De Bruyn banned

Cheetahs scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn has been banned for three weeks for a dangerous tackle on Akona Ndungane.

De Bruyn received a yellow card for the tackle during his side’s 29-20 loss to the Bulls and pleaded guilty to the charge.

Judicial officer Jannie Lubbe heard evidence from the player and Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske, while he viewed video footage as well as reports from the match referee and assistant referee.

Lubbe decided the incident was a dangerous tackle at mid entry level that requires a sanction of six weeks. However, the mitigating circumstances meant the suspension was reduced to three weeks from all rugby.

De Bruyn will miss the match against the Stormers, but will be available to face the British & Irish Lions on 6 June, although he can appeal the decision.

Sarel Pretorius is the likely replacement for the Cheetahs’ final Super 14 fixture.

314 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 1.blouhoender: Reply to this comment

Banned Dragon!

• 2.King Shark - Optimism is for fools. Sorry Sharks.: Reply to this comment

Good. Clamp down on this rubbish.

• 3.funkyzoo: Reply to this comment

And Sione Lauaki decapitates Habana with no sanction? Rugby in Wonderland.

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

consistency so lacking…

• 5.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Stupidity rules

• 6.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#3 funkyzoo:

You should thank Luaki, Habana has been great since that hit. I think he’s been smacked out of his World Cup dreams.

I was contemplating replacing him with Nokwe before that hit on him.

• 7.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

Sheehan viciously knocked Barritt unconscious while Liebenberg and the Force winger moered each other with closed fists. How they got of free I just cannot understand.

• 8.klippies101: Reply to this comment

ja its so unfair the aussie should have been banned

• 9.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lmao! another beaut by our own lads.

no one accuses us of bias, except our own people :lol:

• 10.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

fark a duck.

It was dangerous, not malicious as one can see on the video footage…

typical SA judiciary… where can I watch league?

• 11.Puma: Reply to this comment

#7 It is just a game: Agree, How the heck did Sheehan get off from that shoulder into Barritts face? Damn he should have got 3 weeks at least.

• 12.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Yup. Sheehan get’s niks.

Weird. Not wonderful.

• 13.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

They should have given Meyer Bosman a ban for that quick throw in, and included Hendro Scholtz for good measure, for catching the ball and running to score in cheating fasion.

• 14.Transformation: Reply to this comment

who is this dom kop of judicial officer? Where did he qualify to be a lawyer? sheehan gets away with murder & tewis is docked for 3 weeks?

• 15.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#14 Transformation:

I’m hurt that you told me to shut up…

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#15 Sheriff: i know you’re not, it was tongue in cheek anyway, if u’re a clever as u purport u’ll would’ve got that…

On the other thread, did u see me greet ed the lion & ask him how he is? And he spurned my olive branch…can’t say i didn’t take your teachings & try…

• 17.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#16 Transformation:

I learn something new on keo every day. That’s my primary purpose on keo: to learn.

I am a simple man, you know that.

I apologise if I came across as someone who wants to be seen as clever.

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#17 Sheriff: no need to apologise to me, you’re the least of the trouble here…what we need get to the bottom of is why saffa players are getting hammered with full penalties, yet the kiwis & aussie are slipping thru the cracks, in our own backyard…

• 19.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#18 Transformation:

I’m trying to set an example and always looking for opportunities to apologise.

I may have to apologise later that I apologise so easily.

• 20.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Lubbe qualified at the University of Schelmbos

• 21.Ou-Jakkals: Reply to this comment

Ek verpes dit dat iemand op hierdie vlak homself doelbewus aan sulke dinge skuldig maak.

And I am a blood-Cheetah supporter.

However I agree – looks like the same rules do not apply to everybody.

• 22.Cyborg: Reply to this comment

#19 Sheriff:
    Ha ha!

• 23.grant10: Reply to this comment

D Day thursday….i enjoy the kiwi and aussie people on the blog…but really question the merits of further participation in the super 14…the 5 week vs 3 week travel…constant citing mismanagements and general bad blood which now seems to exist makes me believe our salvation may be North…

• 24.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#18 Transformation: Too bloody right mate.

On all your posts. Rugby and not so rugby (although there is a lot of tackling).

• 25.funkyzoo: Reply to this comment

#6 Snoek:

Excellent. Let’s have Lauaki smack some of our other guys then. Schalk, Juan and Pierre all need to up their game for the Lions. Maybe the Tongan Coathanger is what’s needed.

Come to think of it all of the Sharks-Boks and Stormers-Boks could afford to change gear.

• 26.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#23 grant10: No boet. SH is where we belong.

O’Neill is fighting for the life of the game in Australia. he ‘s doing is job. And ask every Kiwi – he usually gets what he wants. He wants another franchise in Aus – which will give the game some critical mass (smart. And for goodness sake we don’t need another team from SA). This is good for the game overall.

