Grey rule SA schools

The 2009 schoolboy season has concluded with Grey College the premier side in the country.

The Bloemfontein outfit only lost their final encounter against Paul Roos (as seven players were unavailable due SA U18 commitments) and fully deserve their No 1 ranking. One has to admire the talented players Grey produce on an annual basis.

Carl Spilhaus’s KES side are ranked second in the country after losing one match to Pretoria Boys (11-13). Paarl Boys’ have snuck into third place after completing their most successful season in years.

Monument are placed fourth ahead of Waterkloof after defeating them 32-20 in the recent Beeld Trophy final. Marlow Agricultural have ended their season in sixth position after some telling performances throughout the year.

The surprise team of the year is Wynberg, who had their best run in more than two decades, finishing at No 10. The Cape school have surpassed all expectations and played some sublime rugby.

Tygerberg High School have also crept in at 20th position after some stellar performances, in particular their victories over Paarl Gym and Bishops towards the end of the season. The shock win of the season was supplied by Tygerberg, as the minnows surprised both Bishops (15-14) and Paarl Gym (12-10) in consecutive games.

The win of the season goes to Selborne College for their match against St Andrew’s, where they turned a 20-0 deficit at half-time to emerge as 28-25 winners in what was a superb advert for schoolboy rugby.

Player of the season was lock/flank Jean Cook of Grey College, closely followed by KES centre, Jarryd Meyer.

The BMT award goes to Gavin Hauptfleish for kicking Paarl Boys’ to victory over rivals Paarl Gym – their first win since 2004. He bagged 14 points on the day.

Tackle of the season goes to Rondebosch No 8 Chad Mathews in the first game against Bishops when he produced two cover hits that won the match, breaking a five-year drought against their derby day opponents. rankings

1. Grey College
2. KES
3. Paarl Boys’
4. Monument
6. Marlow
7. Paul Roos
8. Glenwood
9. Affies
10. Wynberg
12. Selborne
13. Bishops
14. Brandwag
15. Boland Landbou
16. Grey High
17. St Andrew’s
18. Drostdy
19. Rondebosch
20 = EG Jansen
20 = Tygerberg
20 = Westville

Schools just outside the Top 20: Queen’s College, Dale, Paarl Gym, Michaelhouse, St Stithians.

By Gareth Wright