Boks must play brain game

South Africa will not win the 2009 Tri-Nations if they adopt the high-risk approach that saw them self-destruct in 2008, writes Gavin Rich in SA Rugby magazine.

brain gameThe standing of the Tri-Nations as the world’s premier international rugby competition, and the challenges faced by the competing teams, was neatly summed up in an interview that former British & Irish Lions great Gareth Edwards did with a London newspaper.

Edwards, rated the greatest rugby player of last century, travelled to Cape Town for a Tri-Nations game in 2005 – and the brutality of it left him feeling quite stunned.

‘After the bashing the Lions received in 2005 I travelled together with the Cardiff chief executive Bob Norster to watch the All Blacks take on the Springboks,’ recalled Edwards. ‘We had left New Zealand after the Lions tour thinking that the All Blacks were the greatest team on Earth and we wondered who was ever going to beat them. Well, in Cape Town that day the Springboks knocked lumps off them. To say the Boks lacked skill would be an injustice, but the Boks really walloped them. Tana Umaga was knocked off his feet, Dan Carter did not know what day it was. To be there in the flesh was almost frightening. I can’t see a British team doing that too often.’

In relating his experience of that Newlands match, Edwards was also pointing to the one element of Springbok rugby that has remained such a key to their challenge throughout the 88 years of fierce rivalry between these powerful rugby nations. In a word: physicality.

To say it was missing from the games between the Boks and the All Blacks in last year’s Tri-Nations would not be accurate. At stages of the tournament the Boks were as physical as ever, and they scored a historic win in Dunedin playing a structured, aggressive game that could have been right out of Jake White’s playbook.

However, those were the days when new coach Peter de Villiers was giving a lot of air to his love of the expansive game. The net result was that, as they did many times during the course of the year, the Boks flitted between playing styles – and they didn’t play to their core strength. Yes, they were physical in all their games against the All Blacks, but they weren’t nearly as direct as they needed to be when the two sides clashed in Cape Town.

For reasons only known to themselves, or to their coach, the Boks took onto the field that day a strategy that could only be described as suicide. Instead of setting play up through the forwards and creating a platform by hitting the advantage line, the Boks ran the ball down the back – and their run-from-everywhere approach copped them an embarrassing 19-0 defeat.

That was the lowlight of the season, but the malaise had set in during the previous match in Perth. Just a week after their epic win in Dunedin, the Boks started as favourites against a Wallabies team playing for the first time in a Tri-Nations match under new coach Robbie Deans.

Instead of taking the good from Dunedin into this game, the Boks abandoned the template. De Villiers telegraphed his intentions to run more by bringing back Conrad Jantjes for Percy Montgomery, who had been steadiness personified at Carisbrook.

Instead of playing the structured rugby that had earned them their first win over the All Blacks on New Zealand soil since 1998, the Boks embarked on the policy that ran them into a blind corner at Newlands. The Wallabies had started tentatively, but the Boks allowed them off the hook by playing away from the South African traditional strengths.

‘To me the big disappointment of last year was not so much that we finished last on the Tri-Nations log, but that we finished the New Zealand leg with one win each, and yet we did not build on that platform,’ admits Bok assistant coach Gary Gold.

One former Bok who watched the world champions getting handed a rugby lesson during their penultimate Tri-Nations match in Durban was Mark Andrews. That was the day when the Boks were booed from the field afterwards, and were booed again by patrons in the King’s Park parking area as their bus left the stadium.

‘When I spoke to some of the people involved, such as [assistant coach] Dick Muir, it was stressed that it wasn’t supposed to be as disorganised as it appeared, the players did go onto the field with structure in mind,’ says Andrews. ‘But it was evident to me that if there was a structure, the players didn’t understand that structure and were battling to get to grips with it. You could make that out when someone like [lock] Andries Bekker ended up taking three balls at flyhalf. The players simply didn’t appear to know where the play was going.’

This makes sense, for De Villiers used to talk the heads-up approach, with the Bok mantra being ‘we’ll play what‘s in front of us’. There have been some high-ranking coaches down the years who have believed in this policy, but can you tally those who have been consistently successful, and more particularly, won trophies? I thought not.

‘You don’t want to be too rigid in your structure, but in my years as a Bok we always seemed to struggle when we had coaches who took on board a philosophy that moved away from structure. I am thinking parts of the Harry Viljoen era, and Carel du Plessis,’ recalls Andrews. ‘In the successful years, such as in 1995 when we won the World Cup and in 1998 when we won the Tri-Nations, we built our success around the physicality and dominance of our forwards. We took on strategies that would ensure that our bigger forwards would always be on the front foot, and we would set up our play through the pack.

‘Last year, in those early Tri-Nations games, we looked like we were trying to set up play through our backs, from behind the advantage line, something that has never worked for the Boks. When we feed the backs we need to be at the gainline or across it. We need to have the opposing defences back on their heels,  and bring the forwards in behind, with the ball in front of them.’

For Andrews, as well as another former Bok in Brendan Venter, the selection of the squad will be the key to the chances of South African success in this year’s Tri-Nations.

‘You have to have the players that will suit the game, and vice versa,’ says Andrews.

Venter explains what is needed by holding out one hand and then letting his second fall into place on top of it, all the fingers interlinking.

‘You can’t go out and play a certain type of game if you don’t have the players to do it, or the skill levels required, or if the players are just not used to it,’ says Venter. ‘Everything has to fit together. The combinations have to fit one another, the game plan has to suit the combinations you have and the individual players you have. There are reasons why South African teams tend to be more successful when they adopt a more direct approach, but we keep making the mistake of moving away from this.’

Last year there were some oddities in selection. And even when the right selection was made, there were times when the game plan didn’t appear to suit the player selected.

An excellent example of this was the aforementioned Newlands match. When Fourie du Preez was recalled ahead of Ricky Januarie at scrumhalf it was assumed that the Boks would use his gifted kicking boot to play the territory game. As one official said on the eve of that game, ‘When you pick a guy who can kick from his team’s own 22 to the opposition 22 and he is a scrumhalf, it would be idiotic not to use him to do that.’

Yet the Boks hardly kicked in that game. They ran from everywhere, were repeatedly caught in their own half, and although the player could hardly be blamed, as by then the Boks were forced into playing catch-up, the try that the New Zealanders scored when Jean de Villiers passed to one of them near the Bok line summed up the match.

Du Preez did not look comfortable playing that game, and the Boks, particularly Butch James, were far more effective when they returned to traditional strengths against the Wallabies in the final match. Unfortunately, by then all the pretty birds had flown, and the Boks were playing only for pride.

‘I was encouraged by the fact that after the Durban game against Australia we did seem to return to proper Test rugby, so maybe the penny dropped. I certainly hope so,’ says Andrews. ‘The three matches on the end-of-year tour were encouraging, so hopefully we will stick to that. If we don’t, we could be in as much trouble in this Tri-Nations as we were last year. The one big potential problem that is easy to pinpoint is goal kicking. Like it or not, Test rugby is about kicking your goals, and we don’t have an 80% kicker like we did when we had Percy [Montgomery] playing.

‘I would also like to see the Boks make greater use of the drop goal as a source of keeping the scoreboard ticking. On our home grounds the firm surfaces encourage drop kicking. For a forward who has been throwing everything into defending, there is nothing more demoralising than the opposition sticking over a drop. I have a good recollection of the England faces when Jannie de Beer did it to them in the 1999 World Cup.’

Even if the Boks do bring the structure and levelness to their game that was missing last season, they may find themselves up against better opposition than they encountered in 2008. The Wallabies have lost lock Dan Vickerman, flank Rocky Elsom and Mark Gerrard since last year’s Tri-Nations, but this will be their second year with Deans as coach.

The big question mark over the All Blacks centres on Dan Carter. The ace flyhalf – such a key player in that Cape Town victory last year and the crucial element in New Zealand’s switch to more pragmatic rugby halfway through last season – is unlikely to play.

While the bulk of last year’s players will be back, and there hasn’t been quite the same loss of personnel to the north as there was immediately after the World Cup, Carter was, with skipper Richie McCaw, one of the few really special players in the All Blacks’ line-up. Without him they might lose a bit more of the aura that they appeared to be missing before the Boks and Wallabies let them off the hook at the start of the last Tri-Nations.

SAR147 coverThe Boks will have to hit the tournament running this year, as the home leg comes first. They will require a minimum of two wins from their matches in Bloemfontein, Durban and Cape Town if they are to be competitive when the show moves to Australasia, where Perth, Brisbane and Hamilton are their ports of call.

– This article first appeared in the July issue of SA Rugby magazine.

596 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

cmon boys….need this one!!

• 2.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Not even PDV will be spared the rod if we flop in this Tri-nations!

Carter may not be at top form should he play. Richie seems to get injured more than Big Joe these days (although Joe hasn’t been injured in France). The AB’s don’t know who their best 15 is. We only have question marks at fullback and on the bench. How PDV played Conrad as our no.1 last year, who knows!

I think Australia may be the largest threat this year, although the comp is so close a refereeing decision could decide the Champions!

• 3.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The ABs can “out-physical” the Boks in a head-to-head contest of sheer physicality. The smarter team will prevail. Especially the one who can be physical without copping any cards for overstepping the mark. To do so you can’t be in denial about where those limits are and forever be weeping long tears about being “picked on” or “unfairly singled out” by “crooked refs” who “hate” you. Get real.

• 4.sglazer: Reply to this comment

It saddens me when I read about the consistently inconsistent game plans we’ve had over the years. It’s been a travesty to the inherent strength of Springbok rugby.

• 5.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Unfortunately this is unlikely to change. There’s been little consistency and good sense in our game plans this year.

• 6.jamisz: Reply to this comment

We lost 19-0 against NZ in CT by running everything?? I remember FDP kicking over the dead ball line twice. I remember jantjes putting one out on the full off go forward ball. We didnt run everything, we played bad.

• 7.jamisz: Reply to this comment

#2 Lions_Soutie: The AB’s know that Muliaina is their best 15. He has played most of his 71 tests at fullback.

• 8.sparticus: Reply to this comment

#3 TheTackler: Get real yourself , the ABS may have the upper hand a few times but when it matters most they were outmuscled every time – SA 2005 , France 99 , Australia 2003 , France 2007 , SA 2011……………….

• 9.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

#3TheTackler. Get some therapy sunshine. You are not doing yourself any favours sprouting the same old frustrated, chip on the shoulder routine. You sound like Dreyfuss from the Inspector Clousseau movies. Do you have the nervous twitch?

• 10.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#6 jamisz:

Hey don’t argue with Gavin Rich.

He is close to the team. Closer than we will ever be! He get’s the minutes of the meetings where the Boks plan their strategies, in fact, he takes those minutes!

He is the video operator for the technical analysts and the waterboy and towel boy when they hit the showers after training!

• 11.ashley: Reply to this comment

#10 PissAnt:
    i think he’s more than the fly … not the one on the wall,
    but
    the one in the soup!

keo on the other hand,
    is meer soos ñ drolstoter
    hy’s so ver in jw se g@t op
    partykeer wonder ek of jake nog kan “klas verlaat”

• 12.ashley: Reply to this comment

#11 ashley:
    more like the fly … sorry

• 13.jamisz: Reply to this comment

#10 PissAnt: Sorry. I bow before him.

• 14.ashley: Reply to this comment

#3 TheTackler:
    no more rucking
    no more cleaning out
    o happy days, one of these days even a wimp like you can play the game

or will it still be too tough for you even without those?

• 15.ashley: Reply to this comment

#13 jamisz:
    please make sure you bow towards him
    you never know, you might just be in a spot of bother in you bow in the wrong direction

• 16.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#15 ashley:
    Hosh little brother.
    I was talking to Jinx yesterday, about ertswhile WP players.
    Somehow I remember a ‘cullert’ oke Xavier Rylands, he did play center for WP, didn’t he, a Breytie look alike?
    Can you remember when, late 80′s I think?

• 17.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#7 jamisz:

I think Lions_Soutie meant who is their best 1-15.

Last year we all said the Boks should win the tri nations. This year most said we should win the Lions series 3-0. I am reserving my comments about who will win this years 3N.

One thing I will say though is that if PDV do NOT win the 3N in 2009, he will be herd pressed into taking that golden hand shake end of the year… and rightly so. He has inherited one of the best generations in Springbok rugby, if he cannot come close to winning the 3N once in 2 years, he shouldn’t stick around.

• 18.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#10 PissAnt:

Exactly how close is Gavin Rich to the Bok camp. By the sound of things he basically shares an bed with PDV.

• 19.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#16 Pietman:

Pietman, Zahier played for WP only a few years back. About, 2005-6 I think. He was supposed to be very talented and a big prospect on wing, but I think he was ousted by Chavanga and Sereli and we never heard about him again.

• 20.jamisz: Reply to this comment

#19 Greenpoint-Gunner: You are talking about Zahier Ryland

• 21.chucky: Reply to this comment

IM SO DAMN TIRED OF HEARING ABOUT JAKES PLAYBOOK.

Jake was an excellent coach who was ridiculed for 3 years before winning the RWC in the 4th year. he hasnt done anything remotely close with any other team that he has consulted with since. but that doesnt make him a bad coach overnight. please stop comparing the current coaching team with that of jake ,alistair and gert.

Every body needs to rally behind our team and start been patriotic (the only thing that the Yanks do well)

• 22.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#18 Greenpoint-Gunner:

Well he told us (supporters) in no uncertain terms in an article last week if we do not believe there is;

* Problems in the Bok camp
    * John and the senior players are coaching the team
    * Some other open secrets

that we are simply not close enough to the team as he is.

• 23.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#19 Greenpoint-Gunner:

Are you guys talking about Kokkerot? His problem was he was just not big enough…very fast, fleet-footed though. Performed excellent at age group level and Vodacom Cup, a bit of Currie Cup – but just not large enough to make it, unfortunately.

• 24.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#22 PissAnt:

But you see thats the thing. I have heard all these things before as well, but how close is he and what does he ground these claims on… I’m sure he is right, but still. I would love to know how he knows all these things.

• 25.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#24 Greenpoint-Gunner:

He is a journalist, nothing more.

• 26.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#25 PissAnt:

I forgot to add, he is a journalist who said PDV is the biggest embarrassment to Springbok rugby.

Funnily enough, he is also the journalist (one of quite a few) that said he will judge PDV on rugby matters and results…

• 27.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#26 PissAnt:

hehehehe, gotcha.

• 28.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#10 PissAnt:

So, can you clarify?

Are you pissed at Gavin Rich because he is putting a poor spin on DeVilliers?

Do you deny that,apart from a win in Dunedin last year.We looked shite all the way through with no coherent pattern of play.

• 29.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#26 PissAnt: Gavin Rich and Keo are clearly working hard on the same campaigne to get PDV fired.

Rich has been disgraceful in his lies about being close to the Bok camp and what the players are thinking, only to have John Smit, blow his bullshit theories wide open. What an idiot. He is definetly an example of scum journalism we have been subjected to lately here on Keo. Is anyone really surprized that he got a prime spot in SA Rugby Magazine to spew his rubbish.

I am praying that I get a chance to meet this fool one day just to give him a solid kick in the nuts and let him wonder why.

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#10 PissAnt:you pipped me to that one, i was about to say gavin rich has it on good authority that the players led by “coach” john smit, played the dunedin game “straight out of jake white’s handbook”! I don’t know if jake has monopoly on the “structured” game handbook. Is the “direct approach” gameplan a jake white invention? How would mark andrews know about it if it’s a jake white patent?

#6 jamisz:i seem to remember percy missing two penalties & kicking k@k the whole game! I don’t even want to start with FdP, he moaned about the ELVs from the get go & was playing poorly even before his hand injury!

How the hell is gavin rich going to ask mark andrews & venter to objectively critique the “expansive approach”? The dudes don’t know **** about it & don’t have the cognitive ability to appreciate it’s positives (if it has any), it’s like asking julius malema to analyse the afriforum or boeremag’s positive contributions to the not-so-new south africa! Ridiculous.

• 31.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#26 PissAnt:

Have you forgotten that under DeVilliers….the Boks lost to Australia at home? That is an unheard of result!

That’s 3 home losses now in under 2 seasons.

not particularly good is it.

• 32.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#28 St.Petersburgbok: Gavin is a liar. Already proven by past articles so whatever he has to say now is taken with a large 50kg bag of cerebos salt.

• 33.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Even Strauli led the Boks to home wins against Australia.

• 34.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#31 St.Petersburgbok: If your purpose is simply to slam de Villiers the way Rich and Keo does, then he is barking right up your tree. Go get you Gavin Rich pompoms and start your cheer. But do not be surprized when you discover your “Hero” is a scum sucking liar with an agenda and nothing more.

• 35.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#28 St.Petersburgbok:

No STP, I am tired of the old tiresome bullshit from journalists who makes statements that can never be verified or share secrets which is apparently open.

All this when he should, as he said, judge him on results which is up there at 69% at the moment but when he could not do that, he resorts to ‘We will not understand because we are not close to the team’…

I quote Fourie du Preez for you on the ‘pattern of play’

‘We are given freedom to play what is in front of us, but that freedom can only be expressed when we operate within a structure’

So this opinion from Rich and Co that there is no pattern or game plan with the Boks is absolute bullshit.

The Jake White playbook got us to a level where we were once again competitive against the Aussies and NZ, but we still lost more than we won but hey, we were at least competitive. To make the step up the White playbook had to be refined and aspects added to it, like actually playing with the ball (remember the Jake White quote during the World Cup?) too.

It was not our game plan that was the problem, and I said this all year last year, it was our execution and the mistakes made trying to execute the game plan.

And at times, when we executed correctly we scored some memorable victories.

I am pissed at people like Rich who tries and finds a story where there is none.

And when we question his sources or motivation we are told “sources close to the team”, or it is “an open secret” or we do not understand because we are not “close to the team”.

Please man, spin me another one.

• 36.Stawm: Reply to this comment

#26 PissAnt:

I dont care either way, but you do seem to be defending PDV at every opportunity.

Did you agree with his game plans, subs and team selections so far?
    Of course every coach before has also made mistakes, but each and every one of them were taken apart in the press and by Joe Public – I just wonder why PDV is exempt to this criticism that has plagued SA coaches since day 1.

WRT Gavin Rich
    Again I dont care either way, but surely you are not taking his word any more seriously than any other scribe-hack? I’ve heard you often mention how words are twisted between the boardroom and the actually press release.

• 37.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

I think when it comes to Keo and Gavin Rich, we must conclude that they have known and spoken to all involved first hand.

Something none on this blog have done.

that initself has “weight” to the argument.

Anyway, we might find that having a flyhalf selected who is on form could solve all these structureless issues. Never underestimate the direction a good flyhalf gives to the game. Morne must however become very assertive very quickly….and tell the Bekkers to get the fck out the way and into the rucks.

• 38.Stawm: Reply to this comment

#34 Optimus Prime:

Where are your facts to back up your accusations? How are your words any truer than Rich’s?
    You cant simply just spout out accusations like you have and expect everyone now to believe you, thats what skopkop does.

• 39.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#31 St.Petersburgbok:

Did you forget we won in Dunedin STP?

How f#%*#$ unheard of is that!!! Now wait let me tell you – IT WAS THE FIRST TIME IN HISTORY!

Did you forget we smacked the Aussies in JHB?

Did you forget we scored a clean sweep NH win?

Did you forget we won a Lions series?

But hey dont even bother to answer because I have heard it before:

The win in Dunedin came down to one unlucky bounce of the ball for the AB’s and it was Jake White’s game plan…

The win in JHB was a dead rubber…

We only just beat Scotland on the EOYT and also almost lost to Wales…

Thanks to John coaching the team we won the Lions series…

• 40.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#34 Optimus Prime:

ja, sure….i bet he get’s a bigger bonus if the bok coach is fired right?

• 41.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#19 Greenpoint-Gunner:
    Thx.
    Thought Rylands was MUCH earlier than that, you sure he only played 2005 onwards?

• 42.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#36 Stawm:

I will debate with anyone for days when it comes to rugby, but the **** dished up by the media in the last couple of months was anything but.

For some reason I come over as defending PDV, it was the same with Jake White also – whereas I have no problem critting when I see something that is lacking, I have done so with White and have done so more to PDV than I actually praised him.

No he is not getting everything right, in fact he is getting a lot wrong, but I do see our Boks adding dimensions to themselves as individuals and to the team which was not present before.

I have said many times PDV might well prove not to be the guy to push the guys over the brink of greatness they now stand on, but he seems to be pushing in the right direction at least.

#37 St.Petersburgbok:

A lot of guys speak to players and coaches STP, hell even I have many times. Sat in pressers and heard information first hand.

