Giteau off the hook

Matt Giteau has not been cited for his dangerous tackle on Fourie du Preez at Newlands.

The Wallabies flyhalf was yellow carded in the 35th minute after taking out the Bok scrumhalf in the air. New Zealand citing officer David Gray took no further action, which surprised SA Rugby’s manager of referees Andre Watson.

‘It looks bad, but it was Giteau’s arm leading the way,’ Watson told the Cape Times. ‘I don’t think it should be upgraded to a red card. Giteau’s arm was out and he caught Fourie, who got hurt in the incident.

‘But, having said that, I can’t understand why Giteau has not been called in for a disciplinary hearing. Then the judicial officer can look at the evidence and decide what action to take, if any. If Giteau is found not guilty in a hearing, then it’s fine. But he should at least have faced a hearing.’

Meanwhile, Saru will on Monday appear before an IRB disciplinary committee after the Boks wore white ‘Justice 4 Bakkies’ armbands in support of Bakkies Botha in the third Test against the Lions. Saru is expected to be fined heavily.