would be characterised by an emphasis on forward play and tactical kicking. He noted the Sharks’ prowess from broken field and stressed that the Bulls must starve their supply in this regard, or risk exposing themselves to dangerous counter-attacks.

‘I watched the Bulls play the Cheetahs [last Saturday] and knew that if they opened it up the Cheetahs would feed off their mistakes. That’s exactly what happened. They can’t afford to make the same errors against a very good side like the Sharks,’ Meyer told keo.co.za.

‘What they’ve done so far has made them successful. I’ve heard criticism of their percentage approach but they’re top of the log with a chance of hosting a semi-final. They must have been doing something right.

‘The Sharks are an accomplished unit who are very difficult to beat in Durban. In the 2007 final they pinned us in our half through the boots of Percy Montgomery, Ruan Pienaar and Frans Steyn. The Bulls can’t allow them to dictate the field position like that because once they get on a roll they’re very hard to stop.’

Meyer said the return from suspension of Rory Kockott would add a skilled tactical kicker to their arsenal and added that the Bulls’ capacity to match them in this facet of play would hinge heavily on the availability of Fourie du Preez. The incumbent Springbok No 9 injured his calf muscle a fortnight ago and is uncertain of being fit for the match.

‘Not taking anything away from Heini Adams and Francois Hougaard, who are good scrumhalves in their own right, it’ll be a massive boast if Fourie was available, especially considering the [tactical] pattern the game is likely to follow,’ Meyer said.

‘He is the best tactical kicking scrumhalf in world rugby, and if you review the Bulls’ season you’ll note that many of their tries have come from box kicks Fourie has put up. He can put the ball on a dime and weights it so perfectly that he gives his wingers enough time to contest the ball. This puts a massive amount of pressure on the opposition. He’ll be a key player if he is fit.’

Meyer did, however, explain that given how closely the teams are matched, technical and tactical superiority would not be the sole determinant of the winners. He said the ability to manage the pressure of the occasion and focus on the task at hand without being influenced by outside distractions – like qualification permutations – will be central to the success of either side.

In recent years the Bulls have often scrapped for a semi-final spot in the final stages of the tournament, the most notable of which came against the Reds in 2007, when they achieved the goal of having to beat the Queenslanders by a 72-point margin.

‘I won’t say it gives the Bulls an edge to have been in high pressure situations over the last couple of seasons, but they will know how to prepare and also have the benefit of knowing that they have beaten the Sharks at King’s Park in a high pressure match [the final in 2007],’ Meyer said.

‘But ultimately what happened before is fairly inconsequential. The Sharks will be determined to beat their great rivals irrespective of whether they are knocked out of the tournament by kick-off or not. You have to remember there is plenty of pride at stake, but more than that, the players will be wanting to make an impression on the Springbok selectors. That’s a huge motivating factor in itself.’

Meyer continued, saying it was imperative that the coaches of both sides have a clear idea of how they want to play and that they communicate that effectively to the players.

‘You have to control the controllables,’ he said. ‘Neither team can afford to wait until Saturday afternoon to decide how they should approach the match because of whatever scenarios the preceding games would have throw up.

‘They coaches should have a clear idea of how they want to play and that should have been drilled into the players from the Monday morning practice already. Players need clear messages so that they can prepare adequately. It’s crucial that both coaches detail exactly how they intend to play from the outset.

‘The Bulls must set themselves to win first and foremost, then focus on getting the bonus point,’ he added.

‘The Sharks will know what’s required by the time the match begins and they’ll probably need five points to book a place in the semis if other results go their way.

‘It’s set up to be one of the best South African derbies in years.’

791 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 1316 » Show All

• 351.lilith: Reply to this comment

#341 KingPaul: You cannot read. You are attacking me because I am telling the truth. You guys use derogatory words all day, and think its fine.
    You react, because you don;t want me to say it. That’s all.

#338 Sheriff: What are you going to do with your prize money? The 1 million racist dollars.

• 352.Staal: Reply to this comment

#345 KingPaul: Sorry man – te veel caffien hierdie kant.

• 353.grant10: Reply to this comment

#341 grootblousmile: we will have that young man in our stormers front row in 5 years time…watch this space…LOL

• 354.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#343 grant10:

The difference between me and you on the chair, is me sitting, and you standing.

• 355.lilith: Reply to this comment

#339 Bul-a-Bhloo: I know. He did.

What did you ask for. Through the black bloggers out?

I asked for fairness.

What do you think he is going to do?

• 356.Wukong: Reply to this comment

aaah now I remember why I have not been here for over a month

• 357.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

Roy

You really do need to stop this drivel.

