Player 23: Will Rose bloom?
3 Jun 2009
Earl Rose has been pulled from tonight’s match against the British & Irish Lions because Peter de Villiers believes he’s too good to ride the bench. What do you think?
De Villiers selected Rose for both the Springbok and Emerging Springbok squads, but when the Golden Lions’ team was announced on Monday, Rose was named on the bench.
The Golden Lions’ management have refused to push Rose into the starting line-up where Andre Pretorius is preferred at 10 and Louis Ludik at 15. This has led to De Villiers pulling Rose from the fixture altogether.
Many of you thought he’d had a poor Super 14 season and therefore shouldn’t be in the Bok squad. Others said he hadn’t been given enough opportunities to prove himself at flyhalf for the Lions.
Pissant: ‘Was Habana anywhere near international quality when he was plucked from virtually nowhere in 2004 and incuded in the European tour where he scored a try in his debut against England? Least we can do is give the guy a chance. It’s up to him now.’
St Petersburgbok: ‘Earl Rose has had all the support from every coach he has ever played for. I remember watching Efoff wax lyracal about Rose. Shit, this oke has been given every opportunity … and he is still kak. Everyone has given him plenty of starts and after a while, they’ve realized … enough is enough.’
Now that you Muppits have had more time to think it over, do you think Rose will bloom if given a chance in the Lions Test series? Or will he wilt?
Post your comments, as Vodacom’s Player 23, below.

175 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All
3 Jun 2009, 16:31 pm
#149 tight head: When you see the #10 you will know.
3 Jun 2009, 16:31 pm
#149 tight head:

is harry viljoen back?
nooooooooooooooooo!!
3 Jun 2009, 16:33 pm
#149 tight head: Can you imagine how screwed we’d be if John Smit wasn’t there to unofficially “coach” the side.
3 Jun 2009, 16:33 pm
#148 Boks_Forever: as it is a good debate…
a good debate with a dull headline
Keo usually has some good ones, but seriously will Rose ever Bloom? A Rose by any other name still smells as sweet?
Winter is upon us, roses are dead
3 Jun 2009, 16:34 pm
#153 Boks_Forever:
pppffffffffffffffffffff!!
3 Jun 2009, 16:34 pm
#147 gunther: ?
3 Jun 2009, 16:35 pm
#154 SpringbokSarah: Someone had a cup of grumpy this morning. I’ve heard worse headlines here to be honest. And the Player 23 bit was a nice touch. Did someone say Elton? lol
3 Jun 2009, 16:40 pm
#157 Boks_Forever: No I’ve just looked at 3 different sites talking about Rose blooming, if I wanted to read that I’d go onto a gardening website
It’s old, brilliant the 1st time, but come on. He’s probably sick about people using the play on words for his name.
And I prefer Elton to Jan
3 Jun 2009, 16:40 pm
#150 SodaJoe:
it been a long day…. however the cloud is moving over the yardarm….. the lovely mrs gunther is working late so I will be watching the rugby and keeping you in line….
3 Jun 2009, 16:43 pm
#158 SpringbokSarah:
thats because Elton has thicker wors….
3 Jun 2009, 16:46 pm
#160 gunther: gross
3 Jun 2009, 16:58 pm
I’m concerned about a few things.
Our inexperienced coaching team which has lead to a couple of gaping holes in our selections and controversial, adolescent handling of some players.
Going into a Lions series without a recognized fullback, and at least a back-up recognized fetcher.
I think Earl Rose does have unusual talent, but is this the best way of handling him? It creates far too much pressure on him, the coaching staff and the team. What are we doing to ourselves?
I think the Emerging Boks team is the place for him at this stage of his career, and if the coach feels strongly about his talent, add him as an extra member of the squad (after allowing for a recognized full back and fetcher) and give him the extra coaching that being part of the Springbok squad would provide.
I think transformation calls for a slightly larger squad than has traditionally been the case.
This fast-tracking that we do in SA rugby, among coaching staff and some players, weakens us. It’s not necessary. There’s plenty of time. We must use time better.
3 Jun 2009, 17:05 pm
#151 SodaJoe:
Well Ruan will be the 10 and under normal circumstances that is a good choice.
