Narrow wins for Tygerberg, Outeniqua

Tygerberg caused the upset of the schools season when they won 15-14 at Bishops, while Outeniqua beat derby opponents Outdshoorn 16 -10.

A 45m drop goal by Tygerberg flyhalf Andre Claasen in the 70th minute sealed Bishops’ fate.

However, the game was marred by controversy, as the visitors’ first try in the fourth minute from winger Neil Bruwer should have been disallowed, as he put a foot in touch. However, a Tygerberg coach convinced both the linesman and referee, David Steven, that the try was legitimate.

Steven, a British referee, had a nightmare afternoon. The schoolboy rugby interpretations in the UK are clearly different to those in South Africa as his decisions at the breakdown left many bemused at times. He also played a ridiculous 10 minutes overtime and had to be escorted off the field after the match to avoid visiting spectators.

However, take nothing away from the gallant Tygerberg side. The loose trio of Jody Reyneke (WP Schools), Corne Hatting and Lurrian Smith were superb. Reyneke had a blinder, pilfering the opposition ball at will and inflicting numerous turnovers at the breakdown. Their tight forwards also played above themselves with WP Schools lock Eben Etzebeth spearheading the work up front.

Leading 7-0 just before the break, nippy scrumhalf Corne Hale darted over in the corner to give the visitors a 12-0 lead at the interval.

Bishops coach Dave Mallett had some stern words for his side and in the second half they looked more composed and dangerous. The home side got on the board shortly after the break when centre Mike Muller collected a neat grubber and dotted down, and then again in the 67th minute when centre Nathan Nell dotted down. Both tries were converted by fullback Paul Cohen.

Bishops lead 14-12 but with time almost up, one thought, they made a mess of the kick-off which resulted in Claasen’s stunning drop goal. Claasen completely outplayed opposite number Sam Lane, with his booming 50m touch finders and tactical appreciation of the game keeping Bishops pinned in their half for long periods of time. It was fitting that the pivot should have the final say.

In the next 10 minutes Bishops had all the possession and threw everything at the visitors, but ultimately tenacious defence kept the home side at bay.

It was Bishops’ second loss on the trot having gone down 22-20 to Drostdy last weekend.

In George, Outeniqua squandered numerous try-scoring opportunities in the first half of their match against Outdshoorn.

Centre Ruan Beukman scored his side’s first try in the 12th minute of the match to go with a penalty by No 8 Franco Geldenhuys. Outdshoorn had four kickable opportunities in the first half that went astray, but eventually flyhalf Pieter Serfontein kicked a penalty to get the visitors on the scoreboard.

Leading 8-3 at the break and with the wind at their backs Outeniqua played most of the rugby in the opposition half and were rewarded with another Geldenhuys penalty as well as a try by replacement wing Reghard Smit, which gave the hosts a 16-3 lead with five minutes to play.

This spurred Outdshoorn into action and a jinxing run by centre Henri Rossouw saw him score a converted try under the uprights to give the hosts an anxious final few minutes.

For the George side, centre Adriaan Fransman produced some sublime handling skills and strong running that often kept the opposition grasping at thin air. For the visitors fullback Nigel Williams produced an accomplished performance from the back.

Other schoolboy games around the Western Cape were cancelled due to bouts of flu that affected more than half of the rugby players in numerous schools.

Weekend results:

Drostdy 36 Schoonspruit 5
Swartland 36 Weston 0
Piketberg 34 Albert Myburgh 0
Hermanus 15 Worcester Gym 19
Bredasdorp 48 Wesbank 10
Hopefield 10 Vreedenburg 3
Langenhoven 33 Robertson 41
Hugenote 10 Boland Landbou 26

Outeniqua 16 Outdshoorn 10
PW Botha 18 Hawston 3
York 29 Pacaltsdorp 22
SAObras 21 Gerrit du Plessis 0
Groot Brak 32 Kairos 0
Hillcrest 7 Emil Weder 3

Western Cape
Bishops 14 Tygerberg 15
Brackenfell 27 DF Malan 5
Stellenberg 24 Monument Park 7
Bellville HTS 5 Bellville High 10
HHH 34 Fairbairn 14
Fish Hoek 33 Elsies River 0
Milnerton 17 Groote Schuur 7
Bernadino Heights 5 Scottsdene 48
Jan Kriel 8 Parow 18
Camps Bay 13 Reddam 12

By Gareth Wright