• 358.Staal: Reply to this comment

Caffeine

• 359.grant10: Reply to this comment

#350 Snoek: and you cheering…and me crying!!!

• 360.lilith: Reply to this comment

#336 grant10: But Grant, if Roy here did not think what Ed the Lion said on Friday was racist, and that he ought to be banned, how is that system ever going to be fair?

• 361.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#349 grant10: Oor my DOOIE liggaam !

Ek het ‘n goeie seun, nie ‘n “Blerrie Stormersondersteuner” nie…

Hehehe

• 362.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#341 grootblousmile: As ons weer so in Gansbaai hotel kuier en daar kom ‘n muppit in met sulke lang hare en so ‘n boeppens en hy maak vreeslik droog, dan skel ons hom uit as ‘n tipiese Bull supporter…

• 363.grant10: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn will apparently be available for selection vs lions…as will jdv…and w o playing well….another dilemma for pdv…

• 364.Johnny7: Reply to this comment

Hou by die blou

• 365.Johnny7: Reply to this comment

#360 Johnny7: Die POU BLOU!!!!

• 366.Staal: Reply to this comment

#358 KingPaul: nee daaise ou van Benoni!

• 367.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#358 KingPaul: Maar jy’s mossie ‘n tipiese Bull supporter nie…. hehehe

• 368.Snoek: Reply to this comment

Cheers, was fun chatting rugby.

Go Sharks!

• 369.Staal: Reply to this comment

hoe weet jy wie is die bruid by n troue in Benoni?

…sy’s die een mettie wit sweetpak aan!

• 370.Johnny7: Reply to this comment

#358 KingPaul: Ini Haak, sal niks minder as die waarheid verwag van jou af nie!!

• 371.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#362 Staal: Benoni bedonnerd weesie….

• 372.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#329 lilith:

By the way, I think you lack in the intellect dept as well.

Where did I say whites love rugby and blacks soccer and by implication that skin colour dictates preference?

I merely stated that it is understandable that most Afrikaners will want to blog here or discuss rugby as they love rugby.

Must they not like it purely because an insignificant person in Port Elizabeth, SA has unresolved issues?

Similarly millions around the world love soccer, everywhere. That’s why 2010 is so huge as it is the biggest event in the world.

See, you cannot see the bigger picture.

• 373.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

#337 Sheriff: Good post Lawman.

Lilith, since you are so easily offended by other third party persons’ remarks about fourth party persons, I have decided to ask you a question or two (in first to second person mode):

1. What do you think about quotas? Is it not simply a reversed racism? Previously the quota was 22/22 must be white, now it is 8/22 must be non-white… Seems like nothing but a numbers game to me.

2. Do you like white people?

3. Do you like non-white people?

(My answers would be: 1 – I can count, 2 Some, 3 Some. But that’s me, LOL!)

• 374.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

#365 Staal: ROFL!

• 375.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#358 KingPaul:
    Dit sal waarskynlik ek wees daai, moet net bietjie werk aan die pens nog!

Jisjis, alle rugbmense.
    Interessante posts hier vandag deur Grant, Tighthead en daai ouens, oor losvoorspelers en voorryspel teen die Leeus.
    Ek dink Grant10 slaan die spyker oppie kop, met sy keuse van loosies.
    Maar ek lees graag verder, hou by die rugby mense, dis lekker so, en mens kan baie leer van alle kenners hier.

• 376.cane: Reply to this comment

No one has a monoply on truth.

Truth is neither black nor white,

But lives in the gray area, of what for most of us is reality.

• 377.grant10: Reply to this comment

#356 lilith: i am not sure how this whole moderating thing works…dont know Roy at all….point is Ed has apologised …acknowledged he was wrong….he was ….so was the chap that carried on about the farm grabs , etc…correct..there and then i would of banned them both…perhaps that is key…the moderator has to be absolutely firm and principled in his asessments and decisions….and then all have to support the moderator…no sending of e mails…changing nics to get back on, etc…

• 378.grant10: Reply to this comment

#357 grootblousmile: cheque book and clifton beach…he will be convinced…LOL

• 379.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

#356 lilith: What did he say?

• 380.grant10: Reply to this comment

#364 Snoek: cheers boet

• 381.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#363 grootblousmile: Een van die dae draf Bonzai vir die WP uit!! Sien al hoe draf jy al gillende langs die veld met jou streeptrui aan en jou keps met ‘n rooi disa op!! Ek sal self tyd spandeer om jou te leer rooiwyn drink…

• 382.Johnny7: Reply to this comment

#365 Staal: #367 grootblousmile:

LMGA Die beide van julle

• 383.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#347 lilith:

Build you an RDP house to the value of R87,500 and instal a satellite dish so you can watch soccer, cause clearly you are not passionate about rugby.

