De Bruyn banned
12 May 2009
Cheetahs scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn has been banned for three weeks for a dangerous tackle on Akona Ndungane.
De Bruyn received a yellow card for the tackle during his side’s 29-20 loss to the Bulls and pleaded guilty to the charge.
Judicial officer Jannie Lubbe heard evidence from the player and Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske, while he viewed video footage as well as reports from the match referee and assistant referee.
Lubbe decided the incident was a dangerous tackle at mid entry level that requires a sanction of six weeks. However, the mitigating circumstances meant the suspension was reduced to three weeks from all rugby.
De Bruyn will miss the match against the Stormers, but will be available to face the British & Irish Lions on 6 June, although he can appeal the decision.
Sarel Pretorius is the likely replacement for the Cheetahs’ final Super 14 fixture.

314 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All
12 May 2009, 22:09 pm
#245 JimT: for sure, yes the HEC semis threw up a couple of surprises. You have any opinions on who should make the Lions test side?
#236 Transformation: Agree with you , it’s not that they did not have depth,it is that Plum perhaps made some poor positional selections, however hindsight is a perfect science, I for one called for Steyn to play FH, let me be the first to admit I got it wrong !!
#240 grant10: Hi GRant. The Stormers let me down last week. Only game of theirs I got wrong so far.
#236 Transformation: Agree, the Sharks have no depth. Probably one of the smaller, more inexperienced squads in the tournament.
Vulindlu
Cronje
Dumond
Jordaan
Swanepoel
Just in the backs…
And Muller is a softie, a big cuddly teddy bear. We need another skipper, one with a bit of fire in him.
#236 Transformation:
World Series 7′s is in town next week
Busy working on the BokkeTEAS banner
12 May 2009, 22:11 pm
The citing process of the Super14 is much like a lucky
draw.If you’re lucky you get away scot free,if not
you get suspended like Bakkies and Tewis de Bruyn.
The Aussies and Kiwis appear to be more lucky,could it
be because they gamble more,the more you practise
the luckier you get,sort of?
Anyway been great chatting to you all again,,,,,outta here…Grant 10 look forward to Friday !!!! Carol have a great evening….and Spooner as a Stormers fan I know what you are going through !! LOL
#236 Transformation: Prophecy??… Remember The Almighty knows…LMAO
Anywayz
Out here
Have good evening all
12 May 2009, 22:12 pm
#252 JimT: LOL…They wont let you down this sat!!
12 May 2009, 22:13 pm
#256 justrugby: cool boet…see you Friday!
12 May 2009, 22:14 pm
#258 saffa_guy: cheers
12 May 2009, 22:15 pm
#248 grant10: youngsters brought through or outsiders to be brought in?
#249 eish shibobo: evening yliad. Is Liebenberg the hooker who was at Toulon?
12 May 2009, 22:15 pm
#224 BDB: Probably…. CJ turned in his grave…the taal desicrated by another Langenhoven
12 May 2009, 22:16 pm
Princess…top 10 end of this weekend…i reckon you break into top 6…Jim, shaun, spooner, big hit , transformation, bdb and all the others that made the evenin g a cool one…i am outta here!!
12 May 2009, 22:16 pm
I agree with Langenhoven, Tewis de Bruyn can and should become a better all round package scrum half with better distribution and ball sense than FdP and more go forward with as big a clearing boot too.
Then there is Francois Hougard, Heinie Adams, Jano Vermaak all as good perhaps in some areas of play better than FdP
Check all our tri nations games through the past 4 years
Ricky January plays we beat NZ, FdP plays we lose all games barring the last dead rubber in JHB
FdP was also the scrummy in the 49-0 fiasco with January
FdP’s claim to fame was skinning England in the 36-0 WC pool, other than that not much to write home about.
12 May 2009, 22:17 pm
#262 Big Hit: BIT of both…chq book will be used…for sure…
#240 grant10: If I promise to run VERY slowly……….!!
#265 grant10: later my man
12 May 2009, 22:18 pm
#250 Big Hit: That’s a tough one to predict. It all depends upon how they shape up on tour as opposed to their past performances.
Front row I would with Jenkins, Flannery & the Scotsman.
Locks has to be O’Connell because he’s captain, the other lock? I’m not sure.
Backrow? It’s up for grabs, could be any combo. But I figure Williams will be in.
Half backs – Phillips & Jones (not too impressed with him but he has experience with Phillips).
Centers – O’Driscoll & ?
Wings – Williams & Halfpenny
Fullback – Byrne
But this could all change in about 4 weeks.
#264 grant10: Night Gorgeous, hope you sleep off your ‘man flu’ and feel better tomorrow ***
#253 Spooner:
Told you long ago to get rid of your gentleman Jim Muller captain, thats your first problem right there.
12 May 2009, 22:19 pm
#266 eish shibobo: any thoughts on the B&I Lions squad?
12 May 2009, 22:19 pm
#258 saffa_guy: See you too..
12 May 2009, 22:20 pm
#270 JimT: you went for a pretty attacking side, not sure Gatland will opt for that. I see him going with bruisers.
12 May 2009, 22:20 pm
#256 justrugby: You off too, come back for some more ‘pre lions’ chat won’t you?
12 May 2009, 22:21 pm
#262 Big Hit:
Yeah he went to France end of last year, don’t know why he returned early, but he is a strong robust hooker who mixes right in the tight and loose, Bismark has been extremely disappointing lately, I would not start him for the boks right now, neither him nor Kanko.
12 May 2009, 22:21 pm
#272 Big Hit: Can I be depressed on that score any further?