We can all form opinions over that as we wish, and Gavin has decided to do this, but that will not exempt him from criticism over his opinion if I or anyone else do not agree with it, same as I or you should be willing to accept criticisum for opinions.

• 43.ashley: Reply to this comment

#16 Pietman:
    sorry ouboeta
    gou-gou weg gewees van die rekenaar af
    kan ongelukkig nie help met daai vraag nie
    zaahir rylands (kakkerlakkie) se naam steek ongelukkig nou vas in my brein … kan ongelukkig nie xavier onthou nie … of sukkel om hom te recall agv daai 2 name wat so eenders klink!

• 44.JL1: Reply to this comment

#39 PissAnt: How unheard of to lose 19-0 at Newlands against the ABs, first time in 100 years…. or to lose against the Aussies at home – first time in 7 years

Keep some perspective

• 45.ashley: Reply to this comment

#37 St.Petersburgbok:
    “I think when it comes to Keo and Gavin Rich, we must conclude that they have known and spoken to all involved first hand.”

:lol: bwhahaha
    bru, what planet are you from?

• 46.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

What a load of kak!!!!, what game did this idiot watch??

“An excellent example of this was the aforementioned Newlands match. When Fourie du Preez was recalled ahead of Ricky Januarie at scrumhalf it was assumed that the Boks would use his gifted kicking boot to play the territory game. As one official said on the eve of that game, ‘When you pick a guy who can kick from his team’s own 22 to the opposition 22 and he is a scrumhalf, it would be idiotic not to use him to do that.’

FFS!!, in the openning 8 minutes FDP made 4 kicking errors and the other two were made by Butch, that is 6 kicking mistakes in 8 minutes!!! WTF

• 47.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#38 Stawm: Don’t you blog everyday? Rich told us that if we the public think for one second that Pdv is actually coaching this team, than we are stupid, because he, Mr Rich is intimatly close to the team and they are soooo unhappy and John, Victor and Fourie, are going to need help and a real coach because they are exhausted keeping this team together. Further said he had sources close to the team who confirm all this.

Next thing, John comes out saying it’s all ****, and any journo must come and give one quote from the team, but they cannot.

So who is closer to the team do you think. John Smit, or our Hero ******* here, Gavin “the prick” Rich.

What came accross is this sack of **** along with keo are working their dirty little agenda to smear Pdv, and will LIE, FLAT OUT LIE, to sell their bullshit. Pdv is NOT perfect, and had made errors, but then again, you lot do not even think he is the coach, so why must he get the flack.

Bottom line. You are clearly buying this **** from Keo and Rich, so their tricks must be working.

• 48.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#44 JL1:

Precisely, keep some perspective.

Some matches were lost, some were won. Does it mean that we are suddenly so much more **** than before or are we simply following the same old routine.

You forget, the majority of people wanted to fire a coach with a 73% winning record just after clinching the Lions series at Loftus…

Perspective indeed.

• 49.ashley: Reply to this comment

#44 JL1:
    yes, first time in a long time (at home at least) we didnt score a single point

question: on how many occasions (in our o-so-proud-history) have we managed to score only once
    and
    does that mean that on those occasions we were better than when we didnt manage to score?

• 50.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#43 ashley:

Dis reg – Kakkerlak, nie kokkerot! Ek was mos skoon deurmekaar.

Zahier Ryland, van die Bo-Kaap!

• 51.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#39 PissAnt:

fck dude.

Wins against Wales and Scotland are gimmes.
    And quite frankly, after having smashed England 5 times on the bounce…they should be as well.

The win in Dunedin was super but that does not make it ok to go and lose to NZ at home 19-0(the first time we where ever nilled?) and Austraia….the first time since 2000?

that is regression in anyones books.
    which initself is amazing because NZ have regressed the most.
    but somehow they still manage to win?

• 52.ashley: Reply to this comment

#46 XhosaKid:
    ex-ac-it-ly
    but hey
    wasnt that the helter skelter game keo and his clowns refered to last year?
    the one where “we didnt kick once when in our own 22″?

hmmm, see keo and gavin is indeed on the same page … or should i say up the same ***?

• 53.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#40 St.Petersburgbok: You must bhe taking schrooms dude. Go ahead say your **** about Pdv and critisize, but if you think that your back up for your argument is Rich and Keohane, I feel sorry for you. Both of them have proven to us how dishonest they are. How many times have we not read articles with quotes, only to later read the whole transcript and discover that the story has been bent to suit their agenda. These guys report what they want, and not the truth.

• 54.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#52 ashley: They are up the same *** and whomever’s *** that is, must be LARGE to fit so much **** in it.

• 55.JL1: Reply to this comment

#48 PissAnt: Well it does not make the coach bullet proof against critisizm. He knew that when he took the job

Surely he should be evaluted in terms of going better than the previous coach. I believe that so far he has fared about the same as the previous coach

Kitch and Mallet had done well, Mallet up to a point and then he also lost his marbles with selections

Bring back the selection panel of 7 and the let the coaches coach

• 56.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#51 St.Petersburgbok:

No, not the first time we were nilled.

The illustrious Jake White was nilled 49-0 in Brisbane in 2006…do you have selective memory?

• 57.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#52 ashley:

I still want to know what “structure” is.

Hehehe.

• 58.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#51 St.Petersburgbok:

Go tell Australia wins against Wales is gimme’s.

It is never okay to lose, whether by one point or by 50, whether by scoring 30 and still losing or scoring zero.

And if NZ regressed so badly why did they still win the Super rugby competition in 2008 – two teams in the play-off’s (SA and AUS only 1 each), (3 teams in the play-off’s in 2009)? The Bledisloe and Tri-Nations titles, and completed a clean sweep of the NH as-well?

• 59.ashley: Reply to this comment

#56 WP Till I Die:
    now he’s gonna counter with “at home”

• 60.ashley: Reply to this comment

#57 WP Till I Die:
    me too
    but i’ve made peace with the fact that even they (who wrote this kak by the way) dont know!

• 61.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#55 JL1:

Not at all, but like you said – perspective.

• 62.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#52 ashley: I love the way these guys have “open secrets” and make up “sources” when none exist.

Then they want to turn around and say what respectable sports journo’s they are. It makes one want to cry with laughter.

• 63.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#52 ashley: For Gavin Rich to lie about what is happening behind the scene is one thing but to lie about a game I was watching is another!!

“”Yet the Boks hardly kicked in that game. They ran from everywhere, were repeatedly caught in their own half, and although the player could hardly be blamed, as by then the Boks were forced into playing catch-up, the try that the New Zealanders scored when Jean de Villiers passed to one of them near the Bok line summed up the match.”"

If I were to lie like this in my line of work, I would be fired. The boks ( FDP and Butch) made 6 kicking mistakes in 8 minutes, FFS!!

#51 St.Petersburgbok: If wins against Scotland, Wales and England are gimmes, then surely wins against Samoa, Tonga, Fiji, USA, Argentina and England are also gimmes

• 64.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#56 WP Till I Die: #58 PissAnt: Thank you Gentleman for the FACTS. I’d like to add that Wales in 2008 where the 6 nations champs. It’s nice to see that when all the FACTS, are out there the 73% winning margin makes sense.

But like Rich and keo and Petersburg here, you can conveniently forget the FACTS, when you are trying smear a man.

• 65.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#63 XhosaKid:

Your logic is infallible, comrade!

• 66.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#64 Optimus Prime:

St. Petersburgbok is not a bad bloke – he knows his rugby pretty well – he’s just a 100%, true blue, Bulls man. As such he will never, ever forgive SA Rugby for appointing Peter de Villiers and not Heyneke Meyer.

• 67.ashley: Reply to this comment

#62 Optimus Prime:
    hehehehe
    jaaaaaaa, bru
    funny thing though is that so many readrs seem to be believing every word they write
    without
    thinking things through for themselves

forget for a moment about the fact that 2 “senior players” matfield and smit came out in defense of pdv
    why dont people ask question like “if pdv were that k@k, why would percy, who played under both jw and pdv, even want to assosiate him with this k@k coach and assistants” etc etc

so many things there that contradictory to what these clowns write

• 68.JL1: Reply to this comment

#64 Optimus Prime: So should we become like that and now attack Keo/Rich

We know that they are journos and we know that they have papers to sell or hits to accrue

PDV will do well to shut them up by getting the Boks to perform and win some games. A lot of those players need to stop riding on their reputations and start backing their coach by performing on the pitch

I do not think that a 69% win ratio for the RWC Champs or 2nd ranked team in the world is quite good enough, what do you think?

• 69.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#67 ashley:

Ash, it’s merely a microcosm of what we see in South African society.

South Africans have such a highly developed sense of paranoia and naiveté that they’ll believe any rumour being circulated with sufficient passion.

A baseless rumour stated as “open secret” around the braaivleis fire suddenly becomes entrenched as established fact and circulated as such.

Such is our society.

• 70.JL1: Reply to this comment

#67 ashley: Perspective again, many people work for crappy bosses but would also back them to ensure payday remains payday

• 71.ashley: Reply to this comment

#68 JL1:
    “PDV will do well to shut them up by getting the Boks to perform and win some games”

uhm, maybe i’m gerook, but isnt that what is indeed happening?

• 72.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#50 WP Till I Die:
    Wanneer het hy gespeel vir die WP, kan jy onthou?
    Ek worstel nou al met daai vraag sedert die donker oggendure!

• 73.ashley: Reply to this comment

#70 JL1:
    i can understand that … its not backing the **** boss … its fear of the unknown thats keeping them there … a heck of a lot of difference!!

• 74.Nils: Reply to this comment

#8 sparticus: “Get real yourself , the ABS may have the upper hand a few times but when it matters most they were outmuscled every time – SA 2005 , France 99 , Australia 2003 , France 2007 , SA 2011……………….”

huh? Ok, if you say A please say B.

“ABS may have the upper hand a few times” – that’s rich. If 9 to 5 wins in SA alone is “a few times” I can only wonder how “many” were 5 to 9 wins.

If SA 2005 “mattered the most”, so did 2006, 2007, 2008. Who were outmuscled then?

As for SA 2011 win, it’s a bit premature, don’t you think? If Boks will meet Frogs, I am not so sure they’ll win, as recent head-to-head record is woeful. As for meeting them NZ, well, once in a decade win there has already happened.

• 75.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#71 ashley:
    Nou op CNN hier, oom Blatter is moerig vir die stakers.
    Lyk my daar is groot marakkas met die konstruksie van die stadions wat nou al 9 dae agter skedule is.
    Ai toggie…..

• 76.JL1: Reply to this comment

#71 ashley: 19-0, First loss against Aussies in 7 years, record equalling loss against the BIL do not help in conveying a message of success

Strange bench replacements or not starting with certain form players also do not help

• 77.JL1: Reply to this comment

#75 Pietman: Sekerlik sal Afrika nie weer die sokker wereld beker sien nie.

• 78.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#68 JL1: I think it is, considering the games we have lost and the games we won to become RWC Champs, I’m just being practical and putting things into perspective

• 79.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#63 XhosaKid:
    but when did I say that Fiji,Tonga,etc where not gimmes?

If that comment is ment as some sort of riposte aimed at our world cup win, well then I am speechless.

Who ever said the Boks should not have won the WC having faced those sides? At a worldcup, you can only beat the sides put infront of you. Nz and Oz should be asking themselves how they managed to lose to sides that we expect to beat?

#61 PissAnt:

Please please don’t be pedantic. You and I both know that the current kiwi crop comes nowhere close to the Class of 2005 and 2006.

#64 Optimus Prime:

The fact is that this is the most experienced and talented Springbok side in our rugby’s history.

Compare it with the side that took the field first test vs Ireland in 2004.170 odd test caps…of which most belonged to Os and Percy.

And you seem content to celebrate a 69% win record because it compares with some other coaches records. Other coach’s that could not field over 700 test caps or get away with spouting some of the pish we hear? Other coaches that actually had to roll up their sleaves and get down to business when it came to coaching.And if you make reference to Smit and Matfield….I think I will puke.What would you expect them to say.” DeVilliers is a terrible coach we want a new one?”

That they actually have to come out in support of the coach tells it’s own story.It’s akin to the board giving the coach their support when things are going wrong.

• 80.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#72 Pietman:

Zahier Ryland se “breakout” was gedurende die 2005 Curriebeker. Hy’t toe ook in 2006 gespeel vir WP, ek dink in 2007 ook. Nie seker waar hy nou is nie.

• 81.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

I love how optimus prime thinks he knows anything about rugby.
    you so funny.
    OPTIMUS PRIME
    HAHAHA

• 82.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#79 St.Petersburgbok:

So how would have been appropriate World Cup winners?

A side that lost to England? A side so poor that we nailed them 36 love? 3 weeks earlier?
    A side that lost to France? A France so poor that they couldn’t beat Argentina once in two attemts in Paris?

• 83.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#68 JL1: Oh, but when he wins , like you want him to, ie the Lions tour, you and those ******** are not happy. When the team wins they say its senior players etc and Jake White smsing from the bushes.

Last I checked the winning ratio was 73%. Don’t get sucked in my your Pdv hate now. Give him all the percentage points due.

• 84.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#81 the_rugby_guru: I love the way you think you know me? Hahahahaha You so ******* funny. Go fetch your cerebos boytjie. Gavin has more **** articles on Supersport for eat.

• 85.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Die bulle gaan saterdag verloor, en wag dan vir die verskonings. Selfs die grootste pierre spies draadtrekker-van-n-supporter weet dit.

• 86.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

you know optimus . if you hate keo and rich so much
    what are you doing on the blog?
    hmmmmmmmm ?
    stop being a hypocrite.
    maybe WATCH some rugby.
    or even better still
    why dont you start your OWN blog!!!

im sure you will do a WAY better job than KEO

• 87.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#84 Optimus Prime: #81 the_rugby_guru: I love the way you think you know me? Hahahahaha You so farking funny. Go fetch your cerebos boytjie. Gavin has more **** articles on Supersport for eat.

• 88.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#79 St.Petersburgbok: the point here is, with the contempt you give to PDV’s victories, you are then compelled to follow your logic, which will inevitably lead you to showing the same contempt to our RWC win.It is childish and idioting not to agree with your logic

Its not PDV’s fault that we played against Scotland and Wales, just like the Australians lost to the same Welsh team, who were the 6 Nations champs.

• 89.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#86 the_rugby_guru: I can blog where I want and critisize the articles like any other blogger. If you are one eyed Pdv hater, that is your problem. If you wanna eat their **** without question and join them up Jake White’s winning ways arse. Be my farking guest.

• 90.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#85 the_rugby_guru:

Hi, Gavin, how’s it going?

• 91.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#86 the_rugby_guru: Are you Rich perhaps?

• 92.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#88 Optimus Prime:

I admire your passion, but not your methods. Tone it down a bit, you’re not winning anyone over to your cause with your abrasive approach.

• 93.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#89 WP Till I Die: LOL!!!!

• 94.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#90 WP Till I Die: Hahahahahaha. Now I know what pissed him off. It’s the fact that I’d love to meet him and cut his balls off and make him eats them. hahahahahaha. Loser, Liar Gavin Rich.

• 95.Slappes: Reply to this comment

WPTID – Ek dink Zahier speel vir SK of Hammies, hyt ook VC verlede jaar gespeel. Weet nie hoekom hy nie meer span haal nie.

• 96.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#79 St.Petersburgbok:

I am not pedantic.

Them not being as strong as we believed they were in 2005 and 2006 (strangely 2006 was Jake’s worst year out of the 4 so maybe that is why we believe this) did not make sense to me, so I went and checked.

Overall, the NZ Super rugby teams improved from a 57% winning record in 2004 to 59% in 2008.

SA on the other hand, improved 1% (38% ro 39%).

And if you were wondering, even our top teams are lagging behind NZ and Aus’ top teams in this period. That is if we cut the deadwood like the Lions, Cheetahs, Reds, Highlanders etc.

So the opinion of them not being in the same class is not only relative, it is just that, an opinion.

Results do not back this up.

• 97.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#92 WP Till I Die: Are we in teams here on keo WPTID? I thougght I logged on alone? Was there somewhere I was supposed to sign up?

• 98.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

listen here “OPTIMUS PRIME” go watch transformers
    and let the men talk about the rugby
    maybe if u lucky you can catch ur idol piet in the parking lot of the spar and provide us all with some entertainment from the cctv cameras.

i dont know you
    but i know when someone thinks they are an authority.
    clearly you are just a bitter little boy .

now go eat your weatbix and run along to school..

• 99.JL1: Reply to this comment

#78 XhosaKid: I see your point, but I think winning the RWC has also greatly enhanced the expectations from fans. We are sitting with a team with 700 caps-so either they perform above the 80% or the coach and players should be replaced or we should be told how this will be rectified going forward

• 100.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#93 Optimus Prime:

Good point.

I will in turn make Keo’s axis of evil, Sheriff Pietman GBS, cut their own balls off and eat them.

• 101.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#63 XhosaKid: #65 WP Till I Die: salute comrades, i see pdv has the establishment @ their wit’s end! It seems like “mission destroy the springbok” will have the desired effect!

Can you imagine if we play the world cup with only the proteas emblem? And pdv deliberately employs his infamous “helter skelter” gameplan, the boks will definitely implode & that will be the end of the bokke! First it was the nil in newlands, them first loss in 10 yrs to the aussies, them a record loss to the b&i lions, comrade pdv is truly racking up these unpleasant records. Now if he can engineer a first round exit from the world cup then he’ll be a genius & surely stand to recieve an order of mapungubwe from pres. Zuma!

Can u imagine how depressed some of these people that andy marinos said have an “emotional” attachment to the bokke will be?

Viva to the spirit of asijiki, viva! Viva to umzabalazo wokwenyelisa izitsiba-bokhwe viva!

• 102.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#98 the_rugby_guru: The whole Sapr thing? Tell me. how long did it take you and Keo to come up with that rubbish? Did you sit up late and night to make up that story?

And when you are sellectively cherry picking stats to support your lies, does it take time, or do you just pull them out Jake’s arse willy nilly since you reside there?

• 103.JL1: Reply to this comment

#83 Optimus Prime: Hey, I do not hate him

I just expect better from him or any other coach with the 700 caps and talent at their disposal

• 104.bloukie: Reply to this comment

Raait STP,

Ek issie die vinnigste ou hie oppie saaitie ma ek verstaan dam die argument dat die huidige Bokke die most experienced Bokspan mag wees.

Ma kan jy asb vi my hierie ‘most talented team in our history’ statement van jou verduidelik. Watter method gebruik jy ommie verskeie talente orie jare op te weeg en wie weeg jy op teen wie?

Ek **** graag..

• 105.Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club: Reply to this comment

#99 Dawn:

Pietman must be Dr Evil
    GBS his No.2
    And Sheriff, Mini Me in a cute, little Safari Suit

• 106.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#80 WP Till I Die:
    Ek sien hy het onlangs 7′s gespel in Zambia, twee driee gedruk.
    Dis hoekom sy naam by my opgekom het.

• 107.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#104 Saffa_Guy: President Of The PdV Supporters Club:

Line ‘em up against the wall, pump-action shotgun them into oblivion!

Jeez. I’m normally such an even-tempered person.

• 108.JL1: Reply to this comment

#99 Dawn: Very unlady like talk, are you a lady?

• 109.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#103 JL1: All I’m saying is JL. These journo’s spit their hate and rubbish freely daily, for everyone to read. We have caught them out now a few times with misquotes, when we get the full transcripts. And lies, when the Springbok captain is interviewed.

If they think, that they can use media to freely lie about people, then I can publicly flog them for it. If you can dich it up, “dan moet jy dit kan vreet”.

• 110.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#107 JL1:

Oh yes.

• 111.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#108 JL1: Yes she is!

• 112.Slappes: Reply to this comment

JL1 – Dawns a lady in waiting… :-)

• 113.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#95 PissAnt:

pedantic….

no carter,hayman,woodcock,jery collins,umangu,chris jack,aaron mauger

not even nearly the same calibre and well you know it.

#87 XhosaKid:

no, the point is that I love Springbok wins by DeVilliers or otherwise.

i just feel that given our current crop….there should be a hell of a lot more of them.

3 home losses in under 2 seasons…with still 2 against the kiwis and 1 against the ozzies to come is the damaging statistic. Not the win in Dunedin.

You have very selective memory in this regard. When Jake’s boks lost against France at Newlands in 2006 after leading by 12 points at one stage…it was almost curtains for him. That was followed by the 49-0 and the home lost at loftus to the Kiwis. In that game we where also in it until a minute before half time when we conceded 10 points quick. Jake was all but gone at that stage but the Boks had a good win at Rustenburg against a pretty full strengh kiwi side given that we had so many changes and injuries.

