Battling for balance

The bench selection for the second Test suggests the Springboks will battle to maintain their physical ascendancy in the latter stages.

The Boks were dominant up front last week and halfbacks Fourie du Preez and Ruan Pienaar controlled the game superbly in the first half despite ramblings of Peter de Villiers to the contrary. De Villiers hoped fresh legs would up the tempo in the second half, but the players taking the field only served to disrupt the team dynamic.

The make-up of the match 22 for the second Test suggests the Bok management haven’t learned from their mistakes. They’ve gone with five forwards and two backs on the bench, which is understandable given the physical inclination of the Lions, but the reserve forwards they’ve selected don’t justify the exclusion of a specialist scrumhalf on the wood.

Du Preez is the Bok pivot, but is not immune to injury. Pienaar can play scrumhalf, but if he’s controlling the game from flyhalf as he did last week, why would you want to move him, even if it is to cover the injured Du Preez, to a different position? Why not have a scrumhalf in reserve – not Ricky Januarie mind you – who can come on and continue to provide solid service from the base to a dominating flyhalf? What the management have done by naming Pienaar as Du Preez’s official back-up is unnecessary.

They may have had a point if their five reserve forwards could maintain any kind of dominance in the second half. Breaking it down player by player, it’s hard to see Chiliboy Ralepelle lifting the tempo if Bismarck du Plessis were to cry off injured. He’s a scrummaging hooker rather than a fourth loosie, and he’s shown that in his limited involvement for the Bulls in the Super 14.

But that is only a secondary issue when you consider the selections of players 18 (Andries Bekker), 19 (Danie Rossouw) and 20 (Heinrich Brussouw). The Boks have explained Brussow’s selection and he could indeed prove valuable in the final quarter with his fetching ability, an ability that could lead to turnovers, counter-attacking opportunities and tries. But you don’t need both Bekker and Rossouw on the bench when Rossouw is well capable of playing the utility role.

Bekker took the ball well in the lineout but in a partnership with Victor Matfield at scrum-time, the Boks found themselves with two No 5s on the field. The scrum suffered without Bakkies Botha’s bullk behind tighthead John Smit, and the breakdown suffered without that brutish clearing of defenders. Bekker’s a very talented player who will fill the void when Matfield retires, but he’ll never be a No 4 lock. Since Matfield is also an 80-minute player at the moment due to his talent and leadership value, why include Bekker on the bench?

Rossouw has played lock, blindside and No 8 for the Boks with some success. Brussow can only play openside, meaning the Boks need cover for Juan Smith and Pierre Spies. Rossouw can also cover Botha when he comes off in the second half. He’s a skilled jumper and he can also dish out the necessary clout when required.

The Boks’ first half-showing at King’s Park wasn’t perfect, but it was smart. They had begun to dismantle the Lions, and that rolling maul early in the second half underlined their dominance.

The backline didn’t receive many opportunities in the first half as Pienaar kicked for territory and the forwards kept it close. As shown in the big victories over Australia and England last year, the forwards need to maintain their effort for the backs to run riot. It’s something the Boks failed to do last Saturday, and something they should look to correct at Loftus.

Unfortunately, with their bench lacking balance, the Boks will be hard pressed to do so. The Lions are poor but in striving to better their own game, the Boks need to get this balance right. They will win this weekend and the weekend thereafter, but they may still fail to reach their potential.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

90 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

Watching all those english moronic supporters backing
    their 3 countries in one team gave me a pretty sick feeling.
    The BOKS must donner those british lions.
    But they are not real lions just ******* from wales england
    and ireland

• 52.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#51 Boksarenumber1: why did the BiL fans bother you?

• 53.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

#51 Boksarenumber1: stop being nasty to *******, i kinda like them.

• 54.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

#53 Knersboy:

• 55.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

#52 Big Hit:

because the brit fans are arrogant pompous boer haters,
    slimely old fuckers

• 56.byoboy: Reply to this comment

#51 Boksarenumber1: the Irish aren’t too bad but the poms are fkn annoying we’ll kick there asses.

• 57.Puma: Reply to this comment

#49 byoboy: What happens if Ruan and FdP get injured? Just a thought. We should have had another scrummie on the bench. Also think we should have had WO to start and maybe Adi on the bench. Not sure if Adi is 100% over that shoulder injury.

Bekker is surplus.

Think maybe they are thinking of keeping the team on for most of the 80 min this time. Now really hope none get injured.

• 58.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

“Your comment is awaiting moderation”
    is moderation censorship?

