HSM writers clean up

Highbury Safika Media claimed four big prizes at the 29th SAB Sport Journalism awards in Jo’burg on Monday night.

dsc_4236Keo, HSM’s chief operating officer and founder of keo.co.za, was voted Columnist of the Year for his contributions to Business Day newspaper and its popular magazine Business Day Sport Monthly.

Gary Lemke, HSM’s publishing director and Business Day Sport Monthly editor, won the Feature Writer of the Year award and the Overall Print Journalist of the Year Award.

dsc_4232And finally, Ryan Vrede, senior staff writer for keo.co.za and SA Rugby magazine, won the Feature Writer of the Year Award in the Newcomer category.

In other rugby-related awards, Bob Skinstad was voted Best Newcomer overall, while Bok Sevens coach Paul Treu was presented with the Most Media Friendly Personality award.

dsc_4273‘To be honoured by South Africa’s top sports journalists in this way, is amazing. As a team we’ve always placed a high premium on our preparations on and off the field,’ said Treu.

‘Again, this award is not only for me. It’s for every squad member that helped to make this season a huge success.’