2007 he was given leeway after a home loss to the kiwis, also a game we looked to have wrapped up comfortably with 10 minutes to go.2007 was all about the World Cup, which he delivered.Who cares who we beat to get it?

• 114.JL1: Reply to this comment

#109 Dawn: It would seem that you do not act like one when you make comments like those

#108 Optimus Prime: Not many people backed old Jake against the journos who had it in for him. Remember the one at the Newscafe and the so called assault on a journo from Die Son?

• 115.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#107 Dawn: Oh pleeeze. I’ve kicked men in the nuts before. It’s perfectly ladylike.

• 116.dr dre: Reply to this comment

#66 WP Till I Die: Not a bad Bloke!!

He is probably the most one eyed Bulls prat on the site.

HIs posts are not objective and most annoying. I quickly skip over his posts.

• 117.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

to my dear friend optimus prime

what the hell have you got against jake white?
    for f#*ks sakes man. pieter deviliers is using the bulk of his team. that JAKE built up. and please dont tell me jake inherited this team …. he didnt . he moulded it.

you CANNOT , at least NOT YET , look at stats of pdiv . the truth is he is using jakeys players.
    look what happened when he chose his second stringers.
    annihilated.

another point.

the emerging boks, coached by muir (and considered lets say the “3rd” side after the team that played the lions in the final test)

held an almost identical lions team at bay that pdivs team (the stronger one) got thrashed to.

he might be a great guy.
    but his not a great coach.
    just average with an amazing team.

i think he should’ve been an assistant.

now go round up the autobots.
    we are all entitled to our opinions. wheter im right or wrong

• 118.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#103 bloukie:

possibly a better statement would be “the most talented group of 30 odd players south africa has produced at any one time”?
    Particularly in the proffessional era?

• 119.JL1: Reply to this comment

#112 St.Petersburgbok: He had a ver unlucky run in 2006 with injuries all around, that has helped the Boks to build some depth

• 120.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#114 JL1: I’m sorry JL. But do some of us who are NOT defending Pdv per se, but are simply calling out the journo’s as dishonest appear to be in the majority to you?

Read the blog. The Bulk of the posts are sold on the Pdv hate machine.

• 121.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#115 dr dre:

feel free to f-off now as well.

• 122.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#111 Slappes:
    Lol!
    Was quite funny that, Sheriff and dawn, had a good laufg there.
    Ou Dawn is nogal n bok vir sports soms, gelukkig n sin vir humor ook.

• 123.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#105 Pietman:

Nee kyk, hy was baie, baie rats en lekker vinnig. Maar op die ou einde ongelukkig net nie groot genoeg vir toetsrugby nie.

Ons het ‘n klomp sulke outjies in die Kaap, moerse vinnig maar nie genoeg vleis nie.

• 124.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#101 Optimus Prime:

Yes, it’s amazing how they get these stories, no lets call it fables, about piet and spar and the black lady being attack at rugby matches and so on. Keep to the facts i say.

#110 Optimus Prime:

You should know she is a lady, since you said she work the streets.

• 125.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#117 the_rugby_guru: Hey Gavin. I will read your post just after I fetch some salt and then reply.

But I’ll just give you some food for thought:

1. Would it have made sense for Pdv to ignor all the current boks and start a fresh with brand new players in 2008?

• 126.dr dre: Reply to this comment

Should Helium Snor produce a poor tri nations and the South African rugby public begin baying for his blood the sensitive transformation souls will begin their nauseating beating of the racism drum.

They will fail to see that since the beginnings of the Bok coaches have been hammered for poor performance.

I say we will come last in the Tri Nations under the Helium.

I will also be the first here to apologise and acknowledge should we win the damn thing.

• 127.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#122 WP Till I Die:
    Klink my hy speel vir n Japanse klub, Mosa of soiets.
    Sal weer die berig probeer opspoor.

• 128.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#116 the_rugby_guru:

Uhhh…I thought keo reported that the team was being coached by **** Muir and Gary Gold, that Peter de Villiers was off watching rugby?

• 129.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

2. Some of Pdv’s sellections in 2008 and 2009, ie Adi Jacobs, Heindrich Brusso have paid off

3. The Lions series is won and even today there is an article about Pdv’s concern for depth. He needed to blood those guys asap.

• 130.cab: Reply to this comment

LOL, the lead-in to this piece is ridiculous, when was the last time SA won a 3N and how did we do it?

• 131.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#124 Snoek: Hoe gives a fark what you have to say. Times have moved on, but i see you are ticked off cos i said nasty things about Jake White’s tow boyfriends, GAVIN RICH AND MARK KEOHANE.

Dude, do not be so prejudiced against same *** relationships. Talk rugby and see the wood for the trees. We have been lied to by these journo’s and they should know that we know that they are stinking liars.

• 132.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

anyways optimus. ill concede. i think you do have a point that the journos twist ****.

ill never forget how keo was bashing jake at the end of 2006 and rallying for mallet to take over.
    we all know what happened in 2007.

so i guess u right.

ps . im certainly not gavin rich.

im just of the opinion that pieter de villiers is not the best man for the job. at least not yet.

• 133.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#125 dr dre:

mmm, that was a good post.

I concur.

you do not have to f-off just yet.

maybe a little later the situation might change.

• 134.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#128 WP Till I Die: But don;t you know. Rich and Keo get lost sometimes in their lies. Can’t keep track.

• 135.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#123 Snoek:
    That ‘black lady of Ellis park’ quickly changed her story, when some journo’s cornered her at her daughter’s kindergarten.
    Remember the hoo-haa she caused, Bokke wearing ‘no to racism’ armbands and all that *****?
    She is probably toyi-toyi-ing at some soccer stadium with construction workers right now.

• 136.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#132 the_rugby_guru: Fair enough. You are allowed an opinion. Nothing wrong with that. But make it based on facts, not what these blokes have to say, cos they are not being straight with us.

• 137.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#129 cab:

CAB I have saluted your belief in the Boks as well as your steadfast dedication to coach and country but even you must allow space in your argument for current circumstances? When last did we enter a 3N as RWc champs, S14 champs and with a win over the B Lions under our belts? For that matter when has a coach had a team with over 700 odd caps to choose from? ….and has there ever been as much upheval in the ranks of our bitter rivals than this year…? Objectivity cuts both ways :)

• 138.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#130 Optimus Prime:

Have you told any teenage girls lately to go suck D@#k?

• 139.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#135 Pietman: You sound like Julius Malema and his comments about rape victims. Is that you Julius?

• 140.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#129 cab:
    Cant’ even remember the last time!
    Was in Jake’s first year as coach, 2005 not?

• 141.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#138 Snoek: Have you done iot yourself that you are so interested?

• 142.JL1: Reply to this comment

#128 Optimus Prime: Brussow was not his selection-he got selected on the eoyt and if it was not for 2 injuries Brussouw would never have featured

#119 Optimus Prime: No Bok coach needs defending, they must deliver and that is all I care about

• 143.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#112 St.Petersburgbok: I hear you about Jake and I have no problem with that.

What I want you to be held accountable for, is logic, you cannot say wins against Scotland, England and Wales are gimmes and then not say wins against Tonga, Samoa, Fiji, USA, Argentina and England are gimmes.

Just be consistant

• 144.dr dre: Reply to this comment

#132 St.Petersburgbok: hehe.

I was commenting on your years of anti WP hate speech.

Nothing else. Doesnt seem your objective in that sense. At all!

I share your Helium sentiments completely.

Lets see end of the Tri Nations…

• 145.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#137 Snoek:
    Eina!!!!
    I wonder how she is going to teach her children one day with such a ‘vuil bek’?

• 146.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

the funniest thing about this site is all the sanctimonious losers on it.

the “I are more mightier than thou” apartheid activists.

If you are sooo morally correct?

Why continue to visit the site?

It is an open secret that Keo and his gang are hated by You?

the Skops and Langiels,etal..

Why not stick to your principals?
    Stay away from the site?
    By visiting it you openly support it?

how frikken weird?

It’s loser mentality in my opinion.
    norman not mates sort of stuff.

• 147.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

Okay I’m off. Chat again later.

• 148.JL1: Reply to this comment

#132 St.Petersburgbok: bwhahahaha!

I almost smashed my keyboard from laughing

• 149.Grape White: Reply to this comment

hahaha Ah Gavin’s on the rich gravy train again lappin up the exposure and delivering the sound bites as he’s the man in demand for an opinion on PDV. Good luck Gavin, enjoy the gravy keep riding PDV’s ******* for fame lol, WGAF?

• 150.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

to xhosakid.
    whhat you fail to see , like all the other retards out there, is that the teams we faced BEAT those other teams.
    meaning.. that based on the FORM AT THE TIME those teams we faced WERE the top teams….

please u racist fool.
    go joing ur brethen in the strikes.

oh oh wait.
    they resolved them
    no wonder u online.

• 151.dr dre: Reply to this comment

#147 JL1: I must agree. hehe!

• 152.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#118 JL1: gavin rich writes a k@k article in sarugby mag & it is the put up on keo, bloggers find inconsistencies with the facts & question his logic & intentions…how is that translated to supporting pdv? If he was writing about rassie @ the stormers or whoever i’d still expect him to use facts, his facts in this story are incorrects, du preez kicked a lot @ newlands but was inaccurate!

The former boks he has cherry picked to reinforce his angle are inadequate to me because they were always going to side with what they know best which is tantamount to begging the question to me!

Now if you believe rich’s story good for you, but please allow others to express themselves on the blog without you classifying them as “pdv sympathisers”

• 153.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#144 Pietman:

Pietman wat ek wil weet is of sy ook die bruin oukies verwens as sy wil hê die ander spanne moet ons spelers seer maak. Of moet hulle net die boertjies seermaak.

• 154.moskat: Reply to this comment

Please help…..

I play http://www.testrugby.com and would like to join the KEO
    division. How do I do this??

• 155.JL1: Reply to this comment

#151 Transformation: So sue Gavin Rich

• 156.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#146 St.Petersburgbok: I’ll give you an example:

It is common knowledge that SA in the apartheid made laws to oppress people of colour. Those people knew that their government did not care for them. By your sollution. All people of colour at that time should have left the coutry over any boarder they could find and leave, as SA at the time, was not for them. Like you say, Keo and co’s views are prejudicial and we do not agree with them, so you say, we must all fark off and leave you lot to perpetuate your askewed views.

But like in the bad ol days of SA we didn’t walk away, we tried to make it right, again we will not allow a little exclusive hatred group to form anywhere in SA society. We are all one. Too many people died for you to think for a second that all Saffa’s are not allowed a view, on any forum.

So sorry, nobody is going anywhere. We in all our ages, sexes and races are going to keep blogging and giving you our views, no matter how much you wish us gone.

• 157.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#112 St.Petersburgbok:

opinion vs. results and facts, you decide who is pedantic.

• 158.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#153 Snoek: Almal. Die hele lot. Dis net jy wat die bruin mense verwens. Jy is siek man.

• 159.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#155 Optimus Prime:

Oh dear….you are not SERIOUSLY comparing the sheer courage, commitment and incredible dedication of the struggle to PDV’s effort to counter journalists? You are disrespecting whole generations of proud people who died for a cause that we all believe in by lowering their achievements sufficiently to contrast them to a man whose very job description includes taking critisim for performance. You have written a massive amount of pure drivel on these board but this takes the cake. That is shameful, seriously. PDV signed up for the job and is well compentated for his time, nobody who fought the Nats ever applied to have their famalies killed and forcefully removed. Grow up ffs and get over yourself!!!

• 160.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#157 Optimus Prime:

Nee ek laaik die bruin mense, my bruin pel sit hier langs my en lag vir al die kuk wat jy kwytraak. As jy wil praat oor siek mense, lees die stront wat jy kwytraak op hierdie site.

Seker apartheid se skuld dat jy nie klas het nie.

• 161.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#144 Pietman:the same way you manage to teach yours with amongst all your lies! Farking liar!

• 162.Snoek: Reply to this comment

Cheers vir eers.

• 163.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#149 the_rugby_guru: In the immortal words of might Mosdef

“Now, who is cat dining out on the town
    Maitre’d wanna take a whole year to sit him down
    Mr Nega, Nega, Nega
    He got the speakers in the trunk with the bass on crunk
    Now, who is the cat at Armani buyin wears
    With the tourists who be askin him, do you work here?
    Mr Nega, Nega, Nega
    Nega Nega

Yo, the Abstract with the Mighty Mos Def
    White folks got it muffled across beneath they breathe
    “I didn’t say it..”
    But they’ll say it out loud again
    When they get with they close associates and friends
    You know, sneak it in with they friends at the job
    Happy hour at the bar while this song is in they car
    And even if they’ve never said it, lips stay sealed
    They actions reveal how their hearts really feel
    Like, late night I’m on a first class flight
    The only brother in sight the flight attendent catch fright
    I sit down in my seat, 2C
    She approach officially talkin about, “Excuse me”
    Her lips curl up into a tight space
    Cause she don’t believe that I’m in the right place

Its a pity the world has to have you

• 164.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#159 Thameside Bok fan: Are you daft? Who said we are the Pdv cheerleaders. The question came from people saying that we are attacking Keo and Rich and if we hate their views we are to log off and allow the rest of you who agree with their slanted journolism and lies to freely spew your retarded ****.

I said as a Saffa we have a history of trying to silence people that we do not agree with and that got us nowhere. Too many people died for us to have a voice on any forum and anywhere in our country. So you *******, Do not get to slant my post with your Pdv hatred. It had nothing to do with him, but a right we all have to freedom of speech.

• 165.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#152 Snoek:
    Sal nie weet nie broer, haar koppie raas, dis al wat ek weet.
    Sy is nie te onnosel met sport nie, maar haar rassisme is te blatant vir enigeen hier om haar opmerkings ernstig op te neem.
    Jy kan mos sien hoe die ander bloggers teenoor haar, Langkop en daai drie ander militantes reageer, hulle word bloot geignoreer.
    En dis waarskynlik die beste…..

#132 St.Petersburgbok: #150 dr dre:
    You two ‘seniors’ on keo still at it, I see, after 6 years!

• 166.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#160 Snoek: Nee. Niks met apartheid uit te waaie nie. Jy haat mos maar net bruin mense vir die lekker.

• 167.carol: Reply to this comment

Where is Dawn I feel a brawl coming on….. :roll:

• 168.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#165 Pietman: Pietman se my as jou dogter aangerand word, se jy vir haar ook sy maak stories op? Ek se mos jy en Julius Malema sien die wereld dieselfde. Ek voel vir jou jammer jong.

• 169.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#159 Snoek:
    Selle hier met my bruin en swart kollegas, ek wys hulle soms Transportation en Hater se posts.
    Hulle skud net kop.
    Hulle is ook al lank in die buiteland saam met my, en hulle kan nie glo daar dwaal nog sulke siele in SA rond 15 jaar na die afskaffing van apartheid nie.
    Eish!

• 170.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#168 Optimus Prime: on second thought. I’m sure you do. You make up the most fantastic stories of all. Also known as lies. I do not expect an honest answer from you, so do not bother. I’d just be enabling you to feed your farked up habit.

• 171.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#163 Optimus Prime:

What you said was wrong. Fine defend the right to free speech but don’t bring the struggle against Apartheid into your argument. That disrespects the memory of all those who died for you to be able to have that right. Pdv is well paid and holds a respectable, high pressure job. To compare his plight now with those that fought at Sharpeville is disgraceful.

• 172.Grape White: Reply to this comment

:-D

• 173.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#161 Snoek: Sien jou later, lekker dag daar in KZN(terloops, ek sien Lilith dink jy is wit, hehehehehe!).

• 174.Puma: Reply to this comment

#166 carol: Hi Carol, Just logged on quick to say Happy Birthday. Hope you having a great day. Enjoy.

England done well with the draw on Sunday. Those last two batsmen were superb.

Cheers Carol enjoy your birthday.

• 175.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m emigrating to Afghanistan.

• 176.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

#169 Optimus Prime:

optimus
    primus stove
    suits you
    well
    like a
    primus stove
    a lot of
    noise
    and
    a lot of
    hot air

• 177.carol: Reply to this comment

#173 Puma: Hi Puma, that is very kind of you thanks…. :-) Busy day lunch out etc!!

We have got some good cricket ahead of us. Hope we can keep Ponting in his place!!

We missed you last night, it was a laugh!! Thanks again Puma, till later.

• 178.carol: Reply to this comment

#174 Dawn: More action for you there!!

• 179.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#171 Thameside Bok fan: You farking stupid. No point talking to you. You’ve decided to twist my analogy, like Gavin Rich twists the truth. No wonder you are his number 1 fan.

• 180.carol: Reply to this comment

#175 Porra the Fat Speedster: :-) !!

• 181.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Some these characters this Petersburg fool and his sidekicks, Dr. Dre and this Thameside idiot talk biggest load of hogwash ****, alongside Gavin Rich & co.

I’d like them to pick and choose the team they or White would have chosen for this current tri nations, Pdv made the mistake last year of going along with overwhelming sentiment and including JW’s 2007 palookas James and FdP on the strength of input from his captain and assistants, as well as the WC loose trio, that was the gist of our poor form last year, the inability to adapt, Jake White can thank his lucky stars he has not got his overrated head on the chopping block with the very same players that he would have chosen representing the bok cause.

So far PdV has selected exactly or close enough to the current best form players in terms of reputation and ability that he has on offer, JW would have done exactly the same.

This load of **** that is spewed out here ad infinitum that this is the strongest Springbok team on record, C’mon, show me, each and every one of you asswhip palookas lay your asswhip heads on the line and pick the team you or JW would have picked for this series, and lets see how it differs from the team PdV chose here.

The myth and fallacy that this Bok team is the greatest on record is exactly that, a feeble idiotic myth born out of the mythological mystoque that a one sided WC triumph over rather weak opposition leads some people to believe, like 80-90% of ideologically driven asswhip palookas who frequent this holy White shrine of a rugby site.

• 182.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#162 XhosaKid:

“showed her my boarding pass, and then she sort of gasped/ all embarrased put am extra lime on my water glass”

“you can laugh & criticise michael jackson if you wanna/ woody allen, molested & married his step-daughter/ same press kicking dirt on michael’sName show woody & soon-yi @ the playoff game, holding hands”

Ya gotta love the mighty mos! I went to see him @ the jazz in cape town earlier this year! Whoa! Enjoyed it thoroughly!

• 183.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#177 carol:
    Your biffday card is in the mail!

• 184.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#176 Porra the Fat Speedster: Porra. No one, and I mean this kindly. No one cares about your little racist poems. There is a facility I know of here called Hunterscraig Hospital. It’s a great hospital for people like you. Consider it. I beg you.

• 185.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#155 Optimus Prime:

that is not a very good comparison.

At the heart of this blog is Keo’s ideal of “freedom of speech, opinion and debate”.

You lot(in a very general term) label him as a racist daily, anti south african, the works…

But therin lies the irony, if he really WAS what You lot say he is…..he’d close down the site.Make it pay for view and veto any comments he does not like and bloggers he does not want.

So again I ask……who is the more comitted to South Africa?
    Who is the more rightous?
    Who puts their money where their mouth is every day?

Finally that takes me back to the original point. if you don’t like the oke, just leave. It’s not if he is a political leader who is excluding non whites,is it?

Look at it in layman terms.
    I still prefer pick n pay and not spar.
    i will not continue to visit the spar and complain every time until it becomes more like pick n pay?

….that’s my version of a “snorism” by the way.

• 186.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#182 Transformation: By the way. Heard press reports that the family are suspecting that Micheal was murdered.

• 187.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

#183 Optimus Prime:

maybe
    but
    you stay
    a noisy
    pumped up
    old
    primus stove
    bellowing
    hot air

• 188.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#185 St.Petersburgbok: What if Spar is your closest supermarket. What if SA is my country? What if inclusiveness of all SA communities and their views hold more appeal to me, then telling everyone of one mind to get lost and not speak, as it appears to hold appeal to you?

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

#176 carol: Enjoy your lunch Carol. Sounds great.

Supporting England all the way. So hope they can win the test that starts tomorrow. Looking forward to it.

Cheers out of here now.

• 190.carol: Reply to this comment

#180 skopskiet: The Nazi Sharks stuff was classic last night, congratulations!! :-)

• 191.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#187 Porra the Fat Speedster: the doctor’s name there is Sonja Potgieter. Lovely lady and she can help.

• 192.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#180 skopskiet:

Ha. You tell ‘em broer.

