Kings confident of clinching S15 spot

SA Rugby and the Southern Kings have their ducks in a row and will deliver a compelling bid for the 15th Super Rugby franchise on Friday.

Melbourne suffered a massive setback recently when they lost their main sponsor on Thursday. VicSuper15, who was given majority control at the start of the project, withdrew their support because they claim they were forced out of the process.

The Super 15 expansion bids are due on Friday and word from Saru is the Kings have their house in order. The bid predicts crowds of 24 000 on average, ticks off player recruitment and income (a budget in the middle of the range of SA teams) and as seen by the fixture against the British & Irish Lions, the Kings will have a stadium up to international standard.

23 Comments

• 1.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

And De Wet Barry will be their captain?? Now that the new soccer stadium is going to be used what is happening to Boet Erasmus?

• 2.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

#1 Lions_Soutie: turn it into a mall…

• 3.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

#2. Lol!

• 4.WP_: Reply to this comment

What you doing on the internet?

You should be learning how to play rugby! Go on now! Uncle P Divvy is waiting to make your first choice for the Boks but you’ve gotta learn how to catch a ball first

• 5.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Every where else it is claimed to go to the Aussies

• 6.kesbok: Reply to this comment

Watching Rugby Club or should I say Wallaby Club last night here in Sydney, uit looks like the Melbourne proposal is a mess so it may go to the extra South African team after all

Who is De Wet Barry?

• 7.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

This will be awesome if we can get more money/big names and a proper Franchise in that area, and for one reason.

Look at the Grikwas in the CC this year. IMO, if they started to play like this 2 years ago, they might have been putting in the bid for the 15th team (though, its Kim, so it may be hard to lure BIG name players).

Be that as it may, the structure of the traditional top 5 thing is getting kinda ridiculous. The CC is the most entertaining it has been in a long time, just because the cop is a bit stiffer.

If the Kings can have the same kind of positive spin of on the local scene, and we have 7 good teams playing in the CC every year, who will complain?

Plus, the most black players come from that area, I believe, so it may get the politicians of our backs.

• 8.Sucaballuc: Reply to this comment

Wasn’t it decided that the 15th team would play in the Australian conference? So…how exactly would the Kings compete?

• 9.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#8 Sucaballuc:

well, i think the original idea was to have 3 conf’s with 5 teams in each, and then let the best two plus an unlucky two with the highest PD/TP’s advance.

If the Kings are excepted it will look something like this.

Conference 1.)

SA, SA, SA, SA, SA

Conf. 2)

Aus, Aus, Aus, Aus, SA

Conf. 3)

NZ, NZ, NZ, NZ, NZ

The format is such that you play all the teams in your conf home and away, as well as 1 team from one of the other conferences home and away (thus 6 teams, home and away, 12 games).

All this will mean is that the travel arrangements and the logistics will be a bit harder than traveling form Bloem to Josie (for example).

What it also means is that SA has one more chance than NZ and Aus to get a team in the semi finals.

• 10.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#8 Sucaballuc:

sorry, got my format wrong

after they have played each other locally home and away the other eight matches will be against four of the five sides from each of the other two conferences. The playoffs will then feature the three conference winners, plus three “wildcard” teams with the highest number of competition points.

Thus, its a six team play-off, not an 8.

It still means that SA can have 3 in the play-offs, Aus 1 and NZ 2. Or each conf. just 2.

• 11.kevin w: Reply to this comment

I really hope that if we get it, SARU has got it right this time and will do what is necessary for rugby in the region.

It can also solve the overflow of players – Keegan Daniel and Rory Kockott can return home for a start. Will solve the Pienaar debacle. Perhaps Brent Russell would rather be back in his home province and starting at flyhalf than sitting on the bench in France.

Kockott and Russell could be awesome … Both ex Selborne and Border players.

