Kavaliers wield the axe

The Boland Kavaliers have made seven changes for their Currie Cup match against Griquas in Kimberley on Saturday.

Coach Deon Davids hopes this will be a wake-up call for certain players who need to up their games after a disappointing loss to the Sharks last weekend.

Captain Conrad Burke and flank Zolani Mofu have been relegated to the bench, with Clemen Lewis and Angelo Brinkhuys promoted to the starting line-up.

‘Zolani and Conrad haven’t been playing their best rugby. I have spoken to them and they know they need to improve,’ Davids told keo.co.za. ‘On the other hand, Clemen and Angelo were unlucky to be on the bench [for the first two games]. They did very well in pre-season and deserve this opportunity.’

The Kavaliers have also implemented a rotation policy to give certain players a break, after a long Vodacom Cup campaign and several warm-up matches. This sees Mark Harris, who played wing last week, start at fullback in place of Boland stalwart Justin Peach.

‘Mark played well against the Sharks, so we want to see what he can do at No 15,’ said Davids. ‘He has a similar game to Justin, as he is a good goal and tactical kicker, solid under the high ball and a lethal counter attacker.’

Other rotation selections include Alvin Hugo at left wing ahead of Sogidashe Lovu, Grant le Roux swapping places with Frikkie Spies (who will be on the bench) and Carel Hoffman in for Alwyn Bester at No 8.

Outside centre Cornal Hendricks returns from injury, which sees Deon Scholtz return to wing.

Star player Dewey Swartbooi will captain the side in the absence of Burke.

‘Dewey is an experienced campaigner and the players look up to him, so I think he will do a very good job leading the team,’ said Davids.

Boland Kavaliers – 15 Mark Harris, 14 Deon Scholtz, 13 Cornal Hendricks, 12 Dewey Swartbooi, 11 Alvin Hugo, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Marnus Hugo, 8 Carel Hoffman, 7 Wendall Wehr, 6 Angelo Brinkhuys, 5 Rito Hlungwane. 4 Grant le Roux, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Clemen Lewis, 1 Janro Van Niekerk
Subs: 16 Conrad Burke, 17 Jane du Toit, 18 Frikkie Spies, 19 Nico Esterhuyse, 20 Zolani Mofu, 21 Hein Myburgh, 22 Justin Peach

By Gareth Duncan