Fly or die

Fly or die

Is Bryan Habana the catalyst Western Province need for a renaissance, or has he committed career suicide?

The deal is not done yet, with the Bulls still having an opportunity to match or better WP’s reported R3 million offer. Only a fool would bet against Habana sealing the deal.

The Bulls won’t match the offer, and even in the unlikely scenario that they could, the prospect of owning a player who has his heart set on trading the horns for the hoops will deter them.

But just because he won’t stay doesn’t mean he shouldn’t.

The paycheque is one massively appealing factor, but surely can’t have been the decisive one, as he could have tripled his salary with a couple of strategic calls to France, England or (God forbid) Japan. There must have been other considerations, notwithstanding the obvious one of not risking being dropped by Springbok coach Peter de Villiers, a man utterly reluctant to select overseas-based players.

Habana will effectively trade a winning culture for one fuelled by ambition, a team laden with experienced Springboks for one packed with talented 20 somethings, and mild winters for miserable ones.

The freshness of the challenge after five years spent at the Bulls must have held an appeal. There’s no doubt the silver-tongued Rassie Erasmus spread the jam so thickly on Habana’s lips that he virtually signed there and then – despite his assertion to the contrary in a text message to Bulls team-mates where he claims it was the hardest decision of his life.

What was spun to Habana to make him leave the comfort of Loftus and the promise the team held (they’ve secured the signatures of all their key players up until the end of 2011, while WP have lost two in Luke Watson and Jean de Villiers) is unknown, and will remain so until Habana releases his autobiography in a couple of years in which he will detail the negotiation process, which incidentally lasted all of a week.

Perhaps there was a promise of the arrival of some high-profile players, particularly tight forwards? As an aside, heaven knows they could have tempted the Du Plessis brothers, Bismarck and Jannie, said to be on the lookout for a move from the Sharks, with the king’s ransom they’ve offered Habana. It doesn’t take a technical guru to know that without the heavies flicking the launch switch the ballistic missile on the wing is rendered redundant.

Speculation in that regard is futile. What is certain is that the Bulls are not the losers in the final analyses. They have enough quality in Fourie du Preez, Victor Matfield, Pierre Spies, Bakkies Botha and co to soften the blow of Habana’s departure. And it will be a blow. Habana is the consummate professional, well liked and inspirational to his Bulls’ team-mates. There’ll no doubt be a mourning period, but they’ll rebound and be in the mix at the business end of the 2010 Super 14.

WP, conversely, have pinned their hopes of a renaissance on a player who is a shadow of the one he was in his prime between 2005 and 2007. He may yet rediscover that form but, equally, he may prove to be a very costly failure.

I’m from the school of thought that simply can’t justify such an exorbitant sum of money spent on a 26-year-old wing who has won everything there is to win in his career, barring the Currie Cup. Matfield and Du Preez – the pre-eminent players in their positions in the world – are worth R3 million, so are Heinrich Brussow and Bismarck du Plessis as they will only get better. Those are intelligent investments.

In the past two years at the Bulls, Habana’s struggles were somewhat veiled because of the quality the team possessed in other areas of the pitch. If Habana didn’t score Du Preez would, or the forwards would rumble in the irrepressible manner they’ve become renowned for, or Morné Steyn would kick a gazillion points.

There’ll be no such comforting shield afforded or available to Habana at WP. Here’s hoping he can cope and excel with the expectations. They are massive.

139 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Cape Female DJ spoke of “koesiesters” on Heart FM when I was there the other day.

• 102.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

If you can’t see what Rassie is doing, you either know nothing about rugby or have NOT been paying attention…

Fact, when Rassie inherited a WP team filled with guys like Justin Melck and Schalk Ferreira. I mean these guys were regular starters. At the same time the junior teams were not doing so well.

Since he has taken over, the junior teams have improved much, but many of these guys are not yet there, with lack of experience the biggest problem. But everyone must admit that with most of the guys in ALL teams younger than 25 (bar De Waal), and ALL of the teams in the 3 provincial competitions in the top 2, there is no doubt that within the next 2 years WP should have a winning culture and group of players.

Guys like Habana, Jack and Monty really is only there to fill the gap in the time being, as well as adding some experience to the younger guys.

But if the young teams and Universities keep on winning their respective competitions, or end up in the final, that winning culture WILL get carried through with the players.
    C’mon, they have a plan, it’s as clear as daylight, and at least there are no excuses of a “5-year plan” or what the hell ever!

