Fourie ban reduced

Jaque Fourie’s appeal has seen his sentence reduced by a week.

While upholding the decision as to the breach, the Sanzar Appeals Committee found that in all the circumstances the penalty was inappropriate and amended the sanction so that the player was suspended from 14 September up to and including 3 October 2009.

The tackle was condemned and in breach of IRB Law 10.4 (i), but Fourie will only miss three Currie Cup matches in total instead of the initial four.

According to keo.co.za’s sources, Fourie has not been training with the Lions and may yet join WP for the climax of the competition.

38 Comments

• 1.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

WP Dragon , come join a winning team ! :)

• 2.gunther: Reply to this comment

#1 Andre_WP:

what have you won?

• 3.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

A week? Well whoopdie freakin doo!

• 4.Senga: Reply to this comment

Wow!!! Thank you so much Sanzar Appeals Committee. This reduced sentence surely makes up for the Bakkies affair. We stand in awe.

• 5.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well I suppose 1 week is something. Should have been reduced by more.

• 6.Senga: Reply to this comment

Does this reduced sentence imply that the original hearing was biased?

• 7.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Not necessarily. We should just be glad for it. As for province being the winning team, you have won the CC the most times and all but not recently if you know what i mean

• 8.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

One week!?!?!?!

Something is askew here.

Hoskins would do well to get a couple of lawyers together and sue the SANZAR judicial committee.

• 9.WP_: Reply to this comment

Jaque’s plan is falling into place.

Step 1: Reduce ban – complete
    Step 2: Get out of Lions contract
    Step 3: Win the Currie Cup with WP :)

Come on boy. ;)

• 10.Senga: Reply to this comment

#8 Ezee-23: Hoskins? Who is Hoskins? Never heard of him…

• 11.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#10 Senga: Really? Google this exactly as is: “SA Rugby + Hoskins”

• 12.Senga: Reply to this comment

#11 Ezee-23: No – I once knew a guy named Oregan Hoskins – used to be president of SARU. He was deaf, dumb and blind if I remember correctly. But that was loooong ago…

• 13.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Sanzar can kiss my !!! They are incompetent and biased. As skop would say: A bunch of fckadilly fckwit banning buffoons.

• 14.Senga: Reply to this comment

And Graeme Smith gets his 50. 40 balls.

• 15.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#12 Senga: Ohhhh! I catch your drift.

• 16.Senga: Reply to this comment

#15 Ezee-23:Just being sarcastic. I take it all back. Just pissed off with SA taking this unjustified treatment so lamely.

• 17.Slappes: Reply to this comment

BTW please someone explain whats up with these cloak and dagger player movements. Why do the agents, unions players keep it unerwraps if theyre negotiating? The public will eventually know so why all this childish undercover rubbish!

• 18.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Why does the public need to know? I also like to keep track of it all, who doesn’t… But umm it’s not like we are parties involved to the contracts is it?

• 19.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

How dare they cite the world greatest no 13, shame on them.

• 20.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

They should have cited the AB who dared lay a hand on this mighty Bokke, why didn’t PDV break into song and spout some more shite about his backside and biased refs.

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

#20 NZINCHINA: HUH??

• 22.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#21 grant10:

Didn’t he tackle somebody or am I too pissed after a night on the bai jiu with corrupt officials to give a fark, please enlighten me.

• 23.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

SA is full of corrupt officials, so which part don’t you understand?

• 24.UKBokSupporter: Reply to this comment

23. NZINCHINA – take a chill pil dude….

• 25.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#24 UKBokSupporter:

FARK YOU

• 26.UKBokSupporter: Reply to this comment

25. NZINCHINA – enjoy your headache tomorrow

• 27.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#2 gunther:

8 out of 11 matches in the CC this season.

• 28.thambolenje: Reply to this comment

Even the totally biased and incompetent Phil Kearns and Greg Martin thought there was nothing foul in Fourie’s tackle. The players are professional, so….

• 29.stew: Reply to this comment

Still rough

• 30.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Now that that’s done, when you coming to Cape Town? ;-)

• 31.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#28 thambolenje: Those two kill me.

• 32.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

And Brad Thorne gets one week for breaking John Smit in two with a spear tackle? These people are blatant anti-Bok cheats – I spit on them.

• 33.cane: Reply to this comment

He should have been given an Extra week. He was/is guilty. He was wasting everybody’s time.

It was a spear.
    It was late.
    It was dangerous.

And SAFFA”S,
    the Rugby World does not hate you.

Many are not fond of you, True…but they don’t hate you. Well not much anyway….

• 34.rich1: Reply to this comment

#33 cane:

I agree with you Cane, 3 weeks is not a long enough holiday for Jacque. He’s worked hard this year and a five week rest would have been better.

And no need to apologise for hating us – you guys hate us so much more when the Boks are winning, so long may it continue.

Give your man Scott Nowland a big thank you for us. We was obviously in a big sulk watching the Boks celebrate winning the Lions series, and decided to teach them a lesson by getting Bakkies banned. Bakkies had a nice little rest and came back stronger to win the 3N. Then after the Boks won the 3N, your little man Scott Nowland was there again, pissed off at seeing those Boks celebrating another win, and went out to teach them another lesson by finding another Bok to cite.

Please ask him to cite John Smit, Matfield and Habana next time. They’ve had a long season too, and need a nice rest so they can come back stronger next year and give the ABs another hiding.

PS. Congratulations on winning the Bledisloe Cup. It’s the only trophy the Boks haven’t won recently

• 35.katman: Reply to this comment

#33 cane: Most people love us though. You know you do.

• 36.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#25 NZINCHINA:

Listen boet.

Watchit.

• 37.rich1: Reply to this comment

#36 Dawn:
    Don’t worry about him, he’s just grumpy because NZ isn’t top of the world anymore. They’re back to being just another couple of irrelevant islands in the middle of nowhere

• 38.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#37 rich1: even when NZ were winning he was bitter, blaming (and insulting) Smit for getting speared by the saintly Brad Thorn. I just don’t think he likes the Springboks at all.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.