Porter leads Academy boys

Golden Lions flank Kobus Porter will captain the SA Academy side at Craven Week in East London.

Last year, SA Academy continued their dominance over SA Schools when they thrashed their more illustrious opponents 41-19 in Durban (their fourth win in six years). To avoid similar embarrassment, Saru has decided to include the Academy side in Craven Week itself rather than have them play SA Schools in a curtain-raiser to a Tri-Nations match.

This year’s Academy side is made up mainly of Free State, Eastern Province, Blue Bulls and Western Province players. Grey College, Paul Roos and Waterkloof each have three representatives.

Wynberg pivot Kieran Goss, who many believe should have made the WP Craven Week side, has been selected on the bench.

The Academy side will be coached by Bart Schoeman of the Bulls and Waterkloof while Peter Links of Western Province will be his assistant.

SA Academy - 15 Shandr̩ Claasen (Vredendal, Boland), 14 Ushimen Pateni (Pearson, Eastern Province), 13 William Small-Smith (Grey College, Free State), 12 Paul Jordaan (Grey College, Free State), 11 Ayanda Foley (Victoria Park, Eastern Province), 10 Errol Jagger (Paul Roos, Western Province), 9 Fran̤ois de Klerk (Waterkloof, Blue Bulls), 8 Quinton Kruger (Waterkloof, Blue Bulls), 7 Cornell du Preez (Framesby, Eastern Province), 6 Kobus Porter (Noordheuwel, Golden Lions Рcaptain), 5 Schalk van Heerden (Waterkloof, Blue Bulls), 4 James Meechum (Monument, Golden Lions, 3 Piet Stemmet (Paul Roos, Western Province), 2 Wikus Louwrens (Oakdale, South Western Districts), 1 Kelvin du Bruyn (Paul Roos, Western Province).
Subs: 16 Katlego Kgama (St Stithians, Golden Lions), 17 Zolani Faku (Grey High, Eastern Province), 18 Lidokuhle Neyembe (Grey College, Free State), 19 Khaya Majola (Westville, KwaZulu Natal), 20 Thabiso Zwane (Piet Retief, Pumas), 21 Heinrich Arendse (Scottsdene, Western Province), 22 Kieran Goss (Wynberg, Western Province).

Academy Week results:

Monday 29 June
Griquas 34 Leopards CD 16
Bule Bulls 23 KZN CD 18
EP 13 WP 6
Pumas 61 Namibia 10
Free State 31 Boland 18
Blue Falcons 18 Border CD 5
Lions 17 KZN 17
SWD 16 Griffons 10
EP CD 30 Limpopo 8
Leopards 26 Border 19
Silver Falcons 13 Griquas CD 6
Pumas CD 34 Griffons CD 15

Tuesday 30 June
Free State 21 EP 5
Lions 21 Pumas 10
Blue Bulls 16 SWD 5
Leopards 21 EP Country Districts 13
Boland 31 KZN Country Districts 21
Border 10 Griffons 0
Silver Falcons 28 Griquas 12
WP 20 KZN 12
Griquas Country Districts 27 Border Country Districts 3
Pumas Country Districts 36 Blue Falcons 24
Grriffons Country Districts 7
Limpopo 33 Leopard Country Districts 15

Thursday 1 July
Blue Bulls 27 Free State 21
Lions 41 EP 26
Silver Falcons 41 Border 8
WP 39 SWD 3
KZN Country Districts 21 EP Country Districts 12
Blue Falcons 24 Griquas Country Districts 14
Leopards Country Districts 25 Griffons Country Districts 13
Griquas 22 Pumas Country Districts 20
Namibia 3 Border Country Districts 0
Pumas 17 KZN 16