• 103.newera: Reply to this comment

haha such speculation ,some people here say that the sharks buy players …true to a certain extent …who was the last player that the sharks have bought already that had made a name for them selves? monty?jannie maybe, cant remember …the fact is that the sharks have a distinctive style of rugby because it has been coached in them …there are two types of rugby in this country …bulls & sharks rugby ,completely distinctive …remember watching kankowski and bismarc before they where where they where today, not worth a mention …and look at the players putting their hands up atm that the sharks have nutured and pointed in the right direction ,none the less great to see some change in sa rugby …

• 104.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

What are “koesiestis” anyway?

• 105.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Cape Millay.

• 106.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Cape Dudge.

• 107.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

one more thing…

WP is currently second among the 4 fore runners. One of them is the Griqwas who, despite good form this season, mighht just see their wheel coming off towards the end.

If you look at the rest of the season for WP, the Sharks and MAYBE the Cheetahs is their biggest challenges. The Bulls at Newlands will be a different story.

• 108.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#103 newera:

Bismarck du Plessies, Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, Stefan Terblanche…

Beast was also a GOOD player before he came to SA.

Then there was Hernandez, Butch James and Freddie Michalack.

AD Jacobs was a Springbok BEFORE he played for the Sharks.

Then go and look at all the players who was actually schooled in Natal. Deon, Beast, Jannie, Bismarck, Carstens, Sykes, Muller, Deysel, Kockett, Kanko, and then all the other players above are were NOT schooled in Natal.

Do you WANT me to continue.

• 109.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Is it just me or is keo.co.za rather quiet these days?

Is it time for a career change for me?
    Maybe I achieved everything I could here and now time for greener (and golder) pastures?

Now to use a Toks-ism ” now for the million dollar question – what are my options ? ”

I can obviously stay here or perhaps I need to start exploring other opportunities, other offers, different lifestyles?

Will I sign? Will I sms?

• 110.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#108 Greenpoint-Gunner: where was Butch bought from?

• 111.JimT: Reply to this comment

#109 Sheriff: Another potential double agent? :-)

• 112.Puma: Reply to this comment

#13 sharks_lover: Brussow? Now that would be brilliant if we could get him.

#36 justrugby: Yeah, look when I grew up WP was probably the strongest franchise with N.Tvl then. Sad to see WP not up there now. BUT why don’t they get some good youngsters? Not just pick the best Boks playing for another franchise?

Yip, Sharks did get a lot of players from the Free State but most of those players only started playing S14 with the Sharks and became Boks while playing for the Sharks not before. Now WP just want to recruit Bok players everywhere and to steal them from the two best franchise in the country. After those players really got to where they are with the Sharks and Bulls. Nah, don’t agree with it. One thing taking them from a franchise before they have played S14 and another once they have played there and became Boks its a huge difference JR. Anyhow good luck with Habs if you get him. He is a brilliant player. Just hope you don’t get Bissie, Jannie and Fourie. Now that would be greedy hey! :lol:

• 113.vlam: Reply to this comment

I don’t know about Shadow. He is too much in the porcelain mould for me like Nokwe and Chavanga. A sprinter in a rugby team. No mongrel. Scared of rucking and tackling.

I hate wings that only look good on good days. Scoring record amounts of tries when you only have to dive over the line is nothing special. They pretend that having the speed is doing the hard yards. And they just stand around on such days.

But I hope Shadow grows into a Habana.

Hating Habana at the moment for leaving my team! You dont get a bigger traiter than a bull leaving for the skouponies imo.

But I will still regard habana as the best rounded wing i’ve seen in my rugby watching career. He sets the standard in my opinion. Even when “they”( read wp wanting chavanga in his place LOL) said he is out of form scoring tries he never let anyone down on his alround game. He is probably the most involved wing in the world. I cant see this changing. He is not a wing (read skinny high school sprinter catching balls and dotting them down with spanky clean shorts) but a rugby player.

Cheers Habs, I Hate you from this point forward!

• 114.thecentre: Reply to this comment

Don’t come here often but every now and then someone really annoys me.

#108 Greenpoint-Gunner: Did you not read Newera’s comment? Let me repeat it for you “who was the last player that the sharks have bought already that had made a name for them selves? ” And he lists Monty and Jannie.

And who do you throw back at him? Of those you listed only Freddie and Hernandez really fit the description – and the Sharks hardly poached them from other SA franchises. Butch James went to Maritzburg College. I’ll give you Adi but the others were all juniors when they went to Natal.

