IRB set date for Saru showdown
23 Jul 2009
The International Rugby Board has scheduled the South African Rugby Union’s misconduct hearing for 10 August in Dublin.
The hearing relates to the Springboks’ decision to protest against the suspension of Bakkies Botha in the third Test of the British & Irish Lions series.
A disciplinary committee determined that the Springboks lock was guilty of a dangerous charge on Lions prop Adam Jones in the second Test and suspended him for two matches.
The Springboks appealed the decision, only for it to be upheld. They then protested by wearing white armbands in the third Test with ‘Justice 4 Bakkies’ written on them.
The IRB deemed that was a breach of conduct and decided to take action against Saru.
Honourable Justice John Hansen (New Zealand) will chair the hearing and be aided by Judge Guillermo Tragant (Argentina) and former Australia captain John Eales.

99 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
23 Jul 2009, 14:36 pm
#45 WakaNathan:
maybe i should ask my kiwi mates why they live in south africa?
23 Jul 2009, 14:40 pm
#45 WakaNathan:
I think Bokfanny is a North Shore Okkie as well Waka. They are everywhere…..they are like God.
#39 cane:
I doubt it …. you talk a big game…. but then again you sit behind a keyboard….
#49 charo:
Maybe you should address that question to Bokfan1. He has all those answers.
23 Jul 2009, 14:41 pm
#49 cane:
Oh good – obviously I hit a nerve there
23 Jul 2009, 14:44 pm
Hey Wakanathan …did you go to school???You can`t spell…would hate to her you talk.Must be from some island!!
23 Jul 2009, 14:45 pm
#48 Meh:
Logical arguments don’t work with him, he’s not clever enough to understand. He just wants something to fight about from the safety of his little garden shed, it makes him feel important
23 Jul 2009, 14:45 pm
#50 cane:
I understand the Safas have petitoned to rename local towns as ‘Stellencote’, ‘Milford Bosch’ and ‘Devonport Elizabeth’.
23 Jul 2009, 14:47 pm
#54 Pienkdas de Villiers:
Thanks for the spelling lesson. When you say ‘her’, is it pronounced like ‘heir’ as in heir Commandant ?
23 Jul 2009, 14:47 pm
#52 gunther:
Just like the rest of us Gunny.
That’s why I said maybe.
23 Jul 2009, 14:48 pm
#45 WakaNathan: I will repeat… no matter where he lives he does not conduct himself in the shameful way you do.
I have no problem with anyone living out of their native country. My theory about your over-the-top behaviour was in reply to Whatever wondering why you act like such a ****.
It wasnt personal against you – just an explanation of why people go overboard when they live outside of their own country.
It makes you feel part of the gang, and that you are “sticking up” for you country and team.
But it is embarrassing to carry on the way you do on a Saffa site. No one here cares what you say. I say this for you own good.
23 Jul 2009, 14:49 pm
#57 WakaNathan:
No they didn’t. Why are you making up nonsense?
23 Jul 2009, 14:51 pm
#54 rich1:
It wasn’t that bad actually Richie Rich. Not something I wouldn’t say over a beer or two…..
23 Jul 2009, 14:53 pm
#50 cane: Cane, probably the only Kiwi I can stand to read and occasionally has funny, insightful posts here, I can ASSURE you mate I do not live in NZ! Hahahaha, no way.
Said to see you getting so personal too – the “bokfanny” thing is ridiculous.
And this “Look in the mirror Oke Dokkies.
See the person you so despise, firsthand….close up and personal.”
While being very poetic, is equally ridiculous. I repeat, for clarity – the problem is not being an ex-pat I have been an ex-pat, am currently an ex-pat (though not forever), the problem comes in with that ex-pat’s behaviour. I dont know why you guys keep avoiding that point and resorting to insults?
#52 WakaNathan: Im glad to see you defer to the superior when you recognise one
23 Jul 2009, 14:54 pm
#57 WakaNathan: Wow, first a Stalin joke and now an anti-German joke (is it a reference to N@zis?). You are so subtle and witty
23 Jul 2009, 14:56 pm
#60 bokfan1:
“Acting like a ****…….”
Go to the mirror Boy……………Go to the mirror.
23 Jul 2009, 14:57 pm
#59 bokfan1:
If you dont care what I say, why do you insist on replying with lengthy diatribes to every entry I make ?
