The X-factor
15 Jun 2009
What makes Fourie du Preez the best scrumhalf on the planet?

Over the past three seasons Du Preez has evolved from being a talented member of both the Bulls and Boks to being their fulcrum.
Understated in his approach, this silent assassin gets the job done with ruthless efficiency, and, like the premier players in world rugby, his value is only fully appreciated in his absence.
SA Rugby magazine talks to Jake White (the international coach), Heyneke Meyer (the lifelong mentor) and Eddie Jones (the independent view) to find out what makes Du Preez so technically brilliant.
Also in the new issue, on sale this week:
– Percy Montgomery on his new role with the Boks, the importance of having a reliable goal-kicker and why routine is so vital.
– Nine years after his first tour to South Africa, Andy Sheridan is back on safari. And England’s giant Lion has the scent of Springbok in his nostrils…
– Why nobody deserves the Springbok No 6 jersey ahead of Schalk Burger.
– The 1974 Lions broke down barriers, stayed out all night, and savaged the Springboks. We look back on the ‘greatest tour’.
– Why the Boks will not win the 2009 Tri-Nations if they adopt the high-risk approach that saw them self-destruct in 2008.
– Stephen Donald is ready to fill Dan Carter’s boots for the All Blacks.
– Ben Alexander was selected for the Wallabies last year after making just six appearances for the Brumbies off the bench. Now, having held his own against the likes of France and Italy, and played another season of Super 14 rugby, he’s eager to test himself in the Tri-Nations.
– Robbie Fleck joins the Western Province management having worked wonders with the UCT backline in the Varsity Cup. The former Bok centre explains why the conservative and expansive styles need to co-exist, how club rugby has shaped him as a coach and why WP have an outside chance of winning the Currie Cup.
– How Morné Steyn became a kicking machine.
– Springbok Sevens coach Paul Treu on capturing the World Series title for the first time, the players who were crucial to their success, and why his side will not stagnate.
Click here to subscribe or phone (021) 416-0141

42 Comments
15 Jun 2009, 07:33 am
The X-Bull DRagon!
15 Jun 2009, 07:33 am
The fact that the dragon single handedly dismantled England in the RWC pool game. The best performance Ive ever seen….
15 Jun 2009, 07:37 am
Raait lemme start thinking about the test this weekend. Who’s Helium going to select?
Eish…..
15 Jun 2009, 07:45 am
#3 Staal: 5 dae vroeg! Jy vat die toets ernstig op sien ek…
15 Jun 2009, 07:49 am
#4 Koos: hehehehe – die ouens sê ek moet nou oor die S14 final kom …. ek try!
15 Jun 2009, 07:54 am
#5 Staal: Hulle is jaloers!
15 Jun 2009, 07:56 am
I think his kicking game and decision-making sets him apart from other 9s.
15 Jun 2009, 08:10 am
FdP must be the most talented scrummie we have produced since Joost, if not better
15 Jun 2009, 08:34 am
On his day, he’s a one-man team
15 Jun 2009, 08:50 am
keo
is this a special edition (for the lions tour)?
remember in ’96 one of the rugby mags (not sure which one)ran a special edition especially for the nz “3 match tour” where they dicussed most players, their stats, strenghts and weaknesses (of the teams) etc etc etc
wouldve been nice if your magazine had something like that
or even better yet, had a pull-out section for the youngsters which the lucky few (who’d be able to attend a test match) could use for signatures
or those not so lucky, for their “plakboek”.
15 Jun 2009, 08:52 am
#10 ashley: proud supporter of province-the-BILions-tamers!!:
oops
forgot to change the nic!
anyway, well done wp
but that said
you couldve gone all the way!!
15 Jun 2009, 08:54 am
#10 ashley: proud supporter of province-the-BILions-tamers!!: Errr Ashley, you aware you lost?
15 Jun 2009, 08:55 am
#11 ashley: proud supporter of province-the-BILions-tamers!!: Righto! Though for a sec you following those pastie poms doing a round of honour after a ‘close loss’…
15 Jun 2009, 09:06 am
#13 Koos:

naaaaaaaaaaaah!