• 193.carol: Reply to this comment

#182 Pietman: :lol: Hehehe cheers Piet…

• 194.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#184 St.Petersburgbok:

Who dares label Keo a racist.

Show me the fiend.

• 195.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#180 skopskiet:

well, possibly you can explain why in the past 3 years our S14 performances have been the strongest ever.

registering more over seas wins…and wins in general than ever before?

why is it that the Bulls and Sharks roast the kiwis and Ozzies regularly at S14 level but put them in different jumpers and they look rubbish?

The national coaching setup has to take the responsibility for that.

Fck man….Ludeke led the Bulls to the biggest *** whipping of all time over kiwi opposition(Chiefs,Crusaders).

These selfsame players will be putting on black jumpers in a couple weeks.

Should we not be expectant of home wins at least?

You sound like you are making desperate excuses already

• 196.Shakes: Reply to this comment

Gavin Rich and his long, boring, structured tripe. Clearly we will not win the WC in 2011 with the so called structured kicking away of the ball. JWs away record in NZ is proof of that. I have said it here on many occasions that we need an alternative to FDP kicking the little ball we get away. PDV is correct in trying to move away from the robotic, no thinking ****. We lost last year in CT because FDP and BJ kicked badly and players like Spies had a nightmare in executing basic skills.

Gavin Rich’s continued unjustified criticism of AJ is ridiculous. He also called for WO to be in when after so many opportunities he cannot cut it at test level, unlike AJ who actually thrive at this level. It was WO and not AJ that was run over by the BIL and clear for all to see.

• 197.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#184 St.Petersburgbok:

Listen.

Simon lifts articles from Die SON.

How are we supposed to take that seriously.

• 198.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

#190 Optimus Prime:

weird
    she keeps
    primus stoves
    as patients

• 199.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#162 XhosaKid: the most apt of those immortal words xhosa are:

“they say they want you successful, but then they make it stressful/ you start to keep up, they start changing up the tempo”

Since last year all we’ve been hearing is “let’s after the EOYT, oh oh let’s talk after the Lions’ series”, now it’s “let’s see after the Tri-nations, if he loses, then he must go”

It seems like PdV is in tune with his star player! He knows motherfcukers are always out there to hate on a dude!

• 200.mozez22: Reply to this comment

#41 Pietman: I know Zaheer’s brother, Riyaad. He came close to playing for Province. Can ask him if their dad or someone played for WeePee…

• 201.Shakes: Reply to this comment

#194 St.Petersburgbok:
    Super rugby is not test rugby but I don’t expect you to understand it.

• 202.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#181 Transformation: pity, the idiot “the rugby guru” wont even get to understand that *****

• 203.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

#200 Shakes:

that
    is the level
    you pick
    your players
    from

• 204.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

#200 Shakes: Applies to all the 3n’s countries. They all select their team from the same basis i.e. S14 teams so stupid argument

• 205.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#195 Shakes: Eish, Shakes, you dont say those things here, its against the grain

• 206.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#199 mozez22:
    Thx, but the father must be quite young then, so I doubt it.
    But please do ask.
    And where is Zaheer playing now, do you know?

• 207.Shakes: Reply to this comment

#202 Porra the Fat Speedster: #203 bananaboy:
    That is where it ends, test rugby is just different and a few notches up.

• 208.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#198 Transformation:

“”“they say they want you successful, but then they make it stressful/ you start to keep up, they start changing up the tempo””"

Classical in this instance…

• 209.mozez22: Reply to this comment

After you move past all the bullshit of this article, Gavin Rich has a point. But it is something we have know and blogged about since last year. There were games when we attempted to move away from the ‘bash-it-up’ stuff, and we were found wanting (against Australia right after the Dunedin win).

The massive wins against the Aussies and Poms are classic examples of what we can achieve when we stick to the gameplan and excecute it well. We don’t just need players who are suited to the gameplan, but they must also be in some sort of good form.

It’s still early doors to be making predictions, but the Aussies did look good, albeit it was against Italy and a tired French side.

It doesn’t matter that the AB class of ’05 or ’06 were better than the current bunch, those fellas will still be very very hard to beat. We aren’t this great, untouchable team that we think we are, not even under JW. We’ve always been beatable in the 3N. A lot of peeps think we need to pitch up under the guidance of Hyneke Meyer and problem solved. PdV isn’t that great, but JW wasn’t Sir. Alex Ferguson, either…

• 210.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

#200 Shakes:

clearly….

because I would back Ludekes S14 Bulls to *** whip twakkies Boks every day of the week.

In fact…I’d back anyone of the top 6 to take twakkies Boks.

Adi Jacobs?

Sweet Jezzes, yes please. The chiefs,crusaders and bulls eyes just light up.

• 211.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#194 St.Petersburgbok: so last year when the crusaders where pumping the bulls with 50 points to 12 & the Blues were thrashing SA sides by 55 points, you weren’t suprised that the All Blacks won the Tri-Nations?

In ’07 heyneke & **** led the bulls & the sharks to the finals of the s14 but jake white couldn’t win the tri-nations that year with those “championship” winning players, what the hell was wrong with him then? He should’ve cruised to an easy victory by your muddled logic!

Can you say feeble reasoning….jeepuz

• 212.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#209 St.Petersburgbok: come to think about it, who would want to be your equal?

• 213.Shakes: Reply to this comment

#209 St.Petersburgbok:
    idiotic bulls ****, emotion and nothing else, how about astructured motivation of what you want to say. I am not holding my breath too much bloutrein my friend.

I am out chat later

• 214.mozez22: Reply to this comment

#205 Pietman: There’s quite a history of rugby in their family, though. So I’ll check… No idea where Zaheer landed up. I’ve heard squat about him. I’ll ask his bro…

• 215.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#194 St.Petersburgbok:

SA Teams since the inception of the competition:

Sharks – 48%
    Stormers – 45%
    Bulls – 40%
    Cheetahs – 30%
    Lions – 28%

SA Teams since 2004

Bulls – 55%
    Sharks – 52%
    Stormers – 45%
    Cheetahs – 25%
    Lions – 18%

Great improvement by the teams that contribute the bulk of the Bok team.

But if we are in a golden era, what do we call our opposition, what era are they in?

NZ since inception

Crusaders – 66%
    Blues – 62%
    Hurricanes – 52%
    Highlanders – 49%
    Chiefs – 46%

NZ since 2004

Crusaders – 75%
    Hurricanes – 59%
    Blues – 57%
    Chiefs – 54%
    Highlanders – 39%

Overall 2% improvement. Their top 3 teams are way better than ours, their 4th team is just 1% behind our best team.

Aus since inception

Brumbies – 60%
    Waratahs – 52%
    Reds – 46%
    Force – 35%

Aus since 2004

Brumbies – 59%
    Waratahs – 57%
    Force – 35%
    Reds – 27%

So Aus slipped a bit and our improved test record against them since 2004 shows this. Their top two teams still better than our best.

But as you said, it is pedantic.

I just wonder…

If we are in a golden era which we are compared to before 2004, is our golden era all that special if we consider the era NZ is in?

• 216.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

#208:MOZEZ22
    Good call.
    When we play to our strengths we do well. The ABs are always tough even in non-vintage years, but the wannabees are looking a settled, well rounded unit. It’s how you use the talent at your disposal that reveals how good a coach is and Robbie Deans is an excellent example of this. Snor has had up and down run, but he is far enough into his tenure so show that he has learnt from his mistakes and knows how to get the best results from the squad at his disposal. This is the season where we will find out if he has the answers or not.

• 217.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Bulls S14 champions 2007 and 2009.

that;s the only statistic.

Shakes.

So long as S14 is not Test rugby.

please please tell Twakkie that it is not school boy rugby either and we desperately need a plan with a coach.He should feel free to jump in any time.

• 218.ashley: Reply to this comment

#85 the_rugby_guru:
    omg … how old are you, son?

• 219.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

#210: Transformation
    In 2007 Jake rested all his world cup stars for the away trinations games in sacrifice for the world cup.

• 220.Grape White: Reply to this comment

Zaheer is a bit useless at any level above club, which is why he’s languishing at SK and I think he plays touch rugby as well – he should’ve actually tried sevens rather

• 221.charo: Reply to this comment

#207 XhosaKid:
    black tax?

• 222.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#216 St.Petersburgbok:

How about these stats?

Crusaders champions 2005, 2006 and 2008.

Bulls 10th 2008

• 223.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#219 Grape White:
    Oh, so he still in the Cape then?
    Maybe I have the wrong guy after all.
    I am looking for a ‘cullert’ center who played for WP round about the Tinus Linee era.
    Sounds like Rylands was more recent.

• 224.ashley: Reply to this comment

#222 Pietman:
    the only other centre was chester (as far as i can remember) who was later shifted to wing

• 225.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

#222:Pietman
    Are you by any chance thinking of Wilfredo Cupido?

• 226.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#222 Pietman: MacNeil Hendricks? Played primarily wing, but think also centre a game or two.

• 227.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#218 stormer in a teacup: why? did he bliksem the opposition in the home games where he didn’t rest them? Did he put up record scores?

A lot of bloggers were moaning here in the past weeks that everytime a test is played the best bok team must get on the field & that pdv’s selections for the 3rd test against the lions “cheapened” the bok jersey! But oh jake can rest whoever he wants & “cheapen” the bok jersey but pdv can’t…

In ’07 we should’ve won the Tri-Nations hands down with the players we had that had just won the super14, they had the winning mentality, they were playing under “mr structure” himself, we should’ve won it!

• 228.ashley: Reply to this comment

#222 Pietman:
    do you this rugby_guru thats blogging here?

• 229.ashley: Reply to this comment

#224 stormer in a teacup:
    wilfred was before linee
    and
    #225 Isigidi:
    mcneil played primarily for boland

• 230.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#219 Grape White: Saw him play the Spar witwarm touchie’s tournament. Jeez his nippy, but very very small.

• 231.ashley: Reply to this comment

#229 Isigidi:
    yep, his f*kken vinnig
    saw him beat guys in a game between wp/boland with his speed from a standing start

• 232.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#228 ashley: True, slipped my mind. From Malmesbury I think?

• 233.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

wise words lie written above!

• 234.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Boks must play BRUIN game.

• 235.ashley: Reply to this comment

#231 Isigidi:
    yebo. saw him at club level (long before he became a bok). jeez, that guy could tackle!

• 236.dr dre: Reply to this comment

#180 skopskiet: LOL.

Exactly my point!My team would be just about the same as the one picked now, its simple. PDV inherited Jakes team.

• 237.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#224 stormer in a teacup:
    Daasy, dankie man!
    Demmit, ek wonder al heel dag, sien die man se gesig voor my en kan nie die naam byval nie!
    Nou kan my brein rus n slag, thx.
    Wilfred Cupido.

• 238.adi: Reply to this comment

Wit mense dra veel groter skuld
    14/07/2009 08:02:17 PM – (SA)

SAMPIE TERREBLANCHE van Stellenbosch skryf: Leopold Scholtz (DB, 10.07) sê apartheid het die nie-wittes in die kern van hul menswees beledig. Ek stem saam.

Scholtz behoort egter te weet apartheid het veel erger dinge aan veral swart mense gedoen.

Oor ’n tydperk van honderd jaar het wit maghebbers ’n stelsel in stand gehou wat byna alle swart mense van eiendomsreg, billike arbeidsgeleenthede en geleenthede tot ekonomiese en mensontwikkeling ontneem het.

Apartheid het aan wittes die geleentheid gebied om oor sê vier geslagte eiendom te akkumuleer.

’n Groot deel hiervan is onverdiend geakkumuleer, want dit het ten koste van die swart mense gebeur.

In 1994 is aan ons wittes die voorreg verleen om bykans al ons eiendom – óók dié deel wat onverdiend bekom is – ongeskonde na die nuwe bestel “oor te dra”.

Die afgelope 15 jaar het die nuwe stelsel besonder vriendelik teenoor die wit én nie-wit eienaarsklasse geopereer.

Die sistemiese skuld wat ons onsself gedurende die apartheidseeu van onreg op die hals gehaal het, is inderdaad baie groot.

Dat álle wittes nie bereid is om te erken hulle is onverdiend deur apartheid verryk en die meeste swart mense is onverdiend daardeur verarm nie, is ’n belemmering vir versoening.

Indien ons dié skuld volledig in ag neem, en die misdade van wit veiligheidsmagte gedurende die struggle byreken, is dit onvanpas om die misdade in ANC-kampe so te oorbeklemtoon soos Scholtz doen.

(Indien na ANC-skuld gesoek word, is dit die wanadminis­trasie van die afgelope 15 jaar).

Dit ly geen twyfel nie dat wit mense én swartes baie skuld het. Ons wittes moet egter grootmoedig genoeg wees om te erken ons skuld is baie groter.

Terselfdertyd moet ons onthou om nie te vergeet nie dat ons in die bevoorregte posisie is om met bykans al ons eiendom – óók die onverdiende deel – te kan bly voortwoeker.

• 239.ashley: Reply to this comment

#232 goyougoodthing2:
    ag, i cant help it
    everytime i open my mouth
    wise things just flow from within!

• 240.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#235 dr dre: O gosh, Keo is counting his money already with all the hits his gonna get between you and Transformation.
    Here we go again!
    Btw, i agree with you.

• 241.ashley: Reply to this comment

anyway guys
    brynmense moet ok eet
    see you after lunch!!

• 242.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#237 adi: Nie eers klaar gelees. Herdie soort posting hoort nie op hierdie site boet.
    Wrong forum!

• 243.dr dre: Reply to this comment

#197 Porra the Fat Speedster: LOL. Hell man, now thats funny.

• 244.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#238 ashley: hahaha.

How’s this for an idea?

Whoever wins SuperBru gets to Coach the Bok team next year? That’s an equal opportunity playing field!

• 245.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#225 Isigidi:
    Maccie never played WP did he?
    Only Boland and N.Tvl Bulls, as far as I know.
    #227 ashley:
    Huh?
    #223 ashley:
    Chester started as center yes.
    First time I saw him he was an 18 year old, playing against Danie Gerber, Saldanha Academy vs Despatch at Veldrift (1990, I think it was, at their annual rugby day).

• 246.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#237 adi:
    So, jou punt is wat, in n rugbykonteks?

• 247.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#244 Pietman: Ouderdom Piet!Jy’s reg.

• 248.paul hobson: Reply to this comment

You just have to admire my fellw compatriots – South Africans. They just do not appreciate what they have until it is late in life relatively speaking.

Madiba was once called a terrorist by most of the people or their parents here who would like to get rid of PDV as a national coach. BUT NOW HE IS A LIVING LEGEND, ANGEL TO MOST OF THEM. Mark my words, should PDV ever win the tri nation we will be regarded as next thing after the saviour including Keo and his typists. Are they driven by racism in their campaign? I hope not. But there certainly is a campaign of some sort to get rid of him.

• 249.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#244 Pietman:

Who the hell was that flyhalf that missed Carel DuP’s try in the final at Newlands to have the Currie Cup drawn in the late 80′s?

• 250.dr dre: Reply to this comment

#155 Optimus Prime: Ah, the poor old Primus Stove.

Burning wood chips and not clean fuel.

The wood chips on shoulder that can be seen from outer space.

Wood chips that burn messily, emitting years of pent up smoke, lacking direction as it flows, not finding the window.

The window that was opened many years ago for the smoke to be free.

Instead the little Primus huffs and puffs and succeeeds only in showing itself up as an inadequate outdated little stove.

The newer models, in store, have given up the chips for fuel and instead now run on a clean “free” fuel and they are the popular models, with many subjecting themselves to long arduous queues in seek of the stove.

A pity indeed.

• 251.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#237 adi:

Interesting indeed, especially coming from the Prof Sampie.

“Solomon Johannes (Sampie) Terreblanche (born 17 April 1933, Kroonstad) is an afrikaaner academic and writer, author of numerous economics books and more famous for his History of Inequality in South Africa, 1652 – 2002.

He is Professor emeritus of Economics at Stellenbosch University, where he has built a reputation as a lecturer in Economic thought and Economic history.”

At the age of 76 remarkable that he has the ability to think outside the system. He looks at a situation and tells it like it is.

• 252.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

The Bokke’s chances of winning the tri nations went out the window with the exclusion of

1. Earl
    2. Demas
    3. Stefan Terblanche

• 253.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#248 PissAnt:
    Riaan Gouws.
    het daarna bietjie vir griffons gespeel, saam met daai Stuart Abbott-sentertjie van WP wat ook Engeland toetsrugby gespeel het.
    #247 paul hobson:
    Listen, I read keo every day, don’t know about you.
    Where did you see any reference of a ‘campaign’, or could you name any blogger/journalist here who said Pdev should go?
    If not, keep your silly opinions to yourself, you are already beginning to sound like Primus Stove, and it is only your first outing here.

• 254.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#248 PissAnt: Goggie van Heerden?

• 255.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#252 Pietman: OK Piet, sal van nou af my bek hou. Duidelik dat ek nokkol van rugby weet. hehehehehe

• 256.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#252 Pietman:

Gouws, thats the guy.

I was still a laaitie back then but that moment (the try with Fafa’s quick hands) and subsequent missed conversion is as clear as daylight to me…

• 257.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#253 Isigidi:
    Goggie was toe al weg Tvl toe.
    Faffa en Michael was die senters in daai finaal.
    carel het die gelykmaker gedruk, Riaan (Maties) se skop was reguit pale toe op pad, toe gryp die dwarswind voor die N-pawiljoen dit op die laaste oomblik, regs veby!

• 258.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

#248 Pissant:
    Riaan Gouws?

• 259.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#251 rugbygenius: Agree fullheartedly. Can also add Lobberts name to the list.
    O ja, and AJ Venter.

• 260.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#253 Isigidi:
    Goggie en WillieDoep was saam.
    Goggie het daarna OVS (OB-weermag) en toe Tvl gespeel, moerse goeie senter gewees.

• 261.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#258 Isigidi: Oh yes ! I totally forgot about them !

• 262.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#257 stormer in a teacup:
    Jy ken jou rugby my broer!
    War is jy, innie Kaap?
    (Terloops, klik op die pyltjie wat links wys langs die blogger se naam wie jy antwoord, makliker om te volg dan.)

• 263.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#259 Pietman: Ek voel nou moer sleg dat ‘n Bull supporter WP rugby beter ken as ek. hehehehe

• 264.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#239 Isigidi: ha ha, what a funny guy…

• 265.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#262 Isigidi:

If it is anything to do with past player pre-1994 I go to encyclopedia Piet.

• 266.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#262 Isigidi:
    Ja, ek nog is n ‘eppie’ in Bloubulland!
    die erste keer toe ek in Pta kom toe soek ek die ‘berg’ waarvan almal praat, seker twee keer oor Silkaatsnek gery (Magalieberg) voor ek begryp het DIS nou HY hierdie…

• 267.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

#264 PissAnt: Piet is also known as Pietipedia.

• 268.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#265 Pietman:

Ek onthou toe ek die eerste keer daar kom en my broer verduidelik my hy bly net anderkant die berg (Kolonade Mall) het ek halfpad Warmbad toe opge-eindig opsoek na ‘n ****** berg.

• 269.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#264 PissAnt:
    Problem is that WP web site is so useless that one HAS to rely on memory’ other bloggers if you need any info on some of the old players.
    i am still trying to remember that Matie fullback who played WP before Calla, Brink or something….

• 270.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#265 Pietman:

Ek onthou toe ek die eerste keer daar kom en my broer verduidelik my hy bly net anderkant die berg (Kolonade Mall) het ek halfpad Warmbad toe opge-eindig opsoek na ‘n donerse berg.

• 271.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Pietman – was kobus burger nie Faffa se sentermaat nie? ek onthou so iets – en hyt vleuel ook gespeel…

• 272.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#269 Slappes:
    Daai dag was dit Michael Doep
    Ferreira/Gouws/Faffa/Michael/Carel/Kobus/Calla?….as ek reg onthou.

Ok manne, ek moet gaan, mense hier vir die volgende uur, dan praat ons weer.
    Tjorts.