Just ignore me BokFan1. I know its hard. Just try a wee bit harder.
23 Jul 2009, 14:59 pm
#60 rich1:
tears cascading down my cheeks
and my face.
everywhere
watch out, its a tsunami !
23 Jul 2009, 15:03 pm
#67 WakaNathan:
Is that the best you can do? I know comedy is not your thing, you’re more of a natural at petty insults, but you got to at least try a little harder
23 Jul 2009, 15:04 pm
#65 WakaNathan: I do ignore you for ages, but soemtimes you have to be set straight.
#64 cane: In this exchange I am definitely not the one acting like the idiot. Wanka is so distraught over why we are discussing his moronic posts, so Im teling him.
As usual the NZ mafia rushes in, yet Wanka makes crude (and not funny) jokes about “girlfriends”… bless.
If you had a Saffa posting things like “JUSTICE !
JUSTICE I say !!!
JUSTICE 4 ALL WHINGERS MOANERS AND BLEATERS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
and “bl e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e eat
m o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o oan
whi i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i innnnnnnnnnnge”
How would you guys feel? Its ridiculous!
Cane I thought of you as someone objective and with some backbone, you cannot condone this kind of posting – which breaks all rules of “internet ettiquette”?
23 Jul 2009, 15:10 pm
#63 bokfan1:
“Cane, probably the only Kiwi I can stand to read “…
Waka is a 5 times better and more informative poster than I will ever be.
Unfortunately you have closed your mind to debate and attack him at every opportunity.
I am among the most insidious. To use my name in the same sentence as Waka’s is a crime against all that is reasoned and just.
23 Jul 2009, 15:11 pm
#69 cane: riiiiight
23 Jul 2009, 15:12 pm
#69 cane: PS, I meant to write “If you had a Saffa posting things like this on Silverfern”…
Its admirable that you stick up for your countrymen
23 Jul 2009, 15:14 pm
Pot and kettle springs to mind, really.
23 Jul 2009, 15:14 pm
#69 bokfan1:
Go to the mirror…..pause……..look at what looks back at you.
You may not like it………but it’s a Saffa version of Waka.
Hey …..you could be Soul brothers!
23 Jul 2009, 15:15 pm
To be quite honest how come can’t we have a decent rugby debate? Rather than a slagging match about where you from and how cool you can reply.
I would hate to come from the country who has the most consistant record of being chokers and always have rules tailor made for them
When NZ can actually win a rugby world cup away from home then I guess we can ahev a decent debate.
Boerewors and Chutney dude!
23 Jul 2009, 15:16 pm
#72 bokfan1:
Give me Keo anyday over Silverfern.
I only looked once.
23 Jul 2009, 15:19 pm
#75 StormingSA:
Good post………..up until “Rather than a slagging match”….
From then on, you were just like the rest of us…
23 Jul 2009, 15:21 pm
#75 cane: Hahahahaha
23 Jul 2009, 15:22 pm
#74 StormingSA:
and when its not a Mickey Mouse Cup, we’ll let Pluto off his leash.
Puha and Pakeha cuzzy bro !
23 Jul 2009, 15:24 pm
#69 bokfan1:
“As usual the NZ mafia rushes in,”.
You mean All two (2) of us.
Make that three (3) sorry, I forgot about Hurricane.
#73 cane: Bulsh1t mate – I dont :
- visit NZ sites
- Slag off the ABs on a NZ site
- Pick fights with everyone
- Post in capital letters
- Post insults and lines like “whiiiiiiinge” with no provocation.
Need any more examples?
This thread has nothing to do with him. It was a discussion between Saffas about our team’s meeting with IRB. No need for Wanka to post nonsense like that – designed only to wind things up.
Im so sick of this conversation, and of Wanka. But I take serious exception to you comparing me with him
Dude you need more the pluto you actually need some talent. Take heed of the English they have done well with our ex pats!
Oh I see how it Works…..Cane is the judge..and we all have to be cool like him………
baaaaa baaaa
#74 StormingSA: That was brilliant. You are wondering why reasonable debates so often become just a slagging fest and right on the spot starting to throw the stones.
it looks like saying
“Unlike you, I am very polite and I am prepared to conduct a polite and tactful conversation, you ******* son-of-a-bith”.