15 Jun 2009, 09:10 am
What do you guys think of the cover?
15 Jun 2009, 09:12 am
#15 Simon:
krag onderbreking?
15 Jun 2009, 09:15 am
SA Rugby mag is like a soapie – you only need to see about one a year to know exactly what is going on. Predictable, unoriginal and one-sided. Maybe preaching to the choir works for them, but I would be a hell of a lot more likely to buy one if they have something different and original to say every now and again.
Typical SA Rugby articles:
- Lots of man love for their favourite players (FduP is probably no.1 here, honourable mention for Spies, Ruan Pienaar, Schalk, Jaque Fourie etc.).
- Change confuses and frightens us. Jake White good, expansive rugby bad, mkay?
We have an historical Lions tour on our hands and this is the best they can come up with?
Quick ideas for better articles:
- The Springbok squad selection has a few surprises/controversies: No recognised no. 15, Smit at tighthead, Rose’s inclusion etc. Instead of ignoring that or just giving a one-sided view, let writers square off and write pro/con articles for every decision.
- A look back at PdV’s first year as coach and a look forward to this season. Again, try and make it balanced. Weigh his successes (record breaking wins against Eng and Aus, first win in NZ in 19 years, first unbeaten NH tour in 20) against his failures (two home losses in the 3N).
- One thing that I would LOVE to see: In depth article about PdeV. Who he is, where he comes from and his coaching history from club rugby, through age levels to Springbok coach. Maybe compare it with JW’s rise to prominence – there are some interesting similarities but also stark contrasts. After one year as Springbok coach the viewing public still know next to nothing about him and most of them seem to think that SARU just pulled some random guy off the street.
- A feature article on one of the more fringe or controversial players in the country. Focus the public’s attention on a player that is not already in the forefront of the public’s mind.
OK, that’s what I came up with in about 10 minutes and to me at least it seems a hell of a lot more interesting than yet another article on how great FdP is (which he of course is, but don’t we all know it by this time?).
15 Jun 2009, 09:17 am
#15 Simon:
i gather that this is NOT a special edition? (read #10)
how about one after the conclusion of the series?
15 Jun 2009, 09:18 am
Interessante vergelyking tussen Joost en FDP: wie is die beste ?
Joost het baie meer drieë gedruk, terwyl FDP amper meer ‘n kombinasie is van ‘n skrummie en losskakel. Moeilike een om te roep.
Wat my veral beindruk van FDP, is sy skitterende voorgevoel om die wedsttryd te lees, amper so goed soos ou Naas.
15 Jun 2009, 09:20 am
#15 Simon:
Someone had the light on the wrong side of the players.
Fourie is arguably the best player in World Rugby at the moment.
Loved the bit on why no-one deserves the Bok 6 jersey ahead of Schalk…
15 Jun 2009, 09:21 am
#19 BDB:
FDP by a country mile.
15 Jun 2009, 09:25 am
#17 siener:
Let me tell you what is even worse.
The sugar coated, dumbded down, tell the punters what they want hear, krap that comes out of the mouths of Bob Skinstad, Mathew Pearce and Joel Stransky when they give rugby opinion.
They have perfected the art of saying nothing in a lot of marketing speak, which keeps their arses nice and safe in their cushy jobs.
The worst rugby commentary in the world.
Totally devoid of any meaninfull rugby insight to the fans who effectively keep them in a job.
15 Jun 2009, 09:28 am
#20 PissAnt: Tell us a bit more on the article about Schalk please?
15 Jun 2009, 09:31 am
#23 Disa:
No mate haven’t read the arti yet just saw the caption in the thread above.
And I found it funny given the discussions on here in the last month.
15 Jun 2009, 09:36 am
Cool cover! Can;t wait for the first TEST agianst the lions!!!!
15 Jun 2009, 09:37 am
#15 Simon: I think it is a great cover… Building on the itensity leading up to the first test on Saturday. Go Bokke!!!