• 273.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

#255 PissAnt: Michael du Plessis gave the final pass to Carel Dup. It looked as if Faffa Knoetze was going to catch the ball, but he didn’t touch it, he pulled out at the last minute otherwise he would have been tackled – the ball went straight to Carel and he finished it off. Riaan Gous incidentally, is the general manager at Arabella golf club / hotel and has really done well for himself. He is a qualified lawyer. I’ve played a bit of rugby with him – he had a huge boot on him and was usually very accurate as well: pity about the missed conversion though. There was a story doing the rounds at the time about the players praying for the conversion to go over: apparently Div Visser said: “as dit U wil is, laat die bal asb. oor wees!”. After the missed kick, one of the guys said: ” jy met jou ‘as dit U wil is’ nonsense.
    Pietman, Zahier Ryland speel sover ek weet vir SK Walmer. Jy kan sy naam “google” – daar is nogal heelwat berigte oor hom.
    Wilfred Cupido en Tinus Linee werk albei al jare lank vir die WP Afrigtingsakademie. Wilfred is ‘n baie “nice” ou en bly redelik naby my. Ek is nie so seker of hy so ‘n groot “tackler” was nie – hy was baie “nippy” en het baie “skills” gehad. Tinus het wel die dinges uit die ouens geduik. Daar was ook ‘n ander ou, Russel Roux wat vir die WP, maar hoofsaaklik die WP Liga gespeel het: weet nie of jy dalk aan hom dink nie.

• 274.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Pietman – ok. btw Ek haat daai Riaan Gouws tot vandag toe!

• 275.JL1: Reply to this comment

#271 CharlesM: Wat het van Kulu Ferreira geword?

• 276.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#264 PissAnt:

Aaah.

Yep, he does know all about the good ol’ bad ol’ days.

He yearns for them.

• 277.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

#259 Pietman: Dit is eintlik interessant hoe Goggie begin senter speel het. Hy was oorspronklik ‘n heelagter. Tydens een intervarsity het Faffa ligamente geskeur en Goggie gaan speel toe (as reserwe) senter in sy plek. Die res is geskiedenis. Goggie het in die 1986 – finaal op Nuweland 2 drieë vir Province teen Transvaal gedruk – reg voor die Suid-Pawiljoen. Met sy 2de drie het daar ‘n paar toeskouers op hom toegesak, amper nog voor hy die drie gedruk het: Freddie Ferreira het by ‘n skrum verby John Robbie gebreek en vir Goggie weggestuur vir daardie drie!

• 278.bloukie: Reply to this comment

#214 Pissant

Thanks vi daai info, broer.

Ek het ‘n vermoede dat hierie theory wat deesdae gefloat word dat ons huidige groep Bokke die mees talented/ beste ooit/ mees whatever, nie deur stats gesupport sal kan wordie. In fact, hoe gan ‘n mens eintlik te werk om die meeste talent ooit te toets?

Daai theory bly vi my ‘n huis wat op sand gebou is, en natuurlik kan mens mos ma kies in watter soort huis jy hie innie Rainbow Republic wil bly.

Ennie wild winds van ons winters of discontent waai voort…

Groente

• 279.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

“For reasons only known to themselves, or to their coach, the Boks took onto the field that day a strategy that could only be described as suicide. Instead of setting play up through the forwards and creating a platform by hitting the advantage line, the Boks ran the ball down the back – and their run-from-everywhere approach copped them an embarrassing 19-0 defeat.”

Poppycock.

Our kicking was shocking that day – either going out on the full or rolling into the in-goal area. We had runners missing their support players. Our forwards did not match the All Blacks in numbers at the breakdown – and McCaw had a field day. I think New Zealand scored something like 29 turnovers that day. In addition to that we made numerous handling errors.

Let’s not forget that it was 5-0 at half-time; Habana had a try disallowed for stepping into touch; Percy missed two penalties just after half-time – and it was still 5-0 with only 14 minutes to go. It was then that Carter scored his try and then followed the gift to Mealamu to make it 19-0.

I am going to get some stats to prove how many kicks we made that day. Gavin Rich, were you watching the same game?

• 280.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

#273 JL1: Weet jy ek is nie seker nie. Hy is na universiteit Weermag toe en het toe ook vir WP gespeel. Ek dink hy is later Noord-Vrystaat toe, maar is nie seker nie.

• 281.theOracle: Reply to this comment

#209 St.Petersburgbok:
    Not a good thing to do St.P, we would lose the 3N for sure if the superhuman bull side was picked for the 3N. All Henry en co would do is to pick the S14 Highlanders side. Then what? I ask you.

#210 Transformation:
    JW 2007 side managed 1 win against against our traditional foes (read NZ & Aus).

PdV has still to play tests against Uruguay, Paraguay, USA and the likes… I think he should insist SARU arranges these matches quickly so that he can achieve a higher win ratio… like previous bok coaches.

• 282.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#251 rugbygenius: Rose ha ha ha ha ha ha

• 283.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#268 Pietman:

Ja ek weet, WP rugby se website is bra kak, sal vir jou uitvind as ek weer by Nuweland is.

#272 CharlesM:

I remember that, he almost just smacked the ball to Carel.

Poor Gouws, it will be all he is remember by, that kick.

#277 bloukie:

I do not take things at face value so when it is believed we are sitting in a golden era it is half-right, because given how we have improved we are indeed sitting with the best players that we have for a while.

but it is also half-wrong, because although we have improved, so have NZ and also, given we are so far behind them our improvement is relative to what they have been up to as-well.

So I went and studied all this and that is the conclusion I came up with, we are an improved bunch today than 5 years ago, but we are also by no means the world beaters most make us out to be.

I have learned that the truth, or facts, and even stats can be quoted and bandied out at will to satisfy opinions when it suits anyone, but most of the time it is selective and relative and not always gives you the full picture.

The rest is down to opinion.

Some believe the players NZ lost makes them weaker – results don’t support this but still, it is a belief.

• 284.EEE: Reply to this comment

#280 goyougoodthing2: I know, makes one wonder where “rugbygenius” comes from :lol:

• 285.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#277 WP Till I Die:

On that day at Newlands, we made 9 handling errors; we missed 22 tackles; we visited the All Black 22 on twelve separate occasions without scoring points. Despite the claim that we “ran everything from the back”, the ball only went to our wings FIVE times…

I’m still trying to get stats on the kicks. We only had one occasions during that match where we went through more than five phases – that’s where the problem came in, not having enough forwards at the breakdown.

This was rectified against the Wallabies in the third Test and we walloped them.

• 286.Slappes: Reply to this comment

CharlerM – Ek onthou daai drie ook, en jy ken ALLES oor WP rugby! Pietman is nou n bul, maar die man ken wp rugby beter as Dok. Ek weet ook dat Pietman innie stilte nog vir WP skree, hy sal dit natuurlik nie hier se nie…

• 287.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#278 CharlesM:
    Kulu is dr op Kroonstad (net vinnig, praat later).

• 288.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#284 Slappes:

Ek dog hy’t gesê hy’s klaar met WP. Ag wat, dink net hoe gaan die ou voel gedurende die Curriebeker finaal tussen WP en die Bulle hierdie jaar! :-P

• 289.Slappes: Reply to this comment

WPtid – :-) Ja, arme pieta sal moet keer om NIE te skree wanneer Willem die game wen vir ons!

• 290.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

As julle verveeld is kyk Craven week op http://www.iraqgoals.net/

• 291.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#282 EEE: ;-)

It takes all types doesn’t it. Oh well… the Rose myth gets to live another day… face it, if he never plays we can never truly stand up and say he’s not up to it – where’s the proof!

• 292.bloukie: Reply to this comment

#281 Pissant

Thanks daai klink vi my nader an my view vannie waarheid; ons het verbeter.

Ma oppie ou-end bly dit ma net ‘n blog en ammal het ‘n opinie ennie reg ommit te post. En solank ons nie ons opinies as fact verkopie is ek happy…

• 293.EEE: Reply to this comment

#286 WP Till I Die: hehe dink julle span gaan my bulle klop die naweek op Loftus ****

• 294.Slappes: Reply to this comment

WPTID – Imagine if pietman finds himself amongst his bull buddies on newlands, and wp wins! :-)

• 295.JL1: Reply to this comment

#290 bloukie: Van ons bloggers maak soos Rich en Keo – loop en verkoop ons opinies soos joernaliste

Dis die ding van opinies, dit is soos ‘n poephol, elkeen het een

• 296.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#284 Slappes:

He’s a Bull.

As well as his handlanger Sheriff. Also a Bull.

• 297.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#291 EEE:

Ek is “cautiously optimistic” – maar die Bulle op Loftus bly altyd moeilike opposisie, al mis hulle ses Springbokke.

• 298.ashley: Reply to this comment

#293 JL1:
    nie waar nie
    nie almal het opinies nie
    neem bv simon, jon, ryan, grant
    hulle skryf wat keo sê, en dan kan hulle nie eens reg spel nie!!

• 299.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Dawn – thats what they want us to believe. Are you still a Lion?

• 300.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#291 bloukie: #294 JL1:

Stem saam.

Perspective.

• 301.EEE: Reply to this comment

#294 Dawn: Jeepers but you watch them like a hawk………ready to pounce at a moments notice…

• 302.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#288 bok_bal:

Iraqgoals?

• 303.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Ashley = naweekdronkie

• 304.ashley: Reply to this comment

#301 Slappes:
    wel,
    laas naweek het ek my mooi gedra?

:shock: ons al ñ dop saamgedrink?

• 305.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#297 Slappes:

Never saw Doppies on the field last week ……………

#299 EEE:

In my next life I’m coming back as a wolf!!

• 306.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#300 Dawn: ja check dit uit

• 307.Grape White: Reply to this comment

I’m actually enjoyin the craven week rugby being played. Some good skills Griquas and border playing now, wp and lions next I think

• 308.Ed_die_Leeu: Reply to this comment

#99 Dawn: Ag ou vrou. Soek jy nou weer aandag? Jy is lekker deur die kak!!!

• 309.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Ashley – moet nooooit weer aan n Michael Jackson dans kompetisie deelneem nie, veral as jy dikgesuip is nie. En dit voor die hele Paarl Mall.

• 310.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#305 Grape White: yeah nice intercept try by Griquas. Some good rugby.

• 311.Grape White: Reply to this comment

That Zim boy (yesterday or the day before’s match not sure) amazing stepping skills I cant remember his name but he’ll probably play for a SA franchise going forward

• 312.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#306 Ed_die_Leeu:

Sorry?

• 313.ashley: Reply to this comment

#307 Slappes:
    :lol: neeeeeeeeeeee boet
    daaaaai wassie ekkie!!

• 314.ashley: Reply to this comment

#306 Sir_Earl_die_Leeu:
    yes ma se kind
    hoesit?

• 315.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#309 Grape White: There’s some good talent. EP’s eightman, not bad.

• 316.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Ashley – ok , maar jy bly n dronkie :-)

• 317.ashley: Reply to this comment

#314 Slappes:
    :grin: ja, jong
    elke outjie het sy foutjie!

• 318.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#286 WP Till I Die: #297 Slappes:

Geweet julle donners sal my mis, maar julle het my mos nie waardeer destyds toe ek WP ondersteun het nie!
    Ok, laat ek sluit hier en oorhol huistoe en Cravans gaan kyk.

#288 bok_bal:
    Dankie vir daai tjomma, gaan nou daar kyk.

• 319.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#283 WP Till I Die: look here comrade; they facts & the prgmatism you & pissant are constantly bringing to this blog are counter-revolutionary & are not aiding the propaganda that our hosts want to sell.

as you well know, you can’t go to the beijing olympics & try to toyi toyi there for human rights and stuff. So at this juncture i have to ask you two comrades what makes you think it within the normal protocols of diplomacy to bring facts & figures to a blog where all of that stuff clearly holds no mileage? I beg you comrades to cease & desist from your ways.

Your comrade in Arms
    Transformation.

• 320.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#306 Ed_die_Leeu:
    Stadig, die antie het n swak blaas, netnou is haar stoel weer nat……!

• 321.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#316 Pietman: Border en Griquas op die oomblik, lekker rugby. Eintlik dankie aan die blogger van Saterdag wie se nick ek nie kan onthou nie. Connection is nogals vinnig ook. Geniet.

• 322.Grape White: Reply to this comment

#313 bok_bal: What really surprised me this year is the intensity at the breakdown, dam these boys dont mess around they hit the breakdown and the rucks real hard lol good quality though. That try (Free State I think) where (nearly) the whole team participated was good to watch the other day. Definitely some quality games and I dont normally watch Craven Week all that much or as much as the varsity cup but there’s definitely more quality this year in the Craven Week.

• 323.Grape White: Reply to this comment

lol, just when I about to praise the maul they go mess it up but good try nonetheless

• 324.Slappes: Reply to this comment

316 Pietman – :-) Ja pieta maar ons gaan nie jou bul vriende vertel nie. Jyt te veel WP in jou om dit net so weg te gooi!

• 325.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#320 Grape White: I think they studied the video of Bakkies on how to clean out at the rucks. You’re right, high intensity at the breakdowns. I only started watching today and enjoy it. They can just work on their handling and 50/50 passes. But hey, it’s schoolboy rugby. Good stuff.

• 326.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#319 bok_bal:
    Ok, ek is by die huis, gaan nou rustig n dop drink en kyk hier in die rustigheid.
    Daai blogger was Big Hit, terloops, nice ou.

• 327.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#322 Slappes:
    Ek het meer WP in my as Luke Watson, dis verseker!
    Hy is n Xhosalander.

• 328.Corndog: Reply to this comment

Hey does anyone have the Keo night owls 3N superbru pool code?

• 329.Grape White: Reply to this comment

#323 bok_bal: haha yeah what i also noticed is that almost everyone running with the ball, run with their arm out in front hoping to hand off everyone in their paths. But some good offloads some unnecessary no look offloads as well with some coming off and others just looking ridiculous. Some of the scrummies also look tiny I wonder how these guys will ever make it above school level. It’s unrealistic really to have a tiny but fast scrummie cos he wont make it at that build when he tries to find a club after school but he will shine in Craven week.

• 330.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#325 Pietman: Wanneer maak hy die skuif na pappa toe?

• 331.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

I managed to get hold of this article by Steven Friedman. Have a read and let’s hear some thoughts.

Whites wait on the touchline to label the next black buffoon

Steven Friedman Published: 2009/07/15 07:05:48

FIFTEEN years after apartheid formally ended, it is time for those whites who never tire of accusing others of “playing the race card” to realise how often they do it themselves — without even noticing.

I don’t understand rugby: I have never fathomed why 30 adults would want to jump on each other to grab a ball that is the wrong shape. And so I have no idea whether our national coach, Peter de Villiers, is good at his job. But what I cannot help noticing is how common it is in our society for black people who cross boundaries, which whites create, to be reduced to figures of fun.

The problem is not that people criticise De Villiers — or Percy Sonn or Norman Arendse or black lawyers and business people whose names come to mind: in a free society everyone can criticise everyone else. It is that they are reduced to buffoons, butts of ridicule, much as smiling minstrels were in the days when prejudices were expressed more directly because they were the law.

It is possible that some who are reduced to comic cutouts in this way are as foolish as those who denigrate them claim. But it seems highly unlikely that there is a law of South African life that decrees that all black people who gravitate to posts many whites believe to be beyond them, or express views many whites would rather not hear, happen also to be clowns. It seems far more likely that some end up saying injudicious things because the constant sneering of detractors convinced that black people are simply not up to particular tasks take its toll — and more than possible that some are not foolish at all but are lampooned in this way because this enables some whites to convince themselves of their own superiority and to console themselves for their loss of power.

There seem to be two sources for this prejudice. First, many whites still believe there are jobs only they can do. Can anyone who is honest about the prejudices that dominate cricket — our national one-day team has fewer black players than England and, sometimes, the same as New Zealand — believe that any black person who, if the guardians of the sport lost concentration long enough to allow this, was appointed coach would last more than a few days before the buffoon label was slapped on them?

Second, ingrained prejudice ensures that the margin of error for black public figures is much smaller than that for whites. While some senior black legal figures have been quickly relegated to buffoonery for their utterances, the same fate does not seem to await the white judge who implied recently that, as an inheritor of English tradition, he honoured his work obligations whatever the state of his health — and that, by implication, Africans book themselves off at the slightest excuse.

And we all know of a white columnist whose racial stereotypes have landed him plum positions on the lecture circuit. Would the same happen to a black columnist who blamed all whites for Auschwitz, Hiroshima and global economic crises?

More is at stake here than just pointing out that the prejudices that kept apartheid alive still survive.
    The prejudices that allow some to be pilloried in this way do not present themselves openly as racial biases — their power stems precisely from their ability to appear as expressions of nonracial common sense.

That is no doubt why some black commentators and whites with strong nonracial credentials join in the baiting — because reducing some black public figures to jokes seems to be what sensible people do; that the victims are invariably black people who have offended some whites is presumably coincidental.

This trend is part of a wider pattern in our public debate: it portrays our divide as one between those (usually white) who want to put race behind them and those (always black) who want to use it as a stick with which to beat the competent.

But reducing others to buffoons in the name of “merit” and “standards” is not prejudice-free. It is the old prejudice in a slightly new guise: it continues to express a deep-seated belief that whites are competent, blacks are not.

And which sort of racial prejudice should worry us more — that of black professionals and politicians who react to bigotry in selfserving ways or those of bigots whose prejudices are so deeply rooted that they manage to convince themselves and others that they are not prejudices at all?

- Friedman is director of the Centre for the Study of Democracy, an initiative of Rhodes University and the University of Johannesburg.

• 332.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#327 Grape White: It’s a pity that a lot of these guys will fade. Some are very scrawny while others look like monsters. I remember playing against a guy like Ryan Walker, played scrummie for Hilton College, he was big and strong for a scrummy, went on to play for Natal a few times, but soon dissapeared.

• 333.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#329 Optimus Prime: ‘n klomp k@k as jy my vra.

• 334.Grape White: Reply to this comment

#330 bok_bal: yeah well at least he went on to represent Natal, lol some of the boys will end up as call centre agents when they cant even find a club haha, anyway, that bulls flyhalf was really impressive the other day. His kicking game was on point even though the wind was swirling he played it as well as he could in the conditions – big build as well

• 335.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#331 bok_bal:
    Dis soos sy haar dae spandeer, soek sulke kuk op om op n rugby site te pos.
    Pleks dat sy soos n gewone jongmens n kerel kry en die lewe geniet, nou pla sy ons geharde ou rugbyondersteuners met daai snert.
    Die vroumensie se koppie raas erg jong.

• 336.bloukie: Reply to this comment

#331 Okei Bokbal, hoekom se jy so?

• 337.Grape White: Reply to this comment

This Cloete boy for Border is impressive. Stealing balls like hell at the breakdown

• 338.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#334 Pietman: I think you are exactly the personality Steven Friedman is talking about. It’s great that we bloggers have a ready example so handy.

• 339.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#332 Grape White: He was really good, don’t know what happend to him. When are the Bulls, Lions, WP, the bigger guns playing?

• 340.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#335 Grape White:
    Hey, Border is good, they are giving my old Griqua Cravens ( I am a N-Cape boytjie) a run for their money!
    Lots of talent down in the EC, pity about the politics….too many black lawyers/reverends down their that know jackshyte about the game.

• 341.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#334 bloukie: Dis wat ek dink. Voel rerig nie lus om in ‘n politieke debat ingetrek te word nie. Ek laaik rugby, nie lus vir ander nonsens op ‘n rugby blog nie. Sy kan maar haar artikels op facebook post, vir al wat ek omgee.

• 342.ashley: Reply to this comment

ok, before the next world war break out here on keo,
    can i have the codes for superbru please?
    anyone?

• 343.dr dre: Reply to this comment

#329 Optimus Prime: Pat yourself on the back, you have managed to dig up a supporting article that aims to suport the chip you have on your shoulder.

When, all you are doing is showing yourself up to be fixated by black and white.

You are boring and tired.

• 344.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#326 Corndog: its “clamjoke”…

• 345.grant10: Reply to this comment

#340 ashley: clamjoke

• 346.grant10: Reply to this comment

#343 grant10: thats the code for 3 n

• 347.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#340 ashley:
    Watse codes soek jy, TriNations of wat?
    Vra vir superbul, ek het jou al hoeveel keer gese my boet.
    Ek is in by almal, maar het die goete vergeet, so lank terug was dit al gepost hier op keo.
    Laat ek mail en sien hoe ek jou tog kan help…

• 348.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

Well done Border!

• 349.Grape White: Reply to this comment

WP and Lions after this match. Natal and SA Academy tomorrow (thats going to be a cracker SA Academy look good) and Bulls and Free State tomorrow as well. But I tell you what, theres very little difference between the tiers – no such thing as big guns. The red and yellow cards tho make a bigger difference at this level than at senior level though and the games become boring one sided affairs. I enjoyed the first 10 minutes of the Boland vs Bulls game even though they red carded a Boland player in like the first few plays of the game for a tipping tackle. After the 15 minute mark or so, Bulls just rolled over them and it became a bit boring. Mind you, the Bulls flyhalf looked good in that game playing against 14 but it was his kicking that impressed as you couldnt really gauge his other skills playing against 14 men. WP and Lions about to start now

• 350.ashley: Reply to this comment

#342 poppa69:
    #343 grant10:
    are you guys sure?
    i think thats the exact code given to my by pietman, and i ended up in another pool!

