Smit: ‘Finally, it’s here’
19 Jun 2009
John Smit is relieved that the build-up to the British & Irish Lions Test series is over. Now, he says, it’s time to front.
Large portions of the world’s rainforests have been destroyed in the process of covering the tour, and hundreds of hours of airtime have been dedicated to discussing various aspects of it.
At 3pm at King’s Park on Saturday, the permutations, speculation, smack talk and tactical theorising will all culminate in an 80-minute battle where victory, aesthetically pleasing or not, will be all that matters.
Smit concedes that he has at times been swept away by the emotion that accompanies a series of this magnitude, and has had to rein himself in. He is grateful the wait is over.
‘It’s been 12 years coming and it’s a big sigh of relief that’s it’s actually here now,’ Smit told keo.co.za. ‘The magnitude of the Test series is starting to dawn on us fully now.
‘It’s been a big weight on our shoulders, now I just hope the quality of the Test can match the hype that has been building for the past two years or so.
‘For most players in either 22, this is the last time we will get to experience a Lions tour to South Africa. We won’t be able to re-live this in 12 years time. That means we’re both desperate for a victory, and it certainly adds to the pressure we feel.
‘But pressure shouldn’t be viewed as a negative. It keeps us sharp and focused in our task. It’s going to be a massive Test. We know we have to deliver. There are no excuses.’
Smit reinforced the view that the series defeat in 1997 has no bearing on their mental state, nor is it a motivation coming into the series.
‘There was no injustice in 1997. We scored more tries, but at the end of the day we’ve had to watch that [Jeremy Guscott] drop-goal that won the series for the last 12 years. But in rugby terms, that series is a lifetime away from this squad,’ he said.
‘We don’t think about revenge. This is a new group of players with an opportunity to achieve something special.’
Smit said he wouldn’t allow himself to think about what it would mean to win every major title he could with the Springboks.
‘That would defeat the purpose of what we’re trying to achieve in the first Test,’ he said. ‘I’ll tell on the evening of 4 July [the final Test] what that means, but right now King’s Park is our focus.’
Smit’s leadership has been central to the Springboks’ success over the past six years, but he says there was no need to motivate his squad, as they were all acutely aware of what victory over the Lions would mean.
‘The guys have heard me give the same Braveheart speech over and over again, but as soon as the squad gathered it became apparent that I didn’t have to do or say anything to create the atmosphere I envisaged,’ he said.
‘The Lions are upon us and if the prospect of beating them doesn’t motivate a Springbok, nothing will.’
By Ryan Vrede, in Durban

79 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
19 Jun 2009, 12:43 pm
#49 bokfan1:
That is exactly my fear. We’re almost always slow to start in the first Test of the year and I worry that if the Lions fire in the first 20 we’ll have to place catch-up rugby and we all know the Boks don’t enjoy catch-up rugby. If we’ve got a lead at half-time we’ll take the game I reckon and probably with it the series. Im nervous though hey!
Sweet for the invite we must definitely grab a cold one and im always keen on a braai. Maybe the 2nd or 3rd Test, anyway we’ll see what happens. If we lose the first game Im not going to be a good oke to be around for the second game, I’ll be yelling at the TV like a crazy man
19 Jun 2009, 12:44 pm
I’ve got mixed emotions over this game.
I can’t decide whether we are going to win by far or just by a small margin.
AARGH What the hell, we are going to smash them
19 Jun 2009, 12:45 pm
#51 Thameside Bok fan: Ja, catch up is NO good.
You will have to shout pretty loud to be heard over some of my buddies
Definitely a Safa trait to shout at the TV hahaha
Where are you in London?
19 Jun 2009, 12:46 pm
#52 Blouste:
sê ek oek mos!!
19 Jun 2009, 12:48 pm
#54 ashley: Ag, wat weet ‘n asbak nou !
19 Jun 2009, 12:51 pm
#55 bdb:
19 Jun 2009, 12:55 pm
Bly die toets is 15h00 en nie 17h00 nie, beste tyd vir rugby, veral in Durbs.
Hoe lyk die weer daar, sonskyn of reën vir more ?
19 Jun 2009, 12:59 pm
I think I must be one of the few Brits to read this site, so can somebody tell what the logic is in giving your squad five weeks off competitive rugby? Your team is probably better than ours, but they are still all good international players, and if you guys on the ball, we will beat you. Five weeks with no real life match practice!? If (big if) we win, you can thank our greatest asset, PDV.
19 Jun 2009, 13:00 pm
Sorry, – if you guys aren’t on the ball,
19 Jun 2009, 13:00 pm
#53 bokfan1:
Ah boet when the blood starts pumping and you see the proverbial hitting the fan out there on the field, for a full 80 minutes you’re not entirely yourself you know? There is nothing that gets me more amped than at the end of the anthem, after that last line “in South Africa our laaaaaaaaaaand!!” It feels like you just went bungee jumping. EVERY time
Im out the SE near Canary Wharf hey, where’s about are you?
19 Jun 2009, 13:02 pm
#58 Jessp:
I agree its not the greatest but like Monty said these guys have just come off a hectic S14 where they’ve been playing for months. The break might actually do them good and they’ll come out fresh and ready to do what they do best. Two sides to every coin.
19 Jun 2009, 13:05 pm
#60 Thameside Bok fan: hahaha brilliant analogy on the last line of the anthem – it does boil the blood! I love it!
Nice – Canary Wharf. Im in between Baker Street, Marylebone and Edgware Rd…
19 Jun 2009, 13:07 pm
#58 Jessp: Jes, some of my fellow saffas will disagree with me (because of provincialism), but the most important players in the team had good ‘match practice’ up to the S14 final, 3 weeks ago: Hab, Fourie DP, Spies, Vic, Bakkies (Guthro, Danie, Steyn on the bench). I am also concerned about our other star players not getting enough ‘match practice’, but we will see tomorrow what influence it has on the outcome of the match.
