De Bruyn banned

Cheetahs scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn has been banned for three weeks for a dangerous tackle on Akona Ndungane.

De Bruyn received a yellow card for the tackle during his side’s 29-20 loss to the Bulls and pleaded guilty to the charge.

Judicial officer Jannie Lubbe heard evidence from the player and Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske, while he viewed video footage as well as reports from the match referee and assistant referee.

Lubbe decided the incident was a dangerous tackle at mid entry level that requires a sanction of six weeks. However, the mitigating circumstances meant the suspension was reduced to three weeks from all rugby.

De Bruyn will miss the match against the Stormers, but will be available to face the British & Irish Lions on 6 June, although he can appeal the decision.

Sarel Pretorius is the likely replacement for the Cheetahs’ final Super 14 fixture.

314 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

• 201.carol: Reply to this comment

#196 Spooner: Purtier sounds a bit like dirtier!!

How are you doing anyway?

• 202.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

#163 Big Hit:

I pose the question from a slightly different perspective:

How would the British Lions do if they had to participate in the Super 14 competition?

I made the joke a while ago that they would probably make the semis, but probably not do well enough to get a home semifinal.

Your thoughts?

• 203.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

#196 Spooner:

Read its pretty gorgeous out there
    Struggling for inspiration as to where to head off for a few days
    RyanAir seem to be giving away flights at the mo

• 204.BDB: Reply to this comment

#190 grant10: Gaan jy saterdag ‘n bulls trui aantrek ? ;-)

• 205.grant10: Reply to this comment

#186 carol: in that case stormers for an upset…!!! No…we dont win thnere …the oracle has spoken

• 206.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#189 carol: If Baywatch plays and helps negate the handsome tokoloshe we have a chance.

If Jacques Fourie plays. We have a better than even chance.

I have no idea how the Tahs have won any of their games.

• 207.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#182 saffa_guy: Morgy is like my other Son… but I have never seen him play for more than 10 minutes… Watched him play street cricket…watched him learn to swim in my parents pool.. Watched him lap other swimmers in the school galas over 50m in a 25m pool… he was always going to be special… I would like to see him start.. But Bobo is much more explosive and savvy at that position at the moment…BTW I am Talking ****… Morgy is a inside centre… So teh competition is JDV

• 208.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#188 saffa_guy: You would have to be special to catch me. Especially with a pissed off Bakkies.

• 209.carol: Reply to this comment

#198 grant10: Sounds promising!! ;-)

• 210.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Do hope the Bulls take the Super 14
    Will give us additional and great confidence heading into the test season
    Looking at the 3N fixture list, we can take the title this year by means of outright wins

• 211.grant10: Reply to this comment

#193 Big Hit: not sure…but he is history

• 212.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#179 BDB: Keo weet maar vanner did stupid klink… Hy is ook maar net betaal om wereld to se…maak dit ‘n bietjie gloebaar

• 213.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#202 Tacitus: it’s tough for a British Lions team because they’re a scratch side full of players that have only met each other a few weeks. But if they had say 3/4 months to bond as a team and perfect their combinations they’d walk a club/provincial competition.

• 214.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#185 grant10:
    I think FDUP is the best packaged scrum half in the world and agree with Keo on this, he has the abilty to distribute quickly and accurately , has the all round kicking game and his option taking is normally very good, all the ingredients for a quality scrum half. Also he normally rises to the occasion, the bigger the stage the better he performs. One area I can nit pick is, he has perhaps become a tad predicatable, would like yo see him make the odd break more often, also exploit the blind side better.

• 215.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#202 saffa_guy: I have never been, but I know people who went skiing and tehy said it was great. Kind of Switzerland meets Italy. Good food.

Trout fishing in the mountains. Sounds lovely.

Those billable hours must be looking good.

• 216.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#212 Big Hit: I agree.

• 217.grant10: Reply to this comment

#203 BDB: ek het n mooi sharks hoed…nie enige bulls kit…my ex het die hemp en hoed…maar as ek haar bel om te vra as sy dit vir my sal leen sal sy my se om the boggeroff!!!

• 218.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

#206 Langenhoven:

Morgy use to visit me childhood best friend pretty often
    Was athletic since knee high

With the test season, Bobo moves inside to cover JdV’s position at 12
    So should the be no more Bobo …
    And Grant moves back to 10
    And ….
    And ….
    Then Morgy should get extended game time at 12
    Seems to have a good pair of hands

• 219.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#211 grant10: Is there any truth the rumour Peter Grant is on his way out?

• 220.carol: Reply to this comment

#205 SodaJoe: So I need to wait for the teams to be released! Mmmm. possibly I am getting too competitive now!

• 221.Spooner: Reply to this comment

#200 carol: Not too shabby thanks. Just been working hard and haven’t visited this site much. I logged in this morning to see that not much has changed around here, with the usual culprits very much in the thick of things.

Just disappointed in the shockingly bad sharks. What a blow out!

How’s things down south?

• 222.grant10: Reply to this comment

#206 Langenhoven: JDV going to Munster boet

• 223.JimT: Reply to this comment

#212 Big Hit: See you’re making excuses already BH :-)

• 224.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#213 justrugby:

We have 3 outstanding scrummies at the moment:

FdP
    Rocket
    Vermaak.

All would not disgrace an international jersey.

