Strauss latest Cheetahs’ skipper

The Cheetahs have selected hooker Adriaan Strauss as captain for their clash with the Bulls in Bloemfontein on Friday.

Strauss becomes the Cheetahs’ fourth captain this season after Hendro Scholtz was ruled out with an elbow injury he picked up in the loss to the Sharks last week.

Flank Johan Wessels comes in for Scholtz, while former Bulls No 9 JP Joubert earns his first start for the Cheetahs.

Wian du Preez is battling with a back injury and has been bracketed with Coenie Oosthuizen.

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Danwel Demas, 13 Corné Uys, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 JP Joubert, 8 Francois Uys, 7 Johan Wessels, 6 Frans Viljoen, 5 David de Villiers, 4 Nico Breedt, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Wian du Preez/Coenie Oosthuizen Subs: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen/Jean Botha, 18 Izak van der Westhuizen, 19 Kabamba Floors, 20 Tertius Carse, 21 Louis Strydom, 22 JW Jonker.