• 59.Shark_Logie: Reply to this comment

#56 Puma: we have to stick with bekker, he is the next matfield.

and i too think WO should have started or mossie.

• 60.BULLET: Reply to this comment

If you chaps feel like a laugh, read this Rugby 365 article, then read the comments and the profane poem at the end. Its hysterical.

http://www.rugby365.com/all_news/sa/news/1759542.htm

• 61.Shark_Logie: Reply to this comment

#57 Boksarenumber1: yip…or it being scrutinised.

check your words for foul language or odd discrepencies.

• 62.Puma: Reply to this comment

#55 byoboy: I thought they really were all brilliant those Lions supporters. I sat with Irish guys next to me. English at the back and some Scots. All were superb and lots of fun really. (Not when you are playing just Wales,Ireland,Scotland or England) Now that they are all one they seem to really be taking this like a carnival. Yes taking the rugby serious but they are here to have FUN too I can tell you.

I had a really good time with all of them on Saturday. They even took losing very well. We would never take losing well at all.

• 63.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

#61 Shark_Logie:

******’ or ‘****’ are not foul language,
    both can be found in the dictionary

• 64.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

I have given up trying to work out how our coaches think.

Mystifying.

• 65.The Riddler: Reply to this comment

#59 BULLET: Dude that is funny! I laughed my @ss off. Quoting from the link you sent

My Name is Earl
    Ode to Me……

Hi guys, my name is Earl.
    Most times I play like a girl
    My fans they hold signs,
    with the following lines,
    “Hey Rosy, You make me HURL”

Earl “Tiger Woods” Rose

• 66.The Riddler: Reply to this comment

#61 Puma: Not sure the Loftus fans will be so accommodating. I’ve found many more friendly people in Dublin/Cardiff/Richmond and Edinburgh bars than at Loftus.

• 67.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Riddler, calling Earl a girl, he just might hold his own in the national women’s team!

• 68.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

Boks 50-O British Lion.

• 69.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Another beauty from Rugby 365:

Ode to Rose – The antithesis of Chuck Norris
    Hi my name is Earl Rose
    P Divvy calls me twinkle toes
    How I got here only he knows
    Probably for my great blows
    I’ve got mad skills with the ball
    But courage? I’ve got F$%k All
    One day I hope we can be friends
    I just need to learn to defend

- Shakespeare Tackle

• 70.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#67 kaksioek: funny but very mean

• 71.pepinillo: Reply to this comment

Kankowski has everything you need to be an exelent outside center….pace, size and technique.

• 72.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Bad bench. Stupid to keep Bekker in there. Not as stupid as Chilli on the bench – are they really trying to ruin his career before it starts?

• 73.wilfred: Reply to this comment

3 X TICKETS FOR 2ND TEST

• 74.pepinillo: Reply to this comment

Can somebody say to PDV to move Kankowski to outside center ??

• 75.lestat143: Reply to this comment

HAVE YOUR SAY WITH GARY GOLD ON HIS BLOG GUYS.
    http://coaching.blog.rugbyiq.com/

CHEERS

• 76.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Given the current squad and the fact they they have trained and played together now I would like tonsee this team/mix.
    BTW …i was thinking of how to oust Ricky and thought Ruan would be the way to go ,BUT I would have a 3rd back.

Steyn
    JPP
    Mossie
    JDV
    Habs
    Ruan
    FDP

Spies
    Juan
    Brussouwtjie
    Vic
    Beast
    Bismark
    Smittie

BENCH … W Olivier,M Steyn, Jongi/Odwa, Danie , Schalk ,Guthro,Carstens.

That brings the 10,12 combo on ,the legend Schalk who cannot be match fit yet and adds b(h)ulk ,2 props with Bismark the please ref give a yellow card) going off for JS to stay on as Captain and move to hooker.That way ,no Chiliboiy,Ricky and Adi although Adi could well be on the bench.Jongo or Odwa give us cover at wing IF we have a catastrophe in the back and Habs has to go to 9 ,and we need a wing or an FB.

• 77.Viscount Crouchback: Reply to this comment

#2 BMM:

Old fruit,

You’re making the mistake of being rational. The Boer chappies on here aren’t interested in reasoned argument. They have a set of prejudices which they are loathe to give up under any circumstances whatsoever. These include:

- The Lions will struggle at altitude! (Notwithstanding the fact that, as you say, most of the Boks play at sea-level and, moreover, most of them are patently unfit).