12 May 2009, 22:24 pm
#273 carol: Where is our Superbru pool captain? I was robbed of a point last week. I picked ‘Saders to win by 12 pts but my pick was not featured. Even if I had not picked that match I should have got a point due to home team win. Grrr skulduggery in play here. I now am starting to believe the Susie stories
Do you pay anyone off Carol?
12 May 2009, 22:24 pm
#277 eish shibobo: I agree, Bismarck seems more intent on looking for a fight these days and Kankowski seems to have second season syndrome. The Sharks season has fallen apart, disappointing to see.
#278 carol: which score? (the numbering is messed up)
12 May 2009, 22:25 pm
#274 Big Hit: I think the Lions pack is suspect. The clue was how Leinster dealt with Munster. Can the Lions stand up to the Boks up front?
12 May 2009, 22:27 pm
Early night tonight… No brawl no Fun…??? Joking…let there be peace… seems like there is value to rigorous discourse… We all learn through experience…and then we delearn because of our fears and prejudice… A quote from Langenhoven (SI)…lol
12 May 2009, 22:28 pm
#281 JimT: the Munster pack will be reinforced with English beef, the Lions pack will be bigger than its Springbok counterparts.
12 May 2009, 22:29 pm
#272 Big Hit:
Haven’t studied it in depth but from sounds of it you looking to muscle us off the ball and play typical SA rugby. we on the other hand look like we might try spread it and try run you off your feet.
Your pack should dominate through your front row, 2nd row evens, maybe we come out on top though not by much, loosies if we play a scavenging 6 we should get you flummoxed though I think they’ll stick with Burger, Smith, Spies.
Is it Powell or the Irishman at 8, Blair or Phillips or Peel at 9, Jones 10, Kearney or Byrne or Armitage at 15?
12 May 2009, 22:31 pm
#283 eish shibobo: Peel has not been picked neither has Armitage as I recall.
12 May 2009, 22:32 pm
#284 eish shibobo: yes, it appears we’re going to play ‘Gatland rugby’, confrontational stuff, get over the gainline with the big men then use the space.
I think it’ll be Powell at 8, but it’s early days. Phillips has the inside track at 9 and Byrne at 15. Should be interesting, can’t wait to see how the Boks eventually line up
12 May 2009, 22:35 pm
#282 Big Hit: Could be but not sure if they will be as mobile. The front row I picked I like though for their all round game. I’m not sure O’Connell is up to this level. He will play hard but it won’t be enough. He didn’t make the grade in the 2005 tour or the RWC.
12 May 2009, 22:36 pm
That Langenhoven is totally in Love with the other one.
12 May 2009, 22:36 pm
#285 Big Hit: Powell seems a bit one dimensional to me. Think the Boks will figure him out quickly.
12 May 2009, 22:38 pm
#285 Big Hit: In any case it’s gonna be fun,. Can’t wait to watch !!
12 May 2009, 22:38 pm
#287 JimT: #289 JimT: you don’t seem confident about the Lions chances, I think there could be a surprise a la 1997. Agree on O’Connell btw, he needs to stand up. Powell is very hard to stop, quick on his feet.
12 May 2009, 22:39 pm
#285 Big Hit:
I got the feeling your guys are going to be better prepared and better settled than ours, we still haven’t hit on proper combinations up front or through the back row or through 9 & 10, and our centers are injured, Steyn, JdV and Jacobs all carrying injuries, a new green horn fullback on the cards, and no recognized kicker in the squad.
Could turn out embarrassing, hope not.
12 May 2009, 22:39 pm
#290 JimT: deffo, ok that’s me out, enjoy your night, peace out all.
12 May 2009, 22:43 pm
#278 JimT: What are you saying Jim?
12 May 2009, 22:43 pm
#292 Big Hit: Me too. I’ve got to get back into the habit of the Night Owls schedule. Once I lost my PC I seem to be out of synch.
See y’all on the other side of the hill !
12 May 2009, 22:44 pm
#286 JimT:
Hope you keeping well Jim, how things over in the good ‘ol US of A
#292 Big Hit:
so long BH
12 May 2009, 23:03 pm
#255 Brentie1: perhaps, just perhaps, SA’s need to look at their own officials… was it not a SA who didnt cite Luaki in time ?? was it not a SA panel that decided that Sheehan had no case to answer too ????
please, try and use logic when you are trying to dis NZ and Aust, it makes for such a better argument… now, go find those SA officials responsible and tell THEM what for…
but, my guess is its much easier just to spew forth a NZ/AUS alliance, least its an excuse for when you guys lose…
12 May 2009, 23:06 pm
#282 Big Hit: english beef ??? is that the one with foot and mouth disease. you know, wait for the AI’s
hahahahahahahahaha
12 May 2009, 23:31 pm
#64 grant10: The Aussies will turn what you boys consider a handicap into an advantage. More time spent in SA will help the boys aclimatise to highveld conditions (something your boys dont have to go through). Its all about mental toughness and SA sides have proved conclusively that despite their advantage in size & depth, they are not up for the challenge.
12 May 2009, 23:59 pm
#298 Inevitable:
Don’t know about size anymore mate. SA packs have been consistently outweighed this season, especially by the Kiwi packs. Numbers also mean didly squat, it’s quality. SA have more “registered” rugby players, but then we have 45 mil plus population and the “registered” players includes those that have not even seen a proper rugby pitch, never mind a ball!!
AND, when it comes to mental toughness where it counts, like at the WC, we are right up there dude…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All