But if you want to continue go ahead ……

• 115.newera: Reply to this comment

#108 Greenpoint-Gunner: yep im aware that they wenrt schooled in durban but dont you think that they where made at the sharks ??they had to have been …sharks build players to how they should be playing ,to change a wing to a hooker and the hooker becoming incredibley talented …alot of players went to school in durban that are curently in the squad ..michael house had 4 i think in the 22 man on sat …r cronje g cronje lambie and i think ciliers ,then westville bhs has waylon murray burden maritzberg college ,butch went to college barrit kearsney peter grant maritberg college …then alot from dhs ,no doubt there are alota sharks players imported however they have become famous and matured under the sharks dynamics -the sharks set the president for all the other unions to follow since the coming of the proffessional era …in a few years the schools from durbnan are going to start dominating around the country mark my words .gleenwood has begun -imo kearsney college ,westville boys mhouse hilton glenwood and maritsberg college will in 5 to 10 years produce more provincial players than in the last 15 as they all are incredibley wealthy and all have great boarding houses …matter of time

• 116.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The current state of affairs at the WP Union is shambolic where a strong political faction has the say in everything includes selection
    Habana must be aware of this, the quality ball he may or may not receive will have to come from a centre name Newman via Ricky January and De Waal, a daunting prospect indeed for the best wing in the game!

• 117.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#63 katman: Beautifully and accurately put! Big +1

• 118.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#67 bulletjie in slaapstad: I’m talking about “forgetting someone’s contribution” simply because he has gone somewhere else … so parochial … so typical … ponce!!

• 119.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

#88 bulletjie in slaapstad: Vyf inne ry boet … vyf innie ry … top that!

• 120.katman: Reply to this comment

#77 Sheriff: By all accounts it’s a far bigger dump now than it was back then. The only place that had a little soul and a fair bit of edge (Esselen Street in Sunnyside) has become one long strip of pawn shops, micro lenders and fly-by-night internet cafes. The rest of Pretoria is and always will be snor city. But as I said, that culture will appeal to some. Which is why you can’t find parking on a Saturday night in Hatfield, and why “bands” like Eden make a living. Each to his own.

• 121.katman: Reply to this comment

#117 kwaailight: shot.

• 122.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#121 katman:

Katman, remember that many women in Pretoria say that…’n Man sonder ‘n snor is soos kos sonder sout. :mrgreen:

• 123.bitchbum: Reply to this comment

To say i am very happy is an understatement,we lost most of our games on the wing with the Fijian unable to catch a ball, all that’s left now is to trade Watson for another quota player, any player.

• 124.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

52. brains_trust
    Players playing musical money chairs does nothing for
    South African rugby.What is the use having 2 or 3 Super
    Unions?
    Who wants to see depleted Cheetahs and Lions face almost full
    Springbok teams.I’ll tell you who, fans without brains
    who couldn’t care a hood if rugby ceased to exist in some
    rural provinces.
    Just as there is a law against monopoly in the business world,
    S A rugby should wake up from their slumber,place a cap
    on what Unions can spend on player acquisitions,pump more
    money in to rural development.
    What happens at the moment is that there are a lot of
    disillusioned youngster in the minnows,because what good
    does it do to youngsters in the Leopards team to receive
    hiding after hiding,week in week out.
    And don’t come back with ‘it is professional rugby’ crab.
    It is a crying shame that many young players disappear
    because their Unions just don’t have the money to contract
    them.
    South African rugby locally is heading for disaster as in the
    the long run the same old teams will be facing of in the
    final.

• 125.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#35 ufo: Ja boet…the provincialism in SA rugby and amongst South African fans makes me sick! Habana is a legend as you say and is one of the best rugby players in the world! It just goes to show what glory hunters a lot of fans in SA are given how quickly they dismiss him because he’s not scoring tries every match!

The fact of the matter is BH is a heavily marked player these days, just like Sivivatu, as well as a game plan that doesn’t include wingers and a bunch of forwards who never seem to pass the ball when he’s in space. Habana is such a tenacious player that he’s adapted and varied his game to include top class defence, good field positioning, chasing, a safe pair of hands under the high ball as well as looking for work in the park…I jeez I saw Habana cleaning out a ruck against the ABs sending McCaw flying…how many international wingers do you see getting their hands dirty at the breakdown?!