Did you say dollars? Plenty left then.

Then I’ll sponsor you for anger management classes to the value of R12,500.

That way people like you cannot accuse me of not doing my bit for the community.

• 384.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#371 Pietman: Was oor Paasnaweek nogal verbaas oor hoeveel Bull supporters daar by die SeaView uithang. Een van my mees favorite bars daai.

• 385.Wallabie. - 'Keo night owls' Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!: Reply to this comment

It seems there has been much hate and disgust with one another today.

People its rugby and if we can respect one another views we will get some healthy banter/discussion going.

This weekend the brumbies are going to do a dirty on the chiefs. Looking forward to it.
    Saffas back the bulls but sharks can qualify if they beat the bulls – HUMDINGER (the game to watch this weekend)

If a RSA team wins the S14 it will not change John Oneill view point. The destiny of Super rugby would have been decided by then.

• 386.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#380 KingPaul:
    Ek wil weer n slag daar in, by die Seaview.
    Was jare laas daar.

• 387.lilith: Reply to this comment

#374 grant10: He only banned the one guy. How was that fair?

#369 Sheriff: So you resort to insults. Hey all I asked is what you intend to do with your prize money.

#370 King Shark – Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: before i answer yours. How would you like it if whenever I posted a comment about Bakkies Botha I refer to his as a: (and this is purely to illustrate a point)

“previously advantaged dom boer”

Would you care to even continue a conversation with me after that? Or would I also have to say that you are sensitive.

1. Quotas the word, you guys use as a replacement for the K-word on Keo. In its correct sense they are not reverse racism. Do you believe that all players of colour do not deserve to play rugga? Because I believe some white ones and black ones do not deserve the call ups they get. Both sides.

2 and 3 I have no problem with anyone of any race, I have a problem with all people who call me derogatory names, and attack my person. All people.

I know you will pick this post out and look for a way to attack me again. Sheriff says : “It’s in your blood”.

• 388.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#377 KingPaul: Al wanneer BonzaiGBS sal uitdraf vir ‘n span wat jy support is as hy Bokke toe gaan…. of dit nou Klein Bokkies of groot Bokke is maakie saakie….

Indien my seun se kop hom verlaat en hy speel onder die Disa… sal ek maar vir die span teen hom skree…. en op hom skree…

Hehehe

Dis soos die ou dae se Sappe / Natte ding jong, dit kan die familie skeur….

Hahaha

• 389.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#381 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!: Howzit Walla? See you are stil clinging to your crown as SuperBru 2008 champ. How are you doing this season?

• 390.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#381 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!:
    There are new pools for the Lions tour on Superbru, why don’t you join?

Btw, where is Superbul, he hasn’t approved my application for the Keo Night Owls yet?

• 391.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#381 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!:

It’s our way to make Australians feel better about themselves.

• 392.Wallabie. - 'Keo night owls' Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!: Reply to this comment

The best the sharks can do is finish 3rd and play against the bulls two weeks in a row…if the bulls top the S14.

The final could be between Bulls and Crusaders/Brumbies/chiefs

• 393.lilith: Reply to this comment

#380 Sheriff: So because I’m black I must be poor. Is that it Sheriff. More derogatory attacks.

See this is the reason you will not get me to be quiet. It persists. You derogatory banter which is nothing but an onslaught of racial attacks.

• 394.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ek wil net vir die mense in Benoni laat weet dat:

Pluimvee issie sulke hot trou geskenke nie.

• 395.Wallabie. - 'Keo night owls' Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!: Reply to this comment

#386 Pietman:

You serious…honestly i have not seen super for a while. But then I have not been on here much it is only in the last few days I have put some time on here.

• 396.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#384 grootblousmile: Soos my skoonpa vertel het, daai dae (middel 80′s) as die WP teen ‘n ANC Youth League span moet speel, dan support hulle beslis die ANCYL span!!!

• 397.lilith: Reply to this comment

#376 King Shark – Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Ask the others. They were very proud of his comment.

• 398.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#384 grootblousmile:
    Ek onthou hoe die laaities mekaar pouses gemoer het, oor Sap en Nat!
    Natte het Fords gery en Sappe Chevs…

• 399.grant10: Reply to this comment

gotta go make some money…outta here….cheers all…

• 400.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#383 lilith: and even those that dont call you names… I have not ONCE insulted you or any part of your person, yet here you lump me in with those that did…

Ill State it again, “you are all as bad as each other”

this is the crime that has you having me siding with those that attacked you.. DE farkin lusional… now IM pissed!!!!!!!!!!

… please, someone, tell me, was that a personal attack on Lillith ? Im farked off that you assume something about me when you dont even know me…

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 1316 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.