Rohit heroics claim victory

Rohit Sharma hit 26 runs off the final over to lift the Chargers to an unlikely victory over the Knight Riders in Jo’burg.

Deccan required 21 off six balls and Sharma smacked the first delivery, a no-ball, for four. The umpires ruled Kolkata captain Brendon McCullum made an error in his field-placings, and according to the rules, a no-ball was called.

Mashrafe Mortaza pulled it back conceding only two runs off the next two deliveries, but Sharma sent the third ball into orbit. A four followed and requiring a single off the final ball, Sharma launched Mortaza onto the grass bank.

Adam Gilchrist and Herschelle Gibbs got Deccan off to a whirlwind start but Kolkata pulled things back remarkably. The scoring slowed, and with the demise of Gilchrist and then Gibbs, the Chargers struggled for the desired momentum.

To illustrate, Ishant Sharma and Murali Kartik conceded 35 runs between them. In Twenty20 cricket, you can’t chase down a total of 160 if more than one bowler completes his spell for under five an over.

Andrew Symonds was looking dangerous before he was run out for 18, and with that Deccan’s chances of a miracle looked to have departed. That was until Sharma stepped up in the final over.

While one Aussie failed, two more were responsible for Kolkata’s formidable total. Brad Hodge (48) and Dave Hussey (43) scored 42 runs off the last five overs of the Knight Riders’ innings.

Kolkata Knight Riders – 160-5 in 20 overs
Brad Hodge 48, Dave Hussey 43.
Deccan Chargers – 166-4 in 20 overs
Adam Gilchrist 43, Rohit Sharma 32*, Herschelle Gibbs 28.
Deccan won six wickets

For the full scorecard click here.