How do you rate the bok team ?
19 Jun 2009, 13:13 pm
#13 Thameside Bok fan: Try the Bok bar in Covent Garden – always a great atmosphere and they serve borewors rolls!
19 Jun 2009, 13:13 pm
#58 Jessp: With the amount of rugby being played these days there is always a fine line between being match-fit and being match-fatigued. Remember that these players are just coming off a long and gruelling S14.
Recently the thinking in SA has been that the biggest problem that the top professionals face is playing too many matches, not too few. This idea mainly comes from the famous sport scientist Tim Noakes.
19 Jun 2009, 13:16 pm
#64 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: It is a GREAT pub and the boerie rolls RULE, but as Thameside said – it will be RAMMED tomorrow.
We had to book tables for last year’s autumn internationals – can you imagine tomorrow?
19 Jun 2009, 13:16 pm
#64 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: where are you watching it mate?
19 Jun 2009, 13:21 pm
#64 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Ja I watch there sometimes but usually for the lesser games it just gets packed out and you cant sit at all. The Borrie rolls are a temptation as is the Klippies
I’ve got a few good places that I know of so will give them all a though have either of you been to Barracude near Aldgate? That place is pretty good!
19 Jun 2009, 13:23 pm
#68 Thameside Bok fan: no I havent – is it a Saffa jol?
19 Jun 2009, 13:24 pm
I am affraid O’Driscoll is going to run circles around Adriaan Jakobs.
Do not need another disappointment like the cticket last night.
Gaan lunch tyd al begin drink.
19 Jun 2009, 13:26 pm
BDB – Great Boks team generally. I reckon they are maybe a little weak in the front row (not convinced of Smit at prop)fly half and full back – maybe in the centre too. Those will be the areas the Lions will target. Expect a few high kicks and Mike Phillips breaking down the fly half channel. On the other hand, although I think the Lions front row are probably better scrummagers (and I don’t want to talk about the legality of their scrummaging or otherwise – I was a wing in my playing days and know nothing of those dark arts), the scrum will not be of any great consequence and Smit is a better all round footballer. You guys will probably shade the line-out, especially in the second half, , but the big player for me will be Brussow. He’s the guy who will punish us at the breakdown, either simply by winning the ball or by causing us to give away penalties. As a side issue, why are the Boks going into a major test match with no top class place kicker? In the centre, defensively, a lot will depend on de Villiers getting in the face of Jamie Roberts. Offensively, it’s simple – get the ball out to your wings; Monye’s got pace to burn, but his positioning is weak. All in all, I think you’ll win with your back row – but if match fitness is an issue, then we might shade it in the last 20 minutes.
19 Jun 2009, 13:27 pm
#69 bokfan1:
ja is it a bit hey although if the Boks aren’t playing I think they tone it down a bit you know. Its quite a classy place and they’ve got a massive screen and serve Borrie rolls as well, or at least used to. Its a good dive, Barracuda near Aldgate. I was back in SA for the RWC final but a mate went there for it and said it was awesome! Ive been a few times and its not bad hey, good choice of cold beer too!
19 Jun 2009, 13:35 pm
#72 Thameside Bok fan: Shot for the heads up boetie! I’ll be sure to check it out!
We canmake a plan and meet there for a game – maybe with Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke?
Make our own ex-pats supporters club
19 Jun 2009, 14:11 pm
#71 Jessp:
Appreciate your analysis, but no top class place kicker? Sorry but between them Ruaan Pieneaar and Frans Steyn are easily as good as any Lions place kicker. Having the extra range of Steyn actually shades the Lions in the place kicking dept.
Don’t forget Morne Steyn on the bench, who too, is as good, if not better than O’gara et al.
19 Jun 2009, 14:16 pm
#70 Kalahari Kid:
I am pretty sure Adi is probably quicker than O’driscoll.. BOD is going to have to try and go over him, which unlikely.. however if BOD is put in space then he’s a certified menace, usually unstoppable.
I just hope the boks don’t have their tradional slow start to the test match season. I can’t call tomorrows game, but if the Boks win tomorrow I’d bet on a series win for them. Go Bokke!!
19 Jun 2009, 14:20 pm
Londonbokshark – you may have a point, but I’m really not convinced by Frans Steyn. I reckon it depends on which one turns up. He might win you the match and could lose you it also. The other big factor I forgot to mention was the ref. And no, I’m not getting my winging in early. I’m just a bit fed up watching games between SH and NH sides where so much depends on refereeing interpretation, especially at the scrum and at the breakdown. I just hope that whatever he tells the respective teams about his interpretation before the game, he sticks to during it. And this is not a criticism of SH refs, we’ve got Wayne Barnes, God help us!
19 Jun 2009, 14:26 pm
#76 Jessp: Barnes is the greatest, bar none.
19 Jun 2009, 14:27 pm
#76 Jessp:
Don’t worry, I am not entirely convinced of Frans Steyn either
as you say he can be a match winner, but in the past he has been prone to “brain burps”. he is maturing though and settling so hopefully for him and the Boks there will more far more magic than mistakes. I think he’s cut out to be a 15 and if he’s on song tomorrow he is going to awesome!
The coaches have met with the ref. so i suspect the breakdown and how it will be reffed has been discussed. Therefore which ever team transgresses the most should have no excuses… I’d hate to see the series (or any other game) decided by refereeing!
20 Jun 2009, 09:45 am
Boks to take it 29-20
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All