• 12.ufo: Reply to this comment

#5 dWeePer:

The Aussies combined all three bidding companies to make one ‘solid’ bid… unfortunately for them it has been reported that they are fighting so much among themselves that one bidder has just withdrawn…

The Kings have got their act together and are the only realistic option… well done to them… If they don’t get it, it will be because of Aussie politics and John O’Niel crying like a baby girl…

• 13.Wikus van der Merwe: Reply to this comment

Absolutely madness.

I mean……..

aaaag lets leave this….

• 14.Greenpoint-Gunner: Reply to this comment

#12 ufo:

GREEDY BLIKSEMSE Aussies. Thats what you get.

Dis reg so, laat hulle dit vat in die portenjont die dr^lle. O’Niel wou mos so p*@s gewees het, nou lyk dit als kan dalk backfire.
    Die holsuiger voel ‘n vet ronde F*K*L vir die Currie Cup, al waaroor hy worry is oor uitsaai kontrakte en regte. Wel, raai wie is die REGTE KONTrak nou!!!

Ek hoop die Kings kom in, en eindig sommer HEEL FLIPPEN bo aan die Aus konferensie punteleer.

VAT SO K*KVRETERS!

• 15.Julius: Reply to this comment

This could very easily be the Best Bok team ever :

Beast
    Chiliboy (captain)
    John Smit (just to help chiliboy in his early years as cpt)
    Matfield
    Bakkie
    Brussouw
    Burger
    Ashley Johnson
    January
    Burton Francis
    Adi
    De Jongh
    Mapoe
    Habana
    JPP (fullback)

Coach : PdV
    Forwards Coach : Jerome Paarwater
    Backs : Eric Sauls

No team will beat us and even better, there is more representation.

• 16.BASH!: Reply to this comment

#15 Julius:

I can’t beleive that you think that could be the best Bok team ever. I think you just posted that in order to get comments or something. That team would get caned

• 17.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Here is the format for the Super15 (from wikipedia):

On 20 May, SANZAR announced it had reached agreement on a new deal involving all three nations. Details of the new deal are:[3]

* Effective in 2011, Super Rugby will expand to 15 teams, and split into three conferences, each with five teams and based in one of the three nations. The four current Australian teams will be joined by a new team in the Australia conference; the new team will be determined by a tender process.
    * At the same time, the regular season will expand to 16 matches (8 home, 8 away). Each team will play a double round-robin within its home conference, and play single matches against four teams from each of the other conferences.
    * The Super 15 will take three weeks off in June for the mid-year Tests.
    * The play-offs will expand to six teams, with the conference winners joined by the three non-winners with the most competition points without regard to conference affiliation. The two conference winners with the most competition points receive a first-round bye.
    * The Tri Nations will open each year in South Africa, and conclude with two of the three Bledisloe Cup matches between Australia and New Zealand that fall within the Tri Nations. This will allow Springboks to be released early for their domestic competition, the Currie Cup.

• 18.Wikus van der Merwe: Reply to this comment

#15 Julius: not a very good attempt at humor…..

• 19.WP_: Reply to this comment

#15 Julius: That team would lose to Uruguay!

Julius do us all a favour and go back to special school. Maybe you can pass woodwork this time!

• 20.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Dumb Aussies

• 21.pvz.shark: Reply to this comment

I still think this is what should happen.

Give it to melbounre on the condition that they must have at least 10 argentinian players in that team.

Of out 5 leat the team that falls on the bottom of the log play of against spears. If it is lions for instance. we know they are bad, but if spears cannot beat them then they should not advance.
    If they beat the lions they in the sup 15 and lions out. til next year, if they finish high enough to compete. if by some way griquas does better then they have a playof chance against the spears etc etc etc.

Then it wont bem ya we at bottom of log again , maybee next year. now there could be actions

• 22.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

The same way they had their ducks in a row and being ‘confident’ they would have a successful World Cup bid???

PLease.

I would be the first on here to congratulate them if successful but I fear that will not be necessary.

• 23.RedLion: Reply to this comment

Look even if the Aussie bid is corrupt and has no money they will still get it ahead of an even more corrupt and banckrupt E.C.

Why because it will go down to a vote and the Convicts and their Kiwi followers have this franchise going down under.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.