Hoewever he has had very little rugby this S14 and he has had to come back from a bad knee injury.
I know that this kind of injury can take a long time to come right despite what the medical people say, and that starts to become a strain on the player’s confidence.
This is all bad preparation for a key position like fly half in a short 3 test series.
I actually feel sorry for Ruan, as I think it is too much to ask of him.
3 Jun 2009, 17:06 pm
#98 JM: wel gebaseerd op Staal se post bo (miskein van super rugby af), nie my opinie nie, is dit Ricky Januarie en Sireli Naqelevuki…
3 Jun 2009, 17:22 pm
So we have an incument fly half who should be selected for that reason but who is seriously under prepared for the series.
Then we have an in form fly half whose game is perfect for test rugby against the Lions and who must be at the height of confidence, given his season for the Bulls.
It is a no brainer that Morne should play.
However here is the problem.
PDV does not seem to appreciate the type of fly half that Morne is and by nature prefers a risk taker like Rose.
This get’s to the heart of his lack of understanding about how test rugby should be played.
3 Jun 2009, 17:33 pm
#161 SpringbokSarah:
I agree…
3 Jun 2009, 17:35 pm
Pieter de Villiers wil langs Earl le en rugby kyk vanaand. Dis moer koud om alleen te le in JHB jy weet!
3 Jun 2009, 17:55 pm
Rose is simply not good enough, I have seem him psychological screwed when under the high ball and physically outmuscled in the tackle. Not putting too fine a point on it I have seen him shaking in his boots.
The last time I saw Lions licking their lips like this was at the Joburg zoo at feeding time.
I hope to goodness looking at the squad selected that Frans Steyn or JP Pietersen are the serious contenders for fullback.
As for flyhalf I cannot imagine any sane individual looking past Morne Steyn.
To paraphrase Jake White “Rose wouldn’t make the Stellenbosch third team”
3 Jun 2009, 18:05 pm
#168 DEE DAH: Rose is a very good player and often shows glimpses of something special. I like him.
But he is not Springbok material, S14 at a push, but definately brilliant at CC-level.
Unfortunately PdV and Rose’s Dad are going to destroy him.
3 Jun 2009, 19:32 pm
#169 Bul-a-Bhloo: I agree. It’s a big concern.
3 Jun 2009, 21:08 pm
The Brits don’t want Rose, the French don’t want Rose, the Aussies don’t want Rose, the Bulls don’t want Rose, the Cheetahs don’t want Rose, The Sharks don’t want Rose, the Stormer’s don’t want Rose… this in a time in RSA where quota’s are rife and there is not exactly a dearth of world class 10′s…
Could it be that he is just another CC player with a solid kicking game and a few good moves from broken play with zero defensive game and erratic too boot… or is a world wide conspiracy!
4 Jun 2009, 01:44 am
Much has been written about giving Rose a “chance”. Methinks he has been given a number of opportunities and really, hasn’t delivered. Giving him further “chances” is well and good, but what about the players he is displacing who are more deserving of a “chance” or two! Fair play? My foot!
4 Jun 2009, 10:15 am
#172 Bludeks:
Yup!
5 Jun 2009, 03:51 am
Hi #172 I was watching a well known Oz rugby program. When commenting on the composition of the tri nations “squads”, the question on the selection of Earl Rose in preference to Kirchner (Against Lions) arose. One could say they were speechless and suggested that Earl Rose should buy a lottery ticket.
Q. Is de Villiers, in his unique way, trying to establish a reputation as a supporter of the “mediocre”.
I think perhaps C.J. van der Linde should be selected for the SA soccer team – about as smart as poor Earls’ predicament. No slight intended against C.J. only the RSA “sporting” executives!
11 Jun 2009, 11:49 am
Earl Rose is a talented young player. Why does everyone only see his mistakes? Why does he never get praised for the good things? All players play k@k sometimes, but only a few of them get nailed. Why is that?
Earl Rose deserves the chance. Yes, you all say that he has had many opportunities, but wouldn’t it break down your confidence if you play one game, then you are on the bench a few weeks, then one game etc….. It takes time to build up that confidence. Its not there after just one game. If you are placed on the bench, you have to start all over again!
Show ‘em what you got!
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All