De Bruyn banned
12 May 2009
Cheetahs scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn has been banned for three weeks for a dangerous tackle on Akona Ndungane.
De Bruyn received a yellow card for the tackle during his side’s 29-20 loss to the Bulls and pleaded guilty to the charge.
Judicial officer Jannie Lubbe heard evidence from the player and Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske, while he viewed video footage as well as reports from the match referee and assistant referee.
Lubbe decided the incident was a dangerous tackle at mid entry level that requires a sanction of six weeks. However, the mitigating circumstances meant the suspension was reduced to three weeks from all rugby.
De Bruyn will miss the match against the Stormers, but will be available to face the British & Irish Lions on 6 June, although he can appeal the decision.
Sarel Pretorius is the likely replacement for the Cheetahs’ final Super 14 fixture.

314 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
12 May 2009, 19:54 pm
#43 SodaJoe: Trouble is that could raise his temperature!!
12 May 2009, 19:55 pm
#45 gunther: You may just need to explain to Grant what ‘Totty’ is !!
(Can he really not know)??
12 May 2009, 19:56 pm
#48 SodaJoe: just stop the collapsing of the maul…and the breakdown is a bloody lottery of note…you trust them aussies more than i do by the sounds of things!!!
12 May 2009, 19:57 pm
#47 grant10: Sharks not out of it.
There is no way to overcome geography. The earth is a pretty “set in stone” thing.
But if someone has an idea, and I think that they are doing better, then go for it.
But if you want to join the Magner’s League beacuse S14 is “too haaard. tooooo faaaaar. waaah waaah waah”, I am not joining you.
We say we’re the best. Now we have to beat the best.
And oh yes. Lets beat the Lions 3-0. Pienaar man of the series. Brussouw runner up.
12 May 2009, 19:58 pm
#52 carol:
yes …. in this country they are unaware of “totty”…
12 May 2009, 19:59 pm
#31 SodaJoe:
howzit root beer joseph..
12 May 2009, 20:00 pm
#55 gunther: Wow really!! amazing, are you going to do the honours for Grant then?
12 May 2009, 20:00 pm
#49 carol: carol perhaps i am of a different species…probably far too sensitive for my own good…cannot believe the different world i seem to inhabit…perhaps my slice of SA is very different to the rest of my country….but i cant sit back and not do something to try and influence positive change…my forehead is bruised from a;ll the shut doors…but if 1 person sits back and thinks about it…then a bruise or 2 worthwhile…
12 May 2009, 20:01 pm
#53 grant10: The trundling rolling maul is boring boring boring boring boring.
But the short arm free kick is a shambles.
I trust Aussies, Kiwis, Yanquis, Mexicans, Saffas, Zimbos, Brazilians (Giselle is super-hot totty)…. It’s individuals tha tend to be ar$eholes.
12 May 2009, 20:01 pm
#54 SodaJoe:
personally I am all for it… after my bulls win the super 14 this year I think it is time for us to add “Heineken Cup Champions” to our list….
12 May 2009, 20:03 pm
#58 grant10: Very commendable but I find it hard to understand how someone can be so rude to someone here and be flabbergasted when they retaliate!
12 May 2009, 20:04 pm
#24 SodaJoe: hey soda, what do u mean by ”lot of tackles”
12 May 2009, 20:06 pm
#55 gunther: Only in Cape Town. Because they focus on hot botty.
Us Handsome Devils. We KNOW our hot totty.
12 May 2009, 20:07 pm
#54 SodaJoe: no boet…i luv nailing the aussies and nothing will ever beat the elation of beating the kiwis…dont get me wrong…its not the size of the challenge or the distances to travel…its the time away from home…5 weeks vs 3 just not on…i take no joy in walking away fromm the challenge…just dont like fighting with 1 arm behind my back…
12 May 2009, 20:08 pm
#62 Transformation: Ag bud. The last 2 days have been pretty embarrassing from a societal and intelligence quotient point of view.
I was speaking metaphorically about the behaviour on the blog. Very sad, in a “hopeless case” way.
12 May 2009, 20:09 pm
#57 carol:
well not physically but here goes
Grant my svelte and speedoed friend … hot totty is in fact a British phrase for a “fit chick”….like Carol…she would be hot totty in anyone’s lexicon…
12 May 2009, 20:09 pm
#60 gunther: Too easy. +20 points.
