Wacko Jaco to battle Boks

Former Springboks Jaco van der Westhuyzen and Derick Hougaard will start for a Namibia XV against a South African XV on 29 May.

Five former Boks in all will feature for the Namibian invitational squad with Tonderai Chavhanga, Meyer Bosman and Wayne Julies the other three called up by coach John Williams for this match.

Super 14 players like Rory Kockott, Duane Vermeulen, Nico Breedt, David de Villiers, Kobus Calldo, Anton van Zyl and Richardt Strauss are also in the mix. Former Bulls and Sharks prop Kees Lensing will skipper the team.

The South African injection lends the Namibian team a necessary edge. Given this fixture is a warm-up ahead of the Springboks’ three-Test series against the British & Irish Lions, they will want a good contest.

Synergy will be an issue for the make-up side, but the Namibian XV certainly have the individuals to trouble the Boks, especially in the set-pieces.

The Cheetahs’ David de Villiers has been one of the best lineout jumpers in the Super 14 while his team-mate Kobus Calldo will give Beast Mtawarira a good go at scrum time. However, the biggest battle will be on the other side with the veteran Lensing lining up Bok captain John Smit.

In the backs, the Namibians have some good kickers in Hougaard and Kockott. The midfield pairing of Bosman and Frikkie Welsh will hammer away at the South African defence, much like the Lions will on 20 June in Durban.

This match presents a last chance for the Namibian XV players to make the Bok squad, as Peter de Villiers will announce the final group on 1 June. At the same time, it presents the incumbents with a hard challenge ahead of what should be a very physical series.

Namibian Invitation XV – 15 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Frikkie Welsh, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Llewellyn Winckler, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Jacques Burger, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Jacques Nieuwenhuis, 5 Nico Breedt, 4 David de Villiers, 3 Kobus Calldo, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Kees Lensing (c).
Subs: 16 Hugo Horn, 17 Johnny Redelinghuys, 18 Ruan Vermeulen, 19 Anton van Zyl, 20 Wayne Julies, 21 Jurie van Tonder, 22 Chrysander Botha.