- The Lions are limited! (Notwithstanding the fact that Roberts and O’Driscoll ripped them to shreds).

- British rugby is boring! (Notwithstanding the fact that Mike Phillips passed the ball more times than the entire Springbok team in Durban).

- The Lions have no chance of rectifying the scrum – we have the Beast! (Notwithstanding the fact that they were all wetting themselves about the scrum a week earlier, that Beast has never been known for his scrummaging, and that the inclusion of Jones sorted matters in an instant).

It’s all a bit weird, BMM. But it’s well worth sticking around – you’ll get an unparalleled insight into how the human reasoning process breaks down in troubled societies.

• 78.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Ultimately wannted to see this for Loftus but now with training and a game behind them maybe another time :

Steyn or Kirchner
    JPP
    Mossie
    Olivier
    Habs
    M Steyn
    FDP

Spies
    Juan
    Brussouwtjie
    Vic
    Guthro
    JS
    Beast

JDV,Pienaar,Vermaak,Burger,Danie,CJvdL,Bismark

Solid experienced scary bench

• 79.ddrek: Reply to this comment

75- Viscount
    Some good points and I agree with you on first 2 points but have this to say :
    When Lions did rectify the scrum they did just that. There was no dominance. Bok scrum was underestimated coz we have been very average for a while now at times and UK esp English scrum has been very good. IMO Beast was never a poor scrummager.John Smit suprsied me more but then again he is an unuaually bright front row player.
    I know the Boks won’t catch you napping again this time but details/ref’s interpretation or not ,the Bok scrum and maul embarressed the Lions till changes were made. Better for Lions ,poor subbing for Boks. I think with our test front row doing what they did and the best of the lions,the scrum will be neutral at best for you (Lions).

Not all of us are boneheaded or even live in a troubled scociety so jump of your horse and trek Ferreire ;0
    Phillips,Roberts and BOD are very very good.
    I am glad our ackline can only get better as we were outplayed in the backs but the Lions have not seen the Bok backline when they get a sniff. They will do weell to keep their defence good and starve us of ball in your half.
    Here’s to a cracker of a 2nd test.

Having said that while the Lions centers are very very good ,I dont think ours can be as bad again from now on. It will be more even although i think we have still not picked our best and most match ready combination. Lions have.

• 80.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

#75 Viscount Crouchback:
    Old Bean,

For your perusal, I provide a list of the Boks’ winning percentages at four stadiums.

Ellis Park, Johannesburg: 71%
    Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria: 71%
    Newlands, Cape Town: 65%
    Kings Park, Durban: 60%

Interesting fact: The first two are at altitude, the last two are not.

Now, I’ll grant you, only eight of the Bok 22 for Saturday’s Test train and play regularly at altitude. So that isn’t a huge advantage.

But it isn’t all about altitude.

As you’ll discover if you’re one of the delightful contingent of masochistic colonials who have made the trip to deepest, darkest Africa to watch the Red Shirts lose and you go to the game yourself, there’s something a little … different about the crowd at Loftus.

I’m sure you’ll have a whale of a time. Just remember to take a spare pair of unmentionables with you.

Respectfully yours,
    One of the Boers (well, not really, but who’s counting?)

• 81.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

ah what ****- Ralepelle has at least as much pace and heart as Bissie. He is also a lot smarter and does not lose his temper.

the Boks could also play Habana at scrumhalf – but that would be dumb right?

I would have Heinie Adams at scrumie- he impressed with his passing- a nice fast shot of a pass out to the backline when te forwards have pummeleled them and we have opportunity. His box kicks were also good against the Lions on Tuesday. Good quality all round- as you would expect from a Bull player.

the Lions rush defence is causing problems for our backline. Expect them to play in amanner that negates the rush defence – like hitting it up 4/5 phases and then running – when their backline are mostly props. Of course ours will be too, but our forwards are more skilled.

• 82.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

It was mentioned on Rugby 365, and I rememnber thinking this at the time I saw it, but a lot of Lions supporters were wearing the British redcoat uniform and hat as used by their army during the Boer War.

Now as a Saffa with Italian heritage it does not affect me much, but I dont think that I am being too far fetched when I say that that strikes me as being incredibly insensitive to Afrikaners.

Many Afrikaners had relatives that died as a result of atrocities and war crimes commited by the British (English, Irish, Scot and Welsh – as well as Kiwis and Aussies in fact) while they were wearing that uniform. And it still sits uncomfortably with a lot of them. The Boer War’s were only thirty years before the holocaust. It could be construed as being akin to wearing a Nazi uniform in Jerusalem (although that would be a lot more extreme, and could expect a worse reaction).