I say good luck to Habana, maybe he’ll spark something for WP. I’m convinced Habana will become a good coach one day because his knowledge of the game and his skill set is top notch, asides from this he seems like a great bloke and I admire the fundraising stuff he gets involved in. He still remains my favourite Bok player but I would be so much happier if he was playing for the SHARKS!!

• 126.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#112 Puma: Ah jassus man I would love it if we could Brussouw that would be AMAAAAAZING!! Now all we need after that is a decent winger although maybe Mvovo is looking to step up. He’s pretty quick and that tackle on BOD was impressive!

• 127.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

RYAN VREDE, you presume that habana will be used in the same position , in which frankly his accelearation is wasted. He is meant to be a 13. Perhaps that is what Rassie told him?

Imagine:

9) Januarie (a fit one)
    10) Peter Grant
    11) Naquelevuki
    12) ??
    13) Habana
    14) Chavangha
    15) Joe Pietersen

+ Gio Aplon?

That is a ridiculously fast backline. All that it needs is for a little bit of parity from the forwards. And some decent backline coaching.

• 128.katman: Reply to this comment

#122 Jinx: Reminds me of a Bernoldus Niemand song.

• 129.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Replace Naquelevuki with Koster. The you are on the right track

• 130.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#110 Big Hit:

WAIT, my bad, I was thinking about when he moved from Euro to the Sharks. Forget that he was at the sharks before that.

• 131.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#127 SjamBok:

That is one of the worst ideas for a WP backline I’ve seen in a while.

Nagalavuki is USELESS.
    Ricky is almost more over the hill than Bolla (unless he regains his fitness soon.)

Juan de Joghn is an amazing player, so Im not so sure you want to replace him with someone else when you can use that OTHER person more wisely somewhere else.

Duvenhage is WP’s best 9 right now, so leave him.

Koster needs to become an 8 man again and soon, since Luke is leaving.

JJ Engelbrecht has to be the backup for Habana on left wing.

And WHY would Jabana want to play 13 when he knows that that might as well exclude him from the Bok camp with Mossie and AD around???

The backline will probably be

Duvenhage
    De Waal/Grant
    Habana/Engelbrecht
    Grant/Newman
    De Joghn
    Chavanga
    Joe Peterson.

• 132.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#127 SjamBok: De Waal is key man.

• 133.chch: Reply to this comment

Being a wing for the Bulls must be like being a fighter pilot for the New Zealand airforce.

• 134.Predawn: Reply to this comment

He will do fine at Province.

• 135.Hondo: Reply to this comment

#127 SjamBok:
    Makes absolutly no sense, someone has to do some defensive work, mind you? that backline will go strong in any ball dropping/fumbling contest though.
    #131 Greenpoint-Gunner:
    Spot on mate!
    Newman is a hoax but surely will be selected for reasons other than rugby proper.
    And then there is that dud Jantijes, like the Pheonix bird, he will surface at some stage.
    The departure of Corne Uys hurts Province although don’t expect the Cape Argus’ window dressers to admit it!

• 136.vanhunks: Reply to this comment

Disagree completely. Newman is a huge talent (he is still only 22) and Jantjes on form is right up there with the best in the world. When he got chosen for the boks recently it was because he was the best fullback in the country at that stage. Injury free, he will be right up there again.

• 137.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

#124 Brentie1:

CRY ME A RIVER ! If the Lions can’t get their act together and have a piss poor team year in and year out, must the rest of the unions drop their standards to accommodate them? BAH!

Let me tell you what The Lions had and then screwed up:

1. one of the best and biggest stadiums
    2. largest fan base (JHB)
    3. richest fan base (JHB salaries are the highest in SA)

Now they have the kakest S14 team and no one attends games @ Coca Cola Park because it is unsafe and a shite experience. [compare that with the family atmosphere at the Shark tank].

Moving on – Free State, Springbok factory. I have always liked the union – there is no reason why they can’t remain a strong Union.

There is enough talent to have 6 top level unions – 8 as in the Currie Cup is not working.

The so called “Minnows” can play in the Vodacom Cap or have effective management that can secure big sponsorship and put structures in place to take the Union to the next level.

Your nostalgic and romantic view of rural rugby competing on the highest level is seriously flawed – get a grip.

As to “disillusioned youngsters” – FYI – The top “rural” (platteland) talent is being spotted at school level and they are taken up by the big rugby schools throughout the country. From there -> Craven Week -> senior provincial -> S14 -> possibly Boks..