• 351.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#342 poppa69: #343 grant10: #344 grant10:
    Yes, thanks, that’s the one code.
    There are two more, you are allowed three pools, London keolings (Carol &co) have another one.

• 352.ashley: Reply to this comment

#345 Pietman:
    dankie ouboeta

• 353.Grape White: Reply to this comment

#338 Pietman: Griqua looks a solid team but I must the Griqua Country Districts suck big time lol

• 354.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for the 3N! Good squad of 23, my only concern is I would have picked Guthro instead of Chilli. Brings more to the party.

• 355.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#342 dr dre: Here’s what I find amazing. I posted an article by Steven Friedman an educated man, and director of the Centre for the Study of Democracy, an initiative of Rhodes University and the University of Johannesburg.

I asked for views on his article.

You turn around and attack me. So your views on the article is to attack me, and say I have chips on my shoulders. Me.

Seems to me that Friedman’s words are hitting a little too close to home for you. I understand that you are feeling uncomfortable. But can I kindly request that you direct your comments to the piece. I did not write it, but feel it relevant.

• 356.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#350 ashley:
    Sal hom n mail gooi, weet nie waar loop hy in die wildtuin rond nie.
    Hang vas.

• 357.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#347 Grape White: Thanks for the update. Next game should be exciting. I think I am going to head to 7/11 for a Taiwan Beer.

• 358.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

So where are the people disputing PDV now. His selections are good. Where is ‘Gives Tight Head’ now?

• 359.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#351 Grape White:
    Griqua Districts is a Kalahari developing team, from Upington, mostly !Xung bushmen in there, used to passing ostrich eggs.
    Give them another 100 years or so….

• 360.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#353 Optimus Prime: It’s a rugby blog for crying in a bucket!

• 361.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#329 Optimus Prime: oh dear, i forgot that you like rattling cages… :D

• 362.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

#358 bok_bal: So where is the rugby banter?

• 363.Grape White: Reply to this comment

#357 Pietman: 100? nah they just regular competition and their game will lift. At least they beat Namibia lol

• 364.Grape White: Reply to this comment

#361 Grape White: they just need*

• 365.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#359 bok_bal: It’s a rugby related article and more specifically it’s very relevant to some bloggers on this site. Have a read. What are your views.

• 366.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#360 Morne Steyn is under-rated: People post articles here on rasism. It’s not the place for it.

• 367.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#360 Transformation: They don’t want to touch it it seems. So far I’m being attacked for letting the “cat out the bag” so to speak.

• 368.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#362 Grape White: I told you I think it’s a load of shite. Go post on News 24 or somewhere

• 369.Grape White: Reply to this comment

wow what a conversion! Wp 10 Lions 0

• 370.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

#353 Optimus Prime: Hey Opti, I think the article may be true in the instance of PDV, but I don’t like the fact that it may provide people in public positions a shelter to hide behind, ie Malema.

• 371.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#368 Morne Steyn is under-rated:
    Maybe Primus Stove should just post us something on Steven Spielberg next time.
    Anything from Rhoses is kuk.
    That is no university, same as Turfloop and Fort Hare.
    Not recognised ouside of the Transkei.

• 372.ashley: Reply to this comment

#356 Morne Steyn is under-rated:
    funny thing i’ve over the last few weeks or so … whenever i walked into a discussion of rugby, i kept getting the same kind of thing: “pdv is using jake whites team etc etc etc”. after a while i started countering it with “if you were the new coach, wouldnt you have done the same?”

normally with most guys i’ve found that except for one or two other players, the squad pdv have selected wouldve stayed the same.

now, unfortunately you also get those guys that dont want to be convinced … arguing that pdv shouldve started anew in an effort to put his seal on the team … saw the same guys after the last bi test, and guess what?
    the first response i got from those guys was .. “how the heck can he make 10 changes to a winning team?”

well
    i just laughed and walked away!!

• 373.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#367 Grape White: Sorry, my previous reply was meant for someone else. WP is on fire. Try or no try?

• 374.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#369 Pietman:
    Rhodes, I meant…sorry Earl.

• 375.ashley: Reply to this comment

#363 Optimus Prime:
    i dont agree
    the only reference to rugby are

30 men
    and
    an odd shaped ball

• 376.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#363 Optimus Prime: I told you I think it’s a load of shite. Go post on News 24 or somewhere

• 377.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#370 ashley:
    Ek het die boy gemail vir die codes.
    Hy sal nou weer in die seingebied wees, dan laat ek jou weet.

• 378.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

#365 Optimus Prime: Also for the article to be really good it should take into account the opposite argument, the fact that Malema believes he is in hot water because he is black would be a good example. So its pretty one-sided, yes in some instances it is correct and I guess sometimes we need reminding, but it is dangerous not to convey the opposite view or else it really becomes an article of racism in itself.

• 379.Grape White: Reply to this comment

no try but given anyway. I mean any idiot could see the boy was not in control but hey 15 – 0.

• 380.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#369 Morne Steyn is under-rated: Thank you for a well articulated view. It’s refreshing to see you deal with the article and not load a shot gun for me.

• 381.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#373 ashley:
    Ok, hy se clamjoke is die een vir keo Tri.
    Die ander twee is private.

• 382.ashley: Reply to this comment

#375 Pietman:
    thanks pieta

• 383.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#375 bok_bal: If that is your view. Fine. I’m goimg nowhere however much you would like me to. New SA. Sorry. You do not get to bundle people off to jail.

• 384.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

#370 ashley: Yup its the old contradict yourself argument. You just can’t win against that kind of logic. The old ‘super elite springbok side’ that always loses to Aus and NZ, now expected to conquer everything cause we have a new coach! Very odd.

• 385.sparticus: Reply to this comment

#16 Pietman: Pietman , Thats Zahier Rylands u talking about ?? Played for WP 2006 last I think , still a youngster though. Small and very very fast and slippery , plays for my local club.

• 386.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#374 ashley: Ah. but Ashley don;t you think it addresses some of the comments about Pdv being nothing but a AA appointment and being undeserving despite his results? Those comments are made here all the time.

• 387.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#369 Pietman:

I beg to differ! Rhodes is one of the leading universities when it comes to A-level researchers.

They have some very, very competent and well-known alumni; it is also the leading university when it comes to studying journalism or drama.

• 388.ashley: Reply to this comment

#382 Morne Steyn is under-rated:
    hehehehe
    part of life bru
    the only thing you can do is being patient
    oh, and keep on motivating the points you try to make

see it like that … if you can convince one person that his facts may just not be correct,
    that person in turn will convince someone else etc etc

so the difference you make in the end is not as insignificant as you might believe!

• 389.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#386 WP Till I Die: Then I guess Keo and Rich didn’t study there.

• 390.Grape White: Reply to this comment

Wp 18 Lions 0. Lions looking ragged

• 391.Grape White: Reply to this comment

oh now Lions lost one player for 10 minutes for a stupid shoulder charge lol

• 392.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

#384 Optimus Prime: Just like your article you referenced, I would like to see a bit more of the converse argument when addressing PDV. Surely if PDV is only doing well because of the players at his disposal, surely its logical to say Ludeke and Meyer were actually not responsible for a Super 14 victory, for surely any ‘******’ could win a regional tournament with 10 super-elites. In fact what took these coaches so long to win? Similarly Plum should be fired for failing to make the Finals.

• 393.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#369 Pietman:

In fact, according to a study that looks at the number of citations of articles from institutions in international scientific and trade literature, the top universities in South Africa are as follows:

1. University of Cape Town
    2. Rhodes University
    3. University of Pretoria
    4. Stellenbosch University
    5. University of the Witwatersrand
    6. University of the Western Cape
    7. University of South Africa
    8. University of Kwazulu-Natal

• 394.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#374 bok_bal: #382 Morne Steyn is under-rated:
    You go try find a job anywhere in the first world with a Rhodes qualification.
    They will laugh at you.
    I know.
    I sit on those recoprocity committees abroad, they laugh at us.
    That’s my job….or one of them, I should say.
    SA educational standards are nowhere near to what we used to have, hell, even Sean Langenhven might qualify for a B.Soc.LlB in Grahamstown soon without even having matric, just because English isn’t his first language.
    Why do you think Zuma used Kemp J Kemp at R100,000 per day and not some black lawyer from the EC?
    Why do you think Dr Manto used a white surgeon for a liver transplant?
    Go figure.
    Friedberg, Rhodes?
    Pffffff……

• 395.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#387 Optimus Prime:

Why do you bother.

Like knocking your head against a brick wall.

We know it, that’s all that counts.

• 396.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#374 bok_bal: substantiate Bok_Mal, hoe kom?

#369 Pietman:everything from rhodes is k@k? Really? Since when? Lmao…you must be going senile ;D

• 397.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

Oh no I have upset Keo! You can’t use the B word!

• 398.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#390 WP Till I Die:
    What study?
    Don’t quote me anything from the ‘SA Liberal Student’s Movement’, please.
    Give me the latest from the HSRC.
    Then we can talk.

• 399.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#391 Pietman:

You sit on committees, besides sitting in the bar all day?

Where DO you find the time.

Friedman must have caught your attention somewhere in that synaptically-challenged brain of yours otherwise you wouldn’t go out of your way to insult him.

• 400.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#391 Pietman:

And PS: Where is the first world?

There where you are?

• 401.ashley: Reply to this comment

#384 Optimus Prime:
    refer #286

(be back in a minute or so)

• 402.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

Sorry let me rephrase:
    #384 Optimus Prime: Just like your article you referenced, I would like to see a bit more of the converse argument when addressing PDV. Surely if PDV is only doing well because of the players at his disposal, surely its logical to say Ludeke and Meyer were actually not responsible for a Super 14 victory, for surely any ‘ars%h*le’ could win a regional tournament with 10 super-elites. In fact what took these coaches so long to win? Similarly Plum should be fired for failing to make the Finals.

• 403.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#390 WP Till I Die:

A “webometrics” study based on numbers and quality of academic and scientific articles available on the Internet ranked SA universities as follows:

UCT 398th in the world
    Maties 566th in the world
    Tuks 718th in the world
    Wits 720th in the world
    Rhodes 738th in the world

The same study ranks Rhodes as the 5th best university in Africa. The top 7 universities in Africa are South African.

So, do they not accept any African university qualifications now?

• 404.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#395 Pietman:

The study was published in Professor Anastassios Pouris’s “The international performance of the South African academic institutions: A citation assessment”, in the International Journal of Higher Education and Planning. Netherlands, in 2006.

• 405.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#391 Pietman:

You have to stop spreading misinformation on your so-called conspiracy theory committees.

I know people who have guns.

• 406.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#390 WP Till I Die:
    What about UPE /NMU?
    Where have they gone?

Or aren’t they even listed anymore?
    They used to run some little legal faculty over there, B.Proc or something.
    Schalk Burger Snr used to be their PRO.

And Unisa?
    One of the most recognised educational institutions in the world, they had reciprocity with Oxford and Cambridge in my day.
    UCT/Stellenbosch/Tukkies/UOFS are the only ones left, if you need recognition outside of SA.

What’s happening at UWC, by the way?

• 407.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And who arent afraid to use them.

• 408.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

We live in a strange world where Bab*on is a swear word. What about pig can you still call someone a pig? Maybe its a reference to someones lilly-white ar@e and capitalist nature.

• 409.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#391 Pietman:lies, damn lies! keo is the only “committee” you sit on, as a “senior blogger”… bloody liar!

• 410.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#401 WP Till I Die:
    O flok, now we have some Dutchmen to rely on to tell us Rhodes is ok!

• 411.sparticus: Reply to this comment

#74 Nils: Um sorry buddy I was being sarcastic , the dates refer to WC dates when the ABS lost. 2005 was indeed a mistake and should have read 1995.

So if you are an AB fan though , it is true that you choke by the way. LOL

• 412.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#403 Pietman:

And Professor Steven Friedman is very highly respected. A former senior editor for the Financial Mail, he worked as manager for policy research at the SA Institute of Race Relations from 1986 to 1989, he was then a senior research fellow at Wits Business School’s Centre for Policy Studies; he was national head of the information analysis department during the 1994 elections; and he is currently visiting professor of politics and international relations at Rhodes and a research associate at IDASA.

• 413.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#403 Pietman:

The same study ranked NMMU (UPE) at 10th in South Africa, behind Kovsies.

• 414.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#400 WP Till I Die:
    Tell you what.
    You try and go to Aus/NZ/S-Korea/GB or any other first country with a Rhodes/NMU quallie, I dare you.
    I sat in too many meetings over the world to try and get our students enrolled.
    You want to be a doctor/pharmacist in NZ/Oz with a SA quallie, for example?
    You start as an intern again.
    Never used to be like that.
    Why?

• 415.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#409 WP Till I Die:
    I know Friedman.

• 416.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#411 Pietman:

Heck, oke, you’ll struggle with a Maties qualification these days as well.

I know in the UK, for example, unless you got your degree from UCT, you have to write an “English Aptitude Test”.

• 417.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#91 WP Till I Die:

frankly, he’s no Skoppie !

#129 cab:

2004. By pts-diff only and not winning away. So ?

#136 Thameside Bok fan:

to answer your last ques:- yes. More upheaval in the Black camp last year than this year. Really the only difference is DC’s absence but there was alot more uncertainty in 2008 after 13 RWC departures.

#208 mozez22:

exactly ! finally, some sanity amidst all this madness

The Article

- from an objective viewpoint, it seems quite well written altho a few flaws have been pointed out (kicking at Newlands).

Personally I think the Boks looked more threatening and dangerous last year than previously, a direct result of PdV trying to make the Boks play with more vision. They were excellent at Carisbrook, superb at Twickenham, both displaying an attacking verve previously unseen by a Bok team. As with any transition, there will always be hiccups. And losing to NZ and Aus is hardly bringing shame on the team. The worst performance from SA last year was vs Scotland and they also possibly should have lost vs Wales. But winning in UK is never easy, esp in November which are conditions foreign to SA.

It would be a massive step backwards if the Boks decided to revert to just the forward-based traditional game. The Lions showed that bruising forward play can be blended with attacking back play and of all the teams, SA has most to gain from that philosophy. The Boks have a massive advantage going in to the TriN on back of 3 tough encounters vs Lions, a tailor-made travel itinerary and a hugely experienced settled lineup. If ever they are going to press on and turn that in to an advantage through attacking rugby, it is this year.

Clearly whenever PdV opens his mouth he brings ridicule where there was not. His support of Burger and the BS Justice campaign have shown him to have a pea for a brain. However, coaches should still be judged purely on results. He won in NZ, which JW never did in many more attempts. He thrashed Eng at Twickers; JW was on the receiving end there. As long as he keeps his mouth shut, you fellas should give him the benefit of the doubt.

• 418.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#412 Pietman:

Yip, another proud export of King David High School.

• 419.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#412 Pietman:
    Sorry, know ‘of’ him.
    No man, SA educational standards are way down, even at tertiary level.
    It is well known.

• 420.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#401 WP Till I Die: why are bothering yourself with this senile fool…he will tell you about “his day”, and we had look @ everything like it was in “his day”, woe unto us all…

• 421.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#403 Pietman:

UWC? That cullert outback?

You tell us what’s happening there. You know everything.

• 422.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#403 Pietman:

Regarding UWC, they’re growing quite a bit. One of my mates has just started lecturing there. UWCs number of A-level researchers has increased quite strongly.

• 423.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

#417 Pietman: I must say you are beginning to sound like one of the examples in Friedman’s article. So come on tell us why our tertiary qualifications are down?

• 424.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#412 Pietman:

Key phrase in all your senile meanderings ::::

“IN MY DAY”

YOUR DAY IS UP. THERE IS NO MORE APARTHEID.

• 425.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#411 Pietman: You might as well go to Thailand and buy yourself a degree on Koh San Road. But why go all the way there if they hand them out nowadays in SA.

• 426.Morne Steyn is under-rated: Reply to this comment

Over and out this blog ‘Gives tight head’

• 427.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#416 Pietman:

Educational standards down. “It is well known”

Now that’s a basis for some excellent research if ever I saw it.

“It is well known” where, by whom, how, why.

• 428.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#419 WP Till I Die:

You cannot reason with him.

• 429.Nils: Reply to this comment

#408 sparticus: Fine then. How about 1999 semis and 2003 quarters? ;) Choking when it mattered most.

And if you are damn sure NZ will fail again in 2011 just because they have done it in last 5 attempts, then we can easily cease to even contemplate possibility of Springboks winning Tri Nations.

Here Boks will not have Frogs to do them a favour.

• 430.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#413 WP Till I Die:
    I have a IELTS center here for those tests (sondebok and Yoaldi will tell you, show you pictuers and all).
    It is a lot of bull, believe me.
    Blacks can enrol at UCT because hey are Saffa, only with basic English, my students can’t because English is their ‘second’ language (though they are better at it than Langkop or Transportation).
    That is why my wife spends so much time down there in the Cape, at UCT/ Stellenbosch, to get our students enrolled fairly.

• 431.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#427 Pietman:
    ‘Yolandi’.

• 432.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#393 Dawn: Because it must be said. Because silence never educated or helped anyone.

• 433.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#424 Dawn: SA education standard is dismal. Why does anyone need to substantiate such a well known fact?

• 434.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#423 bok_bal: Isn’t Pietman currently in Tailand. Is that what he is doing there? Buying himeslf some degrees.

• 435.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#422 bok_bal:
    It happens hey.
    Not only in Thailand.
    They sell them in Joh’burg as well.
    That is why we don’t accept SA quallies anymore, unless it is sealed with the stamp of the Chancellor and ‘untouched by human hand’, plus an academic record notorised by an attorney.
    Only for Saffas though.
    They don’t trust us anymore.
    Very embarrassing to me, especially with those Aussies gloating across the board room table..

• 436.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#413 Pietman: You are such a liar dude. We must believe that you know Friedman. I guess you know Father Christmas too.

• 437.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#430 bok_bal:
    Dawn wouldn’t know about that, let her be.

• 438.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#431 Optimus Prime: No one here is from Thailand. I am just refering to it, because they can sell you any degree you want from any uni in SA, with the origanal stamps and all.

• 439.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#433 Pietman: How many degrees have you bought so far for yourself. I’m interested in the degree that enables you to make up fictitious stories about other people and make you think you know famous people, or just fictitious ones like the tooth fairy.

• 440.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#436 bok_bal: Pietman is there. Ask him:

• 441.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#427 Pietman: this doos has “students”?

• 442.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Anyway people, that’s me.
    Just thought I’d let you know some of us proud Saffas are still trying to fly the SA flag high abroad, while some of you are toying around half-completed WC stadiums.
    Cheers.

• 443.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#439 Pietman: Mooi bly, ek is ook uit. Province maak die Lions seer. Cheers.

• 444.Optimus Prime: Reply to this comment

#439 Transformation: I feel sorry for those poor kids. What is he teaching them. All this **** he talks about here. #440 Pietman: Your the kind of “proud Saffa” that bashes the country at every chance you get. Why don;t you stay there and don;t come back. We like real Saffas that are “alive with possibility’, not negative and full of lies.

• 445.sparticus: Reply to this comment

#426 Nils: Ok , I will gladly give up the Trinations (which we won a few times by the way) for the World Cup (which we also won a few times by the way ), and we both know so will 99,99901 % of New Zealand , only tackler regards the Trinations more important than the WC.

• 446.sparticus: Reply to this comment

#439 Pietman: Pietman , faiekg@gmail.com -

• 447.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#443 sparticus:
    Got it, we will talk ‘fish’ soon, hehehehe!
    G’nite.

• 448.Grape White: Reply to this comment

wow WP just scraped through there. Lions came back well from 18 – 0 at half time to 26 -21. But the game was a bit on the boring side though – not as exciting as the Griqua vs Border game before this.

• 449.gunther: Reply to this comment

UCT ranked 179 in the top 200 universities in the world last year…. stuff it up your bums…

• 450.Nils: Reply to this comment

#442 sparticus: I remember perfectly well, that SA have won them twice each. :)

Frankly, I do not think that even Tackler would deny that WC is the ultimate prize in rugby.

Each World cup has about 4 or 5 teams, which realistically can win it and plus a few more that can on their day knock off some of the main favourites causing things that we call ‘upsets’. So I’d say NZ have no less chances to win it than SA have and considering how poor is their record in Aus/NZ, I would not be too chestbeating so early.

As for Tri nations – where it’s all boiled down to just 3 traditionally the best teams in the world, you can see who is who every year.