While to most Brits the uniform may just remind them of a Michael Cain movie, perhaps their eyes need to be opened to the rather shabby human rights history they have in these parts. Perhaps it worth opening their eyes beforehand, before a large Pretoria boy closes their eyes for them.

Since the next test is in Pretoria- that bastion of Afrikaner goodwill and sentiment, they will not be doing themselves any favours by attending a test in that uniform, and perhaps could not complain if the hospitality and welcome that they receive is not as warm and forendly as they expected.

I would say that in order to avoid problems and to get a really good sense of SA friendliness and hospitality, it would make a lot of sense to leave the uniform at home. By all means, wear the red of your team, or the jersey – but that particular uniform could be a problem.
    Wearing that uniform is probably as insensitive as taking an old South African flag to Loftus.

• 83.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#80 SjamBok:

FFS, get a life !

how about banning the guy in the Pink Panther outfit for offending stupid French detectives everywhere too.

I dont recall the same guys offending too many Maoris on the 2005 tour of NZ.

• 84.whatever: Reply to this comment

#81 WakaNathan:

You thick doos. Do you know anything about SA history and the number of Boers killed in British concentration camps? Obviously not…….and I’m a Saffa from English stock for the record. If not, do not comment cause it makes you look like an idiot, which from past posts is not difficult.

• 85.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#82 whatever:
    Daai is moerse gerook ****.
    Hy soek net skoor heeltyd.

• 86.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

#81 Wakanathan,

You f#$kwit, in those uniforms they killed thousands of women and children in concentration camps because they couldn’t beat a handful of Boers in a war.

You’ve got the brain of a four-year-old boy, and I’ll bet he was glad to get rid of it.

• 87.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#6 Yetirat: I reckon Heinie Adams is mmore than capable enough of fill the scrumhalf spot.

• 88.husky: Reply to this comment

Sambok,

Relax boet, read a bit in the book about forgiveness. I reckon it shows maturity when you can get over the past. Or are you just another ANC and Zuma vs Zapiro?

To rugby. I think the Bok team is pretty good. Adi, no Brussouw and the bench are the only postential weak points and not that weak. I also think the coaches stuffed up including Rose in the squad and not Kirchner, particularly if Adi is now injured. based on the last Test a backline of Pienaar, Jacobs and de Villiers with Rose at 15 would leak tries or at least for me, more than Pienaar, Fourie, de Villiers/Steyn and Kirchner at 15.

As for Bekker, if he is a beastie and heavier than Bakkies, he should be told to do Bakkies’ job when he replaces him, not paotrol the wing like he does for WP. I think he has huge potential but he must learn to jump from Matfield and to tighten up from Bakkies. Like Watson who could be a great, even best ever, fetcher (get over JW) but he must keep his mouth shut, stop being a scrum inspector, linker (WTF?), grubber kicker, wing patroller and get stuck in.

For those who want to start with Adams or Morne Steyn, think back to du Toit and van Hoesselen under Mallet. The AB’s and the Mullett broke those guys forever in one game. Pdv had vaguely the right idea with his subs but coach your players into what you expect from them and ease them into the Bok set up as replacements (if your incumbents perform OK). Let the incumbents start.

As regards Spies. He had a hard game. He wasn’t doing any flashy running because he was securing or fighting for the ball with Smith and Brussouw. He could only raise his head from the ground to see the ball booted downfield (too much of that I reckon) then start defending. No reason to replace him with Kanko, Vermeulen, Deysel etc, all of whom are stand out loosies (although I was surprised to see Vermeuelen bounce off Powell was it?).

We re-engage the enemy at 15h00 27-06-2009.

• 89.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#86 husky: Its not me that would be getting uptight about it – I am of Italian descent, so I don’t care. But I have seen a few Afrikaans guys getting a bit upset about it, and to be honest I think that they would be within their rights.

I just think that if the BIL tourists wanted to truly get to know Pretoria’s friendliness and hospitality (and they can be REAAALLY friendly and hospitable), then that would not be a good foot to step off.

• 90.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#82 whatever:
    And do you know anyhhing about NZ histroy???
    Sounds like you dont.
    Those people wearing those uniforms are not there to start another war,if they did England would own SA anyways,i reckon you should just calm down,its a fancy dress.
    As Waka said they wore the same things in NZ but we didnt go all anal about it.
    **** me days its a rugby match

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.