15 Jun 2009, 09:38 am
A cover with the Bulls holding the S14 throphy would have been better …. imo……
o – sorry…… it’s about the Lions…..
but then again……it looks like a bunch of people with vrot teeth arriving from the twilight zone and the one in front had to many hamburgers…. maybe it would look better if they were standing on grass …. around a konka and muttering incomprehensible sounds while someone is chanting……. “death to the pale skins”……
naw… i donno about this stuff…..
(always looks dodgy if they stand with boots on flat surfuce… imo)…. looks staged…..
15 Jun 2009, 09:39 am
Hier is my gratis advies aan Snorre:
Gaan sit saam met jou kaptein (Smit), belangrikste voorspeler (Vic) en agterspeler (FDP) om ‘n tafel en vra hulle:
1. watter soldate soek julle saam julle om hierdie reeks te wen.
2. watter ‘gameplan’ het ons nodig om dit reg te kry.
So maklik soos dit.
15 Jun 2009, 09:39 am
IF YOU’RE YOU GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
15 Jun 2009, 09:41 am
#22 tight head: I totally agree. They tell the public what they want to here and they stay clear of anything that is remotely controversial. They end up not being able to even express a real opinion any more.
I would much rather listen to people who have something of value to say – even if their opinions completely differ from my own.
15 Jun 2009, 09:43 am
#29 Kalahari Kid:
Blou Maandag!!!!!!!!
15 Jun 2009, 09:56 am
#22 tight head: You’re right tight head – I avoid reading anything they say because it’s always utter nonsense. Sad – you’d hope for some sensible and personal opinion, as well as genuine insight. You don’t get it from these guys and as much as Stephen Jones of the London Times (as an example) annoys me, I’d much rather hear his view – at least it’s his genuine view!
15 Jun 2009, 10:28 am
#19 BDB: To me FdP is a more complete package. Not that Joost wasn’t brilliant, he was. FdP to me now is the best rugby player on the planet (read IRB player of the year), not just the best scrumhalf.
The oke is amazing, and as mentioned, when he isint there, the difference is massive.
FdP can do everything, in fact, he may just edge Vernon Koekemoer.
15 Jun 2009, 10:35 am
#33 BlueBlood: Nee kyk, as hy vir Koekemoer ‘edge’, dan is hy die beste.
15 Jun 2009, 11:01 am
In 1938 Danie Craven was the first no 9 to don the light blue jersey. He was also the first ever captain of the Bulls.
He was followed by Fonnie du Toit, Piet Uys, Tommy du Plessis, Robert du Preez, Joost vd Westhuizen and now Fourie du Preez.
Obviously scrumhalves enjoyed the time behind the forwards of the Bulls.
15 Jun 2009, 11:06 am
#10 ashley: proud supporter of province-the-BILions-tamers!!: Our last issue was our big Lions special. This one looks at the Lions tour but also looks ahead to the Tri-Nations.
15 Jun 2009, 11:07 am
Simon, nice magazine cover,
Ashley, I think the previous edition of SA Rugby read Special Lions Tour Edition (or something)
15 Jun 2009, 12:08 pm
I think the simple fact the he always seems to be 2 steps ahead of the other 29 players on the field is what makes him so special.
15 Jun 2009, 12:56 pm
Fourie Du Preez is a very special player… I just hope Snorrie, Muir & Gary Glitter does’nt fark it up for him by dodgy selections around him (No 10, No 6, No 15)…
Gooooooooooi Blou Mieliesssssssss !!
16 Jun 2009, 00:12 am
#15 Simon:
Whats the All Blacks doing on the cover,i hope you asked NZRU to use this photo
16 Jun 2009, 09:39 am
S14 final showed why Dupreez is the best in the world. His kicking game and running plus his passes. He is a complete scrumhalf. The man can do anything.
16 Jun 2009, 18:56 pm
#2 Olivergm: The single greatest performance by a scrumhalf in the professional era. What a guy.