Waugh the only casualty

Phil Waugh is the only player dropped from Australia’s 22 for the Test against the Springboks at Newlands.

Although the official announcement only takes place at 13:30 on Thursday afternoon – which will be coach Robbie Deans’s first media appearance since arriving in the country – Reuters reports that Waugh is the only casualty.

Deans has opted for three fetchers on his bench for large periods of the international season, but for Saturday he’s gone with just David Pocock covering George Smith. Winger Peter Hynes is added to the bench in Waugh’s place, as the Wallabies revert to a more conventional 4-3 bench split.

In their opening Tri-Nations encounter against the All Blacks James O’Connor was the only individual capable of playing in the outside backs and the 19-year-old had a nightmare.

Australia – 15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Stirling Mortlock (c), 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Matt Giteau, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 George Smith, 6 Richard Brown, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 James Horwill, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 David Pocock, 20 Will Genia, 21 Peter Hynes, 22 James O’Connor.