As I say, pot and kettle.
23 Jul 2009, 15:26 pm
Make that 4…………..Sorry Nils.
I was trying to minimise.
23 Jul 2009, 15:29 pm
The only thing Mickey Mouse is you dude………..why the NZ’s such bad loosers?
I guess it called feeling inferior………shame dude you can get help for that sort of complex
23 Jul 2009, 15:29 pm
#83 cane: I am not a Kiwi, but I feel honoured anyway.
23 Jul 2009, 15:32 pm
Oh nice………is that best you can do………I see a lot of rugby at that conversation.
Nils rather go somewhere where they can understand you?
Obviously nothing decent in that sunny island of yours?
Can understand why you so depressed!
23 Jul 2009, 15:37 pm
#82 StormingSA:
“Cane cool…………….”
I can assure you Stormtrooper…..I am as uncool as you can get.
Cane Cool………….That is a new one.
LOL.
In fact I’m gunna change my name in your honour.
23 Jul 2009, 15:39 pm
#82 Nils:
23 Jul 2009, 15:39 pm
#86 Nils:
Sorry Nils,
Just that your opinions are sound and reasoned.
lol.
23 Jul 2009, 15:43 pm
I so agree mate…………so very cool.
only if there were more like you hey!
Pitty it was said from yourself to yourself!
In my honour it is!
23 Jul 2009, 15:47 pm
#89 cane: It’s ok as we are kinda brothers in arms anyway – albeit with no need to wage war.
It may sound reasoned for you (and vice versa), but certainly not for those folks who happily dish out but can’t take without resorting to insults.
23 Jul 2009, 15:55 pm
#91 StormingSA:
I just tried to change my Nick to “Cool Cane”.
LOL.
But hey, I find that it is no longer possible to change.
And I like that.
We are now, what we are, it seems,……….no more shadows.
23 Jul 2009, 15:58 pm
good one lol
23 Jul 2009, 20:58 pm
Screw the decent rugby debate, we have a few wakkos spewing their anti everything SA venom and we must take it??. Stuff that. Wakka wakka “the ***** slapper” as he called himself once is a doooos. It does not matter where you live, he is still a doos!! Obviously some Saffa shaged his chick in London and now he is all bitter. W a nk er! (probably why his chick needed a good shag anyway?)
24 Jul 2009, 00:53 am
#3 King Shark: Lets put it into perspective. Bakkies got banned the same amount of time for clearing a ruck (in the same way as dozens of clearings before him by both sides), that Brad Thorn got for;
- upending the opposing teams captain
- in a dangerous tackle
- AFTER THE WHISTLE,
- resulting in injury and
- putting him out of the 3N for the season.
Pretty much says it all, doesn’t it?
#6 WakaNathan: Thats quite funny coming from a Kiwi who’s nation is still bleating about a ref based on a single forward pass….
#11 gunther: Yes, expect the Australasian syndicates to ban the entire Bok team for the first 3N game on the eve of the game. Sounds about in line with their previous rulings. By God I hope that SARu has teh balls to stand behind their team and tell the IRB to get fucked if they even so much as think about any kind of punishment… threaten to pull out of the series completely. Like the Indian criket board. It is only when the Cheating Australaisians are confronted in their “adminsitrative cheating” that they back down like the school bully’s that they are.
#26 WakaNathan:
“It was illegal, it was dangerous” – It was like every other cleanout that game, and every professional game for the last 10 years. NOW all of a sudden, it is worthy of a banning.
I tell you what, we will cite the ENTIRE AB team after this coming game on the basis that they cleared EXACTLY LIKE BAKKIES DID. Then we will see bleaaaaaating…
PS get off the drink so early in the morning..
#39 cane: The point is that Bakkies’s past is not to be considered when looking at an isolated incident. Each incident on its own. Otherwise we will have NZ and Aussies judges judging Bakkies past play which typically involves some sort of historic loss for their team and will always try and sink him.
24 Jul 2009, 09:11 am
#94 whatever:
classy guy.
If ever I have a day when Im feeling a little low, I just read an entry by Whatever and immediately feel better about myself.
24 Jul 2009, 09:16 am
#73 cane:
oh
um
‘thanks’ ?!
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All