12 May 2009, 20:10 pm
#59 SodaJoe: aaaahhh…now i know what totty is…thought it was the male member!!! I trust most people at face value…except aussies, kiwis, poms, french….
12 May 2009, 20:11 pm
#61 carol: Well I remain flabbergasted that people respond. That is just dumb. Smoky little camp fires usually go out when left alone.
12 May 2009, 20:11 pm
#59 SodaJoe: a well constructed rolling maul is a thing of rare beauty…
12 May 2009, 20:12 pm
#60 gunther: i will be a fully clad and converted bulls fan come sat!!
12 May 2009, 20:12 pm
#66 gunther: I see Grant Drank his “Hot Totty” tonight… in that case can I have a double “Hot totty” to take before and after I go to bed, please….
Hehehe
12 May 2009, 20:13 pm
#61 carol: helleva complex society …
12 May 2009, 20:14 pm
#66 gunther: Aww, shucks….

#68 grant10: Grant this bit of British Totty is off for a run….till later xx
12 May 2009, 20:15 pm
#72 grootblousmile: What are you doing here, I just put on my trainers…..!!
12 May 2009, 20:15 pm
#66 gunther: thanks Gunther…the other evening soda told me what a Milf is …man i must be in another world to the rest of you …
12 May 2009, 20:16 pm
#75 carol: Trainers in SA is known as “Tekkies”
12 May 2009, 20:16 pm
#69 SodaJoe: here they start mountain engulfing fires of note!!!
12 May 2009, 20:17 pm
#63 SodaJoe:
its in our DNA…
12 May 2009, 20:17 pm
#74 carol: i feel like a bit of totty to be honest…
12 May 2009, 20:18 pm
#77 grootblousmile: ‘Tekkies’ on, dog barking…….I’m outta here for a bit….till later ***
12 May 2009, 20:19 pm
#80 grant10: Stop distracting me!!!
I would love to oblige but………..Wooooosh…I’m off.
12 May 2009, 20:21 pm
#82 carol: i think its the anti histamines…got me all steamed up here…
12 May 2009, 20:22 pm
totty…not a very endearing term…
12 May 2009, 20:25 pm
had plenty of good totty in my time…now a 1 totty man…
12 May 2009, 20:26 pm
#84 grant10: Don’t confuse “Totty” and “Tottie”
You know why South Africans call it a “Tottie”?
Want hy hang Tot Hieeeerrrrrrrr
Hehehe
12 May 2009, 20:26 pm
fancy a spot of tot…???
12 May 2009, 20:28 pm
#86 grootblousmile: thats where the confusion came in …totty…stupid term imo…whats wrong with good old fashioned ….no …fark…dont wanna get banned…and all this medication got me in the mood to make trouble…
12 May 2009, 20:29 pm
hot botty….yeah…like that!!
12 May 2009, 20:33 pm
#65 SodaJoe: ag soda, some day are worse than others i say, sometimes i don’t even think about half the stuff that happens here until i put my pc on or i got through my bookmarks on my mobile & i see the 3rd one being ”keo.co.za” and then it hits me…i just wish people would stop being facetious, because it is easy to be an @sshole, pretty damn easy…the reward is being a good person, but i can tell you it is hard to do that when dealing with set mindsets, obstinate & seemingly egotistical people.
I tell you sometimes it is easier to put up a building with new & emerging contractors than it is with the well established onces who are dead set in their ways, even when you show them potential pitfalls, they look past you cos in their minds they know better…
It’s not even about fighting or quarreling, if only people on the blog would be aware of what they put out, there wouldn’t even be a need for reactions. For instance look @ ed the lion, he says he didn’t mean any harm or to offend, okay fine whatever, but i would dare him to spew anti-semitic stuff on this blog, i’ve never seen anti-semitic comments on this blog not even once, are people more sensitive to jewish people than people of colour?
Anyway it’s neither here nor there, i know there are good bloggers & there are spiteful ones too, it is the way it is, i’m not here to change anyone but rest assured i will point out injustice or prejudice when i see it, if a person decide to tell me to **** off, i’ve done my part, roy or whoever this moderator schmuck is supposed to be has a job to do…enough for one day! Whew…can i also have a ”hot totty?”