• 451.sideline: Reply to this comment

#329 Optimus Prime: YAAAWWWNNNNNnnnnn.

I get the message but lets look at it like this;
    1. what has friedman suggested will fix the problem that he sees?
    2. does his ‘fix’ have the support of ALL south africans

and

3. historically ‘white’ south africa’s biggest buffoon was VanDerMerwe – a white man apparently laughed at by other white men and other races and cultures (possibly)

So Optimus – what did YOU hope to achieve by this posting?

• 452.cab: Reply to this comment

pap en vleis poker face.

• 453.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#446 gunther: even pietman’s prized uct is bollocks? ha ha ha ha

• 454.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

#414 BlackPanther: JW’s thrashing at Twickenham was with a different side altogether mate, not comparable.

• 455.cab: Reply to this comment

#414 BlackPanther:
    Panther and what happens if the Boks win?
    No excuses?
    Will you bow down on bended-knee to the pea-brained Maestro?

I can see some are in for a big-shock here.

• 456.Sanchez: Reply to this comment

I am curious what do you think we should hold our Springbok coach to in terms of winning percentage. Obviously there will be good years, bad years injuries etc. But let say over a four year period what is acceptable? 60% 70% 80%. Let me know what you guys think?

• 457.sparticus: Reply to this comment

#447 Nils: True to a certain extent. I would say though that SA have more chance of winning the next WC than NZ simply becos of the added pressure playing at home. Look to be honest for rugby’s sake I hope NZ win the dam WC in 2011 as that would be a fair reflection of their dominance in World Wugby the last 20 off years.

Normally I would say home team is favourite but when you make the ABS favourites and add some pressure they fold , granted it happens to most teams as you say but I think its becos they are the ABS and for many teams they are looked as the scalp. Most teams dont ind losing if they beat the ABS , I know that if the Boks lose in the WC I would feel bad but if they beat the ABS along the way it would go along way making me feel better , like in 99.

• 458.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#452 cab:

Since when are there ever ‘no excuses’ on THIS blog ?

I didnt see any excuses by Kiwis after the Boks won at the Brook last year.

Coaches should be judged solely on results, thats my only point.

If they dont win (and Im assuming you mean the TriN title) with the most experienced squad, the best travel itinerary and against unsettled opposition squads, THEN you can moan. But why dont you wait til then….

• 459.sparticus: Reply to this comment

#453 Sanchez: Personally for now I would be happy with a 75% plus. To expect anthing more is absurd as no South African coach achieved this WC champs or not.

We are a team on the brink of greatness , for us to become great though we need to buy into Div’s idea’s and amalgamated the structure and playing without the rugby ball philosophy of Jake with the play in front of you approach of DIV , only then will we become great. Also we need to believe we are champs and not accept defeat even when we down 20 points in the last 10 minutes of a game. I believe we achieved the latter.

We are 2/3 of the way there already , we know the Jake way , we good in it , in fact we are Champs of the scructured game where we can win games without the rugby ball , we also believe in ourselves as WC champs , we just need to think a little outside the box more , become dynamic , play the situation a little more when it presents itself , then and only then we will become great and I will expect nothing under 80% win ratio !!

• 460.cab: Reply to this comment

#455 BlackPanther:
    whose moaning? i am actually particularly condifent this year for once.

true ABs dont have carter, which is a shame, cos i know there’ll be excuses, but Bokke don’t have burger, so its about even.

• 461.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#457 cab:

Boks are stronger without Burger than with. Brussow gives Boks far more balance and will, in some way, negate the advantage the ABs had thru McCaw.

Burger is a great player. But he’s not technically perfect, which is why McCaw brings more to the party. Brussow is technically stronger at his chosen task. He looks a wee gem.

Safas have ritualistically called McCaw a ‘cheat’ for years. So every penalty against him was cheered to the rafters. Kiwis have similarly called Bakkies and Burger ‘thugs’ for a long time too. What goes around….

Carter has not been in NZ for whole season so his absence cant be used as an excuse. On the contrary, Donalds lack of talent will be…

Tell me, who will Boks pick at no10 ? it seems like Pienaar will get the nod. Personally I think Steyn looks like a classic Bok 10, will kick the points and has a great temperament. But PdV seems to want the attacking game which Pienaar is more tailored for.

And Boks will persevere with Smit at TH. That mistake will come a cropper at some stage.

So perhaps selection is Boks toughest opposition this year ?

• 462.cab: Reply to this comment

#458 BlackPanther:
    Nah, Burger at 8thman would’ve formed a formidable alliance with Brussow and Juan Smith. He know the ABs, whereas Spies is still learning the ropes. So we def down, and if Carter was playing the loss of Burger would’ve been far biggers, cos if there’s one player DC watches its Burger.

Lets be quite honest McCaw is a huge cheat, a fantastic cheat, perhaps one of the greatest cheats outside of Fitzy, and they know it, its all about getting away with as much as possible undetected.

I dont mind that, its just the ways you boys play and the Boers need to learn how to be smarter cheats, but Brussow is coming on at a rate of knots.

At 10, tough one, i’d go ruan pienaar since he’s not so telegraphed at steyn, but the latter is a kicking machine and probably better on defense, i.e. the conservative option.

Smit at 3 should be very interesting, he held the Lions, but the AB scrum is always a test. Woodcock has tried to rough him up a bit before CJ came to the rescue, but Smitty wont mind if Woodcock gets sent off.

• 463.Shakes: Reply to this comment

Gavin Rich and his long, boring, structured tripe. Clearly we will not win the WC in 2011 with the so called structured kicking away of the ball. JWs away record in NZ is proof of that. I have said it here on many occasions that we need an alternative to FDP kicking the little ball we get away. PDV is correct in trying to move away from the robotic, no thinking ****. We lost last year in CT because FDP and BJ kicked badly and players like Spies had a nightmare in executing basic skills.

Gavin Rich’s continued unjustified criticism of AJ is ridiculous. He also called for WO to be in when after so many opportunities he cannot cut it at test level, unlike AJ who actually thrive at this level. It was WO and not AJ that was run over by the BIL and clear for all to see.

• 464.willievz: Reply to this comment

Gavin,

I do agree with you that a structured game plan is non-negotiable. However, to state that the last 3N game of last year saw a return to a structured game plan is wishful thinking.

In fact, during that game, SA was as expansive as can be.

IMO the big difference was better first time tackling and defenders targeting the ball of the ball carrier instead of merely the ball carrier (who, during the AB game in CT and Wallaby game in DBN had more options to offload to fellow supporting players). Jamie Roberts during the Lions series too had way too much room for offloading for the exact sins from the Boks mentioned above.

Smarter defense on the ball allowed our loosies with limited breakdown skills with shorter distances to travel to breakdown points, and with much more time on the ball on the ground.

However, I do agree with you that we need to resort back to a more structured game plan, such as the one we adopted against England last year. We only played structured rugby for 60 minutes against the Lions. We can even be more destructive playing constructive rugby now that we have discovered a more capable fetcher, provided we defend on the ball.

• 465.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#459 cab:

1. Im on record here as saying Burger could be a good no8. However, he struggles – again – at technical aspects; picking up at the base, linking with halfback, making advantage line from retreating scrum. He doesnt strike me as an Einstein, much better when given a free reign to go out and cause damage. Kiwis know a good openside flanker when they see one, and my money is on Brussow in that position. His battle with McCaw will be fascinating.

2. Safas have an absolute OBSESSION with ‘cheating’. Refs are cheats. Players are cheats. Administrators are cheats.

Its like ‘well we cant just acknowledge they were better, so we’ll just accuse them of cheating. Therefore we dont have to make excuses for our own shortcomings’.

Cheating is NOT entering a ruck from the side or getting the ball with 1 knee on the turf or running lazy-D. Cheating is not slowing down opposition ball by getting yr body on wrong side of ruck. Hell, show me 1 loose-fwd that doesnt do that and I’ll show him the changing sheds ! L.Dallaglio spent his whole career killing ball and his shirt was always in shreds. Was he a ‘cheat’ ? No, he was doing his job as a loose-fwd.

Cheating IS marching ball up 5-10 metres when ref turns his back (Kockott, Sharks vs Blues). Cheating IS taking a quick lineout with a different ball (Bismarck, Sharks vs Canes). Cheating IS handling the ball on an opposition scrum-feed (Niel Back for Leicester, Heineken Cup Final). Cheating IS faking injury so your subbed Capt gets back on field (Smit, 1st Test vs Lions). Thats ‘cheating’.

McCaw is just tehnically brilliant. So fast at execution of the basics that sometimes he gets away with those grey lines and sometimes he gets pinged. But they are the grey lines that loosies deal in.

So Safas have ritualistically called the AB Capt a ‘cheat’ for years. Muller and Smit, both in position as Bok Capt actually called McCaw “a cheat”. Unbelievably disrespectful. So much for diplomatic roles by a nations Captain.

And yet Bakkies is universally known as a thug. Has been banned for eye-gouging. Has been, more than once, been accused of biting. Has taken OUT opposition Capts (Mortlock) with flying-headbutts. And yet when he gets a banning, we have JUSTICE rammed down our throats.

Nah – you can ram ‘cheating’ where the sun dont shine and have a long hard look in da mirror, boet.

3. With Boks incredible pack, Steyn is tailormade for the role. Certainly, Kiwis see more of a threat from a kicking machine than Pienaar (albeit he’s very talented, altho not quite, erm, ‘Tiger Woods’). Boks didnt do toooooo badly when Naas Botha was around.

4. Woodock will test Smit more than the Lions did. Smit is a stopgap prop and should, undoubtedly, be selected at hooker. Hopefully Woody takes my advice from 2 above, you’ll hear the cheer on the high veldt if he does.

• 466.willievz: Reply to this comment

#459 cab: I agree 100000% with you.

• 467.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Why do you keep putting on stories from the magazine? Nothing new happening?

• 468.gunther: Reply to this comment

#450 Transformation:

its the top ranked sa university by some way…

• 469.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

“When Fourie du Preez was recalled ahead of Ricky Januarie at scrumhalf it was assumed that the Boks would use his gifted kicking boot to play the territory game. Yet the Boks hardly kicked in that game.”

What incredible unadulterated rubbish. Both FdP and James had exceptionally poor games kicking the ball out or over the dead ball line one several occasions. They tried to play a kicking game but the execution was poor. Blame it on the coach again you damn twat of a journo.

• 470.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#466 klingon_x: join the club buddy, we’ve been @ it the whole day…but you know keo & gavin rich are preaching to the ” delusional disciples” and trust me there are a lot of them on this blog…ha ha

• 471.cab: Reply to this comment

#462 BlackPanther:
    what is wrong with you, i thought the kiwis prided themselves on the dodgy stuff? i mean come on Fitpatrick was always up to something. As for richie mccaw, i could compile a list of infringements each game where he does EXACTLY the things you say are cheating including coming in from an offside position and playin on one knee. who said anything about slowing it down, i aint got a problem with that at all provided its done fairly and they release when the ref calls it.

McCaw is an utlimate competitor, all the great opensiders are, what they lack in size they make up for with determination.

Its not me that only thinks so, at one stage McCaw was routinely show the yellow. Great player, what a fantasic cheat. Unfortunately ours is committed in open sight. The Bokke still have some ways to go to match the ABs finesse in the dark arts.

• 472.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#467 Transformation:

I understand that but the lengths that they are going to rubbish PdV at each and every occasion is unbelievable and resorting to blatant lies top do so. There is also something called “journalistic ethics” that requires a fair, balanced and truthful recount of facts and events. These cowardly scumbags have none.

• 473.cab: Reply to this comment

#463 willievz:
    if you see this later, what are your thoughts on the 3N?
    Will the Bokke win it?
    I hope so my house has been bet.

• 474.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ag nee fok!

nog ‘n eenetjie teen PdV?

het julle klomp konte daar by keo nie die castle ads gesien?

bou ‘n ****** nasie julle donners.

ek is siek en moeg vannie bullshit oppie site.

siek en moeg.

• 475.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Rugby will always be our main focus here on keo.

But it is critically important that other matters are debated and discussed here.

15 yrs after 1st democratic election SA really a teenager with huge baggage.

Some people’s opinions will never change, but many think about the topics raised here.

We must debate these issues for the next 30-50+ yrs but move forward as a collective all the time.

• 476.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ag nee fok!

het julle klomp c#cksuckers daar by keo nie die castle ads gesien nie?

bou ‘n ****** nasie julle donners.

ek is siek en moeg vannie bullsh#t oppie site.

siek en moeg.

• 477.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ag nee fok!

het julle klomp c#cksuckers daar by keo nie die castle ads gesien nie?

bou ‘n foken nasie julle d#nners.

ek is siek en moeg vannie bullsh#t oppie site.

siek en moeg.

• 478.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#468 cab:

read the post again – the ‘exactly’ offences listed are those that are NOT ‘cheating’.

How priceless that you list McCaw and Fitzy as ‘cheats’ and paint Boks as innocents compared. It would be like Kiwis labelling all Safas as ‘thugs’ whilst ignoring likes of R.Loe, C.Meads…

And you say McCaw is ‘routinely shown yellows’ ?! you are making this up as you go ! that is, how shall we say this, a fabrication.

Neither does it explain why a host of referees have been labelled ‘cheats’ over the years. And even attacked on rugby fields on that premise.

‘unfortunately ours are committed in open sight’ – oh please, stop this concept of naivety. There is no less naive rugby team on the planet.

What amazes most people is that you actually appear to believe this nonsense.

• 479.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#472 rangerman: dankie ranger! Baie dankie!

• 480.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#462 BlackPanther: Smit will have no problem with Woodcock. You’re quite correct however that Jenkins didn’t bother Smit, just like I said he wouldn’t.

• 481.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#475 Big Hit:

Woodcock has been widely rated the best LH in the World and was named in the World XV last year by The Times, SARugby.com, Scrum.com, rugby365.com. Bob Dwyer has said he’s the best LH prop over the past few years.

But then, those critics probably dont know rugby like you, Big Hit. Who does ?

• 482.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#473 WakaNathan:

The AB’s and Boks are actually as “dirty” as one another. It just happens from time to time. Poms, Welsh, Paddy’s, Jocks and Frogs, Wallabies and Argies are dirty too in their less than dignified moments. In a contact sport as rough as rugby is, the dark side will emerge from the male psyche from time to time. Its not for sissies. Sometimes its very dark and that’s not cool. No one likes that. ;-)

Colin Meads was a legend player player in his day but a Sir? Wow…I think he even thinks how did the Queen of Pomland get THAT right? He was often over robust and at times down right dirty. I dread the day that Richard Low is made a Knight. He is a psychopath.

SA has a long line of hardcore screw loose upstairs experts. In the mid to late 60′s the Bulls and Boks had a hooker named Gys Pitzer who occasionally scrummed binding only with the loosehead prop. His right arm roamed free at scrum time so he could punch the living daylights out of the opposition hooker. He was damned “vuil”. He seemed to love pain. Inflicting it and receiving it. F@cking nuts he was.

• 483.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#476 Transformation: plesier Transie.

ek is nie afrikaans nie, maar as ek regtig die moer in raak, is dit ‘n lekker taal.

i dont like being led by the nose and only come here for the bloggers really.

• 484.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#478 rangerman:

Howzit Ranger.

• 485.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#476 WakaNathan: which Times? anyway, we’re talking about scrummaging and Woodcock while competent is no monster in that department. Smit will be fine.

• 486.cab: Reply to this comment

exactly listen to jinx, i mean richard loe, holy ****, there is a saying in afr for that sort of player, we had some really dirty ones you okes never got to see in our local Currie Cup.

The afr word for such individuals is: ‘vuilgat’. (dirty arse)

Now Richard Loe was as vuilgat as has ever set foot on a rugby field.

Richie and Fitzy are not vuilgat, they are great cheats that will do everything to get their team the advtage, John Smit will have to learn from the masters…

• 487.cab: Reply to this comment

Our lads are christians. Unfotunately, there may be a few vuilgat christians among them, but they need to learn some cunning.

some ‘what me ref?!’ McCaw innocent-like expressions…

• 488.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#481 cab:

Cab I think you take the Ritchie/ Fitzy cheat thing too far. :mrgreen:

SA are no angels.

We had refs in SA that used to “cheat” in the bad ole days. Max Baise was seen as a cheat by overseas teams.

• 489.cab: Reply to this comment

#483 Jinx:

• 490.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#482 cab:

• 491.Jinx: Reply to this comment

:lol: fancy that Cab.

• 492.cab: Reply to this comment

was Baise really that bad? has a chat to my old man the other day, he reckons he was horrific. there was also gert bezuidenhout.

lmao, must have been bladdy funny.

• 493.cab: Reply to this comment

Jinxie,

i cant believe they wanted to win so badly…were the kiwis hamming it up like suzie or do you think it was really a bit questionable?

must admit i was’nt sure who the hell andre watson was penalsing come scrum time in 2003 RWC, thought someone had been offering leather jackets…

• 494.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#481 cab:

I mean does Richard Loe have a wife or girlfriend? Geez, she must **** herself daily for that expected unexpected tweak in his brain when he wants to do her damage. 8)

• 495.cab: Reply to this comment

#489 Jinx:
    hehe .. yeah he was one mean son of a gun.

• 496.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#489 Jinx: Naand Jinx… hoe hang die ghoenne?

• 497.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#487 cab:

Max Baise denied Willie John McBrides Lions a 4-0 drubbing in of the Boks ’74. In the last test he disallowed a Fergus Slattery try that WAS a friggin’ try. The Lions had to settle for 3-0 and one draw. (13-13)

Gert Bezuidenhout was a “skelm” too. Absolutely.

• 498.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#491 grootblousmile:

Duidelik boetie.

• 499.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#490 cab:

Richard Low should be behind bars. ( Not those bars…but THOOOOOOSE BARS.) ;-)

• 500.cab: Reply to this comment

#492 Jinx:
    yes, Baise was the Lions read all about it, Bezuidenhout the ABs.
    Mind you, Norling’s shocker in new zealand was also a poor effort.
    The kiwis also brought in that pro boxer skinner at prop after losing the first test. Kiwis always been ruthlessly dirty when losing.

• 501.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#493 Jinx: Dis bitter koud hier bo in Gautengeleng boeta…. sommer 6-duim koud !

Ons pee so bietjies-bietjies soos resiesperde !

• 502.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#488 cab:

F#ck I’m laughing. My worst…those patchwork lummy jackets. Nooooooo! I’m picturing Andre Watson’s wardrobe. :lol:

• 503.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#496 grootblousmile:

hahahahahahahahahahaaaaa!

• 504.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Evening girls.

• 505.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#496 grootblousmile:

We’re cold but not 6 duim koud. Jeez…

• 506.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#496 grootblousmile: We all know that Ses Duim is your average woody boet.

• 507.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#499 SodaJoe:

Uncle Soda…howzeeeeet.

• 508.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#496 grootblousmile: Blues Brother is there a Night Owls Code for 3 Nations SBru?

• 509.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#498 Jinx: Jy moenie lag nie… dis julle vuil Kaapse weer wat nou hiernatoe geskuiwe het……… flok !

Net heelwat minder nat…

Donner, ek het pics gesien van die vloede daar in Camps Bay en Observatory………. grote griet !

• 510.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#502 Jinx: Hello boet.

So my wife and I just drove across from Minnesota through North Dakota in to Montana and down and across to Idaho. Then came back via Wyoming and South Dakota.

Now we are not “Road-Trip” people, but this was a amazing. HUUUUGE country. Beautiful.

And still lagging with you wife after 3 days driving – each way – was cool too.

• 511.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#503 SodaJoe: There is but jou can let a beautiful girl tie me up and taunt me if I knew what the code was…. wait let me find out…. hehehe

Try clamjoke

• 512.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#506 grootblousmile: Stop playing with the drie duim, you know ses duim is the max.

Actually a got a vier duim reading about being tied up.

Dankie.

• 513.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#504 grootblousmile:

Hardcore. Camps Bay was like Venice in Italy. Looked like floating buildings. Nature is king and we need reminding that we are little nothings in the big scheme of things. It pissed down like clouds on a mutha-load of vengeance. Like Vinny Jones says at the end of that movie…Lock stock and two Smoking Barrels…”It was emotional!”

• 514.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#508 Jinx: Wow. Makes a change for everyone not laughing at my weather.

• 515.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Ooops…”it’s been emotional”

• 516.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#505 SodaJoe:

What a trip through old Injun country.

• 517.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#511 Jinx: It’s probably a good thing that my hoss is a Range Rover …

I am struggling to come to grip with Currie Cup. What’s the level of interest in SA?