He wants a later start – with all the rugby played by internationals and S14 participants – they can do with a wee rest.

We hold the Currie Cup sacred – we will keep that.

Kiwis keep their dignity through everything.

• 27.gunther: Reply to this comment

I know a little free state boy who is going to need a little lie down when he reads this…

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

#26 SodaJoe: i am all for the retention Soda…as long as we can sort out the travel issues…the extra travel is…if you ask the sa coaches …the biggest problem….the currie cup can surely be watered down…a case of the smaller unions holding SARU to ransom again i suppose?? As for the additional team…we really cant afford much more than 4 …never mind 6….

Problem is the negotiations seem to have become personal…and tainted blood in the water never easy to quench a thirst…we need to have an option b…

• 29.carol: Reply to this comment

#28 grant10: How are you doing, has the flu taken hold yet?
    Can I mop your fevered brow!!
    Have you met anyone from Mexico recently, I have to ask!

• 30.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#28 grant10: The reality is that the CC is already “watered down” until the final stages. We have to be honest about that.

O’Neill will get more if he knows our Achilles Heel is our desire to be liked.

• 31.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#27 gunther: Howzit.

• 32.grant10: Reply to this comment

#29 carol: this flu is a bit of a swine…full of anti biotics…cough mivture and anti histamines…a pleasant buzz…gonna make me a hot totty…as soon as the blonde gets home…she is doing some politics…then the spelling shot for the nite!! XX

• 33.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#32 grant10: What is the spelling shot?

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

#30 SodaJoe: it is…yes…i am all for a super rugby that levels the playing fields…all the super 14 coaches reckons thats a huge disadvantage…thats why bulls must get top spot…no one gonna easily fly in from aussie or nz after a tough semi and go to loftus and win…and vice versa…must be a system…

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

#33 SodaJoe: spelling in its moer…gets bad…

• 36.carol: Reply to this comment

#32 grant10: Hot ‘totty’ is something else where I live!!
    I think you mean hot ‘toddy’,…. however a ‘hot totty’ will make you feel a whole lot better!

• 37.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#36 carol: He he. Surely Grant is not that way inclined….

• 38.gunther: Reply to this comment

#26 SodaJoe:

I agree we belong down here but as usual O’Neil wants everything his way…he insinuates that we are stubborn but why should we be pushed around by a union that contribues 18% of the SANZAR revenue… happy we have Marinos in there he is no pushover (remember the Stormers players strike) in facthe is a sneaky little f@cker…just what we need when dealing with the sneakiest little f@ckers of hem all…

#29 carol:

a speedo is no protection from swine flu…

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

#36 carol: LOL…Well i am not gonna discuss my hot totty on the site…enough body parts mentioned on this site last 2 days as it is…

• 40.grant10: Reply to this comment

#37 Bul-a-Bhloo: red blooded as can be!!!

• 41.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#34 grant10: Speedo. There is a big difference between winning and whining.

Lets just win the ****** thing however it is played.

I would like Sharks to win by 1 point, Bulls to score 4 tries, Ruan to kick like Percy.

Tahs, Canes, Brumbies, all to lose.

These guys fly first class, stay in 5 star hotels, have masseurs and what not. The travel deal is tiring, but not the real reason we lose.

• 42.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#40 grant10: :)

• 43.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#36 carol: Couldn’t agree more. the best is a hot toddy served by hot totty.

• 44.grant10: Reply to this comment

#38 gunther: LOL…bloody soda with that speedo ****…i will never live it down….Marinos knows his stuff….and hoskins n ones fool….we will go with our powder dry…just hope we have an option b…seems they do.

• 45.gunther: Reply to this comment

#36 carol:

you are indeed hot totty..

• 46.carol: Reply to this comment

#37 Bul-a-Bhloo: Grant is a real gentleman, however I think ‘totty’ could sway him!!

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

#41 SodaJoe: boet…at this level its not a whine…its the 2 or 3 % difference on match day that kills you…check the stats when it comes to away semis, finals, etc…lets find a system where playing fields are level. And for heavens sake if we gonna walk lets take the trophy with us…go bulls!!!

• 48.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#38 gunther: Speedo comment is another classic.

It is all a negotiation. It will be sorted out.

We absolutely DO NOT NEED another super franchise. I would give one away if I could. Get a melbourne team. Base one in Tonga/Samoa/Fiji.

One of the more annoying things at the moment is accusing Aus of the ELV’s. For goodness sake WE invented them, trialed them in Koshuis League.

And there are some terrific improvements – no kick back, 5m, quick line out. Awesome. Now make a try 6 points.

• 49.carol: Reply to this comment

#39 grant10: I saw you extend the hand of friendship and I really admire you stance on trying to bring fractions of your country together….

Does it feel like banging your head on a brick wall?

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

#46 carol: what the devil is ‘totty’??

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.