Crockett, Gear omitted for SA sojourn

Graham Henry has dropped loosehead Wyatt Crockett and wing Hosea Gear for the All Blacks’ two-match tour of South Africa.

Henry admitted it was his intention to take all 30 members of his Tri-Nations squad to South Africa, but he was forced to leave two men behind.

Only 28 members of the 30-man squad were allowed to travel for the two matches against the world champions and the requirement to leave Crockett and Gear behind annoyed coach Graham Henry.

‘I don’t understand the rules,’ Henry said. ‘It’s something to do with money I guess. We are frustrated we can only take 28.’

Tamati Ellison replaces the injured Isaia Toeava, whose foot fracture has ruled him out until late August.

The All Blacks face the Springboks in Bloemfontein next Saturday.

New Zealand – Mils Muliaina, Joe Rokocoko, Sitiveni Sivivatu, Cory Jane, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Luke McAlister, Tamati Ellison, Stephen Donald, Jimmy Cowan, Brendon Leonard, Piri Weepu, Rodney So’oialo, Kieran Read, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw (c), Tanerau Latimer, Jason Eaton, Bryn Evans, Isaac Ross, Brad Thorn, Neemia Tialata, Tony Woodcock, Owen Franks, John Afoa, Keven Mealamu, Andrew Hore, Aled de Malmanche.