• 518.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

What’s going on with Keo lately……… as dead as a dodo at night…

• 519.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#512 SodaJoe:

Is your Range Rover named Crazy Horse? You’d enter North Dakota with some respect. ;-)

• 520.gunther: Reply to this comment

#512 SodaJoe:

not a tow truck?

• 521.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#513 grootblousmile:

The cycles of life.

What can I say. People need a break I guess. I hardly come on to the blog at night. Sometimes just a quick raid and then gone.

• 522.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#512 SodaJoe:

I watched WP last week but the CC is a little bit weak now that the big guns are not there. But one has to choose your Sat experience carefully. Too much rugby can make you mal. NZ vs Oz will be interesting this weekend as will WP vs Bulls.

• 523.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#514 Jinx: #515 gunther: I have a Crazy Woman (must be to marry me). No Crazy Horse. (Although I did go to the monument).

I went to Deadwood and got dronk on cheap whisky. Does that count for respect? (Hopefully all of you have watched one of the greatest TV series ever)

Howzit Gunther.

• 524.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#513 grootblousmile: Kind of nice not to have a war zone though.

• 525.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Climb into my machine so we can cruise on out
    I know a swingin’ little joint where we can jump and shout
    It’s not too far back off the highway, not so long a ride
    You park your car out in the open, you can walk inside
    A little cutie takes your hat and you can thank her, ma’am
    Every time you make the scene you find the joint is jammed

Oh Carol, don’t let him steal your heart away
    I’m gonna learn to dance if it takes me all night and day

• 526.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#517 Jinx: I am struggling with All Blacks vs Australia.

I think Deans is building a formidable unit. But to beat NZ at home is very very hard. Your thoughts? Blues Brother?

• 527.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Is Carol in the house?

• 528.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#521 SodaJoe:

NZ will take OZ on Saturday narrowly.

Its even stevens this year in the Tri Nations but beware of OZ. In say that the Tri nations will be won by a bonus point. It’s tight. Can’t wait.

• 529.cab: Reply to this comment

#505 SodaJoe:
    sounds like a great trip, some pretty country by the sounds of it, one can do a cattle drive through montana which i’ve always fancied.

• 530.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#518 SodaJoe:

Bless you for going to the Crazy Horse memorial.

I see we have a Kiwi called Wakanathan on Keo. Interesting as the word Wakan in Lakota Sioux means “Holy”.

Wakan Tanka is the name the Lakota Sioux give to The Creator. It means, “The Big Holy”

• 531.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#524 cab: Howzit boet. I think you would like it. Not sure about a cattle drive, I don’t really like horses myself (I’m a bit bangat of horses).

The space and light is beautiful. You miss a lot when you fly – almost 3/4 of America at least is my guess.

How’s life?

• 532.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

How about this for being out of touch:
    ‘I would also like to see the Boks make greater use of the drop goal as a source of keeping the scoreboard ticking.

This is supposedly coming from somebody that is knowledgeable about the modern game… and who gets paid as a supposed expert.. I think he should thank aprtheid for giving the opportunity to become a sportswriter…he would have been a big fkall otherwise…like Simon

• 533.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#523 Jinx: That’s where my head is at too.

Crazy Horse Monument will be giant and dramatic, but Crazy Horse lives in the mountains, rivers and trees. Much bigger than the monument.

7 Circles of Life boet. Do it for the Seventh Generation.

• 534.cab: Reply to this comment

#526 SodaJoe:
    yeah, but you got to get on a horse if you wanna do the cowboy thing, cowboys dont cry, come on how hard can it be?

Yes some of those states you drove through sound very pretty, you will also have to drive to new england in the ‘fall’ as they call it.

Huge bladdy country that.

• 535.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#524 cab:

Frank Zappa has a song on the album Overnite Sensation called …Moving to Montana.

Classic song…it goes…” Moving to Montana soon, going to be a dental floss tycoon…”

The late Mr. Zappa was beautifully wacky and could seriously play a geet.

• 536.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#517 Jinx: Ohhhhhhh, so that’s why I’m so dilly… been watching ALL the ruggas I can find…. hehehe

#521 SodaJoe: I’m struggling with NZ vs Ozzmob as well…. although the All Blacks have not fired on all cylinders one can never write them off in NZ.

Will be interesting, for sure.

• 537.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#530 Jinx: Yeah and David Byrne has a cool song called Cowboy Mambo.

I am more of a David Byrne cowboy I think.

But I can see Frank riding a horse backwards.

Best guitarist ever in the Mother’s of Invention was Lowell George (for a short while) who founded Little Feat (and THAT was band fellas).

So who will play flyhalf for the Boks? Methinks Ruan.

• 538.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#531 grootblousmile:

Blacks will be up for it in Auckland.

• 539.cab: Reply to this comment

#530 Jinx:
    hehe … you really do know all the US artists backwards, think some of those you mention could be really good, you live over there a while? I like the sounds of CCR, thats what america feels to me at its free best.

• 540.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#531 grootblousmile: Yup, this is a really really close 3N. We have the players, Aussies have the coach and NZ have the Black jersey.

Flok as someone I know would say.

• 541.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#534 cab: CCR for sure. Springsteen for urban cowboys. This on could run and run.

• 542.grant10: Reply to this comment

#532 SodaJoe: Soda Hi my man….Check out the thread from last nite….Skop and Robzim at there best….i almost choked on my tea,,,,,skop on about NAZI SHARKS…..hilarious stuff….seriously havent laughed so much in years!!!

We need a 3 and to make our mind up about who plays 10 !!

And if f steyn gets injured we in kak boet!

• 543.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#535 SodaJoe: OK… but say you is going to happen at Fortress Roftus on Saturday afternoon ?

Flok !

• 544.cab: Reply to this comment

#532 SodaJoe:
    Dont start with the guitarists, you’ll get Ou Doos going…

• 545.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

see you all through the window. be well.

• 546.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#532 SodaJoe:

Geez, you know your ****. Impressed. Lowell George played for Uncle Frank for a while. You can hear him on the album WEASELS RIP MY FLESH. That song… “My Guitar wants to kill your mama”. ( Real Zappa title) ;-)

Aaargh and then he started Little Feat. A band from Atlanta. OOOOOOOOOOH they cooked with huuuuuuge gas. Lowell sadly died at 29 years old.

• 547.cab: Reply to this comment

#532 SodaJoe:
    Thought lowell was the oke who spotted canals on mars, mind u me brain is addled in beerjuice.

• 548.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#534 cab:

You have integrity and the willingness to endure my boetie. John Fogerty of CCR was the king of simplicity. He came from Oklahoma.

• 549.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#539 cab:

Hey, who is Ou Doos? I’m just a tree with a leathery heart? ;-)

• 550.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#538 grootblousmile:

It’s a WEEPEE ding. That’s the way that it goes. Just a feeling from this “neutral”. hahahahahahaaa!

• 551.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#540 SodaJoe:

Cheers Soda.

• 552.cab: Reply to this comment

#543 Jinx:
    lol, thank you jinx. Simplicity is the way too go.
    So what are your feelings on Bob Dylan?
    Overrated or the Musical Poet of our time.

lol, no ou doos knows who he is, he coigned the phrase, can you not remember it… something along of those F&%^* dinosaurs are playing ‘ou doos’ rugby again…ring any bells?

• 553.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#545 Jinx: Hey Jinxie, I’ve got to go hurt a mattress…

Cheers boetie, Gooooooooooooooi Hooooooooooooooooops

Go Bulls !

• 554.cab: Reply to this comment

#540 SodaJoe:
    later Joe and Jinx. another time.

• 555.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#547 cab:

Now that you mention it. (Scratching my head with my left hand and gazing heavenwards with a wry smile) :mrgreen:

• 556.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#547 cab:

He is/was huge. I have most of his CD’s.

• 557.Jinx: Reply to this comment

I’m also going to make like Levi’s and fade…

Goodnight all. Keep the faith…

• 558.carol: Reply to this comment

Am I too late??

• 559.carol: Reply to this comment

#522 Jinx: Hi Jinx, I hit the house just too late…
    Hey it was my Birthday today and the lovely Keolings sent me wishes, e cards and Keo wishes, very cool….

I have been wined and dined today too…Looks like it is time for bed tho!
    #548 grootblousmile: Cute text broer ***
    #537 grant10: You were right a classic, and I missed it! xx

• 560.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#554 carol:

Carol, my 6th sense said go back to Keo even its just to say happy birthday to a wonderful Cancerian queen. I hope you had a beautiful day and received the all the love and joy you deserve from like minded folk. Funny that I said, “Is Carol in the house?” …

• 561.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#554 carol:

I’m blown away by your Afrikaans. You must have been on the frontier in SA in another lifetime. ;-) Grootblou missed his real vocation. An onderwyser…a teacher. Jou taal is goed. You language is good. Bless ya!

• 562.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Bob Dylan is and was the American Revolution.

Michael Jackson, Jimi Hendrix, Elvis Presley, Frank Zappa, BB King, John Foggerty, Bruce Springsteen, who are they in comparison … only lighties,

Bob Dylan is/was Crazy Horse n Geronimo rolled into one.

• 563.Jinx: Reply to this comment

you = your

• 564.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

whens yr birthday Carol.. today?

• 565.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Happy Birthday lady C.M.

• 566.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

#557 skopskiet:

crunt
    crazy horse
    was with
    neil young

• 567.carol: Reply to this comment

#555 Jinx: Opps Jinx, I have been having a quick You tube Nickleback – ‘You Remind Me’ moment…. thanks for your greetings,very kind.Jy is baaie oulik !! ;-)
    #556 Jinx: Mooie man, ek is nou moeg, ek gaan nou inkrup. GBS, Afrikaans broer helps me to geniet dit!!

• 568.carol: Reply to this comment

#559 skopskiet: Hi Skop, yes I have decided to be 35 today!!I have had a ‘lekker dag’ too!!

• 569.carol: Reply to this comment

#557 skopskiet: Robzim did try to help me appreciate Dylan, I decided his lyrics were poetry but his voice was like nails down a black board to me!!
    Back to Nickleback!!

• 570.carol: Reply to this comment

#561 Porra the Fat Speedster:
    I
    have
    a
    crazy
    horse
    not
    called
    Neil
    tho!

• 571.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#562 carol:

Carol, I’m back…yeah, I’m Nickelback ;-)

I’m sure you like this one you Dark Horse ;-)

Nickelback

If Today Was Your Last Day

My best friend gave me the best advice
    He said each day’s a gift and not a given right
    Leave no stone unturned, leave your fears behind
    And try to take the path less travelled by
    That first step you take is the longest stride

If today was your last day and tomorrow was too late
    Could you say goodbye to yesterday?
    Would you live each moment like your last
    Leave old pictures in the past?
    Donate every dime you had, if today was your last day?
    What if, what if, if today was your last day?

Against the grain should be a way of life
    What’s worth the price is always worth the fight
    Every second counts ’cause there’s no second try
    So live like you’re never living twice
    Don’t take the free ride in your own life

Would you live each moment like your last?
    Donate every dime you had?

And would you call those friends you never see?
    Reminisce old memories?
    Would you forgive your enemies?
    And would you find that one you’re dreaming of?
    Swear up and down to God above
    That you’d finally fall in love if today was your last day?

If today was your last day
    Would you make your mark by mending a broken heart?
    You know it’s never too late to shoot for the stars
    Regardless of who you are

So do whatever it takes
    ‘Cause you can’t rewind a moment in this life
    Let nothing stand in your way
    ‘Cause the hands of time are never on your side

Would you live each moment like your last?
    Donate every dime you had?

And would you call those friends you never see?
    Reminisce old memories?
    Would you forgive your enemies?
    And would you find that one you’re dreaming of
    Swear up and down to God above
    That you’d finally fall in love if today was your last day?

• 572.Jinx: Reply to this comment

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…I’m gone!

• 573.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

#565 carol:

i’m too
    old
    and too
    fat
    to get on
    a crazy horse
    nowadays
    those were
    the days
    get
    the album
    rust
    never sleeps
    by
    neil young
    and
    crazy horse
    best
    folk rock
    album
    ever

• 574.brendon: Reply to this comment

Evening all.

Jis, just now getting over my rugby hangover from the Lions. Seeing the sharks handed a spanking didn’t help.

So, it’s Tri-Nations time again. Damn, how time flies…

I reckon the Bok team looks good, not too many “???” selections.

• 575.carol: Reply to this comment

#566 Jinx: Now THAT is a song….have had a listen too!! Thanks for that one!

#568 Porra the Fat Speedster: Hey another new one to try, cheers.
    As for the horse, an outmoded form of transport anyway!! ;-)

I really am out now too….. Mwahhhhhh Boys ***

• 576.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#29 Optimus Prime: Actually No, John did not directly say that he was not coaching the team. The only clear statement that he did make was that PdV was worse than Jake technically, but better at other stuff. He did not elaborate on what other stuff- perhaps at the down-downs after the game? Perhaps at being a great shoulder to cry on when they get nilled at Newlands? To ba fair to Pdv, man management is a big part of the game, and perhaps he is really good at that. That means he will be very useful when our players are feeling depressed and kind of lonely after having been outplayed at home by Australia by superior technical coaching…

• 577.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#505 SodaJoe: pretty cool sodajoe, have you ever been to the South-West?

• 578.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#480 Big Hit:

you talk complete complete and utter sh*t.

Woodcock is renown for his scrummaging. Andrew Blades talked him down prior to the Bledisloe last year. Woodcock completely nailed his opposite and was completely destructive throughout the TriN.
    #482 cab:

Bakkies the Christian ? yeah, George Bush is a christian too.

Hypocrites the both of em.

#492 Jinx:

find yourself some coverage of the 1976 tour one day. You’d be embarrassed to ever use the word ‘cheat’ again.

#495 cab:

Norling was not a shocker. 1stly, he was neutral, which was more than anything the Blacks had in SA. 2ndly, he played 7mins of injury time after Hewies penalty kick. Something that seems to escape this persecution complex of yours. Boks simply werent good enough to use that time to score. Fact, I was there.

#525 Jinx:

You dont know me. I was never given a Visa to tour your country….

#541 Jinx:

Hey, love Little Feat. Saw him in NYC, 1996.

• 579.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#573 WakaNathan: let’s see how he destroys Smit in the 3N then shall we

• 580.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#574 Big Hit:

Who said anything about Woody ‘destroying’ Smit ? Notwithstanding that, to mark someone recognised as 1 of if not the best in his position is to see whether youre up to it.

Youre just completely biased, so credibility is zero.

• 581.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#575 WakaNathan: he’s not no.1 in anyone’s eye (note the singular) except NZers. Roncero, Sheridan, Jenkins, Beast are all equally as good if not better players. As I said, if he’s that great a scrummager he should be able to get the better of Smit, a relative test novice at 3, now let’s see if he does.

• 582.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#198 Transformation: Nope that is pretty standard talk for any SA coach. Same same for jake. IF PdV wins the next series he can stay otherwise off with his head. Luckily Jake managed to stay winning enough or losing by close enough margins to keep his 4 year plan intact. But it was touch and go for a while. Pdv losing last year was not acceptable regardless of his colour. Bok coaches losing never are. However, goodwill was given for him being a new coach.

Losing this year’s 3N will not be acceptable unless there is a reasoning behind rebuilding/keeping players out for RWC, etc. There are no reasons now. If he loses I will be calling for his head like I was calling for Jakes whead when he lost the 3N in 2006 by shameful margins. Because nothing causes a Bok coach to regain his mental senses in sharp contrast than when everybody is calling for his head.

Jake got overconfident with his first two year’s success, and started pushing for cash and guarantees from SARU, without putting money where his mouth was. One 2004 3N does not a successful Bok coach make. He did not take into account what his brinkmanship would do to his players mentality, and when they showed him with the 49-0 loss, and we all wanted him gone, it sat him back on his *** quickly…

NO MAN is bigger than the game (UNLESS HE IS WINNING!).
    Ditto to PdV.

• 583.cooky: Reply to this comment

I have a question that is completely off topic, since this is the most popular recent article this place is as good as any to ask it; and I am trying to win a bet, so anything goes :)

In the mid-1990′s a South African TV Rugby commentator got into a fair bit of trouble for using the term “coconut tackle” to describe a particularly heavy, and possibly high, tackle executed by a player of Pacific Island origin. He was tagged as a racist, but offered the excuse that he was referring to a “coconut” as in “a coconut shy at a fairground”

This is what I believe:

Commentator: Andy Capostagno
    Match: Natal v Western Samoa in the Super 10, 1994
    Tackler: Brian Lima (a.k.a. The Chiropractor)

Is any or all of this correct?
    Who was the Natal player (maybe a Fullback with long hair??)

I have tried Googling this, but the only result I could find was a post I made myself on a Samoan Rugby Blog, and the accuracy of that post has been challenged by a friend of mine.

• 584.bok_bal: Reply to this comment

#456 sparticus: They way I see it, is that the boks need to have structure, and we need to hurt them in the contact phases of the game. When we have softened them up and the game starts opening up we must then put them away, by playing total attacking rugby(driving maul, running, etc). We have always been content with defending our lead and allowing the opposition to get back into the game. You can’t however start with the PDV style game plan. It will be suicide. Maybe we can finish with it, when we happen to be in the lead at the end of the game.

• 585.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#578 cooky:
    I believe the Natal player was Cabous van der Westhuizen, wing.
    Lima also almost took off another Van der Westhuizen’s (Joost) in the WC ’95, an the term ‘coconut tackle’ was used frequenly then as well.
    Don’t know the origin though, possibly because they grow coconuts on the islands high up in the trees, and a high tackle was therefore called a ‘coconut tackle’.
    I didn’t at that time regard it as a racial slur (and still don’t know if it is.)
    Is it ok use that terminology, in your opinion?

• 586.cooky: Reply to this comment

Cabous van der Westhuizen. He played on the left wing didn’t he? Did he have long shoulder length hair?

OK so you think I have the commentator, the match and the player right?

• 587.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#581 cooky: Cabous yes, for sure, left wing, shoulder length blondish hair. check YouTube, you might find hin still, or google his name.
    commentator, I am not sure, I think Andy came on air after WC 1995.
    One will have to check some 1995 WC games, eg. ManuSamoa vs Springboks, to see if he was there.
    I will try.

• 588.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#581 cooky: #582 Pietman:
    I checked 1995 WC commentators, no Andy.
    only Gavin Cowley, hugh bladen and John Robbie, as far as can make out from their voices.
    So, I doubt if Andy was there in ’94 already.
    He started commentating round about ’97, thereabouts, my guess.

• 589.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#576 Big Hit:

zero

• 590.stew: Reply to this comment

#576 Big Hit: Got to disagree – Woodcock is undoubtedly the best No1 , not only in scrummaging but also in his loose play …. I think in recent games the AB front row has suffered because of the loss of Carl Hayman at tight head , but Woodcock would be an asset to any team

• 591.Dunx: Reply to this comment

this is so worth the read and i do pray that PdV does stick to our strengths

• 592.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#585 stew:

trading in Hayman for Tialata is like leaving a Ferrari in the garage and taking the Massey Ferguson out instead.

Woodcock has had a quiet S14 year but suffered various injuries incl being hospitalised for an ear-infection that went crazy.

#576 Big Hit:

perhaps you’d like to flick back a few Keo pages…… Keo (amongst others) listed his 2008 World XV with Woodcock at LH prop. There didnt seem to be any protests from the Safas who know a good prop when they see one.

zero !

• 593.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#589 WakaNathan: its 2009.

gametime.

• 594.WakaNathan: Reply to this comment

#588 rangerman:

I agree. Props tend to get better with age tho and Woody is only 28. Prime time.

for interest and comparisons sake, here was Keos World XV 2008. Some hefty changes there already. The Bogan at no9 ? youd be hard pressed to find even 1 Kiwi who agreed with that.

Keo’s 2008 form World XV: Mils Miliaina (NZ), JP Pietersen (SA), Stirling Mortlock (Aus), Jean de Villiers (SA), Shane Williams (Wales), Matt Giteau (Aus), Jimmy Cowan (NZ), Andy Powell (Wales), Richie McCaw (NZ), Schalk Burger (SA), Ali Williams (NZ), Bakkies Botha (SA), Phil Vickery (Eng), Andrew Hore (NZ) and Tony Woodcock (NZ).

• 595.cab: Reply to this comment

#573 WakaNathan:

neutral my arse, someone had offered him a farm full of sheep in auckland.

#576 Big Hit:

Quite correct.

• 596.dr dre: Reply to this comment

#353 Optimus Prime: You, are a proper prick with a dark chip on your shoulder.

Keep it strictly to rugby you twat.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.