12 May 2009, 20:34 pm
#86 grootblousmile: And don’t confuse Tottie with Tsotsie.
12 May 2009, 20:37 pm
#76 grant10:
a parallel universe yet our place of work next door to each other…the wonder of the internet…
#84 grant10:
totty is in the eye of the beholder
12 May 2009, 20:38 pm
forgive the diatribe, i guess i’m tired…
12 May 2009, 20:38 pm
#91 SodaJoe: Yip, we have enough Tsotsi’s in SA…. but not enough Hot Totty… there’s never enough Hot Totty….
12 May 2009, 20:41 pm
Hi Grant 10/all other bloggers
Safe to talk rugby here ???
I have not posted for a while but cannot resist now that the Lions are about to arrive at our shores, I apologise for the long post in advance!!
I’ve read a lot of posts about the composition of our squad and I agree with the majority of sentiment that we have problems at 3/10/15.
At 3 the logical solution will be to bring in BJ or CJ,
I do not however think PDEV will do this, I think he will play Smit at tight head, this has been a blueprint of his since his appointment and I cannot see him changing his thinking at the 11th hour!!! It will give the Lions a huge advantage should he do this though. If we go backwards in the scrum, especially on our ball, a lot of our attacking options are immediately nullified. Advantage Lions. So yes 3 is a huge area of concern.
At 10 I think it is a given that he will play Ruan, as talented a player that Ruan is, he is by no means a complete fly half, his option/decision taking and kicking out of hand are often erratic, especially when his side is going backwards, when playing off the front foot these limitations are obviously less exposed. He is very good when his side is dominating, has a wonderful eye for the gap and is not afraid to defend, those are his strong attributes.
The fact that most bloggers are agreeing that FDUP will be doing most of the tactical kicking and will take the pressure off Ruan confirms what I am saying, FDUP should be allowed to focus on being the best scrum half in the world (which he is) and not having to absorb Ruan’s shortcomings. I pray for the day when SA will again produce a world class FH.
At 15 I would personally play Frans Steyn there, here is a lad that has all the attributes to be a world class full back, big, great defender, positional sense, huge boot, the ability to come into a line and cause mayhem, why none of the brains trust has identified this as probably his best position is beyond me !!! I think though that PDEV will go with Zane, not a bad choice the lad has been playing great rugger but the important thing to remember when playing the Lions especially in the first test is that experience is vital and based on that fact alone I would play Frans Steyn there. I know he has not played there for some time but I believe it will not be a major adjustment for him, let the Lions then kick as much as they want, with Steyn at the back they will be fetching leather all day long!!!
Then the big debate on the combination of the loosies !!!! I know a lot of support has come in for Brussow and rightly so he has been playing very good rugby. But let me ask you this, if you are a Lions player and I told you, you would be facing Brussow and not Schalk, I’m sure you would sleep a lot more comfortably !!! It is imperative that we win that first test……. Schalk has huge presence on the field, he along with Bakkies are the enforcers in the side, his work rate and tackle count make him a player that other players hate playing against, presence and respect on the field counts for a lot and I do not want to give the Lions an inch, leaving Schalk out of the starting line up will give the Lions a psychological edge, also his experience is vital. He might not win as much turn over ball as Brussow but hell he brings a lot of other stuff to the party.
My loose trio for the 1st test, Spies, Schalk and Juan. Experience, experience, experience!!!
12 May 2009, 20:41 pm
#90 Transformation: my blonde just came in now…pissed myself laughing…took one look at me and said ‘ grant …you need a hot tottie’…LOL
12 May 2009, 20:48 pm
#95 justrugby: what a pleasant surprise…great to have you back…i have missed your input more than words can say….Ladies and gents…i give you Justrugby…the best 9 i ever had the pleasure to play with!!!
12 May 2009, 20:49 pm
#97 grant10: jeez that sounded a bit ***!!LOL..
12 May 2009, 20:52 pm
Justrugby AND Grant owes me a beer each….
… and with that I take my leave !
12 May 2009, 20:52 pm
#95 justrugby: boet PDV will do as you have mentioned…at 3, 10 and 6 …i can live with schalk and Ruan….3 is my concern…a bad showing there will permeate through the team…and can result in a blunt showing by our backs…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All