If a kid has enough talent and his parents are willing to help him realize this talent he can achieve great things even if he comes from Pitsonderwater.

• 138.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

37. brains_trust
    I’ll cry you one if you cry me ten.Ever played club rugby?
    I played till the ripe age of 38.The biggest problem
    is to motivate players.
    I have seen many talented youngster getting thoroughly
    disillusioned because teams with more facilities better
    coaching used to thrash them week in week out.
    Your route map is a lot of **** and shows your ignorance
    about rugby.Many of the talented club players left to
    join clubs in neighbouring provinces only to return years later.
    Let us take Bakkies Botha as a case study.
    Background: Born in Newcastle in Natal and schooled at Goedehoop PS – Secunda; Vereeniging THS and Middelburg THS. He captained the Falcons at Craven Week and represented SA Schools.

Botha came through the ranks for South Africa and represented his country at under-19 and under-23 level.

He joined the Bulls from the Falcons in 2001 before graduating into the South Africa “A” side later that year. He made his debut for the Springboks in 2002 and has been one of the first names on the teamsheet ever since.

Now if he stayed with the Falcons he would have been pretty
    close to retirement.How many examples should I quote before
    you realise that you’re wrong.
    Just guess where Brian Habana was born.Do I hear you say
    ‘you don’t know’ Right in Falcons country,Benoni.
    So two of the most well known players hail from one
    of the lesser provinces.
    They just would been total unknowns if it were not that
    they were given breaks.
    Look at Habana’s career.
    Bryan Gary Habana (b June12, 1983 ) is a South African rugby player.On Sunday 21st October 2007 Bryan Habana, the South African winger was confirmed as the International Rugby Board’s Player of the Year. .

Bryan Gary Habana was born iin Benoni, Gauteng, in 1983 and gets his first names from footballers.
    Bryan Gary Habana was born in Benoni, Johannesburg and from an early age displayed a key interest in rugby. From the time he started playing rugby at MeredalePrimary School and then KingEdwardSchool, it was evident that the speedy Habana was a prodigy. His talent eventually caught the attention of the Golden Lions who captured his signature, and this is where Habana’s career really took off. His performances lead him to greater heights including representing the national team and eventually signing for the Blue Bulls. Habana is now considered a vital cog in Jake White’s Springbok team and a legend amongst Blue Bulls supporters.

Beginning his rugby career in primary school and representing South African rugby at all levels, Habana eventually began his professional career when he made his first appearance for the South African Sevens side in the 2003-04 World Sevens Series. Later in 2004, he made his senior debut for the Golden Lions, where he did well enough to receive his first test debut for South Africa in November 2004 against England (at the age of 21). His performances in the Springbok jersey caught the attention of Blue Bulls coach Heyneke Meyer who signed him in 2005. Since then Habana has been a permanent fixture in both the Bulls and Bok teams, scoring 21 tries in 27 caps for the Springboks and 8 tries in 15 caps in the Super 14 2007 season for the Blue Bulls. His proudest moment so far in rugby, is when he scored a breathtaking try in the final minute of the Super 14 final in 2007 to win the game for the Bulls and give them their first Super 14 title.
    I rest my case.
    No just to get the Blue Bull supporters up in arms,
    who said that Brian learned his trade in Blue Bulls country.

• 139.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

#138 Brentie1: Thanks you proved my point with your Bakkies and Habana arguments.

The cream rises to the top and no matter where you hail from – if you are exceptionally talented you will get picked up by an A-List rugby school and play Craven Week through the age divisions and go on to a BIG Union from there. Sure a few talented guys might be overlooked but such it life.

Obviously a player of Bakkies’s quality won’t stay at the Falcons – he is too good for them. It’s like saying that Ronaldo should play for Scunthorpe United.

Read my post again and you will hopefully understand that the the majority top players get picked from the top unions [currently Bulls, then Sharks]. It is about a winning culture. WTF would PDV pick some prick from FALCONS??? GET a grip.

I’ve heard it a gazillion times where fringe players rate their skills against the guys @ S14 level and recon that they’ve been hard done by because they’ve not been selected to higher honours. [they blame the coach, their high school, the selectors, their SMALL RURAL region/union, etc..] Get over it. In the old days the most spoken line was “Danie Craven didn’t pick me because i wasn’t a Matie…”

Yeah some guys do get more breaks than others but the trully great players make it to the top on talent !

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.