FdP is the only general. The only one who manages the game – unsurpassed when it comes to reading the game. Protecting his 10.

Anyway I am out. Adieu.

• 225.BDB: Reply to this comment

#211 Langenhoven: Het jy nou in grieks geskryf ? ;-)

• 226.grant10: Reply to this comment

#213 justrugby: yes…he adds 15% to the Bulls…

• 227.JimT: Reply to this comment

#219 carol: Calm down Sister !! Don’t count your chickens before they’re hatched. Grant may still catch you :-)

• 228.Spooner: Reply to this comment

#202 saffa_guy: I got return tickets for £20. That’s 4 McDonalds meals.

It looks beautiful there. We are staying in Bled. The only thing is that it’s a bit of a mission to get to Ljubljana from Trieste (where Ryanair flies to).

Slovenia looks great, and one of my mates who has been there says its the best place he’s visited. Might be an option for you at £20 return…

• 229.carol: Reply to this comment

#220 Spooner: Hehehe, I saw you reprimand some of the culprits.
    The Sharks have really surprised me, still can’t wait to visit the Shark Tank in June though.
    Down south is just fine thanks, how is the frozen midlands?

• 230.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Who thinks Tiaan Liebenberg has a chance of making the Bok squad ??

• 231.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#222 grant10: how are the Stormers going to cope with the loss of these players? It’s not good to see a team lose its assets like that.

• 232.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

The Tahs showed against the Sharks that they are street smart
    and ready to take the Lions to the cleaners,unlike the
    Highlanders they won’t surrender a first half lead.
    If the Lions don’t perform and Rose and Pretorius keep
    on making elementary mistakes it is going to be a long
    80 minutes.
    Hope Loffie gives them hell from the word go and not at
    half time and that they get stuck in from the start and
    play at least 80minutes to their full potential.

• 233.grant10: Reply to this comment

#218 Big Hit: bath, wforce and racing metro chasing him…bath favorites…apparently waiting to see PDV calls with B lions

• 234.carol: Reply to this comment

#226 JimT: JIM, JIM, JIM…long time no see!! :-)
    How are you doing?

Just doing supper now, back in 10!

• 235.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#223 JimT: Evening Jim :)

• 236.grant10: Reply to this comment

#223 SodaJoe: cheers soda

• 237.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#137 Langenhoven:hey shaun duke,funny you should say that, over the weekend i saw the new bok/llions advert, smit is obviously leading them fron up to this male lion that roars & then they move another step towards it, quite lame imo…but what caught my eye was that the bok emblem was in the shadow of the shot – as in the light fell prominently on the protea on the left – i don’t know if it was intentional or not but that was just my observation…hhmmm? Another conspiracy- you heard it here first boys…lol

#120 justrugby:what ”depth” are you talking about @ the sharks? If they had depth, after ruan’s injury they should’ve played their number 2 FH and not moved steyn from 12, if morne steyn is hurt for the BB, they wont move meisekind to FH they will play burton francis, who has had runs for 10 or 15 min or so in a number of games…that’s my understanding of depth, i will await ur version.

• 238.justrugby: Reply to this comment

#223 SodaJoe: So true !!

• 239.JimT: Reply to this comment

#223 SodaJoe: Adieu? What happened to your Window Soda? :-)

• 240.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#213 justrugby: Are there any stats to backup what you say…or is it subjective assessment… Tewis De Bruyn is a similar plauer to FDP…but beats him in all of those areas where you rate him…and then Tewis is not predictable… As a pure Scrumhalf in respect distribution qualities, Heini Adams outshines FDP..Heini is quicker and less predictable too

• 241.grant10: Reply to this comment

#226 JimT: only thing i caught is the flu…hi jim…

• 242.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#224 SodaJoe: catch you later SJ

• 243.Spooner: Reply to this comment

#228 carol: Yep, that particular culprit irritates me no end. Alas, life is too short to get worked up any more than you have to so I will say no more on the matter…

W Mids are not so icy anymore. I spent a sunny weekend in Wales a few weekends back. Its great when the summer eventually rolls in here.

• 244.grant10: Reply to this comment

#229 justrugby: bissy is poor boet,,,,poor!!! Doesent deserve to be there…a strauss may be next in line though?

• 245.JimT: Reply to this comment

#234 Big Hit: Evening BH. Looking forward to the Lions tour?

I was impressed with the HC semi-finals, very entertaining.

• 246.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

#227 Spooner:

Sounds good
    Shall definitely look into it
    This credit crunch is having some positive outcomes
    Airlines seem to be having price wars
    Can even get SA return for under £400

• 247.JimT: Reply to this comment

#233 carol: Don’t burn the supper. we can wait :-)

• 248.grant10: Reply to this comment

#230 Big Hit: complete rebuild…ala saracens by the look of it!!

• 249.eish shibobo: Reply to this comment

I played 9 and 10, and FdP is not the best 9 in world rugby contrary to what Jake and BH might tell you, and Ruan Pienaar is not our answer at FH.

Tian Liebenberg is a damn fine prospect at bok 2, better imo than Miss-mark right now, also netter than J.Smit, so too is Wepener.

Kankowski should be laat on No.8 list

Spies, Vermeulen, Van Niekerk, Sowerby, Potgieter, Watson, Alberts, Kankowski.

• 250.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#217 saffa_guy: I think I know who you are… you a QS??

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.